Response to Amendment/Arguments
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed 12/31/25. Amended Claims 1, 3-14, 19 are pending.
Applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Examiner notes the previous office action did not indicate allowable subject matter. The absence of an art rejection is not an indication of allowable subject matter. Regarding the previous drawing objections, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The claimed invention continues to not be illustrated. The disagreement between the drawings and the claim language continues to raise questions as to the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Regarding the previous claim objections, these have been overcome by the claim amendments.
Regarding the previous 112(b) rejections, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s annotated drawing is not persuasive, as applicant’s annotated “working chamber” is not in agreement with the claim language. The claimed subject matter is not shown. Applicant’s own selected figure with annotations to highlight the issue:
The drawing shows two working chambers (annotated “1” and “2”) opposite the spring 39, one connected to pilot line 40 and one connected to pilot line 41. The claim requires both pilot lines 40 and 41 be attached to the same working chamber, which is not shown. The disagreement between the claimed subject matter and the disclosed subject matter continues to be present in the claims.
Regarding Claim 8, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Claim 8 continues to raise issues regarding indefiniteness.
Applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Claim 10 for example requires “wherein the pressure supply line is connected to the pressure line and the working line via parallel branches”. Annotating applicant’s Fig. 6 gives the following:
There are two branches, annotated Branch A from pressure line 65 and Branch B from working line 54, to the pressure supply line 66. These are not in parallel, whereas the claim requires parallel branches to both the working and the pressure line, thereby requiring four total branches. The same analysis applies to Claim 12 as well, except for the pressure reduction line instead of pressure supply line.
Applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Examiner notes Claim 14 has been amended to include method steps.
Regarding the previously applied prior art of Swagten and Lucas, Lucas has been overcome by the amendments to Claim 1. Regarding Swagten, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Claim 1 recites in part “at least one directional control valve connected to a pressure line and a working line of the hydraulic consumer and including a hydraulic control line structured to transfer the at least one directional control valve to a first position” and Swagten continues to meet this claim language as annotated below:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., some further language not currently present in the claims that more particularly points out and distinctly claims the invention) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the Claim 3, 8, 9, 10, and 12 limitations (please see 112(b) section below) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes on Claim Interpretation:
In Claim 10, “wherein the pressure supply line is connected to the pressure line and the working line via parallel branches” requires four branches, two branches for the pressure line (to be in parallel to each other) and two branches for the working line (to be in parallel to each other).
In Claim 12, “wherein the pressure reduction line is connected to the pressure line and the working line via parallel branches” requires four branches, two branches for the pressure line (to be in parallel to each other) and two branches for the working line (to be in parallel to each other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8-10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites in part “wherein the at least one directional control valve...includes two pilot control lines connected to a working chamber opposite the spring”. This is indefinite. This is not shown in applicant’s drawings Fig. 5 and 6. Also, if both pilot control lines (for example, both pilot control lines 40 and 41) are connected to the same working chamber, then the two pilot control lines are connected to one another and therefore each line would be at the same pressure as no other valves are present in the pilot control lines. The metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite.
Claim 8 recites in part “wherein the at least one directional control valve includes a first directional control valve and a second directional control valve, which are each respectively connected to first and second pressure lines and first and second working lines of the hydraulic consumer, the hydraulic control lines of the first directional control valve and the second directional control valve being connected to one another in such a way that the hydraulic control lines pilot the first directional control valve and the second directional control valve into the closed position when the hydraulic control lines are pressurized.”. This is indefinite. Claim 8 depends from Claim 1. Claim 1 already introduces “a pressure line” and “a working line”. Now Claim 8 appears to be introducing two “pressure line” and two “working lines” in addition to those introduced in Claim 1. This is not understood, as the drawings do not appear to depict the claimed structure. Further, there is indefiniteness of the “hydraulic control lines” (plural) in Claim 8 having characteristics of the “hydraulic control line” (singular) in Claim 1. There may be drawing, specification, and/or 112(a) issues. The metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the valve arrangement includes a shuttle valve with a first blockable inflow and a second blockable inflow and with an outflow, the first blockable inflow of the shuttle valve being connected to a first pressure line of the first directional control valve, the second blockable inflow of the shuttle valve is connected to a second pressure line of the second directional control valve and the outflow of the shuttle valve is connected to the pressure supply line; and the shuttle valve is structured such that the pressure line with a highest pressure is capable of being connected to the pressure supply line.” This is indefinite. Claim 9 depends from Claim 8 which depends from Claim 1. Claim 9 reciting “a first pressure line” and “a second pressure line” appears to be adding structure beyond that of Claim 8, which itself appears to be adding structure beyond that of Claim 1 with the same naming. The metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the pressure supply line is connected to the pressure line and the working line via parallel branches”. This is indefinite. The claimed invention and disclosed invention are not in agreement. The drawings show in Fig. 6 “branches” with non-return valves 71, 72; these are not shown in agreement with the presented claim language.
The two branches with non-return valves 72 are connected on opposite sides of the directional control valve 64, one from working line and one from pressure line. The two branches with non-return valves 71 are connected on opposite sides of the directional control valve 64, one from working line and one from pressure line. The two branches with non-return valves 71 are connected to the pressure supply line 66. There are not two branches from the pressure line to the pressure supply line in parallel, nor are there two branches from the working line to the pressure supply line in parallel.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the working lines" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the pressure lines" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites in part “wherein the pressure reduction line is connected to the pressure line and the working line via parallel branches”. This is indefinite. The claimed invention and disclosed invention are not in agreement. The drawings show in Fig. 6 “branches” with non-return valves 71, 72; these are not shown in agreement with the presented claim language.
