DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Abstract contains the word “comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 12/03/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Imura et al., (Imura hereafter) (JP2012027223A).
With respect to Claim 1, Hagiwara discloses a lens mount (Figure 2) attachable to and detachable (¶[0012]) from a camera mount (40, Figure 1), the lens mount (Figure 2) comprising: an outer diameter portion (34a-c, Figure 2) fitted to an inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) of the camera mount (40, Figure 1), wherein the outer diameter portion (34a-c, Figure 2) includes a first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2) and a second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2) located closer to an object side than the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2), and wherein a length in a circumferential direction of a first fitting portion (r1, Figure 2; 2 ∏ r = circumference; r1 is > r2; see annotated Figure 2) fitted to the inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) in the second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2) is longer than a length in the circumferential direction of a second fitting portion (r1, Figure 2; 2 ∏ r = circumference; r1 is > r2; see annotated Figure 2) fitted to the inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) in the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 2, Hagiwara further discloses wherein a cutout portion (33, Figure 2) is provided in the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2) along the circumferential direction (see Figure 2), and a distance (see annotated Figure 2) from a center of the lens mount (Figure 2) to the first fitting portion (see annotated Figure 2) is longer than a distance (see annotated Figure 2) from the center to the cutout portion (33, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 3, Hagiwara further discloses wherein the cutout portion (33, Figure 2) is not provided in the second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 4, Hagiwara further discloses wherein the cutout portion (33, Figure 2) is provided on a vertical line (line in the y direction, Figure 2) passing through the center of the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2) in a state in which the lens mount (Figure 2) is mounted on the camera mount (40, Figure 1) at a normal position (camera mount 40 is on camera body 10 in the normal position, ¶[0056] and [0057]).
With respect to Claim 5, Hagiwara further discloses wherein the cutout portion (33, Figure 2) is provided on a horizontal line (line in the x direction, Figure 2) passing through the center of the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2) in a state in which the lens mount (Figure 2) is mounted on the camera mount (40, Figure 1) at a normal position (camera mount 40 is on camera body 10 in the normal position, ¶[0056] and [0057]).
With respect to Claim 7, Hagiwara further discloses wherein one of the camera mount (40, Figure 1) and the lens mount (Figure 2) is provided with a convex portion (42, Figure 1; see also ¶[0030]), and the other (Figure 2) is provided with a concave portion (inner area of 30, Figure 1) into which the convex portion (42, Figure 1) is fitted, wherein a length of the convex portion (42, Figure 1) is shorter than a length (see 42, Figure 1; see also ¶[0030]) of the second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2) in an optical axis direction (OA, Figure 1).
With respect to Claim 8, Hagiwara further discloses wherein the lens mount (Figure 2) has a flange surface (43, Figure 3) extending in a radial direction (43 extends in a radial direction, Figure 3), and the surface (object side of 43, Figure 3) is located closer to the object side (object side of 43, Figure 3) than the second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 12, Hagiwara discloses an optical apparatus (10, Figure 1) comprising a lens mount (Figure 2) and a lens (22, Figure 1), the lens mount (Figure 2) attachable to and detachable (¶[0012]) from a camera mount (40, Figure 1), the lens mount (Figure 2) comprising: an outer diameter portion (34a-c, Figure 2) fitted to an inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) of the camera mount (40, Figure 1), wherein the outer diameter portion (34a-c, Figure 2) includes a first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2) and a second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2) located closer to an object side than the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2), and wherein a length in a circumferential direction (r1, Figure 2; 2 ∏ r = circumference; r1 is > r2; see annotated Figure 2) of a first fitting portion (see annotated Figure 2) fitted to the inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) in the second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2) is longer than a length in the circumferential direction (r1, Figure 2; 2 ∏ r = circumference; r1 is > r2; see annotated Figure 2) of a second fitting portion (see annotated Figure 2) fitted to the inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) in the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 13, Hagiwara discloses an imaging system (1, Figure 1) including an optical apparatus (10, Figure 1) and an imaging element apparatus (10 and 20, Figure 1), the optical apparatus comprising a lens mount (10, Figure 2) and a lens (22, Figure 1), the lens mount (Figure 2) attachable to and detachable (¶[0012]) from a camera mount (40, Figure 1), the lens mount (Figure 2) comprising: an outer diameter portion (34a-c, Figure 2) fitted to an inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) of the camera mount (40, Figure 1), wherein the outer diameter portion (34a-c, Figure 2) includes a first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2) and a second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2) located closer to an object side than the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2), and wherein a length in a circumferential direction (r1, Figure 2; 2 ∏ r = circumference; r1 is > r2; see annotated Figure 2) of a first fitting portion (see annotated Figure 2) fitted to the inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) in the second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2) is longer than a length in the circumferential direction (r1, Figure 2; 2 ∏ r = circumference; r1 is > r2; see annotated Figure 2) of a second fitting portion (see annotated Figure 2) fitted to the inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) in the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2).
