DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is a response to applicant’s arguments and amendment filed 09/08/2026. Claims 1, 4, 7 and 15-18 are amended. Claims 8-14 are cancelled. Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are currently pending.
The objection of claims 1, 8 and 11 has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
The rejection of claims 4-5 and 7-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amplatz; claims 1-10 and 12-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin; and claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin in view of Kreidler, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The rejection has been modified, necessitated by applicant’s amendment to the claims.
1) Applicant argues Amplatz does not disclose the proximal end of the lobe remaining collapsed within the delivery catheter, and while in this partially expanded state, contacting the hooks with tissue of the LAA (Remarks, pgs. 5-6). Applicant further argues the disclosure of Amplatz does not teach the proximal end of the lobe remaining collapsed, and hooks 20 of Amplatz are not shown as extending radially outward of the radially-outer-most extent of lobe 12.
In response to applicant’s first argument, it is respectfully submitted Amplatz states the device exits the distal end of the delivery catheter and resiliently returns to an expanded shape, and further discloses the ability to pull the device proximally back within the delivery system (paras. [0056] and [0058]). Further, para. [0059] describes the distal end of the device urged out from the catheter to elastically self-expand and contact the vessel walls, and para. [0063] describes the device beginning to exit the distal end of the catheter. Therefore, Amplatz is considered to disclose staged expansion, starting with the distal end of the device, in which the hooks engage tissue upon release from the delivery catheter. Accordingly, the distal end of the device is considered to be released before the proximal end of the device, such that the claim limitation is met. Further, applicant states hooks 20 are shown as not extending radially outward of lobe 12, however this is not claimed, nor do the figures of Amplatz specifically depict this. In contrast, fig. 8 appears to depict hooks 20 radially outward of lobe 12.
2) Applicant further argues Amplatz does not disclose the hooks in engagement with tissue when the lobe is partially expanded (Remarks, pg. 6).
In response to applicant’s second argument, it is respectfully submitted Amplatz discloses staged expansion as discussed above, and further discloses the hooks engaging tissue prior to full expansion of the device (para. [0067]). Accordingly, the claim limitation is considered to be met, because Amplatz discloses the hooks engaging tissue prior to full release of the device. Further, Amplatz is silent as to any disengagement of the already engaged hooks to tissue.
3) Applicant further argues Amplatz does not disclose a valley as claimed (Remarks, pgs. 6-7).
In response to applicant’s third argument, it is respectfully submitted the rejection has been modified, necessitated by applicant’s amendments to the claims. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, a valley can be defined as a hollow or depression (see Merriam-Webster dictionary definition). Based on fig. 1a of Amplatz, the valley of transition segment 19 is a hollow or depression lying between the proximal end of lobe 12 and the distal end of disk 14, such that transition segment 19 is considered to meet the claim language of a valley as discussed below.
4) Applicant further argues the instant spec. provides criticality for the claimed range of the position of the hooks (Remarks, pgs. 7-8).
In response to applicant’s fourth argument, it is respectfully submitted para. [0046] of the instant spec. describes the claimed range as having a relationship that “may be at least partly responsible for the functionality”, and further expands on the ranges by describing them as exemplary and not required for the invention (e.g. “may have a distance”). This does not demonstrate specific operability of the device within the claimed range, or describe how the claimed range achieves unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.05(III)(A)). Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “connecting member” in claims 6 and 19.
Para. [0032] of the published application describes the “connecting member” as structure 120 (see figs. 5-6). “Connecting member” uses the generic placeholder “member” coupled with the term “connecting”, which is functional in that the limitation alternatively recites a member for connecting, and the term “member” is not preceded by a structural modifier since the term “connecting” does not imply any structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amplatz (US 2009/0171386 A1) (all references previously of record).
