Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Folsom (US 20030166430 A1) in view of Adam (US 6528143 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Folsom discloses (in figs. 2, 78 and 86-91) a bearing (410) for supporting a swash plate (408) of a hydraulic static transmission (fig. 2) that is coupled to a support (415) adapted to support a swash plate (408) applied to a hydraulic static transmission (fig. 2) and is provided to reduce friction that occurs between the swash plate (408) and the support (415) when the swash plate (408) rotates,
the bearing (410) comprising: a first plate (PTFE portion of 410) provided with a contact surface (surface of PTFE portion of 410) that comes into contact with a swash plate curved surface (curved surface of 408) of the swash plate (408) on one side thereof, and made of a synthetic resin material (para. [0116] discloses a low friction polymer surface PTFE on 410), wherein the first plate (PTFE portion of 410) is made of a polytetrafluoroethylene material (PTFE), and a second plate (non PTFE portion of 410) formed in a shape rounded to have a curvature, configured to be superimposed on the first plate (PTFE portion of 410) to come into close contact with a remaining surface of the first plate (PTFE portion of 410) and retain a shape of the first plate (PTFE portion of 410).
Folsom does not disclose the second plate is made of a metal material.
Adam teaches a second plate made of a metal material (col. 3, lines 22-24 discloses the metallic backing material may be stainless steel, a copper alloy, aluminum or an aluminum alloy) for the purpose of having better heat conductivity (col. 1, lines 19-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second plate be made out of metal for the purpose of having better heat conductivity (col. 1, lines 19-23). It has also been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 2, Folsom in view of Adam teaches the bearing of claim 1, wherein the second plate is made of an aluminum material (Adam col. 3, lines 22-24).
Regarding claim 3, Folsom in view of Adam teaches the bearing of claim 1 but does not teach a thickness of the first plate is 0.36 mm.
Adam further teaches a thickness of the first plate is 0.36 mm (col. 3, lines 25-26 discloses the thickness of the first plate is between 20 to 400 microns, which is between 0.02 mm to 0.4 mm, so it would include 0.36 mm).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first plate to be 0.36 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, Folsom in view of Adam teaches the bearing of claim 1 but does not disclose a friction coefficient of the contact surface is 0.003 to 0.005.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select and make the contact surface with any coefficient of friction based on the sliding characteristic that are desired in the device, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Folsom in view of Adam teaches the bearing of claim 4, wherein the friction coefficient of the contact surface has a value that makes a neutral return angle of the swash plate 0.8 to 1.5 degrees (the friction coefficient of the contact surface is the same as the instant application so it would make a neutral return angle of the swash plate 0.8 to 1.5 degrees).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Folsom (US 20030166430 A1) in view of Adam (US 6528143 B1) and in further view of Fukuzawa (JP2018159310A).
Regarding claim 6, Folsom in view of Adam teaches the bearing of claim 1 but does not teach the first plate has internal cores positioned between the one surface and the remaining surface; and the internal cores are made of a metal material.
Fukuzawa teaches (in fig. 3) the first plate (4) has internal cores (3) positioned between the one surface and the remaining surface; and the internal cores (3) are made of a metal material for the purpose of excellent adhesion between the sliding layer and the substrate (para. [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have internal cores in the first plate, as taught by Fukuzawa, for the purpose of excellent adhesion between the sliding layer and the substrate (para. [0030]). It has also been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 7, Folsom in view of Adam and in further view of Fukuzawa teaches the bearing of claim 6 but does not teach the internal cores are arranged in a mesh form.
Adam further teaches the internal cores are arranged in a mesh form (col. 1, lines 13-23 discloses the internal core can be inner wire meshes, a sintered porous metal layer, or a porous layer) for the purpose of better heat conductivity (col. 1, lines 13-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the internal core be in mesh form, as taught by Adam, in the bearing of Folsom in view of Adam in view of Fukuzawa, as it is substituting one known internal core type for another for the purpose of achieving the predictable results of better heat conductivity (col. 1, lines 13-23).
Regarding claim 12, Folsom discloses (in figs. 2, 78 and 86-91) a bearing (410) for supporting a swash plate (408) of a hydraulic static transmission (fig. 2) that is coupled to a support (415) adapted to support a swash plate (408) applied to a hydraulic static transmission (fig. 2) and is provided to reduce friction that occurs between the swash plate (408) and the support (415) when the swash plate (408) rotates, the bearing (410) comprising: a first plate (PTFE portion of 410) provided with a contact surface (surface of PTFE portion of 410) that comes into contact with a swash plate curved surface (curved surface of 408) of the swash plate (408) on one side thereof, and made of a synthetic resin material (para. [0116] discloses a low friction polymer surface PTFE on 410); and a second plate (non PTFE portion of 410) formed in a shape rounded to have a curvature, configured to be superimposed on the first plate (PTFE portion of 410) to come into close contact with a remaining surface of the first plate (PTFE portion of 410) and retain a shape of the first plate (PTFE portion of 410).
