Drawings
The drawings were received on December 3rd 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 3rd 2024 and June 9th 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The certified copy has been filed on January 14th 2025.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of, in the specification.
Status of Claims
This Non-Final rejection is in response to the applicant’s filing on December 3rd 2024;
Claims 1-4 are pending and examined below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “…control unit that controls…”, “…selector …configured to select…”, “…calculator …configured to calculate…” and “…controller …configured to control…” in claim 1 (and those claims that depend therefrom).
Because this claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Specifically, the control unit and selector are described in the specification as an electronic control unit (ECU) [paragraph 0035 and 0041].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada (Patent No. US11912136B2) in view of Ono Sho (Patent No. JP2023104807A).
Regarding claim 1 Sawada teaches, a control system for an electric vehicle; (See Sawada column 22, line 18; “…FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a main configuration of an electric vehicle system 100 to which the electric vehicle control method (control device) according to this embodiment is applied…”); in which a plurality of motors are connected each to the respective wheels; (See Sawada column 22, line 19-23; “…electric vehicle control system 500 of the fourth modification includes a right front drive system fdsR, left front drive system fdsL, right rear drive system rdsR, and left rear drive system rdsL, and is mounted on a 4WD vehicle having four drive motors 4.”);
and a drive force established by each of the wheels driven by the motor is controlled independently by controlling an output torque of each of the motors independently; (See Sawada column 22, line 17-31; “) FIG. 22 is a diagram illustrating the configuration of the electric vehicle control system 500 of the fourth modification. As shown in FIG. 22, the electric vehicle control system 500 of the fourth modification includes a right front drive system fdsR, left front drive system fdsL, right rear drive system rdsR, and left rear drive system rdsL, and is mounted on a 4WD vehicle having four drive motors 4.
The right front drive system fdsR includes a configuration in which the right front drive motor 4fR can drive the right front drive wheel 9fR via the right front speed reducer 5fR, and further includes a right front rotation sensor 6fR. The left front drive system fdsL includes a configuration in which the left front drive motor 4fL can drive the left front drive wheel 9fL via the left front speed reducer 5fL, and further includes a left front rotation sensor 6fL.”); comprising: a control unit that controls the electric vehicle and the motors; (See Sawada column 3, line 9-16 and 35-36; “The motor controller 2 is a computer configured of, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), and an input/output interface (I/O interface). The motor controller 2 is a component that constitutes the control device for the electric vehicle of the present invention and executes the control method for the electric vehicle of the present invention…The motor controller 2 generates a PWM signal for controlling each drive motor…”);
wherein the control unit comprises: a parameter estimator that is configured to calculate estimated parameters relating to the characteristics of the motors using a predetermined estimation method; (See Sawada column 12, line 19-47; “As shown in FIG. 6, in Step S601, the motor controller 2 estimates the front disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.df based on the front motor rotation speed ω.sub.mf, front motor torque command value T.sub.mf (previous value), and rear motor torque command value T.sub.mr (previous value).
Specifically, as shown in FIG. 7, in Step S701A, the motor controller 2 calculates the total torque command value of the entire electric vehicle by adding the front motor torque command value T.sub.mf (previous value) and the rear motor torque command value T.sub.mr (previous value).
Further, if there are differences between the front side parameters and the rear side parameters to the extent that the differences can affect the calculation of the appropriate disturbance torque estimation value (front disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.df, rear disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.dr), like a case where the gear ratios of the front speed reducer 5f and the rear speed reducer 5r or the tire dynamic radiuses of the front drive wheels 9f and the rear drive wheels 9r are different from each other, a gain may be set in consideration of these differences as appropriate. For example, the total torque command value may be obtained after multiplying the rear motor torque command value T.sub.mr (previous value) by the gain which is used for the conversion to the front motor torque conversion value.
