DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (JP-2023062244-A).
Regarding claim 1: Ito discloses a printing unit (Fig. 1, image forming apparatus 10) configured to execute printing on a continuous sheet (As shown in FIG. The image forming apparatus 10 uses the continuous paper P as a recording medium and forms an image on this continuous paper P. FIG. Roll paper is used as the continuous paper P here., par. 20); and a control unit configured to control the printing unit based on a print job including a first job for test printing and a second job for final printing (During test printing by the image forming unit 13, the control unit 11 switches to final printing corresponding to the test printing. Production printing is printing of printed matter that is actually used, such as printing for delivery. Test printing is printing performed for user confirmation before final printing. In trial printing, the same print data as in final printing is printed in its entirety, or only a specific page (for example, the first page) is printed. The print data includes image data for each page, paper (paper type) designation, variable print settings, number of copies, and the like., par. 32), wherein in a case where a plurality of the print jobs are input, the control unit controls the printing unit so as to collectively print the plurality of first jobs in the input plurality of print jobs on a first region on the continuous sheet, and collectively print the plurality of second jobs in the input plurality of print jobs on a second region present on a rear side in a conveyance direction of the continuous sheet (The control unit 11 switches from test printing to final printing without stopping the operation of conveying the continuous paper P by the conveying unit 17 and the image forming operation by the image forming unit 13. When switching from test printing to final printing, the control unit 11 provides a marker on the continuous paper P for distinguishing between test printing and final printing. The marker may indicate the position of the continuous paper P in the paper transport direction. The marker is composed of, for example, a line (straight line, dashed line, etc.), a figure, or the like formed by the image forming unit 13 . Also, the marker may be a blank area (an area where no image is formed) provided on the continuous paper P. The control unit 11 switches from test printing to final printing when a predetermined operation from the user is received in the operation unit 12b. When print data consists of a plurality of pages, the control unit 11 causes the image forming unit 13 to start image formation from the first page when switching from test printing to final printing. When switching from trial printing to final printing, the control unit 11 interrupts the image formation for trial printing by the image forming unit 13 even in the middle of one copy, and starts image formation for final printing., pars. 34-38) relative to the first region on the continuous sheet on which the first jobs have been printed (see Fig. 5 and FIG. 5 shows an example of adding the marker M1 to the continuous paper P. As shown in FIG. In this case, print data in which one copy is composed of four pages (A to D) is to be printed, and only the first page (A) is repeatedly printed in test printing. Further, areas near both ends of the continuous paper P in the paper width direction orthogonal to the paper transport direction are cutting areas 31 (areas to be cut later, cut at the time of delivery). In the cutting area 31 of the continuous paper P, a circular marker M1 is printed at the switching position from trial printing to final printing in the paper transport direction. Since the marker M1 itself is included in the trimming area 31, cutting off the trimming area 31 does not affect the final printed material due to the marker M1., par. 50).
Regarding claim 2: Ito satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Ito further discloses wherein the second region is adjacent to the first region (see Fig. 5, four instances of A (test print) and M1 signifies the transition to final printing, see also par. 50).
Regarding claim 3: Ito satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Ito further discloses further comprising a determination unit configured to determine the plurality of first jobs to be printed on the first region (Next, the control unit 11 determines whether or not the print data consists of a plurality of pages based on the job data of the final printing corresponding to the test printing being executed (step S8)., par. 48 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9: Ito satisfies all the elements of claim 3. Ito further discloses wherein the determination unit determines the plurality of first jobs to be printed on the first region (Next, the control unit 11 determines whether or not the print data consists of a plurality of pages based on the job data of the final printing corresponding to the test printing being executed (step S8)., par. 48 and Fig. 5) based on an entire length of the continuous sheet (Further, when switching from test printing to final printing, even if the image formation for test printing by the image forming unit 13 is in the middle of one copy, the image formation for final printing is interrupted and image formation for final printing is started. The trial printing portion can be reduced. For example, by interrupting the page being executed at the end of the page, the continuous paper P for the remaining pages of one set and the image forming operation are not wasted., par. 58).
