Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 29 December 2025 and 18 June 2026 fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because they do not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. Applicant has included correspondence in the Japanese and German language without an English translation. They have been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 29 December 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Applicant has not provided the correct Japanese document with serial number S5010883.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 4, the term “adapted” is replaced by --is adapted--.
In claim 1, line 5 the phrase “on one of side surfaces” should be replaced by --in one side surface--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacobs et al. (US 4,220,301).
Regarding claim 1, Jacobs et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a gripping portion (16), configured in a sheet shape (Figs. 1-6 as shown);
a slider connection portion (18), extends outward from a front end of the gripping portion and adapted to pass through a tab pull installation portion of the slider;
an engaged portion (surface defined by edges 19, 24, 22 and 23 as shown in Fig. 4 and cavity 25), located on one of side surfaces of the gripping portion in a width direction; and
an engagement portion (19), extending outward from an end portion of the slider connection portion, wherein
the engagement portion is fitted into the engaged portion along the side surface of the gripping portion, so that the slider connection portion is closed to form an annular shape (Figs. 2, 3, 5 and 6 as shown).
Regarding claim 2, Jacobs et al. further discloses wherein,
the engaged portion comprises an extending recessed portion (between 24a and 23b as shown in Fig. 1) extending along the side surface of the gripping portion and an engagement recessed portion (lower portion of cavity as shown in Fig. 1) located at an extreme end of the extending recessed portion,
the engagement portion comprises an extension rod portion (top portion of 19 occupying the space between 23b and 24a as shown in Fig. 3) extending from the end portion of the slider connection portion along the side surface of the gripping portion, and an engagement protrusion (19b) located at an extreme end of the extension rod portion, wherein
the extension rod portion is fitted into the extending recessed portion along the side surface of the gripping portion, and the engagement protrusion is fitted into the engagement recessed portion, so that the engagement portion is fitted into the engaged portion (Fig. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 3, Jacobs et al. further discloses wherein, the extending recessed portion extends along the side surface of the gripping portion from the front end of the gripping portion to a rear end of the gripping portion, and the engagement recessed portion is located at the rear end of the gripping portion (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 4, Jacobs et al. further discloses wherein, an extending direction of the extending recessed portion (extending recessed portion extends in a vertical direction in Fig. 1) intersects an extending direction of the engagement recessed portion (extending direction of the engagement recessed portion extends in a horizontal direction in Fig. 1), and an extending direction of the extension rod portion (extension rod portion extends in a vertical direction in Fig. 3) intersects an extending direction of the engagement protrusion (extending direction of the engagement protrusion extends in a horizontal direction in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Jacobs et al. further discloses wherein,
the engaged portion further comprises a rotating recessed portion (as occupied by 19a in Fig. 3) located at an extreme end of the engagement recessed portion,
the engagement portion further comprises a bent protruding portion (19a) located at an extreme end of the engagement protrusion,
an extending direction of the rotating recessed portion intersects the extending direction of the engagement recessed portion so that an extreme end of the engaged portion forms a hook shape (Fig. 1 as shown),
an extending direction of the bent protruding portion intersects the extending direction of the engagement protrusion so that an extreme end of the engagement portion forms a hook shape (Fig. 1 as shown), and
the bent protruding portion is fitted into the rotating recessed portion, so that the engagement portion is fitted into the engaged portion (Fig. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 6, Jacobs et al. further discloses wherein, the slider connection portion extends from a first side in the width direction to a second side opposite to the first side at the front end of the gripping portion, and the engaged portion is located on a side surface of the gripping portion corresponding to the second side (Fig. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Jacobs et al. further discloses wherein, a recessed portion (16a) is formed on an outer surface of the gripping portion close to the first side, and when viewed from the front of the gripping portion, the recessed portion does not overlap with a region corresponding to the engaged portion on the gripping portion (Fig. 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Jacobs et al. further discloses wherein, the gripping portion, the slider connection portion, and the engagement portion are made of soft material (Column 1, lines 61-63 describe wherein the material is a resilient plastic material).
Regarding claim 9, Jacobs et al. further discloses wherein, shape and dimensions of the engagement portion correspond to shape and dimensions of the engaged portion, so that the engagement portion fits into the engaged portion to form a tight fit (Figs. 4-6 as shown).
Regarding claim 10, Jacobs et al. further discloses wherein, the gripping portion, the slider connection portion, the engagement portion, and the engaged portion are different portions of a single component formed integrally (Fig. 1 as shown).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yang (US 2009/0265899) discloses an integral zipper pull wherein ends of a cord member are fed through a slider and interfit with each other. Gretz (US 6,513,766) for an integral member with a hook shaped end for connected to a main body.
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677 /JACK W LAVINDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677