Next, in Step S702A, the motor controller 2 calculates the first motor torque estimation value by applying the filtering process according to the transfer function (H.sub.1(s)/G.sub.r(s)) to the front motor rotation speed ω.sub.mf.”);
a characteristic difference calculator that is configured to calculate a relative difference between the estimated parameter of the reference motor and the estimated parameters of other motor; (See Sawada column 12, line 24-46; “Specifically, as shown in FIG. 7, in Step S701A, the motor controller 2 calculates the total torque command value of the entire electric vehicle by adding the front motor torque command value T.sub.mf (previous value) and the rear motor torque command value T.sub.mr (previous value).
Further, if there are differences between the front side parameters and the rear side parameters to the extent that the differences can affect the calculation of the appropriate disturbance torque estimation value (front disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.df, rear disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.dr), like a case where the gear ratios of the front speed reducer 5f and the rear speed reducer 5r or the tire dynamic radiuses of the front drive wheels 9f and the rear drive wheels 9r are different from each other, a gain may be set in consideration of these differences as appropriate. For example, the total torque command value may be obtained after multiplying the rear motor torque command value T.sub.mr (previous value) by the gain which is used for the conversion to the front motor torque conversion value.
Next, in Step S702A, the motor controller 2 calculates the first motor torque estimation value by applying the filtering process according to the transfer function (H.sub.1(s)/G.sub.r(s)) to the front motor rotation speed ω.sub.mf.”); and a motor torque controller that is configured to control the torque of at least any one of the motors so as to reduce a difference between the torques of the reference motor and other motor resulting from the relative difference between the estimated parameters of the reference motor and other motor; (See Sawada column 12, line 24-46; “Specifically, as shown in FIG. 7, in Step S701A, the motor controller 2 calculates the total torque command value of the entire electric vehicle by adding the front motor torque command value T.sub.mf (previous value) and the rear motor torque command value T.sub.mr (previous value).
Further, if there are differences between the front side parameters and the rear side parameters to the extent that the differences can affect the calculation of the appropriate disturbance torque estimation value (front disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.df, rear disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.dr), like a case where the gear ratios of the front speed reducer 5f and the rear speed reducer 5r or the tire dynamic radiuses of the front drive wheels 9f and the rear drive wheels 9r are different from each other, a gain may be set in consideration of these differences as appropriate. For example, the total torque command value may be obtained after multiplying the rear motor torque command value T.sub.mr (previous value) by the gain which is used for the conversion to the front motor torque conversion value.
Next, in Step S702A, the motor controller 2 calculates the first motor torque estimation value by applying the filtering process according to the transfer function (H.sub.1(s)/G.sub.r(s)) to the front motor rotation speed ω.sub.mf.”).
Sawada does not explicitly teach but Ono Sho teaches, each of the motors generates torque in accordance with its own characteristics; (See Ono Sho paragraph 0006; “…each estimated torque based on the response characteristics of each drive motor…”);
a reference motor selector that is configured to select a reference motor from the motors; (See Ono Sho paragraph 00216; “In the estimated torque calculation process of the first or second embodiment, the d-axis current command value id*, the q-axis current command value iq*, and the f-axis current command value if* are calculated from the target torque command value Tm*. , with reference to the current response models of the rotor and stator of the first drive motor…”).
Both Sawada and Ono Sho are in the same field of electric vehicle management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sawada control system for an electric vehicle. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sawada by adding Ono Sho multiple electric motors with separate characteristics and selecting the reference motor to allow a better control of electric motors that are connected to the vehicle wheels, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Sawada in view of Ono Sho teaches the control system for the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the parameter estimator calculates at least any one of an estimated output torque of each of the motors; (See Sawada column 14, line 53-67; “In the rear torque limitation process of Step S807, the motor controller 2 compares the rear target torque command value T.sub.mrl with the rear limiting torque T.sub.rr calculated in Step S805, and selects the one with the smaller value to output.
