DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0146915 A1 to Chen (Chen 2 below).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a combined keypad device comprising:
a single handed multipurpose controller (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-15, where the mouse is the single handed multipurpose controller);
a housing having a top panel, a bottom surface, a pair of opposing sides, a front side, and a rear panel (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 12-33, where housing (1) has a top panel, bottom surface, pair of opposing sides, front side, and a rear panel as shown);
a keypad (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 12-33, where the buttons are the keypad); and
a base supporting member (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the rear of housing (1) is the base supporting member);
wherein said base supporting member extending downwardly from said rear panel of said housing (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the rear of housing (1) extends downwards);
wherein said base supporting member is a palm support of a user when operating said single handed multipurpose controller (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the palm rests on the rear of housing (1));
wherein said top panel having a cavity for selectively attaching said keypad (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the front of rear housing (1) has space for the keys);
wherein said keypad when placed in said cavity accessible by three fingers of a single hand of the user (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the keys are placed in the space in the front of rear housing (1));
wherein said three fingers are an index finger, a middle finger, and a ring finger (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where there is a button for the index, middle, and ring fingers).
Chen is deficient in disclosing wherein the rear panel comprises a plurality of heat dissipation apertures.
However, Chen 2 discloses wherein the rear panel comprises a plurality of heat dissipation apertures (Fig. 1, paragraph 0011, where heat-dissipation holes (144) are the heat dissipation apertures).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined keypad device as taught by Chen by including a plurality of heat dissipation apertures as taught by Chen 2. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to help dissipate heat from the base of the device (Chen 2, paragraph 0014).
As to claim 7, Chen discloses the combined keypad device, wherein said connector port selectively connectable to another device selected from the group consisting of a display device and a console device (Fig. 2-8, abstract, column 2, lines 12-21, where the mouse (1) is connected to a computer with a display).
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0146915 A1 to Chen (Chen 2 below) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,949,401 to Kazarian.
As to claim 2, Chen and Chen 2 are deficient in disclosing the combined keypad device, wherein said keypad having a width from 2 inches to 6 inches, and a height from 1 inch to 5 inches.
However, Kazarian discloses the combined keypad device, wherein said keypad having a width from 2 inches to 6 inches, and a height from 1 inch to 5 inches (Fig. 8-11, columns 6-7, lines 60-7, where housing (76) has a width of 4 inches and a height of 2 inches).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined keypad device as taught by Chen and Chen 2 by including the keyboard having specific dimensions as taught by Kazarian. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for it to be appropriate dimensions to be held in a hand (Kazarian, columns 6-7, lines 60-7).
As to claim 5, Chen and Chen 2 are deficient in disclosing the combined keyboard and mouse device, wherein said keypad having a width from 3 inches to 5 inches, and a height from 2 inch to 4 inches.
However, Kazarian discloses the combined keypad device, wherein said keypad having a width from 3 inches to 5 inches, and a height from 2 inch to 4 inches (Fig. 8-11, columns 6-7, lines 60-7, where housing (76) has a width of 4 inches and a height of 2 inches). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 2.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0146915 A1 to Chen (Chen 2 below) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 2012/0271180 A1 to Ren et al.
As to claim 4, Chen and Chen 2 are deficient in disclosing the combined keypad device, wherein said apertures have illumination.
However, Ren discloses the combined keypad device, wherein said apertures have illumination (Fig. 1-3, paragraph 0012, where light from light source (20) is guided by light guide (30) to aperture (12)).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined keypad as taught by Chen and Chen 2 by including apertures having illumination as taught by Ren. The suggestion/motivation would have been so the light can reach the palm of the user to detect the user (Ren, paragraph 0012).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0146915 A1 to Chen (Chen 2 below) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,790,769 to Buxton et al.
As to claim 8, Chen and Chen 2 are deficient in disclosing the combined keypad device further comprising a knob, wherein said knob disposed between said rear panel and one of said pair of opposing sides for securing between a thumb, the index finger, and a palm of the user.
