DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings with 3 sheets of Figs. 1-3 received on 12/03/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaCross et al., US 2018/0251069 A1 (hereinafter referred to as LaCross), in view of Weller et al., US 2010/0194890 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Weller).
As to claim 1, LaCross teaches (Figs. 1-62) a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (10, para [0072], an interior rearview mirror assembly 10, Fig. 1), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mirror head (12, para [0072], a casing 12, Fig. 1) adjustable relative to a mounting structure (18, paras [0072]-[0073], the mirror assembly 10 is configured to be adjustably mounted via a mounting structure 18, the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between a mirror mode orientation and a display mode orientation, Fig. 1), wherein the mounting structure is configured to mount the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (18, para [0072], the mirror assembly 10 is mounted to an interior portion of a vehicle, such as an interior or in-cabin surface of a vehicle windshield, via the mounting structure 18, Figs. 57-59); and
wherein the mirror head accommodates a mirror reflective element (14, para [0072], the reflective element 14, Fig. 1);
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjustable by a driver of the vehicle to set a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (12, para [0073], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable in a mirror mode orientation, where the reflective element is position to provide the desired driver’s rearward field of view, Fig. 1);
wherein the mirror head accommodates a video display screen (16, paras [0072] and [0081], the display system has a display area 16 which includes a display screen, Figs. 1 and 57-59);
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the video display screen is electrically operable to display video images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle (para [0081], the display system displays video images derived from image data captured by rearward viewing camera so the video images are viewable by the driver of the vehicle, Figs. 57-59) through the mirror reflector of the mirror reflective element (para [0081], the display system includes a video display screen disposed in the mirror head and viewable, when activated, through the reflective element, Figs. 57-59);
an adjustment mechanism (20, para [0073], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between the mirror mode and the display mode orientation via an actuator 20, Figs. 2-25) that, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, is operable to adjust the mirror head between (i) a mirror mode orientation where the mirror head is positioned relative to the mounting structure so that reflections at the mirror reflective element provide the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (paras [0081] and [0116], when the mirror head is adjusted to a “mirror mode,” the driver can view the rearward field of view provided by the reflective element, Fig. 61) and (ii) a display mode orientation where the mirror head is tilted from the mirror mode orientation so that reflections at the mirror reflective element are directed away from the driver of the vehicle (paras [0081] and [0116], when the mirror head is tilted or adjusted to a “display mode,” the displayed video images are viewable by the driver of the vehicle, with the tilting of the mirror head causing the primary reflection off the reflective element to be out of the driver’s eyes since it would be aimed up or down, Fig. 62); and
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and responsive to the mirror head being adjusted to the display mode orientation (paras [0081] and [0116], the changes between mirror mode and display mode may be responsive to a user input, and the mirror head may automatically pivot to the appropriate orientation for the selected mode, Fig. 62), the video display screen is electrically operated to display video images representative of the rearward view for viewing by the driver of the vehicle through the reflective element (paras [0081] and [0116], when the mirror head is tilted to a display mode, the displayed video images, such as derived from image data captured by a rearward viewing camera, are viewable by the driver of the vehicle, Fig. 62).
LaCross does not teach the mirror reflective element consists of a single glass substrate having a first planar surface and a second planar surface opposite the first planar surface and separated from the first planar surface by a thickness of the single glass substrate, and wherein the second planar surface is parallel to the first planar surface, and wherein the single glass substrate has a mirror reflector.
LaCross and Weller are related as interior rearview mirror assemblies.