In the front torque switching process of Step S808, the motor controller 2 selects the front target torque command value T.sub.mfl when the switching flag output in Step S802 is OFF (0), and outputs the front target torque command value T.sub.mfl as the front motor torque command value T.sub.mf. In addition, the motor controller 2 selects the output of the front torque limitation process of Step S806 when the switching flag output in Step S802 is ON (1), and outputs the output of the front torque limitation process of Step S806 as the front motor torque command value T.sub.mf. In other words, when the switching signal is an ON signal, the output of the front torque limitation process, that is, the smaller of the front target torque command value T.sub.mfl and the front limiting torque T.sub.rf”0 is output as the front motor torque command value T.sub.mf.”);
and an estimated torque constant of each of the motors; (See Sawada column 16, line 17-25; “In Step S1002A, the motor controller 2 sets the front motor rotation speed addition torque corresponding to the front motor rotation speed ω.sub.mf using the map shown in FIG. 14. Similar to the above, the map shown in FIG. 14 illustrates that the front motor rotation speed addition torque increases linearly with the increase of the front motor rotation speed ω.sub.mf, but as described above, the relation may be a curve of monotonical increase, or may be set to a constant value.”); and the motor torque controller corrects predetermined control target values of the motors to reduce the difference between the torques of the reference motor and other motor resulting from a difference between the estimated output torques of the reference motor and other motor; (See Sawada column 12, line 24-46; “Specifically, as shown in FIG. 7, in Step S701A, the motor controller 2 calculates the total torque command value of the entire electric vehicle by adding the front motor torque command value T.sub.mf (previous value) and the rear motor torque command value T.sub.mr (previous value).
Further, if there are differences between the front side parameters and the rear side parameters to the extent that the differences can affect the calculation of the appropriate disturbance torque estimation value (front disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.df, rear disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.dr), like a case where the gear ratios of the front speed reducer 5f and the rear speed reducer 5r or the tire dynamic radiuses of the front drive wheels 9f and the rear drive wheels 9r are different from each other, a gain may be set in consideration of these differences as appropriate. For example, the total torque command value may be obtained after multiplying the rear motor torque command value T.sub.mr (previous value) by the gain which is used for the conversion to the front motor torque conversion value.
Next, in Step S702A, the motor controller 2 calculates the first motor torque estimation value by applying the filtering process according to the transfer function (H.sub.1(s)/G.sub.r(s)) to the front motor rotation speed ω.sub.mf.”); between the estimated input powers to the reference motor and other motor, or between the estimated torque constants of the reference motor and other motor; (See Sawada column 12, line 29-47; “Further, if there are differences between the front side parameters and the rear side parameters to the extent that the differences can affect the calculation of the appropriate disturbance torque estimation value (front disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.df, rear disturbance torque estimation value T.sub.dr), like a case where the gear ratios of the front speed reducer 5f and the rear speed reducer 5r or the tire dynamic radiuses of the front drive wheels 9f and the rear drive wheels 9r are different from each other, a gain may be set in consideration of these differences as appropriate. For example, the total torque command value may be obtained after multiplying the rear motor torque command value T.sub.mr (previous value) by the gain which is used for the conversion to the front motor torque conversion value.
Next, in Step S702A, the motor controller 2 calculates the first motor torque estimation value by applying the filtering process according to the transfer function (H.sub.1(s)/G.sub.r(s)) to the front motor rotation speed ω.sub.mf.”).
Sawada does not explicitly teach but Ono Sho teaches, an estimated input power to each of the motors; (See Ono Sho paragraph 00221-00222; “As a result, first torque command value Tm1 can be calculated by a simple arithmetic logic using a linear filter determined according to the dynamic characteristics of electric vehicle 100 .
Furthermore, in the current command value calculation process (S404) of the first or third embodiment, the corrected torque command value (third torque command value Tm3), the rotation state of the first drive motor (in particular, the motor angular velocity detection value ωm) , and the power supply voltage (DC voltage value Vdc), a current command value i* (a d-axis current command value id* and a q-axis current command value iq*) is calculated.”).
