DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 Dec 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “at least one seal of the plurality of seals”. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear which plurality of seals is being referred to from Claim 5, “a plurality of seals to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore” or “a plurality of seals configured to restrict passage along an external surface of the tubular”. Therefore this limitation is unclear.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “at least one seal of the plurality of seals”. This limitation is unclear because it is unclear which plurality of seals is being referred to from Claim 13, “a plurality of seals to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore” or “a plurality of seals configured to restrict passage along an external surface of the tubular”. Therefore this limitation is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garrett (US 2383248).
Regarding Claim 1, Garrett discloses a pressure control device ((Figure 1). The device comprising:
a housing (The tubing head C embodies a tubing head body 10, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 1-2; Fig. 1) having an annular through bore (Fig. 1) running from a first end (body 10 having lateral outlets 11 and upper and lower flanges 12 and 13 respectively, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 2-3; Fig. 1) to a second end (body 10 having lateral outlets 11 and upper and lower flanges 12 and 13 respectively, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 2-3; Fig. 1) thereof;
an insert (the conical slip bowl portion 18 of hanger means 15, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 12-13; Figs. 1-2) configured for insertion within and removal from the housing (body 10 is provided with a tapered or conical seat 17 adapted to receive the conical slip bowl portion 18 of the hanger means, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 10-13; Figs. 1-2; It is inherent the bowl 18 could be removed from the body 10 as it is an assembly) through bore (Figs. 1-2);
the insert having an annular through bore (Figs. 1-2) configured for passage of a tubular (A tubing extends axially thru the inner casing 6 and is suspended therein by the tubing head C, Pg. 1, Col. 2, Lns. 49-51; Figs. 1-2) therethrough such that the tubular can traverse through the first end and the second end of the housing when the insert is disposed within the housing through bore (upon completing a well the tubing is generally lowered into the cased well bore after the tubing head body 10 has been installed on the casing head, Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lns. 44-47; When the last joint of tubing has been lowered into the well, the assembly 15 (less the slips 36) is fitted into the tapered seat 17 of the tubing head body 10, Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lns. 52-56; The tubing can now be rotated, raised or lowered, as it can be moved thru the packing 21 without danger of damaging the packing, Pg. 2, Col: 2, Lns. 62-64; Fig. 1); and
the insert configured with at least one seal (a lower or primary packing 21, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Ln. 17; Figs. 1-2) to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore when the insert is disposed within the housing through bore (This packing 21 is made up of rings having a V-shaped cross section and arranged with the open face of the rings downward toward the pressure so that pressure from within the casing will tend to expand the packing, causing it to press against the tubing and form a seal thereabout, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 19-25; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 3, Garrett discloses wherein the housing is configured with a first coupler (The tubing head C embodies a tubing head body 1O having lateral outlets 11 and upper and lower flanges 12 and 13 respectively, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 1-3) at the first end (Fig. 1) and a second coupler (The tubing head C embodies a tubing head body 10 having lateral outlets 11 and upper and lower flanges 12 and 13 respectively, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 1-3) at the second end (Fig. 1) to link the housing to a fluid conveyance system (a test bore or passageway 53 into the outer end of which the test valve 52 is threaded, Pg..2, Col. 2, Lns. 35-37; Fig. 1; The flanged casing head B, Pg. 1, Col. 2, Ln. 44; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Garrett discloses wherein the insert comprises a plurality of seals (sealing rings 23, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Ln. 29; Figs. 1-2) to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore (The externally tapered surface of the conical slip bowl portion 18 in annularly grooved to receive sealing rings 23 which seat against the tapered seat 17 and form a seal between the body 10 and bowl 18, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lris. 27-31; Figs. 1-2), the seals consisting of a plurality of seals (sealing rings 23, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Ln. 29; Figs. 1-2) configured to restrict fluid passage along an external surface of the insert when the insert is disposed within the housing through bore (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 5, Garrett discloses wherein the insert comprises a plurality of seals (This packing 21 is made up of rings having a V-shaped cross section, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 19-20; Fig. 2) to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore (a tubular sleeve portion 28 which is counterbored from its lower end for receiving a lower or primary packing 21 adapted to effect a seal between the tubing 8 and hanger means 15, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 15-19; Figs. 1-2), the seals consisting of a plurality of seals configured to restrict fluid passage along an external surface of the tubular (This packing 21 having a V-shaped cross section and arranged with the open face of the rings downward toward the pressure so that pressure from within the casing will tend to expand the packing, causing it to press against the tubing and form a seal thereabout, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 19-25; Figs. 1-2) when the tubular is disposed within the insert through bore (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 6, Garrett discloses wherein at least one seal of the plurality of seals is configured for energization (This packing 21 is made up of rings having a V-shaped cross section and arranged with the open of the rings downward toward the face pressure so that pressure from within the casing will tend to expand the packing, causing it to press against the tubing a'nd form a seal thereabout, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 19-25; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 8, Garrett discloses wherein the tubular is configured for fluid passage therethrough (Any pressure that may develop before or after the drilling fluid is displaced will be safely confined to the casing by sealing elements 21 and 23, Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lns. 66-69; It is inherent a tubing is configured for fluid passage if drilling fluid is displaced).
