DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 9/1/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,186,548 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded and the double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed with respect to the outstanding 112 and art rejections and the objection to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The outstanding 112 and art rejections and the objection to the specification have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration based on the amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wingeier (US 2016/0175589).
Claim Interpretation
With regard to claims 1 and 17, the claims do not require entraining Mu-band and/or Beta-band neural oscillations. Both claims recite that the signal is “TO entrain” oscillations, and therefore is an intended purpose/result of the signal. As long as the prior art teaches the recited parameters of the signal itself, the claim is met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 16-19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wingeier (US 2016/0175589).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Wingeier discloses an electrical nerve stimulator configured to deliver an electrical signal to a user (see abstract). It is the Examiner’s position that the signal can be used to entrain Mu-band and/or Beta-band neural oscillations, if so desired by a user. The electrical pulses comprises a train of pulses comprising non-uniform intervals between pulses (see figures 2B-2D and par. 0032). The signal has a frequency between 8-30 Hz (par. 0112, 0114-0115).
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 22, Wingeier inherently discloses a power source for generating stimulation, a controller 540 and electrodes 531, which may be attached to a wrist to deliver stimulation, such that the median nerve is located within the wrist (par. 0030, 0135, 0139).
Regarding claims 4-9, Wingeier discloses that the electrode configuration can be found in US App. No. 14/470,683, which is published as US 2015/0065838 (par. 0111). US 2015/0065838 discloses the electrode details of claims 4-9 in the figures and par. 0031, 0032, 0046).
Regarding claim 10, the stimulator is configured to stimulate a median nerve if the electrodes were placed at or near the median nerve and then delivered electrical stimulation.
Regarding claim 11, the stimulator is configured to deliver an electrical signal to a hemisphere if the brain that is contralateral to the median nerve if the electrodes were placed at or near that location and then delivered electrical stimulation.
Regarding claim 12, claim 1 states that a signal with non-uniform intervals between pulses with a frequency between 8 and 30 Hz will entrain mu-band and/or beta-band oscillations, mu-band oscillations inherently being between 8-12 Hz and beta-band oscillations inherently being between 13-20 Hz.
Regarding claims 13 and 18, the disclosed amplitude is between 0.5-2 mA and the pulse width is 1ms which comprises 0.2ms (par. 0110 and 0062). The claim also does not require all of the parameters as the claim requires a frequency, amplitude OR a pulse width as recited.
Regarding claims 14 and 19, the signal has a duration of 500ms to 15 minutes (par. 0062).
Regarding claims 16 and 21, the signal comprises at least 4 pulses, as seen in figures 2A-2D.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892, specifically US 2009/0240100 and US 2017/0224991 which both disclose delivering neuromodulation with non-uniform intervals.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796