However, Weller teaches (Figs. 1-40) a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (10, para [0076], interior rearview mirror assembly 10, Fig. 1), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mirror head (618, 620, para [0142], the mirror assembly 610 includes a bezel portion 618 and a rear casing or housing 620 that support mirror, this is considered the mirror housing, Fig. 27) adjustable relative to a mounting structure (627a, 627b, para [0144], the mirror is pivotally mounted to a mounting structure 627a and mounting button 627b for attaching the mirror to an interior surface of a vehicle, Fig. 27), wherein the mounting structure is configured to mount the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (627a, 627b, para [0144], the mounting structure 627a and mounting button 627b are for attaching the mirror to an interior surface of a vehicle, such as to an interior surface of the vehicle windshield or to an overhead console or headliner, Fig. 27);
wherein the mirror head accommodates a mirror reflective element (612, para [0142], the bezel portion 618 and a rear casing or housing 620 support the reflective element 612, Fig. 27);
wherein the mirror reflective element consists of a single glass substrate (118’, para [0118], the reflective 112 has a glass substrate 118’, Fig. 12) having a first planar surface (118’, para [0118], the substrate 118’ has a front surface located on the right side of the substrate 118’ shown in Fig. 12, this is considered the first planar surface, Fig. 12) and a second planar surface opposite the first planar surface (118’, para [0118], the substrate 118’ has a rear surface located opposite the front surface, this is considered the second planar surface, Fig. 12) and separated from the first planar surface by a thickness of the single glass substrate (118’, para [0118], the surfaces are separated by a thickness of the single glass substrate 118’, Fig. 12), and wherein the second planar surface is parallel to the first planar surface (118’, para [0118], the surfaces of the substrate 118’ are parallel as shown in Fig. 12), and wherein the single glass substrate has a mirror reflector (120’, para [0118], a mirror reflector coating or layer 120’, Fig. 12);
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjustable by a driver of the vehicle to set a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (626a, paras [0120] and [0144], a driver of the vehicle aligns the rearward field of view of the interior rearview mirror, the attachment plate 626 includes a mounting ball member 626a for pivotally mounting the mirror to a mounting structure 627a and mounting button 627b for attaching the mirror to an interior surface of a vehicle, Figs. 27 and 30A);
wherein the mirror head accommodates a video display screen (136’, para [0118], video screen 136’, Fig. 12);
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the video display screen is electrically operable to display video images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle (136’, para [0081], the display is electrically activated, Fig. 12) through the mirror reflector of the mirror reflective element (136’, para [0118], the display screen 136’ is located behind the glass substrate 118’ and behind the mirror reflector 120’ so that the display images are transmitted through the transflective mirror reflector and through the glass substrate 118’ of the reflective element 112’, Fig. 12);
an adjustment mechanism (664, para [0187], the control system 664 controls the display module, the display module is selectively operable, for example in conjunction with a reverse imaging system such that the display module is activated to display images of rearward scene behind the vehicle in response to the vehicle being shifted into a reverse gear or in response to rearward movement, Fig. 40) that, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, is operable to adjust the mirror head between
(i) a mirror mode orientation where the mirror head is positioned relative to the mounting structure so that reflections at the mirror reflective element provide the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (610, 614, paras [0120] and [0140], a driver of the vehicle aligns the rearward field of view of the interior rearview mirror, when the display device 614 is deactivated the interior rearview mirror assembly 610 is in mirror mode, Fig. 26A) and
(ii) a display mode (610, 614, para [0140], when the display device 614 is activated the interior rearview mirror assembly 610 is in display mode, Fig. 26B); and
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the video display screen is electrically operated (136’, para [0081], the display is electrically activated, Fig. 12) to display video images representative of the rearward view for viewing by the driver of the vehicle (136’, para [0187], the display module is activated to display images of rearward scene behind the vehicle, Fig. 26B) through the mirror reflector of the mirror reflective element (136’, para [0118], the display screen 136’ is located behind the glass substrate 118’ and behind the mirror reflector 120’ so that the display images are transmitted through the transflective mirror reflector and through the glass substrate 118’ of the reflective element 112’, Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular interior review mirror assembly of LaCross with the glass substrate and reflector of Weller because doing so significantly reduces display washout on sunny days (para [0124]).
As to claim 2, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
LaCross does not teach the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the mirror reflector is disposed at the second planar surface of the single glass substrate.
