DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 16, last paragraph, the recitation: that the load panel interrupter operates “in response to the detection of failure of the primary electrical power”, which would appear to refer to the failure detection by the inverter, would appear potentially contradictory to the rest of the claim which require the operation to be before or soon after the inverter supplies secondary power, and Applicant’s disclosure with respect to embodiment of Fig. 4 which has the load panel interrupter separately detecting and emulating the inverter failure detection. It is recommended Applicant amend the claim phrasing to ensure it is consistent and supported by Applicant’s Specification to avoid potential 112 issues. An example amendment may be as follows (based on Applicant’s corresponding PGPUB, US2025/0183700, [0027-0029], Fig. 4; other amendments consistent with the Specification/Drawings may also be appropriate):
“a load panel interrupter connected to the primary power source and adapted to control power to the load center wherein, in response to the load panel interrupter sensing a state of the primary power source and predicting the inverter detecting failure of the primary electrical poweroff non-critical loads before or soon after the inverter supplies the secondary electrical power when the inverter is predicted to detect failure of the primary electrical power.”
Re claims 1, 9, 16, Applicant is generally advised that respective recitation of components configured to “predict when the inverter detects failure of the primary electrical power” is somewhat vague without further detail of how the inverter is detecting failure, and then the manner of predicting based thereon. Applicant is generally recommended to provide further details of both the inverter’s detection and the respective element’s manner of predicting (e.g. similar to features mentioned in claims 2-3, 5) to avoid unintended interpretation or potential clarity issues. Note also that what may or may not be considered “before or soon after the inverter supplies the secondary electrical power” is also somewhat vague without further detail. See also the Conclusion below for further suggestions.
Appropriate correction or explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majumder (US2016/0197477).
Re claim 1. Majumder teaches an apparatus (see Majumder: Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a micro-grid interconnection device or automated transfer switch (MID/ATS) (switch <9> and power lines to energy storage <16>, see Majumder: [0048], [0050-0052], Fig. 1) configured to disconnect primary electrical power supplied by a primary power source (main grid <3>) and supply secondary electrical power (power from energy storage <16>) when the primary electrical power fails (see Majumder: [0048], Fig. 1 regarding switch <9> disconnecting microgrid from main grid <3> and the associated power lines allowing power supply from energy storage; although Majumder does not explicitly state the switch <9> is opened in response to the primary grid <3> source failing, Majumder: [0003] implies disconnection of the microgrid in this manner due to main grid power loss is known and further Official Notice is hereby taken that it is very well-known in the art of microgrid systems for grid disconnection to be in response to failure of the grid power supply, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the system of Majumder in this manner for purposes of enabling the system to disconnect from the grid and prevent faults or unintended power supply when there are issues with the main grid supply);
a secondary electrical power source (battery storage <45>) connected to an inverter (DC/AC inverter <46>, and associated energy storage controller <18>, see Majumder: [0048], [0052-0055], Fig. 1 regarding controller <18> with grid monitoring means <33> detecting grid disconnection and also voltage/frequency monitoring means <31> able to detect loss/failure of primary grid power and control supply from energy storage in response) configured to detect failure of primary electrical power and supply the secondary electrical power when failure of the primary electrical power is detected;
one or more power modules (load switches <14A-D>) installed in a load center (switches <14A-D>, loads <12A-D>, respective circuits) and connected to the MID/ATS, each power module controlling electrical power to a respective branch circuit (respective circuit for each load <12A-D>) of the load center (see Majumder: [0049], Fig. 1 regarding respective loads and power supply switches controlling power to each load circuit); and
a grid detection module (load shedding controller <19>) connected to the primary power source and configured to predict when the inverter detects failure of the primary electrical power, wherein the grid detection module is configured to signal the power modules to turn-off non-critical loads before or soon after the inverter supplies the secondary electrical power when the inverter is predicted to detect failure of the primary electrical power (see Majumder: [0058-0063], Figs. 1, 4A-B regarding load shedding controller <19> including both grid monitoring means <23> and frequency monitoring means <21> for detecting loss of primary grid in similar manner to energy storage controller, i.e. predicting, and controlling load shedding of loads that are allowed to be shed, i.e. non-critical loads, before or soon after the energy storage converter may supply power). See Majumder: [0048-0064], Figs. 1-4.
