DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on May 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 15, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Felix et al (PGPub 2011/0217621).
Regarding Claim 1, Felix teaches a fuel cell manufacturing device (Abstract) comprising:
a conveying unit that conveys a stacked body in which constituent elements of a fuel cell are stacked via an adhesive layer containing a thermoplastic resin material [0035];
a heating unit that heats the stacked body when the stacked body conveyed by the conveying unit is positioned in a predetermined heating zone ([0011]- heating zone);
a cooling unit that cools the stacked body when the stacked body conveyed by the conveying unit is positioned in a predetermined cooling zone after passing through the heating zone ([0011]- cooling zone); and
a pressurizing unit that keeps pressurizing the stacked body since the stacked body is heated in the heating zone until the stacked body is cooled in the cooling zone ([0011]- discussing applied pressure in the heating and cooling zones).
Regarding Claim 2, Felix further teaches the manufacturing device includes a double belt press device ([0035]; [0037]; Fig. 2); and the double belt press device includes a pair of upper and lower belts that constitutes the conveying unit ([0035]; [0037]; Fig. 2),
a heating press portion that constitutes the heating unit and a part of the pressurizing unit ([0011]- heating zone; discussing applied pressure in the heating zone), and
a cooling press portion that constitutes the cooling unit and another part of the pressurizing unit ([0011]- cooling zone; discussing applied pressure in the cooling zone).
Regarding Claim 3, Felix further teaches the manufacturing device includes a continuous roller press device ([0035]; [0037]; Fig. 2); the continuous roller press device includes a pair of upper and lower roller conveyors that constitutes the conveying unit ([0035]; [0037]; Fig. 2); and
the upper and lower roller conveyors include a heating press portion that constitutes the heating unit and a part of the pressurizing unit ([0011]- heating zone; discussing applied pressure in the heating zone), and
a cooling press portion that constitutes the cooling unit and another part of the pressurizing unit ([0011]- cooling zone; discussing applied pressure in the cooling zone).
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuhara (JP2020047511 cited in IDS with references to the machine English translation provided herewith).
Regarding Claim 1, Kuhara teaches a fuel cell manufacturing device [0001] comprising:
a conveying unit that conveys a stacked body in which constituent elements of a fuel cell are stacked via an adhesive layer containing a thermoplastic resin material ([0019] and Figs.- transport units 30);
a heating unit that heats the stacked body when the stacked body conveyed by the conveying unit is positioned in a predetermined heating zone ([0031]- heat sealing section; Fig. 3- heat sealing section 40);
a cooling unit that cools the stacked body when the stacked body conveyed by the conveying unit is positioned in a predetermined cooling zone after passing through the heating zone ([0033]- the laminate necessarily cools after being heat pressed); and
a pressurizing unit that keeps pressurizing the stacked body since the stacked body is heated in the heating zone until the stacked body is cooled in the cooling zone ([0019]-[0020]- clamps 33).
Regarding Claim 4, Kuhara further teaches the pressurizing unit includes a jig capable of pressurizing the adhesive layer while sandwiching the stacked body in a stacking direction of the stacked body ([0019]-[0020]- discussing clamps 33); and
the jig includes a pair of plates that sandwiches the stacked body (See Figs.- clamps 33), and
a positioning member that suppresses positional deviation of the plates in a direction orthogonal to the stacking direction of the stacked body (See Figs.- clamps 33 suppressing positional deviation).
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 7/27/26
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748