LaCross and Weller are related as interior rearview mirror assemblies.
However, Weller teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the mirror reflector is disposed at the second planar surface of the single glass substrate (120’, para [0118], the transflective mirror reflector 120’ is located on the rear, or second planar, surface of the substrate 118’, Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular interior review mirror assembly of LaCross with the glass substrate and reflector of Weller because doing so significantly reduces display washout on sunny days (para [0124]).
As to claim 3, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1.
LaCross does not teach the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the mirror reflector is disposed at the first planar surface of the single glass substrate.
LaCross and Weller are related as interior rearview mirror assemblies.
Weller discloses the claimed invention except for the mirror reflector is disposed at the first planar surface of the single glass substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to dispose the transflective mirror reflector 102’ at the first planar surface of the glass substrate 118’, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.). See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular interior review mirror assembly of LaCross with the glass substrate and reflector of Weller because doing so significantly reduces display washout on sunny days (para [0124]).
As to claim 4, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a detent interface having respective detent positions to retain the mirror head at the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation (para [0077], the actuator includes a detent at each end of cam grove to lock each follower in place when the actuator pivots the mirror head to the mirror mode orientation or the display mode orientation).
As to claim 5, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the video display screen is electrically operated to display the video images responsive to engagement of the detent interface corresponding to the display mode orientation (paras [0077] and [0081], the actuator 20 includes a detent that locks the mirror in place when the actuator pivots the mirror head to the display mode orientation, the display system includes a video display screen disposed in the mirror head and viewable, when activated via pivoting to the display mode orientation, thus when the detent locks the mirror head via the actuator in the display mode orientation the video images are displayed, Figs. 57-59).
As to claim 6, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a toggle mechanism that is manually movable relative to the mirror head to adjust the mirror head between at least the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation (para [0085], the driver may manually adjust the mirror head, the mirror head has a toggle that toggles the mirror head between a mirror mode and a display mode, Fig. 1).
As to claim 7, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the mounting structure comprises (i) a mounting arm (118, para [0093], the mounting structure 118, Fig. 26) having a ball member at an end of the mounting arm (118a, paras [0076] and [0094], the ball member 118a, Fig. 26) and (ii) a socket element disposed at the mirror head (30, para [0076], the actuator body 22 includes a pivot element 30 which is a socket element, Figs. 2-5 and 26), and wherein the socket element pivotally receives the ball member of the mounting arm (30, 118a, paras [0076] and [0094], the socket 30 is for pivotally mounting and retaining the mirror head at the ball member 118a of a mirror mount, Fig. 26), and wherein the mirror head is adjustable about the ball member of the mounting arm (30, 118a, para [0076], the mirror head pivots about the ball member 118a, Fig. 26).
As to claim 8, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 7, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein, when the mirror head is adjusted between the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation, the mirror head is tilted relative to the socket element (20, paras [0073]-[0076], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation via the actuator 20 that is electrically powered to import a pivotal movement, the actuator 20 comprises a body 22 that includes the socket 30 pivotally mounted to the ball member, thus the mirror head is pivoted via the ball and socket joint, Figs. 2-26).
As to claim 9, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein, when the mirror head is adjusted between the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation, the mirror head is tilted about a pivot axis that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the mirror head (para [0073], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation via the actuator 20 that is electrically powered to impart a pivotal movement or flipping of the mirror head about a generally horizontal pivot axis, Figs. 2-25).
As to claim 10, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein, when the mirror head is adjusted from the mirror mode orientation toward the display mode orientation, the mirror head is tilted upward about the pivot axis (paras [0073] and [0116], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable from mirror mode orientation to display mode orientation where the mirror head is tilted upward relative to the mirror mode orientation, Fig. 62).
As to claim 11, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein, when the mirror head is adjusted from the mirror mode orientation toward the display mode orientation, the mirror head is tilted downward about the pivot axis (paras [0073] and [0116], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable from mirror mode orientation to display mode orientation where the mirror head is tilted downward relative to the mirror mode orientation, Fig. 62).