Re claim 2. Majumder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the grid detection module is programmable according to a profile emulating when the inverter detects failure of the primary electrical power (see Majumder: [0053-0056], [0058-0063], Figs. 1, 4A-B regarding load shedding controller <19> having similar monitoring of grid connection and frequency control as the energy storage controller <18> during the islanding/transition phase).
Re claim 3. Majumder teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the profile is modified to predict a time period in advance of when the inverter detects failure of the primary electrical power (see Majumder: [0053-0056], [0058-0063], Figs. 1, 4A-B regarding load shedding controller <19> having load shedding control earlier than providing power by the energy storage controller <18> during the islanding/transition phase due to initial event triggered load shedding and/or having a smaller frequency deadband).
Re claim 4. Majumder teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the time period is configured to permit signaling and switching of the power modules to shed power from non-critical loads (see Majumder: [0058-0063], Figs. 1, 4A-B regarding load shedding controller <19> sending load shedding control signals to the load switches in the earlier time period).
Re claim 5. Majumder teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the prediction to detect failure of the primary electrical power by the grid detection module is configured to respond to the detected breach of the one of specified voltage or frequency range for the time period (see Majumder: [0058-0063], Figs. 1, 4A-B regarding load shedding controller <19> having load shedding control earlier than providing power by the energy storage controller <18> during the islanding/transition phase based on breach of smaller 1% frequency deadband).
Re claim 6. Majumder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the grid detection module configured to predict when the inverter detects failure of the primary electrical power is further configured to detect a breach of one of a specified voltage or frequency range for the primary electrical power (see Majumder: [0053-0056], [0058-0063], Figs. 1, 4A-B regarding load shedding controller <19> having load shedding control based on breach of a frequency deadband).
Re claim 7. Majumder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the grid detection module configured to predict when the inverter detects failure of the primary electrical power is without reliance on grid state information received from the inverter (see Majumder: [0053-0056], [0058-0063], Figs. 1, 4A-B regarding load shedding controller <19> having independent monitoring without receiving information from energy storage controller <18>).
Re claim 8. Majumder teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly discuss the physical implementation of the modules and load center. Official Notice is hereby taken, however, that it is known in the art of power distribution systems to load center/data center equipment for modules with respective functions to be implemented with corresponding firmware, i.e. different for differently functioning grid detection module and power module, and to design modules to be conveniently dimensioned and configured to fit into a slot of an equipment rack/ load center structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Majumder to have the modules designed as recited for purposes of providing known, equivalent means for implementing circuitry with corresponding functions as firmware and also to provide known equipment mounting/storage means compatible and rearrangeable with variety of electronic equipment as desired by user.
Re claim 9. Majumder teaches a method of controlling electrical power to branch circuits (respective circuit for each load <12A-D>) of a load center (switches <14A-D>, loads <12A-D>, respective circuits) having power modules (load switches <14A-D>) installed therein, each power module controlling the electrical power to a respective branch circuit (see Majumder: [0049], Fig. 1 regarding respective loads and power supply switches controlling power to each load circuit) during transfer of supplying primary electrical power from a primary electrical power source (main grid <3>) to supplying secondary electrical power from a secondary electrical power source (battery storage <45>) when the primary electrical power fails (see Majumder: [0048], Fig. 1 regarding switch <9> disconnecting microgrid from main grid <3> and the associated power lines allowing power supply from energy storage; although Majumder does not explicitly state the switch <9> is opened in response to the primary grid <3> source failing, Majumder: [0003] implies disconnection of the microgrid in this manner due to main grid power loss is known and further Official Notice is hereby taken that it is very well-known in the art of microgrid systems for grid disconnection to be in response to failure of the grid power supply, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the system of Majumder in this manner for purposes of enabling the system to disconnect from the grid and prevent faults or unintended power supply when there are issues with the main grid supply), the secondary electrical power source connected to an inverter (DC/AC inverter <46>, and associated energy storage controller <18>, see Majumder: [0048], [0052-0055], Fig. 1 regarding controller <18> with grid monitoring means <33> detecting grid disconnection and also voltage/frequency monitoring means <31> able to detect loss/failure of primary grid power and control supply from energy storage in response) configured to detect failure of the primary electrical power and supply the secondary electrical power when failure of the primary electrical power is detected, the method comprising:
predicting when the inverter detects failure of the primary electrical power using a grid detection module (load shedding controller <19>) connected to the primary power source (see Majumder: [0058-0063], Figs. 1, 4A-B regarding load shedding controller <19> including both grid monitoring means <23> and frequency monitoring means <21> for detecting loss of primary grid in similar manner to energy storage controller, i.e. predicting); and
signaling the power modules to turn-off non-critical loads before or soon after the inverter supplies the secondary electrical power when the inverter is predicted to detect failure of the primary electrical power (see Majumder: [0058-0063], Figs. 1, 4A-B regarding load shedding controller <19> controlling load shedding of loads that are allowed to be shed, i.e. non-critical loads, before or soon after the energy storage converter may supply power). See Majumder: [0048-0064], Figs. 1-4. See also discussion of claim 1 above regarding mostly the same limitations.