With respect to Claim 14, Hagiwara discloses a camera mount (40, Figure 1) attachable to and detachable (¶[0012]) from a lens mount (Figure 2), the lens mount (Figure 2) comprising: an outer diameter portion (34a-c, Figure 2) fitted to an inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) of the camera mount (40, Figure 1), wherein the outer diameter portion (34a-c, Figure 2) includes a first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2) and a second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2) located closer to an object side than the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2), and wherein a length in a circumferential direction (r1, Figure 2; 2 ∏ r = circumference; r1 is > r2; see annotated Figure 2) of a first fitting portion (see annotated Figure 2) fitted to the inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) in the second region (object side of 34a-c, Figure 2) is longer than a length in the circumferential direction (r1, Figure 2; 2 ∏ r = circumference; r1 is > r2; see annotated Figure 2) of a second fitting portion (see annotated Figure 2) fitted to the inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2) in the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2), wherein the camera mount (40, Figure 1) includes the inner diameter portion (C3, Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imura (JP2012027223A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Tsukamoto et al., (Tsukamoto hereafter) (US 2020/0177793 A1).
With respect to Claim 6, Imura teaches the lens mount according to claim 2, the lens mount (Figure 2) and the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2).
Imura fails to teach wherein the lens mount is provided with an electrical contact, and the cutout portion is not provided in the first region in a range of ±90 degree in the circumferential direction with respect to the electrical contact.
Imura teaches the lens mount and Tsukamoto teaches a lens mount (Figures 2A-2D).
Tsukamoto teaches wherein the lens mount (Figure 2A) is provided with an electrical contact (1001 through 1012, Figure 1A), and the cutout portion is not provided in the first region (image side of 151, Figure 2A) in a range of ±90 degree in the circumferential direction (outer portion of 151, Figure 2A) with respect to the electrical contact (1001 through 1012, Figure 1A).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Imura having the lens mount with the teachings of Tsukamoto having the lens mount provided with an electrical contact, and the cutout portion is not provided in the first region in a range of ±90 degree in the circumferential direction with respect to the electrical contact for the purpose of communication with the lens and the camera.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imura (JP2012027223A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Moriyama et al., (Moriyama hereafter) (US 2016/0330354 A1)
With respect to Claim 9, Imura teaches the lens mount according to claim 8.
Imura fails to teach wherein a distance in an optical axis direction from the flange surface to an end portion on an image side of the first fitting portion is equal to or less than 12 mm.
Moriyama teaches wherein a distance (FB51A and FB51B, Figure 3) in an optical axis direction (A, Figure 3) from the flange surface (51A and 51B, Figure 3) to an end portion on an image side (P11, Figure 3) of the first fitting portion (inside portion of 12, Figure 1) is equal to or less than 12 mm (¶[0061]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Imura having the lens mount with the teachings of Moriyama having a distance in an optical axis direction from the flange surface to an end portion on an image side of the first fitting portion is equal to or less than 12 mm for the purpose of allowing contacts or to insert the wirings or other components through the opening, (¶[0061]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imura (JP2012027223A).
With respect to Claim 10, Imura teaches the lens mount according to claim 1, wherein the first region (image side of 34a-c, Figure 2) is provided with a plurality of cutout portions (33, Figure 2).
Imura discloses the claimed invention except for the cutout portions having different lengths in the circumferential direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the cutout portions having different lengths in the circumferential direction, since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component. Scaling up or down of an element which merely requires a change in size is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art. One would have been motivated to scale the size of the cutout portions having different lengths in the circumferential direction for the purpose to protect electrical contacts and have a dedicated space for locking mechanisms. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imura (JP2012027223A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view Yamazaki et al., (Yamazaki hereafter) (US 2018/0348611 A1).
With respect to Claim 11, Imura teaches the lens mount according to claim 2 and the cutout portion (33, Figure 2).
Imura fails to teach wherein a surface extending in the circumferential direction of the cutout portion is inclined with respect to an optical axis.
Imura teaches the lens mount and Yamazaki teaches an interchangeable lens assembly which can be used with the lens mount.
Yamazaki teaches wherein a surface extending in the circumferential direction (see Figures 20A and 20B) of the cutout portion (lens cutaway, ¶[0197]) is inclined (lens mount side is obliquely inclined as to the optical axis of the camera mount side, ¶[0197]) with respect to an optical axis (Figures 20A and 20B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the teachings of Imura having the lens mount with the teachings of Yamazaki having a surface extending in the circumferential direction of the cutout portion is inclined with respect to an optical axis for the purpose of having an interchangeable lens assembly be mounted to the camera body, ¶[0197].
Conclusion
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872