However, Buxton discloses the combined keypad device further comprising a knob, wherein said knob disposed between said rear panel and one of said pair of opposing sides for securing between a thumb, the index finger, and a palm of the user (Fig. 2, column 3, lines 18-25, where cap (202) is a knob).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined keypad as taught by Chen and Chen 2 by including a knob as taught by Buxton. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to control video playback according to the knob’s position along the one dimension of rotational freedom (Buxton, column 1, lines 41-50).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0146915 A1 to Chen (Chen 2 below) in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,790,769 to Buxton et al. as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0375566 A1 to Tagge.
As to claim 9, Chen, Chen 2 and Buxton are deficient in disclosing the combined keypad device further comprising a joystick, wherein said joystick disposed on said one of said pair of opposing sides for actuation by the thumb of the user.
However, Tagge discloses the combined keypad device further comprising a joystick, wherein said joystick disposed on said one of said pair of opposing sides for actuation by the thumb of the user (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021, where joysticks (2, 3) are controlled by the thumb).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined keypad as taught by Chen, Chen 2 and Buxton by including a joystick actuated by the thumb of the user as taught by Tagge. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the user to control the layout of the QWERTY keyboard by using the joysticks in order to improve their typing speed (Tagge, paragraph 0008).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen at al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,790,769 to Buxton et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0375566 A1 to Tagge in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0146915 A1 to Chen (Chen 2 below) in further view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0391344 A1 to Aurongzeb et al.
As to claim 10, Chen discloses a keypad device comprising:
a single handed multipurpose controller (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-15, where the mouse is the single handed multipurpose controller);
a housing having a top panel, a bottom surface, a pair of opposing sides, a front side, and a rear panel (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 12-33, where housing (1) has a top panel, bottom surface, pair of opposing sides, front side, and a rear panel as shown);
a keypad (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 12-33, where the buttons are the keypad);
a base supporting member (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the rear of housing (1) is the base supporting member);
wherein said base supporting member extending downwardly from said rear panel of said housing (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the rear of housing (1) extends downwards);
wherein said base supporting member is a palm support of a user when operating said single handed multipurpose controller Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the palm rests on the rear of housing (1));
wherein said top panel having a cavity for selectively attaching said keypad (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the front of rear housing (1) has space for the keys);
wherein said keypad when placed in said cavity accessible by three fingers of a single hand of the user (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the keys are placed in the space in the front of rear housing (1));
wherein said three fingers are an index finger, a middle finger, and a ring finger (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where there is a button for the index, middle, and ring fingers).
Chen is deficient in disclosing a knob;
a joystick; and
wherein said knob disposed between said rear panel and one of said pair of opposing sides for securing between a thumb, the index finger, and a palm of the user; and
wherein said joystick disposed on said one of said pair of opposing sides for actuation by the thumb of the user;
wherein the rear panel comprises a plurality of heat dissipation apertures; and
wherein the front side comprises a USB-C connector port.
However, Buxton discloses a knob;
wherein said knob disposed between said rear panel and one of said pair of opposing sides for securing between a thumb, the index finger, and a palm of the user (Fig. 2, column 3, lines 18-25, where cap (202) is a knob).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the keypad as taught by Chen by including a knob as taught by Buxton. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to control video playback according to the knob’s position along the one dimension of rotational freedom (Buxton, column 1, lines 41-50).
Chen and Buxton are deficient in disclosing a joystick; and
wherein said joystick disposed on said one of said pair of opposing sides for actuation by the thumb of the user;
wherein the rear panel comprises a plurality of heat dissipation apertures; and
wherein the front side comprises a USB-C connector port.
However, Tagge discloses a joystick; and
wherein said joystick disposed on said one of said pair of opposing sides for actuation by the thumb of the user (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021, where joysticks (2, 3) are controlled by the thumb).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the keypad as taught by Chen and Buxton by including a joystick actuated by the thumb of the user as taught by Tagge. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the user to control the layout of the QWERTY keyboard by using the joysticks in order to improve their typing speed (Tagge, paragraph 0008).
Chen, Buxton and Tagge are deficient in disclosing wherein the rear panel comprises a plurality of heat dissipation apertures; and
wherein the front side comprises a USB-C connector port.
However, Chen 2 discloses wherein the rear panel comprises a plurality of heat dissipation apertures (Fig. 1, paragraph 0011, where heat-dissipation holes (144) are the heat dissipation apertures).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the keypad as taught by Chen, Buxton, and Tagge by including a plurality of heat dissipation apertures as taught by Chen 2. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to help dissipate heat from the base of the device (Chen 2, paragraph 0014).