Re claims 10-15, the further recited limitations essentially correspond to the limitations recited in claims 2-4, 7, 6, 8, respectively, and are therefore rejected by the same reasoning applied above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 objected to for the reasons stated in the Objections above, but would be allowable if rewritten to address the noted Objections in appropriate manner (consistent with the current understanding of the claims as discussed in the Objection above).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 16 (note claim is understood in similar manner to the suggested amendment discussed in the Objections) would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, does not teach, suggest, or render obvious an apparatus comprising combination of features including: a micro-grid interconnection device or automated transfer switch (MID/ATS) configured to disconnect primary electrical power supplied by a primary power source and supply secondary electrical power when the primary electrical power fails; a secondary electrical power source connected to an inverter configured to detect failure of primary electrical power and supply the secondary electrical power when failure of the primary electrical power is detected; one or more power modules installed in a load center and connected to the MID/ATS, each power module controlling electrical power to a respective branch circuit of the load center; and a load panel interrupter connected to the primary power source and adapted to control power to the load center wherein, in response to the load panel interrupter sensing a state of the primary power source and predicting the inverter detecting failure of the primary electrical power, the load panel interrupter disconnects power for a period of time to the load center to signal the power modules to turn-off non-critical loads before or soon after the inverter supplies the secondary electrical power when the inverter is predicted to detect failure of the primary electrical power.
The closest prior art of record includes Majumder which discloses an apparatus with micro-grid interconnection device controlling disconnection of primary power source and allowing supply from secondary power source inverter which includes capability to detect failure of primary source, power modules able to selectively control/shed power from non-critical loads and with respective controller having independent capability to detect failure of primary source and power parameters similar to the inverter to trigger load shedding. However, Majumder does not sufficiently teach or suggest further providing a load interrupter which will disconnect power for a period of time to the load center to in turn signal the power modules to turn off non-critical loads in response to monitoring the primary power and predicting the inverter detecting failure. Although further prior art such as Madonna (US2023/0063466) discloses other similar power supply system which generally has power modules shedding loads in response to power disconnection from an ATS transitioning between primary power source supply and secondary power source supply, there is insufficient suggestion for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the references and arrive at the recited combination since it would require conflicting connection arrangements for the ATS/MID, primary source, secondary source, and the load center/power modules, and providing an additional ATS similar to Madonna would also conflict with the independent monitoring arrangements taught by Majumder. Claim 16, upon addressing the noted Objections in manner consistent with the current understanding of the claim, and in light of Applicant’s Specification and Drawings, would therefore overcome the cited prior art of record.
Claims 17-20 would be allowable for being dependent on claim 16.
Conclusion
In summary, it is recommended Applicant address the noted Objections, consider the cited prior art of record, and consider the indicated allowable subject matter. Applicant is advised that allowability of claim 16 would depend on the noted Objection being properly addressed and consistent with the current understanding of the claim. Applicant may consider amending claim 1 to overcome the similar prior art of record by incorporating features similar to claim 16, or alternatively may also consider providing further specific details of the connection arrangement (e.g. specifying ATS structure and function, direct tap connection, etc.) and specific manner of function of the ATS, secondary power source, and grid detection modules in response to the specific primary power failure conditions that could distinguish from the similar arrangement and behavior of Majumder. Applicant is cautioned that current claim language is somewhat vague as to how inverter detection and predicting inverter detection is being performed, and that claim language is given broadest reasonable interpretation during examination. Applicant may contact the examiner to discuss possible amendments or the office action as needed.
/DAVID A SHIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836