Regarding claim 15, Amplatz discloses (see abstract; paras. [0029]-[0069]; figs. 1a-11) a method for occluding a left atrial appendage (“LAA”) (figs. 3a-c), the method comprising:
positioning an occluder (10, para. [0040]; fig. 1a) in a collapsed condition within a delivery catheter (loaded into lumen 25 of delivery catheter 29, para. [0054]; fig. 2), the occluder including:
a lobe (12, para. [0040]) having a proximal end defining a proximal surface of the lobe (proximal end of 12), a distal end defining a distal surface of the lobe (distal end of 12), and a middle portion connecting and extending between the proximal end and the distal end (depicted in fig. 1a); and
a plurality of stabilizing wires (20, para. [0041]) coupled to the lobe (figs. 1a-11), each of the plurality of stabilizing wires having a hook at a distal end thereof (see figs. 4-7);
advancing the occluder into or adjacent to the LAA while the occluder is collapsed within the delivery catheter (paras. [0060]-[0061]);
transitioning the lobe into a partially-expanded state (partially expanded into LAA, considered to be partially expanded state, para. [0067]) in which the distal end of the lobe has exited the delivery catheter and has begun to self-expand while the proximal end of the lobe remains collapsed within the delivery catheter (considered to include staged expansion in which proximal end is released after distal end of 12, para. [0067]; figs. 10-11);
while the lobe is in the partially expanded state, contacting at least one of the hooks with tissue of the LAA (para. [0067]); and
after contacting the at least one of the hooks with tissue of the LAA, fully deploying the occluder from the delivery catheter (hooks engage tissue as body member 12 expands before full release, para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 16, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 15. Amplatz further discloses wherein between the partially expanded state of the lobe and the full deployment of the occluder from the delivery catheter, the at least one of the hooks remains in contact with the tissue of the LAA (further fixates device 10, para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 19, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 15. Amplatz further discloses wherein fully deploying the occluder from the delivery catheter includes deploying a disc (14, para. [0040]) of the occluder from the delivery catheter (para. [0067]), the disc of the occluder being coupled to the lobe of the occluder by a connecting member (19, para. [0045]).
Regarding claim 20, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 19. Amplatz further discloses wherein upon deploying the disc of the occluder, the disc at least partially covers an ostium of the LAA (paras. [0042] and [0067]).
Regarding claim 15, Amplatz discloses (see abstract; paras. [0029]-[0069]; figs. 1a-11), under an alternative interpretation with respect to the lobe, a method for occluding a left atrial appendage (“LAA”) (figs. 3a-c), the method comprising:
positioning an occluder (10, para. [0040]; fig. 1a) in a collapsed condition within a delivery catheter (loaded into lumen 25 of delivery catheter 29, para. [0054]; fig. 2), the occluder including:
a lobe (includes 12 and 14, para. [0040]) having a proximal end defining a proximal surface of the lobe (proximal end of 14), a distal end defining a distal surface of the lobe (distal end of 12), and a middle portion connecting and extending between the proximal end and the distal end (includes transition segment 19, para. [0045]); and
a plurality of stabilizing wires (20, para. [0041]) coupled to the lobe (figs. 1a-11), each of the plurality of stabilizing wires having a hook at a distal end thereof (see figs. 4-7);
advancing the occluder into or adjacent to the LAA while the occluder is collapsed within the delivery catheter (paras. [0060]-[0061]);
transitioning the lobe into a partially-expanded state (partially expanded into LAA, considered to be partially expanded state, para. [0067]) in which the distal end of the lobe has exited the delivery catheter and has begun to self-expand while the proximal end of the lobe remains collapsed within the delivery catheter (considered to include staged expansion in which proximal end is released after distal end of 12, para. [0067]; figs. 10-11);
while the lobe is in the partially expanded state, contacting at least one of the hooks with tissue of the LAA (para. [0067]); and
after contacting the at least one of the hooks with tissue of the LAA, fully deploying the occluder from the delivery catheter (hooks engage tissue as body member 12 and disk portion 14 expand before full release, para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 17, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 15. Amplatz further discloses wherein after fully deploying the occluder from the delivery catheter, compression on the lobe from tissue of the LAA creates a valley within the middle portion of the lobe (defined by transition segment 19, considered to be a valley because transition segment 19 is depressed relative to proximal end of lobe 12 and distal end of disk 14, fig. 1a), such that a portion of the lobe forming the valley is not in contact with tissue of the LAA (depicted in fig. 3c).