Regarding claim 12: Ito satisfies all the elements of claim 9. Ito further discloses further comprising an extra setting unit configured to set the first job as an extra first job to be printed on the first region (First, while controlling the transport unit 17 to transport the continuous paper P, the control unit 11 controls the image forming unit 13 to perform trial printing on the transported continuous paper P (step S1). ). Specifically, the control unit 11 controls the image forming unit 13 to print the print data to be printed on a copy-by-copy basis or a specific page-by-page basis based on the test printing settings specified by the user. Execute repeated printing., par. 40).
Regarding claim 13: Ito satisfies all the elements of claim 9. Ito further discloses further comprising a result acceptance unit configured to accept input of results of checks on print results of the first jobs by an operator, wherein the determination unit determines the second job associated with the first job for which the result acceptance unit has accepted an input indicating permission to execute final printing (During test printing by the image forming unit 13, the control unit 11 switches to final printing corresponding to the test printing. Production printing is printing of printed matter that is actually used, such as printing for delivery. Test printing is printing performed for user confirmation before final printing. In trial printing, the same print data as in final printing is printed in its entirety, or only a specific page (for example, the first page) is printed. The print data includes image data for each page, paper (paper type) designation, variable print settings, number of copies, and the like., par. 32; Here, the control unit 11 determines whether or not a final printing instruction is given by the user's operation from the operation unit 12b (step S2). The final printing instruction is an instruction for switching from test printing to final printing. FIG. 4 shows an example of the production printing switching screen 20 displayed on the display unit 12a. The production printing switching screen 20 includes a “stop printing” button 21 and a “start production printing” button 22 . A "stop printing" button 21 is a button for giving an instruction to stop printing. The "start final printing" button 22 is a button for instructing the start of final printing (switching from test printing to final printing)., pars. 41-42), as a second job to be printed on the second region (Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 14: Ito satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Ito further discloses wherein the control unit controls the printing unit so as to print pieces of identification information of the print jobs near images of the print jobs (See at least Fig. 5, A’s printed to signify test (trial) printing and a circular marker (M1) is printed at the switching position from trial printing to final printing and then A-D for final printing.).
Regarding claim 15: The structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 15. Thus, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16: Arguments analogous to those stated in the rejection of claim 1 are applicable. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium is inherently taught as evidenced by the CPU of control unit 11 and various memories stored therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Hanazato (US 2007/0292187 A1) and further in view of Konishi (US 2017/0068195 A1).
Regarding claim 4: Ito satisfies all the elements of claim 3. Ito further discloses wherein the determination unit determines the plurality of first jobs to be printed on the first region (Next, the control unit 11 determines whether or not the print data consists of a plurality of pages based on the job data of the final printing corresponding to the test printing being executed (step S8)., par. 48 and Fig. 5)
Ito fails to specifically address based on a conveyance path length that is a length of a conveyance path; from a print position on the conveyance path to a position on the conveyance path.
Hanazato discloses based on a conveyance path length that is a length of a conveyance path (Next, in step 2, whether or not the number of conveyed sheets of the continuous paper 2 for sheet number management has reached a prescribed number (12 sheets in the exemplary embodiment) is determined on the basis of the number which is obtained to divide the length of the conveyance path 5 by the length of one sheet of the continuous paper 2. When the number of conveyed sheets has not reached the prescribed number (NO) then the processing of step 2 is repeated, and when the number of conveyed sheets has reached the prescribed number (YES), then the flow moves to step 3., par. 26); from a print position on the conveyance path to a position on the conveyance path (The controller 30 also controls the first, second, and third conveyance rollers 10, 18, and 21 on the basis of the read number of conveyance steps X, causes the continuous paper 2, whose leading edge has reached the position in the vicinity of the stacker 23 and which has been temporarily stopped, to be driven by the number of conveyance steps X by the conveyance rollers 10, 18, and 21, causes the continuous paper 2 to be conveyed such that, for example, the fold line G in the continuous paper 2 coincides with the detection position of the mountain/valley detector 20, and determines the direction in which the swing arm 22 is to start swinging. Further, after the fold line G in the continuous paper 2 coincides with the detection position M of the mountain/valley detector 20 in this manner, the controller 30 causes the continuous paper 2 to be conveyed by the conveyance rollers 10, 18, and 20 by a length Y that is equal to the difference between the size of one sheet of the continuous paper 2 and the conveyance length resulting from the conveyance rollers 10, 18, and 21 corresponding to the number of conveyance steps X, causes the fold line B in the continuous paper 2 to coincide with a printing start reference position S, and sets such that printing can be conducted per one sheet of the continuous paper 2., pars. 22-23).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include based on a conveyance path length that is a length of a conveyance path; from a print position on the conveyance path to a position on the conveyance path in order to properly convey continuous paper as taught by Hanazato (par. 29).
