Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son et al. (KR 20220082546 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Son teaches a vehicle body structure for use with multiple models, the vehicle body structure comprising: a vehicle body comprising a front side part (Fig. 2 element 31), a rear side part (Fig. 2 element 23), and a mid-zone connecting the front side part and the rear side part and having a door mounting portion disposed therein (Zone between elements 31 and 23); and a mid-zone inner panel connected to the door mounting portion (Fig. 2 elements 30,37,33,35 and Fig. 4 element P).
Regarding Claim 2, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the door mounting portion comprises an inner flange to which the mid-zone inner panel is connected (Flange connection shown in fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 2 and further discloses the mid-zone inner panel comprises a mid-zone panel flange disposed on an outer side of the mid-zone inner panel and matching the inner flange (Flange connection shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the mid-zone inner panel comprises an outer panel support portion that protrudes outwardly from the vehicle body (Fig. 4 element P).
Regarding Claim 5, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses a side reinforcement configured to support the mid-zone inner panel (Fig 3 element 27).
Regarding Claim 6, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 5 and further discloses the side reinforcement connects the mid-zone inner panel with the front side part and the rear side part (Shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 6 and further discloses a joint member, wherein the side reinforcement is mounted to the vehicle body by the joint member (Fig. 5 shows joint connection of element 27).
Regarding Claim 8, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 8 and further discloses the joint member comprises: a joint body surrounding the side reinforcement; and a joint flange connecting the side reinforcement to the mid-zone inner panel, the front side part, and the rear side part (Fig. 5 element 47).
Regarding Claim 9, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 5 and further discloses the side reinforcement is a tubular structure (Shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 5 and further discloses a rack coupled to the side reinforcement (Fig. 2 shows cross members considered as a rack).
Regarding Claim 11, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 5 and further discloses an interior cover coupled to the side reinforcement (Shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses a shape of the mid-zone inner panel matches an inner shape of the door mounting portion (Shown in Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son et al. (KR 20220082546 A).
Regarding Claim 13, Son teaches a vehicle comprising: a vehicle body comprising a vehicle body side part (Fig. 2), the vehicle body side part comprising: a front side part (Fig. 2 element 31); a mid-zone (Zone between elements 31 and 23) coupled to a rear of the front side part; and a rear side part portion (Fig. 2 element 23) coupled to a rear portion of the mid-zone, wherein the front side part, the mid-zone, and the rear side part extend in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle body (Shown in Fig. 2); a door mounting portion disposed in the mid-zone and comprising an inner flange (Fig. 2 connecting surfaces of elements 31 and 23); and a mid-zone inner panel coupled to the inner flange (Fig. 2 elements 30,37,33,35 and Fig. 4 element P).
Regarding Claim 14, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 13 and further discloses the vehicle is a delivery type vehicle (“for example, a purpose built vehicle (PBV) that removes the front passenger seat, which is less useful, and creates a storage space” Highlighted in attached PE2E translation; implies delivery type vehicle).
Regarding Claim 15, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 13 and further discloses the vehicle is a hailing type vehicle (“for example, a purpose built vehicle (PBV) that removes the front passenger seat, which is less useful, and creates a storage space” Highlighted in attached PE2E translation; implies hailing type vehicle).
Regarding Claim 16, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 13 and further discloses the mid-zone inner panel comprises a mid-zone panel flange disposed on an outer side of the mid-zone inner panel and matching the inner flange (Flange connection shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 17, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 13 and further discloses a shape of the mid-zone inner panel matches an inner shape of the door mounting portion (Shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 18, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 13 and further discloses a side reinforcement connecting the mid-zone inner panel, the front side part, and the rear side part (Fig. 2 element 27).
Regarding Claim 19, Son teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 18 and further discloses a rack coupled to the side reinforcement; and an interior cover coupled to the side reinforcement (Fig. 2 shows cross members considered as a rack).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (KR 20220082546 A).
Regarding Claim 20, Son teaches a method of making a plurality of vehicles, the method comprising: assembling a first vehicle that comprises a first vehicle body having a front side part (Fig. 2 element 31), a rear side part (Fig. 2 element 23), and a mid-zone connecting the front side part and the rear side part and having a door mounting portion disposed therein (Zone between elements 31 and 23), the first vehicle body also comprising a mid-zone inner panel connected to the door mounting portion (Fig. 2 elements 30,37,33,35 and Fig. 4 element P); and
Son fails to explicitly teach assembling a second vehicle that comprises a second vehicle body having a front side part, a rear side part, and a mid-zone connecting the front side part and the rear side part and having a door mounting portion disposed therein, the second vehicle body also comprising a mid-zone inner panel connected to the door mounting portion; wherein the first vehicle is a first model and the second vehicle is a second model that is different than the first model.
However, when referring to the type of vehicle of the claimed invention Son states, “(“for example, a purpose built vehicle (PBV) that removes the front passenger seat, which is less useful, and creates a storage space” Highlighted in attached PE2E translation). I would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the reinforcement structure on various vehicle models. By saying intended vehicle is a “purpose built vehicle”, it is understood that vehicle which have different purposes can be considered different models.
Conclusion
/E.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644