Folsom does not disclose the second plate is made of a metal material.
Adam teaches a second plate made of a metal material (col. 3, lines 22-24 discloses the metallic backing material may be stainless steel, a copper alloy, aluminium or an aluminium alloy) for the purpose of having better heat conductivity (col. 1, lines 19-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second plate be made out of metal for the purpose of having better heat conductivity (col. 1, lines 19-23). It has also been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Folsom in view of Adam does not teach the first plate has internal cores positioned between the one surface and the remaining surface.
Fukuzawa teaches (in fig. 3) the first plate (4) has internal cores (3) positioned between the one surface and the remaining surface; and the internal cores (3) are made of a metal material for the purpose of excellent adhesion between the sliding layer and the substrate (para. [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have internal cores in the first plate, as taught by Fukuzawa, for the purpose of excellent adhesion between the sliding layer and the substrate (para. [0030]). It has also been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 13, Folsom in view of Adam and in further view of Fukuzawa teaches (in Fukuzawa fig. 3) the bearing of claim 12, wherein the internal cores (3) are made of a metal material (para. [0030] sintered metal).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Folsom (US 20030166430 A1) in view of Adam (US 6528143 B1) and in further view of Fukuzawa (JP2018159310A) and in further view of Schaffhaeuser (US 20120219353 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Folsom in view of Adam and in further view of Fukuzawa teaches the bearing of claim 13 but does not teach the internal cores are made of a steel material.
Schaffhaeuser teaches the internal cores are made of a steel material for the purpose of high load capacity (para. [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the internals made of a steel material for the purpose of high load capacity (para. [0011]). It has also been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Folsom (US 20030166430 A1) in view of Adam (US 6528143 B1) and in further view of Fukuzawa (JP2018159310A) and in further view of Kato (US 20150240637 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Folsom in view of Adam and in further view of Fukuzawa teaches the bearing of claim 1, wherein the first plate (PTFE portion of 410) comprises: a contact portion (surface of the PTFE portion of 410) provided with the contact surface and the second plate (metal portion of 410) comprises: a coupling portion (surface of the metal portion of 410) that is coupled to the contact portion (surface of the PTFE portion of 410).
Folsom in view of Adam and in further view of Fukuzawa does not teach first fixation portions configured to be bent at both ends of the contact portion and then extend with the contact portion interposed therebetween, and to be fixed to the support; and second fixation portions configured to be bent at both ends of the coupling portion and then extend with the coupling portion interposed therebetween, and to be fixed to the support together with the first fixation portions; wherein the first fixation portions and the second fixation portions do not come into contact with the swash plate.
Kato teaches (in fig. 3) fixation portions (80) configured to be bent at both ends of the bearing (60) and fixed (via bolts 81 though bolt hole 80A) to the support (10) wherein the fixation portions do not come into contact with the swash plate (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fixation portions, as taught by Kato, in the bearing of Folsom in view of Adam and in further view of Fukuzawa for the purpose of keeping the bearing securely attached to the support. While Kato does not teach a first and second fixation portions, there would be a first and second fixation portions when the prior arts are combined.
Regarding claim 9, Folsom in view of Adam and in further view of Fukuzawa and in further view of Kato teaches (in Kato fig. 3 and Folsom fig. 88) the bearing of claim 8, wherein fixation holes (Kato 80A) are formed in the first fixation portions (fixation portion of Folsom PTFE portion of 410) and the second fixation portions (fixation portion of Folsom metal portion of 410).
Regarding claim 10, Folsom in view of Adam and in further view of Fukuzawa and in further view of Kato teaches (in Kato fig. 3) the bearing of claim 9, wherein the fixation holes (80A) are longitudinal holes (80A).
Regarding claim 11, Folsom in view of Adam in view of Fukuzawa and in further view of Kato teaches (in Kato fig. 3 and Folsom fig. 86 and 88) the bearing of claim 8, wherein the contact portion (Folsom PTFE portion of 410) and the coupling portion (Folsom metal portion of 410) do not have fixation means for being fixed to the support (Folsom 415, as shown in Kato fig. 3, the bolts 81 are going not going through the bearing but through the fixation portions 80 to fix it to the support).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Golebiowski (US 20150316040 A1) discloses another hydrostatic cradle bearing.
/AIMEE TRAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617