Response to Arguments
Applicant’s filed statement disqualifying prior art Kim (US 20250275430) under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(c) exception as being owned by same entity (LG Display Co., Lt), see applicant’s remark, filed 7/14/26, with respect to the rejections of subject matter in newly amended independent claim 1 (previously dependent claim 3) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited prior arts. Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Uetake, US 20150145906 A1 (hereinafter “Uetake”), in further view of Choi et al., US 20240147775 A1 (hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Uetake discloses a display device (fig. 1, paragraph 33, organic EL display device) comprising:
a driving transistor on a substrate (fig. 3, 4, paragraphs 39-41, driving transistor DR of current control circuit CT on substrate SUB1);
a light emitting element (fig. 3, 4, paragraphs 39, 40, 43-46, light emitting element formed by large light emitting element LL and small light emitting element SL), on the driving transistor, the light emitting element including an anode electrode (fig. 3, 4, paragraphs 43, anode portion contacting organic emitting layer EL, of reflection electrode LRE/SRE corresponding to large/small light emitting element SL), a light emitting layer (fig. 4, paragraph 43, organic light emitting layer EL), and a cathode electrode (fig. 3, 4, paragraphs 40, 43, cathode electrode TE), the anode electrode including a first anode electrode and a second anode electrode that are spaced apart from each other (fig. 3, 4, paragraphs 43, anode portion connecting light emitting layer EL to driving transistor include a first anode electrode LRE and second anode electrode SRE);
a first anode connection line electrically connecting the first anode electrode to the driving transistor; and a second anode connection line electrically connecting the second anode electrode to the driving transistor (see fig. 3, 4, paragraphs 38-43, annotated figure 3 below, the first and second anode electrodes respectively connected to first anode connection lines and second anode connection lines connecting light emitting elements to driving transistor), wherein the first anode connection line has a resistance that is greater than a resistance of the second anode connection line (paragraph 40, “the drain electrode of the drive transistor DR is also connected to the large light emitting element LL through the area select switch RS. The area select switch RS is configured to select whether the current is allowed to flow into the large light emitting element LL, or not”, herein it is noted, while it is not specifically stated verbatim that the first anode connection line has greater resistance than the second anode connection line, it is required that one anode connection line including an extra switch component has different resistance than a second anode connection with direction connection, furthermore, it is required that the resistance of the first anode connection line is greater than the second anode connection line when switch RS is turned off to regulate current from driving transistor DR to anode electrode of light emitting element).
Uetake does not disclose in particular wherein the first anode connection line includes a material different from a material of the second anode connection line.
In similar field of endeavor, Choi discloses multiple light emitting element driven by same pixel driver, wherein multiple light emitting element may be disposed in different areas of display device, the light emitting element connected to different sections of anode connection lines, and a first anode connection lines and a second anode connection line may be spaced apart from each other and include different materials (Choi, fig. 4, paragraphs 79, 101-106 light emitting element ED2m and ED2c with different sections of anode connections lines corresponding to lines CL2c-t, CLC2, Anode2c, Anode-ec, Anode-e in fig. 15, paragraph 161, “referring to FIG. 15, the auxiliary anode connecting line CL2c-t may be made of a transparent conductive material to have a transparent characteristic. In the embodiment of FIG. 15, the auxiliary anode connecting line CL2c-t may be formed in the second-2 component region DA2-UPC2 in which the light transmitting area TA-UPC is disposed, and the auxiliary anode connecting line CL2c-t may include a transparent conductive material so as to widen the light transmitting area TA-UPC. According to the structure of FIG. 15, the second anode connecting line CL2c and the auxiliary anode connecting line CL2c-t may be disposed on the second planarization film 182 and may be made of different materials”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to incorporate the concept of making different anode connection with different materials, such as disclosed in Choi, into the display device of Uetake, to constitute wherein the first anode connection line includes a material different from a material of the second anode connection line, such is incorporation of a known concept into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would achieve benefit such as increased light transmittance, while allowing the display device to carry out the same function of transferring driving signal from driving transistor to light emitting element.
