DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 8/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 小林 健 (JP 4220051), hereinafter Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi teaches of (fig. 2) a handrail assembly for a work machine (¶0001, guard used in a work vehicle, such as a mobile crane vehicle), the handrail assembly (folding guard 30) comprising:
a handrail (30) adapted to be coupled to a frame of the work machine (¶0001), the handrail including an upper handrail portion (fig. 3, upper guard 31 including mechanism of operation lever 37) and a lower handrail portion (fig. 3, lower guard 32 including lower boss member 35), wherein the upper handrail portion (31) includes a pair of first members spaced apart from each other (left and right arm members of upper handrail portion 31 spaced apart from each other), wherein the lower handrail portion (32) includes a pair of second members spaced apart from each other (left and right arms of lower handrail portion 32 spaced apart from each other), wherein each second member from the pair of second members defines an opening (fig. 3, opening of lower boss member 35), wherein the handrail (30) is movable between a deployed position (position in fig. 2) and a folded position (fig. 4, position in the dotted lines), and wherein, the upper handrail portion (31) is pivotable relative to the lower handrail portion to move the handrail between the deployed position and the folded position (seen in figs. 3-4, pivotable between the deployed position and the folded position at hinge 14); and
a pair of locking mechanisms (figs. 2-3, locking mechanism with fixing pin 36 at left and right sides of the handrail 30) that removably couple the upper handrail portion with the lower handrail portion (seen in fig. 4), wherein, to dispose the handrail in the deployed position (position in fig. 3), each locking mechanism from the pair of locking mechanisms engages the first member of the upper handrail portion with a corresponding second member of the lower handrail portion (fig. 3, fixing pin 36 of the first member of the upper handrail portion 31 engages with a corresponding second member of the lower handrail portion 32), and wherein, to dispose the handrail in the folded position, each locking mechanism from the pair of locking mechanisms disengages the first member of the upper handrail portion from the corresponding second member of the lower handrail portion (fig. 4, disengages the fixing pin 36 from lower boss member 35 of the second member of the lower handrail portion 32 to dispose the handrail 30 in the folded position).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi teaches of claim 1, and (fig. 3) wherein each locking mechanism from the pair of locking mechanisms includes an insert (fixing pin 36) fixedly coupled with a corresponding first member (fixedly coupled with first member with upper boss member 34), and wherein, when the handrail is in the deployed position, the insert is received within the opening of a corresponding second member of the lower handrail portion to engage the first member of the upper handrail portion with the second member of the lower handrail portion (fig. 3, insert 36 is received within the opening of lower boss member 35 of a corresponding second member of the lower handrail portion 32 to engage the first member of the upper handrail portion 31 with the second member of the lower handrail portion 32).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi teaches of claim 2, and wherein, to move the handrail (30) from the deployed position to the folded position (figs.3-4), the upper handrail portion is lifted to disengage the insert (36) from the opening of the corresponding second member of the lower handrail portion (¶0019, the positioning member 40 has a shape that allows the operation lever 37 to be lifted upward, the fixing pin 36 can be lifted upward. In this state, the lower end of the fixing pin 36 comes out of the lower boss member 35.).
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi teaches of claim 1, and wherein each locking mechanism from the pair of locking mechanisms includes a first tube (fig. 3, tube of upper support member 38) fixedly coupled with a corresponding first member (31) of the upper handrail portion (seen in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi teaches of claim 4, and wherein each locking mechanism from the pair of locking mechanisms includes a second tube (fig. 3, tube of lower boss member 35) fixedly coupled with a corresponding second member (32) of the lower handrail portion (seen in fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Zhao (CN 216517290).
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi teaches of claim 5, but does not appear to teach of wherein each locking mechanism from the pair of locking mechanisms includes a pair of first brackets, wherein each first bracket is fixedly coupled with a corresponding first tube, wherein each first bracket from the pair of first brackets includes a first plate, a second plate, and an intermediate plate that connects the first plate and the second plate, wherein the first plate defines a first slot, and wherein the second plate defines a second slot.
Zhao teaches of (fig. 4) wherein each locking mechanism (connecting component 30) from the pair of locking mechanisms (pair of connecting components 30) includes a pair of first brackets (first connecting structure 31, second connecting structure 32), wherein each first bracket is fixedly coupled with a corresponding first tube (fixedly coupled with corresponding left and right tubes of upper guardrail 20), wherein each first bracket from the pair of first brackets includes a first plate (first connecting plate 32a), a second plate (second connecting plate 32b), and an intermediate plate (first connecting structure 31) that connects the first plate and the second plate (seen in fig. 4), wherein the first plate defines a first slot (slot for pin 33 on the first plate 32a), and wherein the second plate defines a second slot (slot for pin 33 on the second plate 32b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi to incorporate the teachings of Zhao of wherein each locking mechanism from the pair of locking mechanisms includes a pair of first brackets, wherein each first bracket is fixedly coupled with a corresponding first tube, wherein each first bracket from the pair of first brackets includes a first plate, a second plate, and an intermediate plate that connects the first plate and the second plate, wherein the first plate defines a first slot, and wherein the second plate defines a second slot in order to strengthen and secure the locking and hinging of the guardrails by incorporating additional structure components and increasing the area these components occupy to distribute load and forces on the guardrails.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least claim 1.
/ZOE TAM TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3647