Initial Examination
Applicant's submission filed on 12/02/24 has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over their respective claims of U.S. Patent Nos. 12206605, 12302312, and 12245246. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are merely slightly broader versions of the claims in the aforementioned patents. For instance, the instant claim and the aforementioned claims all disclose similar relationships between TCI states/codepoints, including a first and second TCI state associated with a first pair of lists, selecting TCI codepoints, and ultimately communicating with TRPs. The aforementioned patents disclose those limitations, as wells as third/fourth lists/states and second pair of lists (‘605, ‘312) and TCI state subsets (‘246).
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over their respective claims of copending Application No. 19/033,962 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are merely slightly broader versions of the claims in the aforementioned application. For instance, the instant claim and the aforementioned claims all disclose similar relationships between TCI states/codepoints, including a first and second TCI state associated with a first pair of lists, selecting TCI codepoints, and ultimately communicating with TRPs. The aforementioned application discloses those limitations, as wells introducing a second message and bit sets.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 7-9, 10-12, and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (and pending resolution of the above DP Rejection).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited references fail to anticipate or render the claimed subject matter (combined with other limitations claimed in the claimed subject matter) obvious over any of the prior art of record, either alone or in combination. Therefore, when taken as a whole application, and incorporating all the respective limitations, none of the prior art discloses the features as claimed. For instance, although Zhu and Liu disclose TCI states/codepoints, lists, and TRPs, they do not disclose the detailed limitations and specific relationships as recited in dependent claims 2, 7, 10, or 13. Consequently, these claims are allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15-17 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20230050480 A1, cited by Applicant of Record) in view of Liu (US 20240195573 A1, cited by Applicant of Record).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a method [fig. 14], comprising:
receiving, from a cellular network, a first message specific to a first pair of lists indicating a first subset of transmission control indication (TCI) states (Network configures UE with lists/sets/pools of TCI states [fig. 14 no. 1410-1420, fig. 11, par. 0168]);
determining, based on the first message, a first association between respective TCI codepoints and respective TCI states according to the first pair of lists (DCIs contain at least one TCI codepoint used for indication of TCI states (i.e., association) [fig. 14 no. 1410, 430, par. 0168, 487]);
receiving, from the cellular network, a … message indicating a first TCI codepoint (One or more messages, including TCI codepoints [par. 0168, 487]);
selecting, based on the first TCI codepoint and the first association between respective TCI codepoints and respective TCI states [fig. 14 no. 1410-1430]:
a first TCI state from a first list of the first pair of lists [fig. 10-11 “TCI #1-63”, where Examiner notes this could also read on “TCI #3, TCI #5” as the illustration in fig. 11 is merely one example]; and
a second TCI state from a second list of the first pair of lists [fig. 10-11 “TCI #3, TCI #5”]; and
communicating with the cellular network via a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs) using the first TCI state and the second TCI state [fig. 1, 8-11, 12-13, par. 0168].
Although Zhu discloses TCI codepoints associated with TCI states, including messages, as discussed above, Zhu does not explicitly disclose a second message indicating a first TCI codepoint. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Liu.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses:
a second message indicating a first TCI codepoint [fig. 1-8, par. 0102-110].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu with Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of mapping TCI codepoints and associated TCI states [Liu Abstract].
Regarding claim 18, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Zhu further discloses an apparatus [fig. 3 no. 116], comprising: a processor [fig. 3 no. 340] configured to, when executing instructions [fig. 3 no. 361-362] stored in a memory [fig. 3 no. 360].
Regarding claim 19, Zhu and Liu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhu further discloses:
further comprising a radio [fig. 3 no. 305-315, 325] operably coupled to the processor.
Regarding claim 20, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is from the perspective of the network, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 15, Zhu and Liu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhu further discloses wherein:
the first message comprises a media access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) [par. 0168]; and
the second message comprises a downlink control information (DCI) message [par. 0168].
Regarding claim 16, Zhu and Liu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Liu further discloses:
wherein said selecting the first TCI state is based on a position of the first TCI state corresponding to the first TCI codepoint according to the first association between respective TCI codepoints and respective TCI states [fig. 6, par. 0102].
Regarding claim 17, Zhu and Liu disclose everything claimed, as applied above.
Liu further discloses:
wherein said selecting the second TCI state is based on a position of the second TCI state being immediately subsequent to the position of the first TCI state according to the first association between respective TCI codepoints and respective TCI states [fig. 6 “TCI state ID(s)”].
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465