Regarding claim 12, Uetake in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the light emitting element includes a first light emitting element including the first anode electrode, the light emitting layer and the cathode electrode, and a second light emitting element including the second anode electrode, the light emitting layer and the cathode electrode, and the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element share the driving transistor (see Uetake, paragraphs 40-43, fig. 3, 4, as annotated below).
Regarding claim 29, this is a method of manufacturing counterpart of the device claim 1. The rejection of claim 1 already contains all claimed components and structure as in claim 1/29, with claim 29 only prescribing that the various claimed elements are formed or provided. The given method does not provide in itself a specific technical effect, let alone an advantageous technical effect over any other method of manufacturing. Nor does the method reflect on any specific manufacturing details carried out by involving specific manufacturing equipment.
Examiner take notice that given the disclosure of display device components as described in rejection claim 1 covers all components as claimed in claim 29, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to manufacture the disclosed components of claim 1 in order to make and use the invention. Hence, claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons as in rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uetake in view of Choi, as applied in rejection of claim 1, and in further view of Bok et al., US 20230067816 A1 (hereinafter “Bok”).
Regarding claim 2, Uetake in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1.
Uetake in view of Choi does not disclose in particular wherein the first anode connection line is on a layer that is different from the second anode connection line.
In similar field of endeavor, Bok discloses the concept of disposing a first anode connection line on a layer that is different from a second anode connection line (paragraph 19, claim 14: “The display panel further comprises: a first connection line configured to connect the anode of the first light emitting element of the first pixel and the anode of the copy light emitting element of the first pixel; and a second connection line configured to connect the anode of the first light emitting element of the second pixel and the anode of the copy light emitting element of the second pixel, and the first connection line and the second connection line cross each other and are disposed on different layers”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to incorporate the concept of disposing anode connection line in different layer, such as disclosed in Bok, into the display device of Uetake in view of Choi, to constitute wherein the first anode connection line is on a layer that is different from the second anode connection line, such is incorporation of a known concept into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow versatile placement of anode connection to accommodate spacing requirement in components placement in display device, while allowing the display device to carry out the same function of transferring driving signal from driving transistor to light emitting element.
Regarding claim 10, Uetake in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1.
Uetake in view of Choi does not disclose in particular wherein the first anode connection line and the second anode connection line at least partially overlap each other.
In similar field of endeavor, Bok discloses the concept of disposing a first anode connection line on a layer that is different from a second anode connection line, wherein the first anode connection line and the second anode connection partially overlap each other (paragraph 19, claim 14: “The display panel further comprises: a first connection line configured to connect the anode of the first light emitting element of the first pixel and the anode of the copy light emitting element of the first pixel; and a second connection line configured to connect the anode of the first light emitting element of the second pixel and the anode of the copy light emitting element of the second pixel, and the first connection line and the second connection line cross each other and are disposed on different layers”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to incorporate the concept of disposing anode connection line in different layer and partially overlapping, such as disclosed in Bok, into the display device of Uetake in view of Choi, to constitute wherein the first anode connection line and the second anode connection line at least partially overlap each other, such is incorporation of a known concept into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow versatile placement of anode connection to accommodate spacing requirement in components placement in display device, while allowing the display device to carry out the same function of transferring driving signal from driving transistor to light emitting element.
Claims 4 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uetake in view of Choi, as applied in rejection of claim 1, and in further view of Xu et al., US 20250081760 A1 (hereinafter “Xu”).
Regarding claim 4, Uetake in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1.
Uetake in view of Choi does not disclose in particular wherein the first anode connection line includes a silicon-based semiconductor material or an oxide-based semiconductor material.
In similar field of endeavor, Xu discloses the concept of anode connection line may be made of oxide based semiconductor material (paragraph 214, “In an exemplary implementation, the material of the anode connection line may be a transparent conductive material, such as indium tin oxide (ITO) or indium zinc oxide (IZO), etc.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to incorporate the concept of making anode connection line with oxide based semiconductor material, such as disclosed by Xu, into the display device of Uetake, to constitute wherein the first anode connection line includes a silicon-based semiconductor material or an oxide-based semiconductor material, such is incorporation of a known concept into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow display device achieve benefit such as increased light transmittance with ITO material, while allowing the display device to carry out the same function of transferring driving signal from driving transistor to light emitting element.