Regarding Claim 9, Garrett discloses a slip ram disposed on the housing to selectively restrain the tubular when the tubular is disposed within the insert through bore (The tubing head is of the slip suspension type, and the bowl portion 18 provides an enclosure for the tubing support means. This tubing support means embodies four tubing support slips 30 each having a segmental ring portion 31 provided on its inner side with grooves or teeth 32 which engage the tubing 8, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 36-42; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 10, Garrett discloses a method for operating a pressure control device (In the installation and use of the combination tubing head and lubing support, upon completing a well the tubing is generally lowered into the cased well bore after the tubing head body 10 has been installed on the casing head. The tubing hanger 15 carrying the packing 21, the hold-down nut 40, and the flanged stuffing box 16 are assembled in proper order on the last joint of tubing to be run but not connected by the bolts 24. When the last joint of tubing has been lowered into the well, the assembly 5 (less the slips 30) is fitted into the tapered seat of the tubing head body 10 and the flange bolts 24, and nuts 25 and 26 are installed and tightened, which forms a seal between the body 10 and assembly 15 by means of the sealing rings 23. The tubing 8 is also effectively sealed off from the outside or exterior by means of the inner packing 21, Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lns. 43-62), the device comprising
a housing (The tubing head C embodies a tubing head body 10, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 1-2; Fig. 1) having
an annular through bore (Fig. 1) running from a first end (body 10 having lateral outlets 11 and upper and lower flanges 12 and 13 respectively, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 2-3; Fig. 1) to a second end (body 10 having lateral outlets 11 and upper and lower flanges 12 and 13 respectively, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 2-3; Fig. 1) thereof, comprising:
disposing an insert within the housing through bore (body 10 is provided with a tapered or conical seat 17 adapted to receive the conical slip bowl portion 18 of the hanger means, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 10-13; Figs. 1-2; It is inherent the bowl 18 could be removed from the body 10 as it is an assembly), the insert having an annular through bore (Figs. 1-2) coaxially aligned with the housing through bore (Figs. 1-2; It is inherent the hanger means bore would be coaxially aligned with the body bore if the conical slip bowl portion of the hanger means seats on the tapered or conical seat of the body);
wherein the insert is configured with at least one seal (a lower or primary packing 21, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Ln. 17; Figs. 1-2) to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore (This packing 21 is made up of rings having a V-shaped cross section and arranged with the open face of the rings downward toward the pressure so that pressure from within the casing will tend to expand the packing, causing it to press against the tubing and form a seal thereabout, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 19-25; Figs. 1-2); and
passing a tubular through the insert through bore such that the tubular traverses through the first end and the second end of the housing (upon completing a well the tubing is generally lowered into the cased well bore after the tubing head body 1O has been installed on the casing head, Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lns. 44-47; When the last joint of tubing has been lowered into the well, the assembly 15 (less the slips 36) is fitted into the tapered seat 17 of the tubing head body 10, Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lns. 52-56; The tubing can now be rotated, raised or lowered, as it can be moved thru the packing 21 without danger of damaging the packing, Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lns. 62-64; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Garrett discloses coupling the housing to a fluid conveyance system (The tubing head C embodies a tubing head body 10 having lateral outlets 11 and upper and lower flanges 1' 2 and 13 respectively, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 1-3; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Garrett discloses wherein the insert comprises a plurality of seals (sealing rings 23, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Ln. 29; Figs. 1-2) to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore (The externally tapered surface of the conical slip bowl portion 18 in annularly grooved to receive sealing rings 23 which seat against the tapered seat .17 and form a seal between the body 10 and bowl 18, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 27-31; Figs. 1-2), the seals consisting of a plurality of seals (sealing rings 23, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Ln. 29; Figs. 1-2) configured to restrict fluid passage along an external surface of the insert (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 13, Garrett discloses wherein the insert comprises a plurality of seals (This packing 21 is made up of rings having a V-shaped cross section, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 19-20; Fig. 2) to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore (a tubular sleeve portion 28 which is counterbored from its lower end for receiving a lower or primary packing 21 adapted to effect a seal between the tubing 8 and hanger means 15, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 15-19; Figs. 1-2), the seals consisting of a plurality of seals configured to restrict fluid passage along an external surface of the tubular (This packing 21 is made up of rings having a V-shaped cross section and arranged with the open face of the rings downward toward the pressure so that pressure from within the casing will tend to expand the packing, causing it lo press against the tubing and form a seal thereabout, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 19-25; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 14, Garrett discloses wherein at least one seal of the plurality of seals is configured for energization (This packing 21 is made up of rings having a V-shaped cross section and arranged with the open face of the rings downward toward the pressure so that pressure from within the casing will tend to expand the packing, causing ii to press against the tubing and form a seal thereabout, Pg. 2, Col. 1, Lns. 19-25; Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrett (US 2383248) in view of Bakker et al (US 20180340383).
