DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita (US 2008/0186587 A1) in view of SEGAWA (US 2016/0231565 A1).
As of claim 1, Matsushita teaches a method for projecting an image for a head-up display [fig 1] comprising: emitting a light by a backlight 12 [fig 2] [0026]; passing the light emitted by the backlight 12 [fig 2] through a first light-transmissive member 13 (lens array) [fig 2] [0026]; passing the light transmitted through the first light-transmissive member 13 [fig 2] through a light-diffusion structure 14 [fig 2] [0026]; passing the light transmitted through the light-diffusion structure 14 [fig 2] through a display screen 11 (the indicator 11 displays an image) [fig 2] [0028]; displaying an image on the display screen (the indicator 11 displays an image) [fig 2] [0028]; and forming a virtual image S [fig 1] corresponding to the image displayed on the display screen 11 [fig 2] by reflecting (by reflecting member 20) [fig 1] the light transmitted through the display screen 11 [fig 2], in a target space 3 (windshield) [fig 1].
Matsushita does not teach the light-diffusion structure has a thickness equal to or smaller than 300 μm.
Kobayashi does not teach the light-diffusion member has a thickness equal to or smaller than 300 µm.
SEGAWA teaches a head-up display [fig 1] having the light-diffusion member 367 [fig 7] has a thickness equal to or smaller than 300 µm ((The diffusion beads 369 are applied on the first light diffusion surface 367a and the second light diffusion surface 367b (hereinafter, also referred to as light diffusion surfaces 367, generically) in a thickness of 10 to 15 micrometers)) [0054].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have light-diffusion member has a thickness equal to or smaller than 300 µm as taught by SEGAWA to the display as disclosed by Kobayashi in order to provide transmission-type screens with enhanced visibility (SEGAWA; [0008]).
As of claims 2, 3, Matsushita teaches passing the light transmitted through the first light-transmissive member 13 [fig 2] to a second light-transmissive member 15 (Fresnel lens) [fig 2] [0026] before passing through the light-diffusion structure 14 [fig 2].
As of claim 4, Matsushita teaches the light enters from an uneven surface (Fresnel lens 15, as is well known, is cut into a thin ring shape) [0031] of the second light-transmissive member (Fresnel lens) [fig 2].
As of claim 5, Matsushita teaches a method for projecting an image for a head-up display [fig 1] comprising: emitting a light by a backlight 12 [fig 2] [0026]; passing the light emitted by the backlight 12 [fig 2] through a first light-transmissive member 13 (lens array) [fig 2] [0026]; passing the light transmitted through the first light-transmissive member 13 [fig 2] through a light-diffusion structure 14 [fig 2] [0026]; passing the light transmitted through the light-diffusion structure 14 [fig 2] through a display screen 11 (the indicator 11 displays an image) [fig 2] [0028]; displaying an image on the display screen (the indicator 11 displays an image) [fig 2] [0028]; and forming a virtual image S [fig 1] corresponding to the image displayed on the display screen 11 [fig 2] by reflecting (by reflecting member 20) [fig 1] the light transmitted through the display screen 11 [fig 2], in a target space 3 (windshield) [fig 1].
Matsushita does not teach the light-diffusion structure includes a plurality of fine particles; and an average particle size of the plurality of fine particles is equal to or smaller than 20 μm.
Kobayashi does not teach the light-diffusion member includes a plurality of fine particles; and an average particle size of the plurality of fine particles is equal to or smaller than 20 µm.
SEGAWA teaches a head-up display [fig 1] having the light-diffusion member 367 [fig 7] includes a plurality of fine particles (diffusion beads) [0054]; and an average particle size of the plurality of fine particles is equal to or smaller than 20 µm (diffusion beads 369, are highly-transparent optical beads, and the diameter thereof is 10 micrometers or less) [0054].
As of claims 6, 7, Matsushita teaches passing the light transmitted through the first light-transmissive member 13 [fig 2] to a second light-transmissive member 15 (Fresnel lens) [fig 2] [0026] before passing through the light-diffusion structure 14 [fig 2].
As of claim 8, Matsushita teaches the light enters from an uneven surface (Fresnel lens 15, as is well known, is cut into a thin ring shape) [0031] of the second light-transmissive member (Fresnel lens) [fig 2].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-14 are allowed.
As of claim 9, the closest prior art Matsushita (US 2008/0186587 A1) teaches a head-up display (HUD) device 1 is arranged in an instrument panel 2 of vehicle, and mounted on the vehicle. The HUD device 1 has a display system 10 for a vehicle of the present invention, and a reflecting member 20. The display system 10 and the reflecting member 20 are received in a receiving case 5. That is, the display system 10 is positioned in a predetermined place by the receiving case 5 of the vehicle. As shown in FIG. 2, the display system 10 has an indicator 11, a backlight 12, a lens array 13, a diffuser plate 14, a Fresnel lens 15 as a light ray controller and a direction adjusting member 16. These are mounted on housing 10A. In the display system 10, a virtual image S is superposed on a foreground of a vehicle. The virtual image S is given by projecting a light ray R from the backlight 12 passed through the indicator 11 on a projection area P. The foreground of the vehicle can be seen from an eye point E of the vehicle through the projection area. In the present invention, the light ray R is adjusted by the direction adjusting member 16 so as to align a displayed light path L from the display system 10 to a projection area P. An LCD (liquid crystal display) transmitting a light from a back side, a thin-film transistor (TFT) liquid crystal and a dual-scan super twisted nematic (DSTN) liquid crystal are used as the indicator 11. The indicator 11 displays an image which shows characters required from a control device (not shown), and performs luminescent display by transmitted light from the backlight 12. Matsushita does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a heat sink disposed along at least one side of the first light-transmissive member and one side of the backlight; a second light-transmissive member through which the light transmitted through the first light-transmissive member is transmissible; a display screen through which the light transmitted through the first light-transmissive member is transmissible; and a mirror that reflects the light transmitted through the first light-transmissive member toward a target space.
Claims 10-14 are allowed as being dependent on claim 9.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art TAKASE et al. (US 20190265470 A1) teaches a display system which includes a display unit, a projection unit, and a light-transmissive member. The display unit is configured to display an image. The projection unit is configured to reflect rays of light constituting the image toward a reflective member to project the image onto the reflective member to form a virtual image in a target space. The light-transmissive member has a plate shape. The light-transmissive member is located between the reflective member and the projection unit. The light-transmissive member intersects with an optical axis of light traveling from the projection unit toward the reflective member without forming right angles. The light-transmissive member has in-plane retardation and thickness direction retardation larger than the in-plane retardation;
- Prior Art MATSUO et al. (US 20180257335 A1) teaches a transparent sheet which can clearly display merchandise information, advertisement, or the like on a transparent partition or the like by projection without compromising the transmission visibility and which have a wide viewing angle. The transparent sheet includes an optical diffusion layer comprising: a resin having a refractive index n.sub.1; and microparticles having a refractive index n.sub.2 different from the refractive index n.sub.1, wherein the thickness of the optical diffusion layer is from over 400 μm to 20 mm or less.
Conclusion
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882