Regarding claim 30, this is a method of manufacturing counterpart of the device claim 4. The rejection of claim 4 already contains all claimed components and structure as in claim 4/30, with claim 30 only prescribing that the various claimed elements are formed or provided. The given method does not provide in itself a specific technical effect, let alone an advantageous technical effect over any other method of manufacturing. Nor does the method reflect on any specific manufacturing details carried out by involving specific manufacturing equipment.
Examiner take notice that given the disclosure of display device components as described in rejection claim 4 covers all components as claimed in claim 30, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to manufacture the disclosed components of claim 4 in order to make and use the invention. Hence, claim 30 is rejected for the same reasons as in rejection of claim 4.
Claim 5 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uetake in view of Choi, as applied in rejection of claim 1, and in further view of Kim et al., US 20200212131 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 5, Uetake in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1.
Uetake in view of Choi does not disclose in particular wherein the second anode connection line includes of an alloy of molybdenum and titanium MoTi.
In similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses the concept of anode connection may include an alloy of molybdenum and titanium MoTi (paragraph 78, “For example, with respect to the thickness of the anode electrode (AE), the lateral portion may be formed of transparent conductive oxide (TCO) including Indium Tin Oxide (ITO) or Indium Zinc Oxide (IZO), and the central portion includes an anode electrode layer having at least one among molybdenum titanium alloy (MoTi), aluminum (Al), silver (Ag), molybdenum (Mo) and Titanium (Ti), or may further include an anode electrode layer comprising a material with a high etching rate, for example, copper (Cu).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to incorporate the concept of making anode connection line with molybdenum titanimum alloy, such as disclosed by Kim, into the display device of Uetake, to constitute wherein the second anode connection line includes of an alloy of molybdenum and titanium MoTi, such is incorporation of a known concept into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow benefit such as increased conductivity, mechanical strength and thermal stability with molybdenum titanimum alloy in electrical connection between components, while allowing the display device to carry out the same function of transferring driving signal from driving transistor to light emitting element.
Regarding claim 31, this is a method of manufacturing counterpart of the device claim 5. The rejection of claim 5 already contains all claimed components and structure as in claim 5/31, with claim 31 only prescribing that the various claimed elements are formed or provided. The given method does not provide in itself a specific technical effect, let alone an advantageous technical effect over any other method of manufacturing. Nor does the method reflect on any specific manufacturing details carried out by involving specific manufacturing equipment.
Examiner take notice that given the disclosure of display device components as described in rejection claim 5 covers all components as claimed in claim 31, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to manufacture the disclosed components of claim 5 in order to make and use the invention. Hence, claim 31 is rejected for the same reasons as in rejection of claim 5.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uetake in view of Choi, as applied in rejection of claim 1, and in further view of Cho et al., US 20140346475 A1 (hereinafter “Cho”) and Nam et al., US 20170186826 A1 (hereinafter “Nam”).
Regarding claim 6, Uetake in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the driving transistor includes an active layer, a gate electrode, a source electrode, and a drain electrode (see Uetake, fig. 3, paragraphs 38-40, driving transistor TR include gate electrode connected to pixel switch PS, “The drive transistor DR is a p-channel type thin film transistor, and has a source electrode connected to the power supply line PL, and a drain electrode connected to an anode of the small light emitting element SL. Also, the drain electrode of the drive transistor DR is also connected to the large light emitting element LL through the area select switch RS”, furthermore, by definition of p-channel type thin film transistor the TFT is required to have a semiconductor active layer that function to switch transistor on and off).
Uetake in view of Choi does not discloses in particular: wherein the first anode connection line includes a same material and is on a same layer as the active layer of the driving transistor, and the second anode connection line is on the driving transistor.