As to claim 12, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly does not accommodate electronic dimming circuitry (paras [0117]-[0118], the circuitry for driving the dimming of an electrochromic mirror cell are optional, thus not considered to be accommodated).
As to claim 13, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises an electrically operable actuator that, when electrically operated, adjusts the mirror head between the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation (20, para [0073]the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation via an actuator 20 that is electrically powered to impart a pivotal movement, Figs. 2-25).
As to claim 14, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 13, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the adjustment mechanism adjusts the mirror head from the mirror mode orientation to the display mode orientation based on glare light emanating from a headlight of a trailing vehicle being greater than a threshold level of glare light (paras [0102] and [0117], the actuator automatically pivots a preset amount to pivot from the saved mirror mode orientation to a display mode orientation, the driver may store the display mode orientation, whereby the actuator may pivot to the stored orientation in response to a user input or triggering event, this is considered to be when a headlight is greater than a threshold level. The user input comprises reconfigurable user inputs or sensors, the mirror and sensor system includes a glare light sensor for sensing glare light from rearward of the vehicle. Thus, the mirror head pivots from mirror mode orientation to display mode orientation when the glare light sensor senses glare light from rearward of the vehicle, Fig. 64).
As to claim 15, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and with the mirror head in the mirror mode orientation, and based on glare light emanating from a headlight of a trailing vehicle, the video display screen is electrically operated to reduce the glare light that is reflected by the mirror reflective element toward the driver of the vehicle (paras [0102] and [0117], the actuator automatically pivots a preset amount to pivot from the saved mirror mode orientation to a display mode orientation, the driver may store the display mode orientation, whereby the actuator may pivot to the stored orientation in response to a user input or triggering event. The user input comprises reconfigurable user inputs or sensors, the mirror and sensor system includes a glare light sensor for sensing glare light from rearward of the vehicle. Thus, the mirror head pivots from mirror mode orientation to display mode orientation when the glare light sensor senses glare light from rearward of the vehicle, Fig. 64).
As to claim 16, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and with the video display screen electrically operating to display video images, the video images are electronically dimmable based on at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) glare light emanating from a headlight of a trailing vehicle and (ii) ambient light at the vehicle (para [0118], the sensor input may comprise a strip with circuitry for driving the dimming of the electrochromic mirror cell, such as responsive to the glare light sensor and an ambient light sensor, Fig. 65).
As to claim 17, LaCross teaches (Figs. 1-62) a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (10, para [0072], an interior rearview mirror assembly 10, Fig. 1), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mirror head (12, para [0072], a casing 12, Fig. 1) adjustable relative to a mounting structure (18, paras [0072]-[0073], the mirror assembly 10 is configured to be adjustably mounted via a mounting structure 18, the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between a mirror mode orientation and a display mode orientation, Fig. 1), wherein the mounting structure is configured to mount the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (18, para [0072], the mirror assembly 10 is mounted to an interior portion of a vehicle, such as an interior or in-cabin surface of a vehicle windshield, via the mounting structure 18, Figs. 57-59);
wherein the mirror head accommodates a mirror reflective element (14, para [0072], the reflective element 14, Fig. 1);
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjustable by a driver of the vehicle to set a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (12, para [0073], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable in a mirror mode orientation, where the reflective element is position to provide the desired driver’s rearward field of view, Fig. 1);
wherein the mirror head accommodates a video display screen (16, paras [0072] and [0081], the display system has a display area 16 which includes a display screen, Figs. 1 and 57-59);
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the video display screen is electrically operable to display video images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle (para [0081], the display system displays video images derived from image data captured by rearward viewing camera so the video images are viewable by the driver of the vehicle, Figs. 57-59) through the mirror reflector of the mirror reflective element (para [0081], the display system includes a video display screen disposed in the mirror head and viewable, when activated, through the reflective element, Figs. 57-59);