Ito in view of Hanazato fail to specifically address at which a print result is visually checkable.
Konishi discloses at which a print result is visually checkable (In the description below, the position at which an image on the continuous paper P in one job can be visually checked through the checking window 61 will be referred to as the visual check position P2, as shown in FIG. 1., par. 40).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Hanazato to include at which a print result is visually checkable in order to check proof images without fail as taught by Konishi (par. 125).
Regarding claim 5: Ito in view of Hanazato and further in view of Konishi satisfy all the elements of claim 4. Ito further discloses wherein the determination unit determines the plurality of first jobs to be printed on the first region (Next, the control unit 11 determines whether or not the print data consists of a plurality of pages based on the job data of the final printing corresponding to the test printing being executed (step S8)., par. 48 and Fig. 5) such that a total of lengths over which to print the first jobs excluding the first job to be printed (only the first page (A) is repeatedly printed in test printing, par. 50; see also Fig. 5) first among the plurality of first jobs to be printed on the first region (See Fig. 5, (first instance of four A’s)
Ito fails to specifically address exceeds the conveyance path length.
Hanazato discloses exceeds the conveyance path length (Next, in step 2, whether or not the number of conveyed sheets of the continuous paper 2 for sheet number management has reached a prescribed number (12 sheets in the exemplary embodiment) is determined on the basis of the number which is obtained to divide the length of the conveyance path 5 by the length of one sheet of the continuous paper 2. When the number of conveyed sheets has not reached the prescribed number (NO) then the processing of step 2 is repeated, and when the number of conveyed sheets has reached the prescribed number (YES), then the flow moves to step 3., par. 26).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include exceeds the conveyance path length in order to provide sheet management as taught by Hanazato (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6: Ito in view of Hanazato and further in view of Konishi satisfy all the elements of claim 5. Ito further discloses further comprising a starting unit configured to start the printing in response to an instruction from an operator (The operation display unit 12 includes a display unit 12a and an operation unit 12b. The display unit 12 a is configured with an LCD (Liquid Crystal Display) or the like, and displays various screens according to instructions of display signals input from the control unit 11 . For example, the display unit 12a displays a button for switching from trial printing to final printing ("start final printing" button 22 in FIG. 4). The operation unit 12b includes various function keys and a touch panel formed to cover the display screen of the display unit 12a, and receives various operations from the user. For example, the operation unit 12b is used when instructing to switch from test printing to final printing., par. 23)
Ito fails to specifically address in a case where the total is less than or equal to the conveyance path length.
Hanazato discloses in a case where the total is less than or equal to the conveyance path length (Next, in step 2, whether or not the number of conveyed sheets of the continuous paper 2 for sheet number management has reached a prescribed number (12 sheets in the exemplary embodiment) is determined on the basis of the number which is obtained to divide the length of the conveyance path 5 by the length of one sheet of the continuous paper 2. When the number of conveyed sheets has not reached the prescribed number (NO) then the processing of step 2 is repeated, and when the number of conveyed sheets has reached the prescribed number (YES), then the flow moves to step 3., par. 26).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in a case where the total is less than or equal to the conveyance path length in order to provide sheet management as taught by Hanazato (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8: Ito in view of Hanazato and further in view of Konishi satisfy all the elements of claim 4. Ito further discloses wherein the control unit performs control (During test printing by the image forming unit 13, the control unit 11 switches to final printing corresponding to the test printing. Production printing is printing of printed matter that is actually used, such as printing for delivery. Test printing is printing performed for user confirmation before final printing. In trial printing, the same print data as in final printing is printed in its entirety, or only a specific page (for example, the first page) is printed. The print data includes image data for each page, paper (paper type) designation, variable print settings, number of copies, and the like., par. 32) such that the first region is further disposed on a rear side relative to the second region (see Figs. 5-7, test printing A).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Hanazato and further in view of Konishi and further in view of Shota (JP-7460002-B2).
Regarding claim 7: Ito in view of Hanazato and further in view of Konishi satisfy all the elements of claim 4.