Regarding claim 18, Amplatz discloses the method of claim 17. Amplatz further discloses wherein while the valley is created within the middle portion of the lobe, the at least one of the hooks remains in contact with the tissue of the LAA (para. [0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morin (US 2022/0008050 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Morin discloses (see abstract; paras. [0019]-[0050]; figs. 3-8) an occluder (110, para. [0031]; fig. 3) for occluding a left atrial appendage (“LAA”) (para. [0022]), the occluder comprising:
a lobe (118, para. [0032]; fig. 4) sized and shaped for positioning within the LAA (considered to be sized and shaped for positioning within LAA, para. [0043]), the lobe having a proximal end defining a proximal surface (124) of the lobe, a distal end defining a distal surface (128) of the lobe, and a middle portion (130) connecting and extending between the proximal end and the distal end (fig. 4), wherein the lobe has an expanded condition (expanded configuration, para. [0042]) in the absence of applied forces and a collapsed condition (reduced configuration, para. [0042]) for delivery to the LAA; and
a plurality of stabilizing wires (132, para. [0033]) coupled to the lobe (fig. 4), each of the plurality of stabilizing wires having a hook (134) at a distal end thereof (fig. 4), each of the hooks having a terminal end positioned radially outwardly of the lobe in the expanded condition of the lobe and being configured to frictionally engage tissue of the LAA (considered to frictionally engage tissue when retained at target site, paras. [0033] and [0038]),
wherein in the expanded condition of the lobe, each of the hooks has a distalmost point (distalmost point of hooks 134, fig. 4), the distalmost point of each of the hooks being positioned a spaced axial distance from the distal surface of the lobe in the expanded condition of the lobe (depicted in fig. 4).
Morin further discloses the spaced axial distance relatively similar to the spaced axial distance of the instant spec. (see fig. 5 of the instant spec.).
However, Morin fails to explicitly disclose the spaced axial distance being between about 0 mm and about 1.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Morin to have a spaced axial distance of 1 mm which falls within the claimed range of between 0 mm and 1.5mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Morin would not operate differently with the claimed axial distance and since the hooks of Morin are intended to be located relative to the distal end of the lobe as depicted in fig. 4, the device would function appropriately having the claimed spaced axial distance. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter “may” be within the claimed ranges and “may” be at least partly responsible for the described functionality (para. [0046] of the published application).
Regarding claim 2, Morin (as modified) teaches the occluder of claim 1. Morin (as modified) further teaches wherein the spaced axial distance is about 1.0 mm (combination considered to further teach the spaced axial distance being about 1 mm).
Regarding claim 3, Morin (as modified) teaches the occluder of claim 1. Morin further discloses wherein a transition between the middle portion and the distal end of the lobe is curved (T2, para. [0032]; fig. 4), the curve of the transition having a contour length measured between (i) a point at which a distal end of the middle portion joins a proximal end of the curved transition, and (ii) a point at which a distal end of the curved transition joins the distal surface of the lobe (considered to be contour length of transition T2, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Morin (as modified) teaches the occluder of claim 3.
Morin further discloses wherein in the expanded condition of the lobe, at least one of the hooks crosses from an interior of the lobe to an exterior of the lobe at a crossing point (depicted in fig. 4).
However, Morin (as modified) fails to explicitly teach the crossing point being positioned between about 25% and about 50% of the contour length.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Morin (as modified) to have the crossing point positioned between about 25% and about 50% of the contour length, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Morin (as modified) would not operate differently with the claimed location of the crossing point, and since the hooks of Morin are intended to cross over the transition T2 as depicted in fig. 4, the device would function appropriately having the claimed location of the crossing point within the transition. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the diameter “may” be within the claimed ranges (para. [0047] of the published application).
Regarding claim 5, Morin (as modified) teaches the occluder of claim 4. Morin further discloses wherein the transition has a radius of curvature between about 0.075 inches (1.905 mm) and about 0.125 inches (3.175 mm) (para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 6, Morin (as modified) teaches the occluder of claim 1. Morin further discloses wherein the occluder includes a disc (116, para. [0032]) at a proximal end of the occluder (fig. 4), and a connecting member (120) connects the disc and the lobe (para. [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Morin (as modified) teaches the occluder of claim 1. Morin further discloses wherein in a compressed state of the lobe (figs. 5b-6), a valley is formed within the middle portion of the lobe (annotated fig. 5b, note the claim language does not specify the direction the valley extends, such that the middle portion is considered to form a valley at least internally as the proximal and distal surfaces bow outwardly, para. [0039]), and in the compressed state, at least one of the hooks extends farther radially outward from a central longitudinal axis of the lobe than does any structure of the lobe (depicted in figs. 5b-6).
Annotated Figure 5B of Morin
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771