an adjustment mechanism (20, para [0073], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between the mirror mode and the display mode orientation via an actuator 20, Figs. 2-25) that, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, is operable to adjust the mirror head between (i) a mirror mode orientation where the mirror head is positioned relative to the mounting structure so that reflections at the mirror reflective element provide the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (paras [0081] and [0116], when the mirror head is adjusted to a “mirror mode,” the driver can view the rearward field of view provided by the reflective element, Fig. 61) and (ii) a display mode orientation where the mirror head is tilted from the mirror mode orientation so that reflections at the mirror reflective element are directed away from the driver of the vehicle (paras [0081] and [0116], when the mirror head is tilted or adjusted to a “display mode,” the displayed video images are viewable by the driver of the vehicle, with the tilting of the mirror head causing the primary reflection off the reflective element to be out of the driver’s eyes since it would be aimed up or down, Fig. 62);
wherein, when the mirror head is adjusted between the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation, the mirror head is tilted about a pivot axis that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the mirror head (para [0073], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation via the actuator 20 that is electrically powered to impart a pivotal movement or flipping of the mirror head about a generally horizontal pivot axis, Figs. 2-25);
wherein, when the mirror head is adjusted from the mirror mode orientation toward the display mode orientation, the mirror head is tilted upward about the pivot axis (paras [0073] and [0116], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable from mirror mode orientation to display mode orientation where the mirror head is tilted upward relative to the mirror mode orientation, Fig. 62); and
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and responsive to the mirror head being adjusted to the display mode orientation (paras [0081] and [0116], the changes between mirror mode and display mode may be responsive to a user input, and the mirror head may automatically pivot to the appropriate orientation for the selected mode, Fig. 62), the video display screen is electrically operated to display video images representative of the rearward view for viewing by the driver of the vehicle through the mirror reflector of the mirror reflective element (paras [0081] and [0116], when the mirror head is tilted to a display mode, the displayed video images, such as derived from image data captured by a rearward viewing camera, are viewable by the driver of the vehicle, Fig. 62).
LaCross does not teach the mirror reflective element consists of a single glass substrate having a first planar surface and a second planar surface opposite the first planar surface and separated from the first planar surface by a thickness of the single glass substrate, and wherein the second planar surface is parallel to the first planar surface, and wherein the single glass substrate has a mirror reflector disposed at the second planar surface of the single glass substrate.
LaCross and Weller are related as interior rearview mirror assemblies.
However, Weller teaches (Figs. 1-40) a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (10, para [0076], interior rearview mirror assembly 10, Fig. 1), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mirror head (618, 620, para [0142], the mirror assembly 610 includes a bezel portion 618 and a rear casing or housing 620 that support mirror, this is considered the mirror housing, Fig. 27) adjustable relative to a mounting structure (627a, 627b, para [0144], the mirror is pivotally mounted to a mounting structure 627a and mounting button 627b for attaching the mirror to an interior surface of a vehicle, Fig. 27), wherein the mounting structure is configured to mount the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (627a, 627b, para [0144], the mounting structure 627a and mounting button 627b are for attaching the mirror to an interior surface of a vehicle, such as to an interior surface of the vehicle windshield or to an overhead console or headliner, Fig. 27);
wherein the mirror head accommodates a mirror reflective element (612, para [0142], the bezel portion 618 and a rear casing or housing 620 support the reflective element 612, Fig. 27);
wherein the mirror reflective element consists of a single glass substrate (118’, para [0118], the reflective 112 has a glass substrate 118’, Fig. 12) having a first planar surface (118’, para [0118], the substrate 118’ has a front surface located on the right side of the substrate 118’ shown in Fig. 12, this is considered the first planar surface, Fig. 12) and a second planar surface opposite the first planar surface (118’, para [0118], the substrate 118’ has a rear surface located opposite the front surface, this is considered the second planar surface, Fig. 12) and separated from the first planar surface by a thickness of the single glass substrate (118’, para [0118], the surfaces are separated by a thickness of the single glass substrate 118’, Fig. 12), and wherein the second planar surface is parallel to the first planar surface (118’, para [0118], the surfaces of the substrate 118’ are parallel as shown in Fig. 12), and wherein the single glass substrate has a mirror reflector (120’, para [0118], a mirror reflector coating or layer 120’, Fig. 12), and wherein the single glass substrate has a mirror reflector disposed at the second planar surface of the single glass substrate (120’, para [0118], the transflective mirror reflector 120’ is located on the rear, or second planar, surface of the substrate 118’, Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular interior review mirror assembly of LaCross with the glass substrate and reflector of Weller because doing so significantly reduces display washout on sunny days (para [0124]).
