DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/28/2026, 12/03/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (US 20230161416 A1) hereinafter referred to as Cohen, in view of in view of design choice.
Claim 1. A device (Cohen, Fig.9) comprising:
a first module which generates a point cloud of a target object (User’s hand) based on a plurality of view vectors (Cohen, [0053][0193] According to the direction of hand, the viewing angle and direction of the virtual camera are defined and the imaginary sphere is configured according to the multipoint which does not intersect on the contour line of hand and the view vector facing from the center of the imaginary sphere to point on the imaginary sphere surface which is the multipoint on hand and equidistance is defined and the view vector is reduced according to the following control action of hand with the rotation. the movement. and compression or the enlargement / and the virtual camera is manipulated);
a third module which generates an approximate sphere based on the point cloud and the hand bubble (correspond to interaction bubble), and determines a final interaction point of the target object based on the approximate sphere and a hand vector (Cohen [0047] The size of the interaction vector at least one interaction vector is expanded to the radial shape on the imaginary sphere to the inside or the outside the imaginary sphere is configured according to the multipoint bent in 3D sensor space on the finger contour line comprises at least one of then, the interaction is the add of at least one vector within the vector field and interaction vector. and the multiplication or the dot product the interaction of the interaction vector and vector field is synthesized according to each size it is determined by the radius of the imaginary sphere).
Cohen does not explicitly disclose a second module which generates a hand bubble based on a hand point and a hand point angle. Cohen discloses in [0194] the production the radial shape "interaction bubble" in which the user responds to the gesture of the user and including menu elements (1802, 1804, 1806); the hand bubble corresponds to the interaction bubble and the stillness length of the virtual spring in which the interaction bubble is in proportion to the length of the side movement (see [0048]) to define the spring constant of the virtual spring reacting to the degree of freedom between the bending of finger and finger at least partially. And it is nothing but the simple design change which the normal technical engineer is from this easy it can draw.
As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate rotation of a finger by an angle in order to convey a rotation of an object command.Claim 2. The device of claim 1, wherein the point cloud includes a first point cloud of a front of the target object and a second point cloud of a behind of the target object. As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to generate/include point cloud of different sides of the object in other to allow rotation of the object and side view of the object.
Claim 4. The device of claim 1, wherein the point cloud includes a center point cloud generated based on a center view vector of the plurality of the view vectors and a peripheral point cloud generated based on a peripheral view vector of the plurality of the view vectors. As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to generate/include center point cloud of different sides of the object in other to allow rotation of the object and side view of the object.Claim 6. The device of claim 1, wherein the hand bubble has a sphere shape centered on the hand point (Cohen [0047] The size of the interaction vector at least one interaction vector is expanded to the radial shape on the imaginary sphere to the inside or the outside the imaginary sphere is configured according to the multipoint bent in 3D sensor space on the finger contour line comprises at least one of then, the interaction is the add of at least one vector within the vector field and interaction vector. and the multiplication or the dot product the interaction of the interaction vector and vector field is synthesized according to each size it is determined by the radius of the imaginary sphere).Claim 7. The device of claim 6, wherein a size of the hand bubble is changed. As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to change the size of the hand bubble in order to set intensity of interaction with object.Claim 8. The device of claim 7, wherein the size of the hand bubble is changed based on the hand point angle such that the hand bubble has a radius longer than a distance between the hand point and the point cloud. As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to change the size of the hand bubble in order to set intensity of interaction with object.Claim 9. The device of claim 1, wherein the hand point angle is changed based on a predict error. As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to change the hand point angle based on a predict error in order to provide an error object manipulation.Claim 10. The device of claim 9, wherein when the predict error is lower than a reference error, the hand point angle is decreased. As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to change the hand point angle based on a predict error in order to provide an error object manipulation.Claim 11. The device of claim 9, wherein when a size of the target object decreases, the hand point angle is decreased. As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to change the hand point angle based on a predict error in order to provide an error object manipulation.Claim 12. The device of claim 9, wherein when the predict error is higher than a reference error, the hand point angle is increased. As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to change the hand point angle based on a predict error in order to provide an error object manipulation.Claim 13. The device of claim 9, wherein when a size of the target object increases, the hand point angle is increased. As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to change the hand point angle and target object size in order to provide an error object manipulation.Claim 18 recites a method performed by the device of claim 1. The limitations of claim 18 are essentially similar to the recitations of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is applied to claim 18.Claim 19. The method of claim 18, wherein the point cloud includes a first point cloud of a front of the target object and a second point cloud of a behind of the target object. As a matter of design choice, one ordinary skilled in the art before the filing of the claimed invention would have been motivated to generate/include point cloud of different sides of the object in other to allow rotation of the object and side view of the object.Claim 20. An extended reality display system (Cohen, Fig.11A) comprising: an extended reality display device which displays an extended reality (Cohen, Fig.11A #1101); a rendering device which renders the extended reality (Cohen, Fig.11A #1101); the system of claim 20 further essentially recites the same limitations of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 is applied to claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3,5, 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3, no prior art discloses alone or in combination the feature “The device of claim 2, wherein a density of the first point cloud is higher than a density of the second point cloud.Claim 5, no prior art discloses alone or in combination the feature “The device of claim 4, wherein a density of the center point cloud is higher than a density of the peripheral point cloud.Claim 14, no prior art discloses alone or in combination the feature “The device of claim 1, wherein the approximate sphere is formed in an overlapping region where the hand bubble and the point cloud overlap.Claim 15, no prior art discloses alone or in combination the feature “The device of claim 14, wherein the approximate sphere has a sphere shape reflecting an average curvature of the point cloud in the overlapping region.Claim 16, no prior art discloses alone or in combination the feature “The device of claim 1, wherein the hand vector is a vector connecting a center of the approximate sphere and the hand point.Claim 17, no prior art discloses alone or in combination the feature “The device of claim 16, wherein the final interaction point is a point at which the hand vector contacts the target object.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is as follows:
(US 20170372527 A1) A method for computing a three-dimensional (3D) model of an object includes: receiving, by a processor, a first chunk including a 3D model of a first portion of the object, the first chunk being generated from a plurality of depth images of the first portion of the object; receiving, by the processor, a second chunk including a 3D model of a second portion the object, the second chunk being generated from a plurality of depth images of the second portion of the object; computing, by the processor, a registration of the first chunk with the second chunk, the registration corresponding to a transformation aligning corresponding portions of the first and second chunks; aligning, by the processor, the first chunk with the second chunk in accordance with the registration; and outputting, by the processor, a 3D model corresponding to the first chunk merged with the second chunk.
(US 20080273755 A1) A camera is used to detect a position and/or orientation of an object such as a user's finger as an approach for providing user input, for example to scroll through data, control a cursor position, and provide input to control a video game based on a position of a user's finger. Input may be provided to a handheld device, including, for example, cell phones, video games systems, portable music (MP3) players, portable video players, personal data assistants (PDAs), audio/video equipment remote controls, and consumer digital cameras, or other types of devices.
/MARTIN MUSHAMBO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615 08/08/2026