Regarding Claim 2, Garrett discloses all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose where the housing consists of an elongated member having a longitudinal axis and the insert consists of an elongated member having a longitudinal axis, wherein the housing through bore and the insert through bore are coaxial when the insert is disposed within the housing.
Bakker et al teach a pressure control device (In a method for sealing and controlling fluid pressure in an annular fluid passageway in a wellbore related process, use is made of an annular fluid passageway sealing device, Abstract), comprising:
a housing (the housing 21 shown in FIG. 4b, [0117]; Fig. 4b) having an annular through bore (Fig. 4b) running from a first end to a second end thereof (FIG. 4b shows schematically the stationary housing of the sealing device and the diverter housing of the system of FIG. 3, [0067]; Fig. 3; Fig. 4b);
an insert (The exchangeable assembly 80 is shown in FIG. 4a, [0117]; Fig. 3; Fig. 4a) configured for insertion within and removal from the housing (The exchangeable assembly 80 is shown in FIG. 4a and is rotatably mounted in the stationary part of the housing 21 shown in FIG. 4b, [0117]; Fig. 3) through bore (Fig. 3);
the insert having an annular through bore (Fig. 4a) configured for passage of a tubular therethrough (an annular fluid passageway sealing device, which includes a chamber delimited by chamber end members each provided with an opening therein so that the drilling tubulars string passes through said chamber and said chamber end members, Abstract) such that the tubular can traverse through the first end and the second end of the housing when the insert is disposed within the housing through bore (For example each of the variable diameter members 82, 83, 84, 85 can be set, or allowed to be expanded by the pressure of the circulated liquid, to a diameter indicated as a tool joint passage diameter allowing for the-passage of a tool joint portion in the drilling tubulars, [0123]); and
the insert configured with at least one seal (So these end members, alone or in combination, can act as a conventional stripper seal member, [0018]; The assembly 80 is composed of a common tubular rotary carrier 81 that supports at the lower and upper ends thereof the lower and upper chamber end members 23, 24 respectively, [0118]; Fig. 3; Fig. 4a) to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore when the insert is disposed within the housing through bore (Preferably the lower chamber end member and/or upper chamber end member, each or in combination, have a pressure rating such that in case of the mentioned high viscous liquid circulation being absent and/or no pressure drop being established by the narrow gap for other causes, the lower and/or upper chamber end members, alone or in combination, are able to withstand the pressure of the wellbore related fluid in the annular fluid passageway, [0018])
wherein the housing consists of an elongated member having a longitudinal axis and the insert consists of an elongated member having a longitudinal axis, wherein the housing through bore and the insert through bore are coaxial when the insert is disposed within the housing (Fig. 3; Fig. 4a; Fig. 4b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Garrett with the system as taught by Bakker et al for the advantage of locating the sealing packing further down the bowl by elongating it and thus further from the slips and thereby reducing the likelihood the packing would have to seal in an area of the tubular marred by the slips.
Regarding Claim 15, Garrett discloses at least one detector to detect a pressure change in between an external surface of the tubular and a surface of the insert through bore (A test valve 52 is associated with the outer sealing means 16 in order that any leakage past the inner packing 21 may be easily detected, Pg. 2, Col. 2, Lns. 32-34; Fig. 1).
Garrett fails to explicitly disclose wherein the housing comprises at least one detector to detect a pressure change in between an external surface of the tubular and a surface of the insert through bore.