In similar field of endeavor, Cho discloses organic light emitting display device (see abstract) with pixel circuit comprising driving transistor connected to separate light emitting element via first anode connection line and second anode connection lines (paragraph 219, driving transistor TR, fig. 14, 15, pixel circuit PC connected to light emitting elements SE1 and SE2 via separate anode connection lines CN1, CN2, 11, “the pixel circuit PC including at least one TFT TR and at least one capacitor CAP and supplying a driving current to the emission device E, and the pad unit PAD”), wherein the first anode connection line includes a same material and is on a same layer as the active layer of the driving transistor (fig. 15, 41-43, paragraphs 114, 219, 222, “An electrode connection wiring 11 is formed on the substrate 101 and a buffer layer 102. The electrode connection wiring 11 may be formed of a conductive material. For example, the electrode connection wiring 11 may be formed of amorphous silicon, crystalline silicon, or an oxide semiconductor. In this case, the electrode connection wiring 11 may be formed on the same layer and of the same material as an active layer included in the TFT of the pixel circuit PC”, “the split first and second anodes AD1 and AD2 may be coupled to each other by the electrode connection wiring 11 (see FIGS. 15 and 41). The electrode connection wiring 11 may be formed on the same layer and of the same material as the anode AD or may be formed on the same layer and of the same material as an active layer 212 of the transistor TR and contact the anode AD. The electrode connection wiring 11 may contact one of the source electrode 217a and the drain electrode 217b of the transistor TR”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to incorporate the concept of making anode connection line in same layer with same material of active layer of driving transistor, such as disclosed by Cho, into the display device of Uetake in view of Choi, to constitute wherein the first anode connection line includes a same material and is on a same layer as the active layer of the driving transistor, such is incorporation of a known concept into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow simplified manufacturing process by disposing multiple component in same layer with same material, while allowing the display device to carry out the same function of transferring driving signal from driving transistor to light emitting element.
Uetake in view of Choi and Cho does not disclose in particular the second anode connection line is on the driving transistor.
The concept of disposing anode connection component on top or overlapping driving transistor of pixel circuit, however, is known in the art, such as disclosed by Nam, which discloses anode electrode formed to overlap driving transistor in organic light emitting display device (see Nam, abstract, paragraphs 34: “The anode electrode 132 is formed to overlap the switching thin film transistor 150 and the driving thin film transistor 100 such that the anode electrode 132 is disposed at a second light emitting region EA2. The anode electrode 132 overlaps the switching thin film transistor 150 and the driving thin film transistor 100 while the protective layer 118, a color filter 160, and the planarization layer 128 are interposed between the anode electrode 132, and the switching thin film transistor 150 and the driving thin film transistor 100. Herein, a distance between each of the switching thin film transistor 150 and the driving thin film transistor 100 and the anode electrode 132 corresponds to a thickness of the color filter 160, thereby preventing increase of parasitic capacitance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to incorporate the concept of disposing anode connection component on top or overlapping driving transistor, such as disclosed by Nam, into the display device of Uetake in view of Choi and Cho, to constitute wherein the second anode connection line is on the driving transistor, to achieve the predictable result of allowing display component placement to meet space constraint, while attaining benefit such as improving opening ratio or minimizing parasitic capacitance, while allowing the display device to carry out the same function of transferring driving signal from driving transistor to light emitting element.
Regarding claim 7, Uetake in view of Choi and Cho and Nam discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the first anode connection line is electrically connected to one of the source electrode and the drain electrode of the driving transistor at one end, and is electrically connected to the first anode electrode at the other end, and the second anode connection line is electrically connected to one of the source electrode and the drain electrode of the driving transistor at one end, and is electrically connected to the second anode electrode at the other end (see rejection of claim 1, Uetake fig. 3 as annotated above, and fig. 4, first anode connection line is electrically connected to one of source electrode or drain electrode of driving transistor TR at one end and electrically connected to first anode electrode of light emitting diode LL at the other end, second anode connection line is electrically connected to one of source electrode or drain electrode of driving transistor TR at one end and electrically connected to second anode electrode of light emitting diode SL at the other end).
Claims 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uetake in view of Choi, Cho, and Nam, as applied in rejection of claim 6 above, and in further view of Kim et al., US 20180033847 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Uetake in view of Choi, Cho, and Nam discloses the display device of claim 6.