The two branches with non-return valves 72 are connected on opposite sides of the directional control valve 64, one from working line and one from pressure line. The two branches with non-return valves 71 are connected on opposite sides of the directional control valve 64, one from working line and one from pressure line. The two branches with non-return valves 72 are connected to the pressure reduction line 62. There are not two branches from the pressure line to the pressure supply line in parallel, nor are there two branches from the working line to the pressure supply line in parallel.
Those claims not specifically mentioned above are rejected as being rendered indefinite by virtue of their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 11, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swagten et al. (US 10400905).
Regarding Claim 1,
A valve arrangement for a mobile working machine with a hydraulic consumer, the valve arrangement comprising:
at least one directional control valve (8 or 40, in Figs. 1 and 2) connected to a pressure line (ex. line to 6) and a working line (line to 4) of the hydraulic consumer (4) and including a hydraulic control line (In Fig. 1: line to one of 34, 30, 32; in Fig. 2: line from 30 to 40 or line from 32 to 8) structured to transfer the at least one directional control valve to a first position;
a pilot valve (in Fig. 1: 34 or 30 or 32; in Fig. 2: 30 or 32) connected to the hydraulic control line;
a pressure supply line (as annotated); and
a pressure reduction line (as annotated); wherein
the pilot valve is structured to connect the hydraulic control line alternatingly to the pressure supply line and the pressure reduction line (Figs. 1 and 2); and
wherein the first position of the at least one directional control valve is a closed position in which flow is blocked in both inlet and outlet directions of the at least one directional control valve (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 4,
The valve arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the pilot valve is a 3/2-way valve (30, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5,
The valve arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the pilot valve is electrically actuatable (30, 32, or 42 in Fig. 1; 32 in Fig. 2) and, in a rest position, connects the pressure supply line to the hydraulic control line and, in an actuated position, connects the hydraulic control line to the pressure reduction line.
Regarding Claim 6,
The valve arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the pilot valve is electrically actuatable (30, 32, or 42 in Fig. 1; 32 in Fig. 2) in an operating position and is structured to be de-energized by an emergency stop switch.
Examiner note: The claim is interpreted in accordance with the limitations presented. That is, the required structure of the language “is structured to be” is met as the valves are controlled by electronic controllers (36, 38).
Regarding Claim 11,
The valve arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the pressure reduction line is a tank line which can be connected to a tank (as shown in Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 14,
A method of using a valve arrangement in a mobile working machine (“drilling vessel”) including a working line of a hydraulic consumer, comprising:
providing the valve arrangement, the valve arrangement including:
at least one directional control valve (8 or 40, in Figs. 1 and 2) connected to a pressure line (ex. line to 6) and a working line (line to 4) of the hydraulic consumer and including a hydraulic control line (in Fig. 1: line to one of 34, 30, 32; in Fig. 2: line from 30 to 40 or line from 32 to 8) structured to transfer the at least one directional control valve to a first position;
a pilot valve (in Fig. 1: 34 or 30 or 32; in Fig. 2: 30 or 32) connected to the hydraulic control line;
a pressure supply line (example annotation below); and
a pressure reduction line (example annotation below); and
shutting off the working line when a leakage occurs in the working line to reduce or prevent hydraulic oil from escaping from a leakage point (ex. Col. 3, lines 28-38),
the pilot valve is structured to connect the hydraulic control line alternatingly to the pressure supply line and the pressure reduction line (Figs. 1 and 2); and
the first position of the at least one directional control valve is a closed position in which flow is blocked in both inlet and outlet directions of the at least one directional control valve (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 19,
The valve arrangement according to claim 1, wherein the at least one directional control valve is also movable to a second position (other of two positions of 8, 40) in which flow is free to move in both the inlet and outlet directions of the at least one directional control valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swagten in view of Kawabuchi et al. (US 10837473).
Regarding Claim 7, Swagten teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
wherein the emergency stop switch is in a working cabin of the working machine so as to be manually actuatable.
Swagten discloses closing the valve in case of failures and emergencies (ex. Col. 1, lines 30-54, Col. 3, lines 28-47). Swagten discloses an interface for an operator (ex. Col. 10, lines 49-62).
Kawabuchi teaches
For a valve arrangement,
wherein the emergency stop switch (80, ex. Figs. 1 and 5) is in a working cabin of the working machine so as to be manually actuatable.
From Col. 5, lines 44-50:
That is, the emergency operation activation switch 80 is used by an operator in a case where the controller 43 cannot control the electromagnetic proportional valve 44. The emergency operation activation switch 80 is disposed in the cab 73. The emergency operation activation switch 80 is disposed on a front operation panel of the cab 73 so as to be easily operated.
Since both references are directed to valve arrangements, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve arrangement of Swagten to include an emergency stop switch as taught by Kawabuchi in order to provide an operator control over the valve when the controller cannot during an emergency. Being able to close the valve(s) to achieve a safe state (“remain closed” - Col. 10, line 60) if the controller malfunctions during an emergency increases safety.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Breuning teaches elements of the claimed invention including a valve arrangement.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL QUANDT
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/MICHAEL QUANDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745