Chen, Buxton, Tagge and Chen 2 are deficient in disclosing wherein the front side comprises a USB-C connector port.
However, Aurongzeb discloses wherein the front side comprises a USB-C connector port (Fig. 5A, paragraph 0092, where adapter (570-A) is a USB-C adapter).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the keypad as taught by Chen, Buxton, Tagge and Chen 2 by including a USB-C connector port as taught by Aurongzeb. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to be able to connect a mouse (Aurongzeb, paragraph 0092).
As to claim 11, Chen discloses the keypad device further comprising a little finger support, wherein said little finger support disposed on an intersection of said rear panel and another of said pair of opposing sides (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 17-20, where rest plate (21) is for the little finger).
As to claim 12, Chen discloses the keypad device, wherein said little finger support extending away from said rear panel including a pair of transversal members for receiving a little finger therebetween (Fig. 7, column 2, lines 51-57, where rotary plate (3) includes rest plate (21) with a pair of members to receive a little finger).
Claims 13, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen at al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,054,292 B1 to Forde et al. in further view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0327986 A1 to Farahani et al.
As to claim 13, Chen discloses an electronic keypad device comprising:
a single handed multipurpose controller (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-15, where the mouse is the single handed multipurpose controller);
a housing having a top panel, a bottom surface, a pair of opposing sides, a front side, and a rear panel (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 12-33, where housing (1) has a top panel, bottom surface, pair of opposing sides, front side, and a rear panel as shown);
a keypad (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 12-33, where the buttons are the keypad); and
wherein said top panel having a cavity for selectively attaching said keypad (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the front of rear housing (1) has space for the keys);
wherein said keypad when placed in said cavity accessible by three fingers of a single hand of the user (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where the keys are placed in the space in the front of rear housing (1));
wherein said three fingers are an index finger, a middle finger, and a ring finger (Fig. 2 and 3, column 2, lines 12-33, where there is a button for the index, middle, and ring fingers).
Chen is deficient in disclosing a keypad comprising a plurality of keypad fasteners;
an adjustable base supporting member;
wherein said adjustable base supporting member extending downwardly from said rear panel of said housing;
wherein said adjustable base supporting member is a palm support of a user when operating said single handed multipurpose controller; and
further wherein said adjustable base supporting member having a hinge for adjusting a height of said adjustable base supporting member; and
wherein the top surface of the housing comprises a plurality of apertures adapted to receive the keypad fasteners to secure the keypad to the housing.
However, Forde discloses an adjustable base supporting member;
wherein said adjustable base supporting member extending downwardly from said rear panel of said housing (Fig. 5A and 5B, column 4, lines 4-21, where body portion (110c) is tilted up or down indicated by arrow (502));
wherein said adjustable base supporting member is a palm support of a user when operating said single handed multipurpose controller (Fig. 5A and 5B, column 4, lines 4-21, where body portion (110c) is a palm rest); and
further wherein said adjustable base supporting member having a hinge for adjusting a height of said adjustable base supporting member (Fig. 2A, 2B, 5A and 5B, column 3, lines 22-29, column 4, lines 4-21, where pins (155a, 155b) are the hinges).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the keypad as taught by Chen by including an adjustable support member as taught by Forde. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to adjust the width, height, and/or length of the mouse to fit comfortably into a user’s hand (Forde, columns 2-3, lines 54-6).
Chen and Forde are deficient in disclosing a keypad comprising a plurality of keypad fasteners; and
wherein the top surface of the housing comprises a plurality of apertures adapted to receive the keypad fasteners to secure the keypad to the housing.
However, Farahani discloses a keypad comprising a plurality of keypad fasteners; and
wherein the top surface of the housing comprises a plurality of apertures adapted to receive the keypad fasteners to secure the keypad to the housing (Fig. 18, paragraph 0131, where cavities (1804) are apertures for receiving fasteners).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the keypad as taught by Chen and Forde by including a plurality of fasteners as taught by Farahani. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to fasten the keyboard structure together (Farahani, paragraph 0131).
As to claim 15, Chen is deficient in disclosing the electronic keypad, wherein said adjustable base supporting member extending at an angle from 90 degrees to 140 degrees relative to said bottom surface.