Uetake in view of Choi, Cho, and Nam does not disclose in particular the display device (from claim 8) further comprising a metal layer electrically connected to one of the source electrode and the drain electrode of the driving transistor, and (from claim 9) the second anode connection line and the metal layer are formed on the same layer with the same material.
In similar field of endeavor, Kim discloses LED display device (see abstract) with pixel circuit further comprising a metal layer of a storage capacitor connected to one of source electrode or drain electrode of the driving transistor, wherein an anode connection line and the metal layer are formed on the same layer with the same material (see Kim, fig. 4, storage capacitor Cst is connected between source/drain of driving transistor DT and gate of driving transistor DT, fig. 15, paragraphs 206, 207: “The capacitor 250 may include one electrode 251 and the other electrode 252. The one electrode 251 and the other electrode 252 may overlap each other with at least one insulation layer therebetween… The one electrode 251 may be formed of the same material on the same layer as an anode electrode 291”, paragraph 115: “the anode electrode 291 and the cathode electrode 292 of the organic light emitting device 290 may each be formed of a metal material capable of transmitting light. As a result, in an aspect of the present disclosure, light emitted from the emissive part EA may be output to the first substrate 111 and the second substrate 112”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to incorporate the concept of disposing storage capacitor connected to source/drain of driving transistor of pixel circuit, and the concept of forming capacitor electrode with same light transmitting metal as anode electrode, such as disclosed by Kim, into the display device of Uetake in view of Choi, Cho, and Nam, to constitute wherein the display device (from claim 8) further comprising a metal layer electrically connected to one of the source electrode and the drain electrode of the driving transistor, and (from claim 9) the second anode connection line and the metal layer are formed on the same layer with the same material, such is incorporation of a known concept into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow pixel circuit to hold data voltage with capacitor while attaining the benefit of increased light transmitting ratio of display device, while allowing the display device to carry out the same function of transferring driving signal from driving transistor to light emitting element.
Claim 11 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uetake in view of Choi, as applied in rejection of claim 1 above, and in further view of Shim et al., US 20220149128 (hereinafter “Shim”).
Regarding claim 11, Uetake in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 1.
Uetake in view of Choi does not disclose in particular wherein the first anode connection line includes a first cutting area provided in an area that does not overlap the second anode connection line, and the second anode connection line includes a second cutting area provided in an area that does not overlap the first anode connection line.
In similar field of endeavor, Shim discloses the concept of a display device (see abstract) with pixel circuit including a first anode connection portion includes a first cutting area provided in an area that does not overlap with a second anode connection line, and is configured to be cut when a defect occurs in a first anode electrode (fig. 3, 4, 9, 13-17, paragraphs 43, 62-64, 70, 98-105, first electrode connection portion 310 corresponding to first light emitting element EL_a), and a second anode connection portion includes a second cutting area that does not overlap with the first anode connection, and is configured to be cut when a defect occurs in a second anode electrode (fig. 3, 4, 9, 13-17, paragraphs 43, 62-64, 70, 98-105, second electrode connection portion 320 corresponding to second light emitting element EL_b, the first area 310 does not overlap with second anode connection line and the second area 320 does not overlap with first anode connection line)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to incorporate the concept of cutting area in anode connection line, such as disclosed by Shim, into the display device of Uetake in view of Choi, to constitute wherein the first anode connection line includes a first cutting area provided in an area that does not overlap the second anode connection line, and the second anode connection line includes a second cutting area provided in an area that does not overlap the first anode connection line, such is incorporation of a known concept into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and attain benefit such as improved manufacturing yield, while allowing the display device to carry out the same function of transferring driving signal from driving transistor to light emitting element.
Regarding claim 32, this is a method of manufacturing counterpart of the device claim 11. The rejection of claim 11 already contains all claimed components and structure as in claim 11/32, with claim 32 only prescribing that the various claimed elements are formed or provided. The given method does not provide in itself a specific technical effect, let alone an advantageous technical effect over any other method of manufacturing. Nor does the method reflect on any specific manufacturing details carried out by involving specific manufacturing equipment.