Ito fails to specifically address
Hanazato discloses the conveyance path length (Next, in step 2, whether or not the number of conveyed sheets of the continuous paper 2 for sheet number management has reached a prescribed number (12 sheets in the exemplary embodiment) is determined on the basis of the number which is obtained to divide the length of the conveyance path 5 by the length of one sheet of the continuous paper 2. When the number of conveyed sheets has not reached the prescribed number (NO) then the processing of step 2 is repeated, and when the number of conveyed sheets has reached the prescribed number (YES), then the flow moves to step 3., par. 26).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the conveyance path length in order to properly convey continuous paper as taught by Hanazato (par. 29).
Ito in view of Hanazato and further in view of Konishi fail to specifically address further comprising a setting unit configured to set; according to an apparatus configuration.
Shota discloses further comprising a setting unit configured to set; according to an apparatus configuration (The path length adjustment means 46 changes the length of the conveyance path between adjacent units, and is usually a roller with a movable shaft as shown at 461 to 463 in FIG. According to the above example, in order to shorten the length of the transport path between units by 0.16 mm, the first and second unit path length adjustment means 461 must be moved downward in FIG. 3 by 0.08 mm. good. In the above example, based on the schematic diagram of FIG. 3, it was decided that the length of the conveyance path changes by 2.0 times the moving distance of the 1-2 unit path length adjustment means 461, but the 1-2 unit path length The relationship between the moving distance of the adjusting means 461 and the amount of change in the length of the conveyance path is grasped and set in advance., description of path length adjustment means 46; see also Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ito in view of Hanazato and further in view of Konishi to include further comprising a setting unit configured to set; according to an apparatus configuration in order to change the length of the conveyance path between adjacent units as taught by Shota (description of path adjustment means 46 and Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito in view of Hanazato.
Regarding claim 10: Ito satisfies all the elements of claim 9. Ito further discloses wherein the determination unit determines the plurality of first jobs to be printed on the first region (Next, the control unit 11 determines whether or not the print data consists of a plurality of pages based on the job data of the final printing corresponding to the test printing being executed (step S8)., par. 48 and Fig. 5)
Ito fails to specifically address such that a total of lengths; exceeds the entire length.
Hanazato discloses such that a total of lengths; exceeds the entire length (Next, in step 2, whether or not the number of conveyed sheets of the continuous paper 2 for sheet number management has reached a prescribed number (12 sheets in the exemplary embodiment) is determined on the basis of the number which is obtained to divide the length of the conveyance path 5 by the length of one sheet of the continuous paper 2. When the number of conveyed sheets has not reached the prescribed number (NO) then the processing of step 2 is repeated, and when the number of conveyed sheets has reached the prescribed number (YES), then the flow moves to step 3., par. 26).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include such that a total of lengths; exceeds the entire length in order to provide sheet management as taught by Hanazato (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11: Ito in view of Hanazato satisfy all the elements of claim 10. Ito further discloses further comprising a starting unit configured to start the printing in response to an instruction from an operator (The operation display unit 12 includes a display unit 12a and an operation unit 12b. The display unit 12 a is configured with an LCD (Liquid Crystal Display) or the like, and displays various screens according to instructions of display signals input from the control unit 11 . For example, the display unit 12a displays a button for switching from trial printing to final printing ("start final printing" button 22 in FIG. 4). The operation unit 12b includes various function keys and a touch panel formed to cover the display screen of the display unit 12a, and receives various operations from the user. For example, the operation unit 12b is used when instructing to switch from test printing to final printing. , par. 23)
Ito fails to specifically address in a case where the total is less than or equal to.
Hanazato discloses in a case where the total is less than or equal to (Next, in step 2, whether or not the number of conveyed sheets of the continuous paper 2 for sheet number management has reached a prescribed number (12 sheets in the exemplary embodiment) is determined on the basis of the number which is obtained to divide the length of the conveyance path 5 by the length of one sheet of the continuous paper 2. When the number of conveyed sheets has not reached the prescribed number (NO) then the processing of step 2 is repeated, and when the number of conveyed sheets has reached the prescribed number (YES), then the flow moves to step 3., par. 26).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in a case where the total is less than or equal to in order to provide sheet management as taught by Hanazato (see Fig. 7).
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
31 August 2026