However, Forde discloses the electronic keypad, wherein said adjustable base supporting member extending at an angle from 90 degrees to 140 degrees relative to said bottom surface (Fig. 5A and 5B, column 4, lines 4-21, where body portion (110c) is tilted up or down indicated by arrow (502)). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 13.
As to claim 18, Chen discloses the electronic keypad, wherein said pair of opposing sides having a first front end including a first non-slipping surface tab and a second front end including a second non-slipping surface tab (Fig. 8, column 2, lines 58-62, where plates (2, 21) are disposed in channels (15) by book section (23) so as to not slip).
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen at al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,054,292 B1 to Forde et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0327986 A1 to Farahani et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,949,401 to Kazarian.
As to claim 14, Chen, Forde and Farahani are deficient in disclosing the electronic keypad, wherein said keypad having a width from 2 inches to 6 inches, and a height from 1 inch to 5 inches.
However, Kazarian discloses the electronic keypad, wherein said keypad having a width from 2 inches to 6 inches, and a height from 1 inch to 5 inches (Fig. 8-11, columns 6-7, lines 60-7, where housing (76) has a width of 4 inches and a height of 2 inches).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the keypad as taught by Chen, Forde and Farahani by including the keyboard having specific dimensions as taught by Kazarian. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for it to be appropriate dimensions to be held in a hand (Kazarian, columns 6-7, lines 60-7).
As to claim 16, Chen, Forde and Farahani are deficient in disclosing the electronic keypad, wherein said keypad having a width from 3 inches to 5 inches, and a height from 2 inch to 4 inches.
However, Kazarian discloses the electronic keypad, wherein said keypad having a width from 3 inches to 5 inches, and a height from 2 inch to 4 inches (Fig. 8-11, columns 6-7, lines 60-7, where housing (76) has a width of 4 inches and a height of 2 inches). In addition, the same motivation is used as claim 14.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen at al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,054,292 B1 to Forde et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0327986 A1 to Farahani et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0176225 A1 to Chung et al.
As to claim 17, Chen, Forde and Farahani are deficient in disclosing the electronic keypad, wherein said front side having a connector port selected from the group consisting of a USB connector port, a USB-C port, and an HDMI port.
However, Chung discloses the combined keyboard and mouse device, wherein said front side having a connector port selected from the group consisting of a USB connector port, a USB-C port, and an HDMI port (Fig. 6-7, paragraph 0049, where wire (606) is a USB connection).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the keypad as taught by Chen, Forde and Farahani by including a USB connector port as taught by Chung. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to wire the keypad to the computer (Chung, paragraph 0049).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen at al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,054,292 B1 to Forde et al. in further view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0327986 A1 to Farahani et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,790,769 to Buxton et al.
As to claim 19, Chen, Forde and Farahani are deficient in disclosing the electronic keypad further comprising a knob, wherein said knob disposed between said rear panel and one of said pair of opposing sides for securing between a thumb, the index finger, and a palm of the user.
However, Buxton discloses the electronic keypad further comprising a knob, wherein said knob disposed between said rear panel and one of said pair of opposing sides for securing between a thumb, the index finger, and a palm of the user (Fig. 2, column 3, lines 18-25, where cap (202) is a knob).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the keypad as taught by Chen, Forde and Farahani by including a knob as taught by Buxton. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to control video playback according to the knob’s position along the one dimension of rotational freedom (Buxton, column 1, lines 41-50).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,990,870 to Chen at al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,054,292 B1 to Forde et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0327986 A1 to Farahani et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,790,769 to Buxton et al. as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0375566 A1 to Tagge.
As to claim 20, Chen, Forde, Farahani and Buxton are deficient in disclosing the electronic keypad device further comprising a joystick, wherein said joystick disposed on said one of said pair of opposing sides for actuation by the thumb of the user.
However, Tagge discloses the electronic keypad device further comprising a joystick, wherein said joystick disposed on said one of said pair of opposing sides for actuation by the thumb of the user (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021, where joysticks (2, 3) are controlled by the thumb).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the keypad as taught by Chen, Forde, Farahani and Buxton by including a joystick actuated by the thumb of the user as taught by Tagge. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the user to control the layout of the QWERTY keyboard by using the joysticks in order to improve their typing speed (Tagge, paragraph 0008).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627