Examiner take notice that given the disclosure of display device components as described in rejection claim 11 covers all components as claimed in claim 32, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to manufacture the disclosed components of claim 11 in order to make and use the invention. Hence, claim 32 is rejected for the same reasons as in rejection of claim 11.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uetake in view of Choi, as applied in rejection of claim 1 above, and in further view of Oh, KR 20220093862 A1 (hereinafter “Oh”).
Regarding claims 13-15, Uetake in view of Choi discloses the display device of claim 12.
Uetake does not disclose in particular the display device further comprising:
(from claim 13) a reference line electrically connected to the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element and to which an initialization voltage is applied during a first period; and an analog-digital AD converter connected to the reference line, and the AD converter is configured to sense a voltage through the reference line within a second period,
(from claim 14)
a first switch connecting a reference voltage source with the reference line during the first period and separating the reference voltage source from the reference line during the second period; and a second switch connecting the AD converter with the reference line during at least a partial period within the second period and separating the AD converter from the reference line during the first period, and
(from claim 15)
a defect detection unit determining a defective one from the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element based on a voltage sensed through the AD converter.
In similar field of endeavor, Oh discloses OLED display device with pixels comprising driving transistor and light emitting element (fig. 1, paragraphs 19-23, “The sub-pixel SP to which the external compensation is applied includes a driving transistor DT as a driving element, an organic light emitting diode OLED as a light emitting element, a storage capacitor Cst, a first switching transistor ST1 and a second switching transistor ST2 as a light emitting element … OLEDs emit light according to the pixel current generated by the driving transistor. The OLED includes an anode electrode connected to the second node N2, a cathode electrode connected to an input terminal of the low potential power supply voltage EVSS, and an organic compound layer positioned between the anode electrode and the cathode electrode. The driving transistor DT controls the pixel current input to the OLED according to the gate-source voltage Vgs. In the driving transistor DT, a gate electrode is connected to a first node N1, one of the first electrode and the second electrode is connected to an input terminal of the high potential power supply voltage EVDD, and the other is connected to the second node N2, and the source electrode of the driving transistor DT may be connected to the second node N2”), the display device further comprising a defect detection circuit with associated components including:
a reference line electrically connected to the light emitting element and to which an initialization voltage is applied during a first period; and an analog-digital AD converter connected to the reference line, and the AD converter is configured to sense a voltage through the reference line within a second period,
a first switch connecting a reference voltage source with the reference line during the first period and separating the reference voltage source from the reference line during the second period; and a second switch connecting the AD converter with the reference line during at least a partial period within the second period and separating the AD converter from the reference line during the first period,
a defect detection unit determining a defective light emitting element based on a voltage sensed through the AD converter.
In particular, see Oh, paragraphs and figures as annotated below (paragraph number based on original KR 20220093862 A1 publication):
paragraphs 29:
“The sensing unit can include a sensing section that is configured to include an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) for converting the voltage of a second node (N2) charged on a sensing line (14B) into sensing data (SD), a first switch (SW1) for supplying a reference voltage (Vref) to the sensing line (14B), and a second switch (SW2) for connecting the sensing line (14B) to the ADC.”
paragraph 32-34:
“The first switch (SW1) operates in response to the charging control signal (PRE), and the second switch (SW2) operates in response to the sampling control signal (SAM).
Sensing data (SD) is data that includes the characteristics of the subpixel (SP), that is, the characteristics of the driving transistor included in the subpixel (SP) and the characteristics of the OLED, and it can be supplied to the timing controller so that the timing controller generates compensation values to adjust the data voltage supplied to the subpixel based on this information.
The sensing operation that senses the characteristics of the subpixel (SP) through an external compensation method can be composed of a first period (t1) for initializing the subpixel, a second period (t2) for sensing the mobility of the driving transistor (DT), and a third period (t3) for turning off the driving transistor (DT) and transitioning to the next step.”
paragraphs 35, 36:
“In FIG. 2, during the first period (t1), a sensing data voltage (Vdata) that will turn on the driving transistor (DT) is supplied to the data line (14A), and the scan signal (SCAN) and sense signal (SENSE) change from the turn-off level to the turn-on level, turning on the first and second switching transistors (ST1, ST2). As a result, the first node (N1), which is the gate electrode of the driving transistor (DT), becomes the sensing data voltage (Vdata), and the driving transistor (DT) is turned on.