Bakker et al teach a method for operating a pressure control device (In a method for sealing and controlling fluid pressure in an annular fluid passageway in a wellbore related process, Abstract), the device comprising a housing (the housing 21 shown in FIG. 4b, [0117]; Fig. 4b) having an annular through bore (Fig. 4b) running from a first end to a second end thereof (FIG. 4b shows schematically the stationary housing of the sealing device and the diverter housing of the system of FIG. 3, [0067]; Fig. 3; Fig. 4b), comprising: disposing an insert within the housing through bore (The exchangeable assembly 80 is shown in FIG. 4a and is rotatably mounted in the stationary part of the housing 21 shown in FIG. 4b, [0117]; Fig. 3), the insert having an annular through bore (Fig. 4a) coaxially aligned with the housing through bore (The sealing device 20 comprises:, [0079]; a housing 21, [0080]; The lower and upper chamber end members 23, 24 are each provided with an opening therein and these openings are aligned on an axis 26 of the sealing device 20 and are dimensioned so that in operation the drilling tubulars string 1 passes along this axis 26 through said chamber 22 and said chamber end members 23, 24, [0084]; Fig. 3); wherein the insert is configured with at least one seal (So these end members, alone or in combination, can act as a conventional stripper seal member, [0018]; The assembly 80 is composed of a common tubular rotary carrier 81 that supports at the lower and upper ends thereof the lower and upper chamber end members 23, 24 respectively, [0118]; Fig. 3; Fig. 4a) to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore (Preferably the lower chamber end member and/or upper chamber end member, each or in combination, have a pressure rating such that in case of the mentioned high viscous liquid circulation being absent and/or no pressure drop being established by the narrow gap for other causes, the lower and/or upper chamber end members, alone or in combination, are able to withstand the pressure of the wellbore related fluid in the annular fluid passageway, [0018]); and passing a tubular through the insert through bore such that the tubular traverses through the first end and the second end of the housing (a method for sealing and controlling fluid pressure in an annular fluid passageway in a wellbore related process, use is made of an annular fluid passageway sealing device, which includes a chamber delimited by chamber end members each provided with an opening therein so that the drilling tubulars string passes through said chamber and said chamber end members, Abstract);
wherein the housing comprises at least one detector (A further pressure sensor 66, [0106]; It is also illustrated that yet another pressure sensor 67, [0106]; Fig. 3) to detect a pressure change in between an external surface of the tubular and a surface of the insert through bore (A computerized control unit 65 is provided that is linked to the pressure sensor 60 and to the pump 40 on the other hand. For example a routine is programmed into the control unit to automatically effect a variation of the high viscosity liquid pressure in the feed zone when the wellbore related fluid pressure in the annular fluid passageway changes. A further pressure sensor 66, also linked to the computerized control unit 65, is provided to measure the liquid pressure in the feed zone 30, e.g. included in a control loop. It is also illustrated that yet another pressure sensor 67 is provided to measure the pressure in the discharge zone 31, this sensor also being linked to the control unit. On the basis of sensors 66, 67 the established pressure drop can be monitored, [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the detector of Garrett with the location of the detector as taught by Bakker et al for the advantage of having an additional pressure detection in the body for detecting pressure below the sealing pack or in between adjacent sealing rings of the sealing pack and thereby allow pressure monitoring while the outer sealing means is removed.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrett (US 2383248) in view of Edvardsen (US 20100218937).
Regarding Claim 7, Garrett discloses all essential elements of the current invention as discussed above but fails to expressly disclose at least one injector to inject grease in between an external surface of the tubular and a surface of the insert through bore when the tubular is disposed within the insert through bore.
Edvardsen teaches a pressure control device (Sealing arrangement for dynamic sealing around a drill stem (16) or a coiled tubing is described, Abstract), comprising:
a housing (the dynamic seal 10 which is fitted at the top of the temporary well safety equipment, [00026]; Figs. 1-6) having an annular through bore running from a first end to a second end thereof (Figs. 1-6);
an insert configured for insertion within and removal from the housing through bore (one or several sets of main seals 20, [0026]; Figs. 1-6; The sets of main seals 20 can be placed with a mutual distance apart, [0027]; It is inherent the main seals can be removed from dynamic seal 10 as it is an assembly):
the insert having an annular through bore (Figs. 1-6) configured for passage of a tubular therethrough such that the tubular can traverse through the first end and the second end of the housing when the insert is disposed within the housing through bore (Figs. 2-6); and
the insert configured with at least one seal (Each of the sets 20 of main seals can comprise a number of packer elements 30 in the form of sealing discs, [0028]; Figs. 1-6) to restrict fluid passage along the housing through bore when the insert is disposed within the housing through bore (the seal surface 32 of the packer elements 30 against the drill stem 16, [0029]; Fig. 1);
further comprising at least one injector to inject grease in between an external surface of the tubular and a surface of the insert through bore when the tubular is disposed within the insert through bore (The main seal(s) 20 comprises at least one inlet channel 36 arranged to receive the friction reducing medium through said seal 20 directly into the seal surface 32 of the packer elements 30 against the drill stem 16, [0029]; Between the sets of seals 20 an environmentally friendly grease or oil can be injected, [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seals of Garrett with the injector as taught by Edvardsen for the advantage of reducing the friction, cooling and increasing the sealing effect of the tubular against the packing and thereby better the sealing properties of the seals, as taught by Edvardsen (The friction reducing medium has several properties, it shall; lubricate (lower the friction), cool, and increase the sealing effect of the seal by filling any irregularities between the seal and the drill stem, [0024]).
Conclusion
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753