As to claim 18, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly does not accommodate electronic dimming circuitry (paras [0117]-[0118], the circuitry for driving the dimming of an electrochromic mirror cell are optional, thus not considered to be accommodated).
As to claim 19, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises an electrically operable actuator that, when electrically operated, adjusts the mirror head between the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation (20, para [0073]the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation via an actuator 20 that is electrically powered to impart a pivotal movement, Figs. 2-25).
As to claim 20, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 19, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the adjustment mechanism adjusts the mirror head from the mirror mode orientation to the display mode orientation based on glare light emanating from a headlight of a trailing vehicle being greater than a threshold level of glare light (paras [0102] and [0117], the actuator automatically pivots a preset amount to pivot from the saved mirror mode orientation to a display mode orientation, the driver may store the display mode orientation, whereby the actuator may pivot to the stored orientation in response to a user input or triggering event, this is considered to be when a headlight is greater than a threshold level. The user input comprises reconfigurable user inputs or sensors, the mirror and sensor system includes a glare light sensor for sensing glare light from rearward of the vehicle. Thus, the mirror head pivots from mirror mode orientation to display mode orientation when the glare light sensor senses glare light from rearward of the vehicle, Fig. 64).
As to claim 21, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and with the mirror head in the mirror mode orientation, and based on glare light emanating from a headlight of a trailing vehicle, the video display screen is electrically operated to reduce the glare light that is reflected by the mirror reflective element toward the driver of the vehicle (paras [0102] and [0117], the actuator automatically pivots a preset amount to pivot from the saved mirror mode orientation to a display mode orientation, the driver may store the display mode orientation, whereby the actuator may pivot to the stored orientation in response to a user input or triggering event. The user input comprises reconfigurable user inputs or sensors, the mirror and sensor system includes a glare light sensor for sensing glare light from rearward of the vehicle. Thus, the mirror head pivots from mirror mode orientation to display mode orientation when the glare light sensor senses glare light from rearward of the vehicle, Fig. 64).
As to claim 22, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and with the video display screen electrically operating to display video images, the video images are electronically dimmable based on at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) glare light emanating from a headlight of a trailing vehicle and (ii) ambient light at the vehicle (para [0118], the sensor input may comprise a strip with circuitry for driving the dimming of the electrochromic mirror cell, such as responsive to the glare light sensor and an ambient light sensor, Fig. 65).