Both Sawada and Ono Sho are in the same field of electric vehicle management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sawada control system for an electric vehicle. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sawada by adding Ono Sho estimated input power to each of the motors to allow a better control of electric motors that are connected to the vehicle wheels, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3, Sawada in view of Ono Sho teaches the control system for the electric vehicle as claimed in claim 1, wherein a permanent magnet synchronous motor is adopted as each of the motors; (See Ono Sho paragraph 0011; “In this embodiment, the F drive motor 4f is an interior permanent magnet synchronous motor (IPMSM), and the R drive motor 4r is an electrically excited synchronous motor (EESM). ).”); the parameter estimator calculates magnet fluxes in the motors; (See Ono Sho paragraph 0077; “II-2. R Estimated Torque Calculation Processing FIG. As illustrated, the estimated torque calculator 802 has a reluctance torque equivalent magnetic flux estimator 901 , a field magnetic flux estimator 902 , and a torque calculator 903 .”); the characteristic difference calculator calculates a difference between the magnet flux of the reference motor and the magnet flux of other motor; (See Ono Sho paragraph 00214; “Further, in the estimated torque calculation process of the second or third embodiment, the γ-axis current command value iγ* and the δ-axis current command value iδ* are calculated from the target torque command value Tm*, and the γ-axis current command value iγ* and Estimated torque T^m is calculated from the δ-axis current command value iδ* with reference to the magnetic flux response model and current response model of the first drive motor (RR drive motor 4rr or RL drive motor 4rl in the second or third embodiment). (Eqs. (72) and (73)).”); and the motor torque controller corrects current values of the motors to eliminate the difference between the magnet fluxes of the reference motor and other motor; (See Ono Sho paragraph 0080, 0082-0083 and 0085; “A field magnetic flux estimator 902 receives the R 1f-axis current command value ifr1* as an input and calculates a field magnetic flux estimated value φ̂f by the following equation (38).
Then, the magnetic flux estimated value φ̂ is calculated from the sum of the reluctance torque equivalent magnetic flux estimated value φ̂r and the field magnetic flux estimated value φ̂f, and is input to the torque calculator 903 .
A torque calculation unit 903 receives the R first q-axis current command value iqr1* and the estimated magnetic flux φ̂ and calculates the R estimated torque T̂mr by the following equation (39).
II-3. R Vibration Suppression Control Calculation Processing FIG. As shown, the damping control calculation unit 803 includes an F/F compensation calculation unit 1001, a first delay correction unit 1002, a pre-correction motor angular velocity estimation unit 1003, a corrected motor angular velocity estimation unit 1004, a second delay It has a correction unit 1005 and an F/B compensation calculation unit 1006 .”); thereby reducing the difference between the torques of the reference motor and other motor resulting from such differences between the magnet fluxes; (See Ono Sho paragraph 00206-00207 and 00214; “in the torque command value correction process, the communication delay between the motor controllers is considered for the F motor angular velocity detection value ωmf based on the second estimated torque (R estimated torque T^mr) calculated by the R motor controller 31r. (second delay correction unit 705).
As a result, in the electric vehicle 100 equipped with a plurality of drive motors 4, in the control calculation for correcting the target torque command value Tm* based on the rotation state of the drive motor 4 controlled by one motor controller 31, each motor It is possible to refer to the rotation state in consideration of the communication delay between the controllers. Therefore, it is possible to reduce the delay in the torque response caused by the communication delay, and to realize the torque response according to the intended behavior of the electric vehicle…, in the estimated torque calculation process of the second or third embodiment, the γ-axis current command value iγ* and the δ-axis current command value iδ* are calculated from the target torque command value Tm*, and the γ-axis current command value iγ* and Estimated torque T^m is calculated from the δ-axis current command value iδ* with reference to the magnetic flux response model and current response model of the first drive motor (RR drive motor 4rr or RL drive motor 4rl in the second or third embodiment). (Eqs. (72) and (73)).”).
Both Sawada and Ono Sho are in the same field of electric vehicle management. It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of present invention to modify Sawada control system for an electric vehicle. No new functionality would arise from the combination and the combination would improve usability of Sawada by adding Ono Sho permanent magnet synchronous motor calculation, estimation and adjustment of magnet fluxes to allow a better control of electric motors that are connected to the vehicle wheels, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
With respect to dependent claim 4, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 3 which is commensurate in scope to claim 4, with claim 3 being drown to a control system for the electric vehicle, and claim 4 being drawn to a control system for the electric vehicle as well.
Conclusion
/L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666