In addition, the charge control signal (PRE) reaches the turn-on level, turning on the first switch (SW1), so the sensing line (14B) is charged to the reference voltage (Vref), and the second node (N2), which is the source electrode of the driving transistor (DT), becomes the reference voltage (Vref) through the turned-on second switching transistor (ST2).”
paragraphs 38:
“After a certain period of time, when the second period (t2) ends or the third period (t3) begins, the sampling control signal (SAM) is briefly turned on to sense the voltage (Vsen) stored in the capacitor (Csl) of the sensing line (14B). The voltage change at this second node (N2) is proportional to the current of the driving transistor, so the current is calculated from the sensed voltage (Vsen) and converted into sensing data (SD). Since the sensing data (SD) outputs data reflecting the mobility of the driving transistor (DT), the timing controller can compensate the data voltage of the image data supplied to the corresponding subpixel based on this.”
Paragraphs 12, 45, 46:
“When sensing the characteristics of a pixel using an external compensation method, pixel defects due to a short circuit between the anode and the cathode can be sensed together. It is possible to detect a progressive defect that occurs after shipment of the display panel, so that the pixel in which the defect is detected can be compensated. Accordingly, the defective pixel is not conspicuous, thereby increasing user satisfaction.”
“On the other hand, as shown in FIG. 4 , there is a minute short circuit between the anode electrode and the cathode electrode of the OLED, for example, the anode electrode and the cathode electrode are connected with a resistance of several tens of MΩ to form a short current path. Even if the voltage difference between the anode electrode and the cathode electrode of the OLED is smaller than the OLED turn-on voltage, the low potential power supply voltage ( A current path leading to EVSS) is formed. When a predetermined time elapses in this state, the sensing voltage Vsen of the sensing line 14B decreases to become smaller than the initial sensing voltage Vsen_ini.
In this way, while the driving transistor DT is turned off and the source electrode of the driving transistor DT or the anode electrode of the OLED is greater than the low potential power supply voltage EVSS, the difference from the low potential power supply voltage EVSS is the OLED. If the sensing voltage Vsen of the sensing line 14B connected to the source electrode is sensed for a predetermined time in the state initialized to a specific voltage Vref1 smaller than the turn-on voltage, it can be checked whether the anode electrode and the cathode electrode of the OLED are short-circuited.”
fig. 5, 6, paragraphs 49-66 additionally shows timing sequence, control signals and a sensing voltage for sensing the anode-cathode short circuit of the OLED (“Abnormal OLED”).
Both Uetake in view of Choi and Oh discloses display device with light emitting element in pixel circuits, Oh additionally disclose specific sensing and defect detection unit configured to detect abnormality in light emitting element circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to incorporate the concept of defect detection unit and associated circuit, such as disclosed by Oh, into the display device of Uetake in view of Choi, such that the first and second LEDs in pixel of Uetake in view of Choi is connected to defect detection unit, to attain the function of diagnosing pixels of display, the result would have been predictable and would constitute:
(from claim 13) a reference line electrically connected to the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element and to which an initialization voltage is applied during a first period; and an analog-digital AD converter connected to the reference line, and the AD converter is configured to sense a voltage through the reference line within a second period,
(from claim 14)
a first switch connecting a reference voltage source with the reference line during the first period and separating the reference voltage source from the reference line during the second period; and a second switch connecting the AD converter with the reference line during at least a partial period within the second period and separating the AD converter from the reference line during the first period, and
(from claim 15)
a defect detection unit determining a defective one from the first light emitting element and the second light emitting element based on a voltage sensed through the AD converter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
The following cited prior art additional disclose various concept of a first anode line and second anode line comprising different materials:
Park, US 20160190228 (paragraph 168)
Ryu, US 20220208907 (paragraph 80)
Lee et al., US 20180033968 A1 (paragraphs 89, 110)
/PEIJIE SHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622