As to claim 23, LaCross teaches (Figs. 1-62) a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (10, para [0072], an interior rearview mirror assembly 10, Fig. 1), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mirror head (12, para [0072], a casing 12, Fig. 1) adjustable relative to a mounting structure (18, paras [0072]-[0073], the mirror assembly 10 is configured to be adjustably mounted via a mounting structure 18, the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between a mirror mode orientation and a display mode orientation, Fig. 1), wherein the mounting structure is configured to mount the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (18, para [0072], the mirror assembly 10 is mounted to an interior portion of a vehicle, such as an interior or in-cabin surface of a vehicle windshield, via the mounting structure 18, Figs. 57-59);
wherein the mirror head accommodates a mirror reflective element (14, para [0072], the reflective element 14, Fig. 1);
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjustable by a driver of the vehicle to set a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (12, para [0073], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable in a mirror mode orientation, where the reflective element is position to provide the desired driver’s rearward field of view, Fig. 1);
wherein the mirror head accommodates a video display screen (16, paras [0072] and [0081], the display system has a display area 16 which includes a display screen, Figs. 1 and 57-59);
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, the video display screen is electrically operable to display video images for viewing by the driver of the vehicle (para [0081], the display system displays video images derived from image data captured by rearward viewing camera so the video images are viewable by the driver of the vehicle, Figs. 57-59) through the mirror reflector of the mirror reflective element (para [0081], the display system includes a video display screen disposed in the mirror head and viewable, when activated, through the reflective element, Figs. 57-59);
an adjustment mechanism (20, para [0073], the mirror head is tiltable or pivotable between the mirror mode and the display mode orientation via an actuator 20, Figs. 2-25) that, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, is operable to adjust the mirror head between (i) a mirror mode orientation where the mirror head is positioned relative to the mounting structure so that reflections at the mirror reflective element provide the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (paras [0081] and [0116], when the mirror head is adjusted to a “mirror mode,” the driver can view the rearward field of view provided by the reflective element, Fig. 61) and (ii) a display mode orientation where the mirror head is tilted from the mirror mode orientation so that reflections at the mirror reflective element are directed away from the driver of the vehicle (paras [0081] and [0116], when the mirror head is tilted or adjusted to a “display mode,” the displayed video images are viewable by the driver of the vehicle, with the tilting of the mirror head causing the primary reflection off the reflective element to be out of the driver’s eyes since it would be aimed up or down, Fig. 62);
wherein the adjustment mechanism comprises a toggle mechanism that is manually movable relative to the mirror head to adjust the mirror head between at least the mirror mode orientation and the display mode orientation (para [0085], the driver may manually adjust the mirror head, the mirror head has a toggle that toggles the mirror head between a mirror mode and a display mode, Fig. 1);
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and responsive to the mirror head being adjusted to the display mode orientation (paras [0081] and [0116], the changes between mirror mode and display mode may be responsive to a user input, and the mirror head may automatically pivot to the appropriate orientation for the selected mode, Fig. 62), the video display screen is electrically operated to display video images representative of the rearward view for viewing by the driver of the vehicle through the mirror reflector of the mirror reflective element (paras [0081] and [0116], when the mirror head is tilted to a display mode, the displayed video images, such as derived from image data captured by a rearward viewing camera, are viewable by the driver of the vehicle, Fig. 62); and
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the interior cabin of the vehicle, and with the mirror head in the mirror mode orientation, and based on glare light emanating from a headlight of a trailing vehicle, the video display screen is electrically operated to reduce the glare light that is reflected by the mirror reflective element toward the driver of the vehicle (paras [0102] and [0117], the actuator automatically pivots a preset amount to pivot from the saved mirror mode orientation to a display mode orientation, the driver may store the display mode orientation, whereby the actuator may pivot to the stored orientation in response to a user input or triggering event. The user input comprises reconfigurable user inputs or sensors, the mirror and sensor system includes a glare light sensor for sensing glare light from rearward of the vehicle. Thus, the mirror head pivots from mirror mode orientation to display mode orientation when the glare light sensor senses glare light from rearward of the vehicle, Fig. 64).
LaCross does not teach the mirror reflective element consists of a single glass substrate having a first planar surface and a second planar surface opposite the first planar surface and separated from the first planar surface by a thickness of the single glass substrate, and wherein the second planar surface is parallel to the first planar surface, and wherein the single glass substrate has a mirror reflector.
LaCross and Weller are related as interior rearview mirror assemblies.
