DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7 (line 5) “abuts limiting” should recite –abuts the limiting--.
In claim 16 (line 1) “wherein” should recite –further comprising--.
In claim 16 (line 5) “abuts limiting” should recite –abuts the limiting--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho (US 11,280,446).
As to claim 1, Ho discloses a joint assembly for a monitor mount, comprising:
a first joint 10;
a second joint 40 rotationally connected with the first joint;
a limiting assembly disposed on the first joint and comprising a limiting component 25, wherein:
when the limiting component is at a first position, the limiting component limits the second joint to rotate within a limit of a preset angle range relative to the first joint, and
when the limiting component is at a second position, the limiting component releases the second joint from the limit of the preset angle range; and
a rotating assembly 50 rotatably disposed on an outer periphery of the first joint, wherein:
the rotating assembly is engaged with the limiting component, and
a rotation of the rotating assembly drives the limiting component to switch between the first position and the second position (Figures 1-9).
As to claims 2 and 11, Ho discloses a joint assembly wherein:
the limiting component 25 is configured to move along an axis [of aperture 14] of the first joint 10;
one end of the limiting component abuts against the rotating assembly 50 such that the rotating assembly is interlinked with the limiting component; and
at the first position, the other end of the limiting component extends out the first joint to limit the rotation of the second joint 40 (Figures 1-9).
As to claims 3 and 12, Ho discloses a joint assembly wherein:
the rotating assembly comprises:
an operation component 50 disposed on an outer periphery of the first joint 10, wherein the operation component is arranged with an abutting component 52 on its side facing the limiting component 25 that abuts the limiting component to the first position and a releasing component A that frees the limiting component to the second position (Figure 5 reprinted below with annotations); and
an inclined surface B with progressively decreasing height between the abutting component and the releasing component, wherein the operation component drives the abutting component and releasing component to be rotatably set around the axis of the first joint, enabling the limiting component to abut against either the abutting component or releasing component (Figures 1-9).
[AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claims 4 and 13, Ho discloses a joint assembly wherein:
the abutting component 52 comprises an abutting surface that makes contact with the limiting component 25, wherein, along a circumferential direction of the first joint, one end of an inclined surface B extends to the abutting surface, and the other end of the inclined surface extends to the releasing component A (Figures 1-9).
As to claims 5 and 14, Ho discloses a joint assembly wherein:
along the circumferential direction of the first joint 10, two sides of the abutting surface 52 are both provided with an inclined surface B (Figures 1-9).
As to claims 6 and 15, Ho discloses a joint assembly wherein:
multiple abutting components 52,53 are arranged at intervals around the axis of the first joint 10 (Figures 1-9).
As to claims 7 and 16, Ho discloses a joint assembly comprising:
a rotation-stopping component 11,51, wherein:
the rotation-stopping component comprises a rotation-stopping groove 11, and at least one rotation-stopping protrusion 51,
when the abutting component 52 abuts the limiting component 25, the rotation-stopping protrusion matches the rotation-stopping groove, and
one of the first joint 10 and the operation component 50 is provided with the rotation-stopping groove, and the other is provided with the rotation-stopping protrusion (Figures 1-9).
As to claims 8 and 17, Ho discloses a joint assembly wherein:
the limiting assembly further comprises an elastic component 20 disposed at an outer periphery of the limiting component 25;
one end of the elastic component abuts the limiting component, and the other end abuts the first joint 10; and
the elastic component provides the limiting component with a thrust moving away from the second joint 40 (Figures 1-9).
As to claims 9 and 18, Ho discloses a joint assembly wherein:
the limiting assembly comprises multiple limiting components 25,27 disposed at intervals around an axis of the first joint 10, or
at least one arc-shaped limiting groove 41 provided on the second joint 40 is slidably engaged with the limiting component 25 (Figures 1-9).
As to claim 10, Ho discloses a monitor mount, comprising:
a base 9;
one or more arm assemblies 8,9; and
a joint assembly of the monitor mount for connecting two adjacent arm assemblies and/or for connecting the base to the arm assemblies, wherein the joint assembly comprises:
a first joint 10;
a second joint 40 rotationally connected with the first joint;
a limiting assembly 25,27 disposed on the first joint and comprising a limiting component, wherein:
when the limiting component is at a first position, the limiting component limits the second joint to rotate within a limit of a preset angle range relative to the first joint, and
when the limiting component is at a second position, the limiting component releases the second joint from the limit of the preset angle range; and
a rotating assembly 50 rotatably disposed on an outer periphery of the first joint, wherein:
the rotating assembly is engaged with the limiting component, and
a rotation of the rotating assembly drives the limiting component to switch between the first position and the second position (Figures 1-9).
Conclusion
09/18/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619