However, Weller teaches (Figs. 1-40) a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly (10, para [0076], interior rearview mirror assembly 10, Fig. 1), the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mirror head (618, 620, para [0142], the mirror assembly 610 includes a bezel portion 618 and a rear casing or housing 620 that support mirror, this is considered the mirror housing, Fig. 27) adjustable relative to a mounting structure (627a, 627b, para [0144], the mirror is pivotally mounted to a mounting structure 627a and mounting button 627b for attaching the mirror to an interior surface of a vehicle, Fig. 27), wherein the mounting structure is configured to mount the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of an interior cabin of a vehicle (627a, 627b, para [0144], the mounting structure 627a and mounting button 627b are for attaching the mirror to an interior surface of a vehicle, such as to an interior surface of the vehicle windshield or to an overhead console or headliner, Fig. 27);
wherein the mirror head accommodates a mirror reflective element (612, para [0142], the bezel portion 618 and a rear casing or housing 620 support the reflective element 612, Fig. 27);
wherein the mirror reflective element consists of a single glass substrate (118’, para [0118], the reflective 112 has a glass substrate 118’, Fig. 12) having a first planar surface (118’, para [0118], the substrate 118’ has a front surface located on the right side of the substrate 118’ shown in Fig. 12, this is considered the first planar surface, Fig. 12) and a second planar surface opposite the first planar surface (118’, para [0118], the substrate 118’ has a rear surface located opposite the front surface, this is considered the second planar surface, Fig. 12) and separated from the first planar surface by a thickness of the single glass substrate (118’, para [0118], the surfaces are separated by a thickness of the single glass substrate 118’, Fig. 12), and wherein the second planar surface is parallel to the first planar surface (118’, para [0118], the surfaces of the substrate 118’ are parallel as shown in Fig. 12), and wherein the single glass substrate has a mirror reflector (120’, para [0118], a mirror reflector coating or layer 120’, Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular interior review mirror assembly of LaCross with the glass substrate and reflector of Weller because doing so significantly reduces display washout on sunny days (para [0124]).
As to claim 24, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23.
LaCross does not teach the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the mirror reflector is disposed at the second planar surface of the single glass substrate.
LaCross and Weller are related as interior rearview mirror assemblies.
However, Weller teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the mirror reflector is disposed at the second planar surface of the single glass substrate (120’, para [0118], the transflective mirror reflector 120’ is located on the rear, or second planar, surface of the substrate 118’, Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular interior review mirror assembly of LaCross with the glass substrate and reflector of Weller because doing so significantly reduces display washout on sunny days (para [0124]).
As to claim 25, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23.
LaCross does not teach the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the mirror reflector is disposed at the first planar surface of the single glass substrate.
LaCross and Weller are related as interior rearview mirror assemblies.
Weller discloses the claimed invention except for the mirror reflector is disposed at the first planar surface of the single glass substrate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to dispose the transflective mirror reflector 102’ at the first planar surface of the glass substrate 118’, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the working parts of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) (Prior art disclosed a clock fixed to the stationary steering wheel column of an automobile while the gear for winding the clock moves with steering wheel; mere reversal of such movement, so the clock moves with wheel, was held to be an obvious modification.). See MPEP §2144.04(VI)(A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicular interior review mirror assembly of LaCross with the glass substrate and reflector of Weller because doing so significantly reduces display washout on sunny days (para [0124]).
As to claim 26, LaCross in view of Weller teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23, and LaCross further teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, wherein the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly does not accommodate electronic dimming circuitry (paras [0117]-[0118], the circuitry for driving the dimming of an electrochromic mirror cell are optional, thus not considered to be accommodated).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Blank et al., US 2022/0297604 A1, teaches a vehicular video mirror system that tilts between a mirror mode orientation and a display mode orientation via an electrically powered actuator.
Karner et al., US 2018/0056871 A1, teaches a multi-camera vision system for a vehicle with a mounting assembly including a ball and socket toggle portion.
Imamura et al., US 2021/0129755 A1, teaches a display unit for an interior of a vehicle that displays video using reflecting elements.
/J.A.J./JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
09/23/2026