DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “if the first gear” in line 10, page 4 should be changed to – of the first gear -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, lines 2-3, recites “wherein the second portion is on a second axial side if the first gear” is being indefinite because the claim boundaries are unknown. This limitation is interpreted as best understood as – wherein the second portion is on a second axial side of the first gear –
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 12-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furnish et al. (US 20220062587) in view of Shimodaira et al. (US 3882735).
Regarding claim 1, Furnish discloses an actuation assembly (handle assembly 20 – figures 3, 5-10, paragraph 0022) for a medical device, the actuation assembly (20) comprising:
a first gear (rotatable disk 64 or central gear with toothed portion and gap- see include, but are not limited to, annotated figure 7 below figure 3, paragraph 0029) including:
a first gear toothed region (region with central gear teeth 68 – see annotated figure 7 below and paragraph 0029); and
a first gear untoothed region (region with gaps 73 – see annotated figure 7 below and paragraph 0029); and
a second gear (gear assembly 54 – see include, but are not limited to, annotated figure 7 below and paragraphs 0030-0031) including:
a second gear toothed region (region including outboard gear 74 having outboard gear teeth 76 – see annotated figure 7 below, figure 3 and paragraphs 0030);
a second gear untoothed region (untoothed region including pully segment 78 – see include, but are not limited to, annotated figure 7 below and figure 3, paragraph 0031); and
an articulation wire (control wire 42) coupled to the second gear (gear assembly 24 – see include, but are not limited to, annotated figure 7 below and paragraph 0031);
wherein, in a first portion of a rotational range of the first gear (e.g., rotation range when lever 52 rotates in a clockwise range– see include, but are not limited to, figure 7, paragraph 0032), the first gear toothed region (upper region with central gear teeth 68) interacts with the second gear toothed region (region with gear teeth 76 of gear assembly 54 – see include, but are not limited to, annotated figure 7 and paragraphs 0032, 0034), such that the second gear toothed region rotates upon rotation of the first gear (gear toothed region with teeth 76 rotates with gear toothed region with teeth 68 – see include, but are not limited to, annotated figure 7 below, figure 10, paragraphs 0032, 0034, 0037), and wherein, in a second portion of the rotational range (e.g., rotation range when lever rotates in counterclockwise range), the second gear remains stationary upon rotation of the first gear (see include, but are not limited to, figures 7, 10, and paragraphs 0032, 0034). However, Furnish does not explicitly discloses the first gear untoothed region interacts with the second gear un-toothed region.
Shimodaira discloses in first portion of a rotation range of first gear (rotation range of gear teeth portion 22 of wheel 21 – see figure 2, col. 3, lines 40-52), first gear toothed region (22) interacts (meshes) with second gear toothed region (gear toothed region of wheel 26), such that the second gear toothed region rotates upon rotation of the first gear (see include, but are not limited to, figure 2, col. 3, lines 52-60), in a second portion of the rotation range (rotation during cam portion 23 and portion 24 of wheel 21 and portion 27 of wheel 26), the first untoothed region (23, 24) interacts with the second gear untoothed region (27), such that the second gear remains stationary upon rotation of the first gear (see include, but are not limited to, figures 4-5, col. 4, lines 3-17).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furnish with the teachings including first un-toothed region interacts with second un-toothed region as taught by Shimodaira in order to yield predictable result of reducing the wear over an extended life period and consequently increasing the life of the system (col. 4, lines 25-30).
Regarding claim 2, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 1, wherein the articulation wire is a first articulation wire (42 – see Furnish: annotated figure 7 above and paragraph 0031), and wherein the actuation assembly further comprises:
a third gear (gear assembly 56) configured to interact with the first gear (see include, but are not limited to, Furnish: annotated figure 7 above, figure 3, paragraphs 0024,0026, 0031); and a second articulation wire (control wire 44) coupled to the third gear (see include, but are not limited to, Furnish: annotated figure 7 above, and paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0031).
Regarding claim 3, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 2, wherein the third gear includes:
a third gear toothed region (region with teeth 76 of assembly gear 56 – see annotated figure 7 above and paragraph 0030); and
a third gear untoothed region (un-toothed region with pulley segment 78 – see include, but are not limited to, Furnish: annotated figure 7 above and paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 4, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 3, wherein the first gear toothed region is a first gear first toothed region (portion with gear teeth 68 interact with gear assembly 54 - see annotated figure 7 above), wherein the first gear untoothed region is a first gear first untoothed region (portion of gap 73– see annotated figure 7 above and Furnish: paragraph 0029), wherein the articulation wire is a first articulation wire (control wire 42) – see annotated figure 7 and Furnish: paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0031), wherein the first gear has a first portion (portion that is near gear assembly 54 – see annotated figure 7 above), wherein the first portion includes the first gear first toothed region and the first gear first untoothed region (see include, but are not limited to, annotated figure 7 above, paragraphs 0029-0031), and wherein the first gear also has a second portion (portion near gear assembly 56 – see annotated figure 7 above and paragraph 0030), wherein the second portion includes: a first gear second toothed region (gear toothed region interacts with gear assembly 56); and a first gear second untoothed region (see include, but are not limited to, annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 5, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 4, wherein the third gear is configured to interact with the second portion of the first gear (gear assembly 56 is configured to interact with the second portion of the rotatable disk 64 – see include, but are not limited to, annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 6, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 4, wherein the first portion is on a first axial side of the first gear, and wherein the second portion is on a second axial side if the first gear (see include, but are not limited to, annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 12, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 1, wherein the second gear untoothed region is concave (e.g., concave or recess portion of pulley 78 – see Furnish: figures 3, 7 or see portion 27 is concave in Shimodaira: figures 2, 4).
Regarding claim 13, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 1, wherein the second gear untoothed region is a second gear first untoothed region (first untoothed portion on pulley segment 78 and/or no teeth portion of outboard gear 74 – see include, but are not limited to, Furnish: figures 3, 7, paragraph 0032, or Shimodaira: figures 2-4), and wherein the second gear further includes a second gear second untoothed region (2nd portion of pulley segment 78 or no teeth portion of outboard gear 74 as shown in Furnish: figures 3, 7, paragraph 0032; or second portion of untoothed portion 27 as shown in Shimodaira: figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 14, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 1, wherein the first gear or the second gear is non-circular (e.g., gear assembly 54 is non-circular – see include, but are not limited to, Furnish: figures 3, 7).
Regarding claim 15, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 14, wherein the third gear is non-circular (e.g., gear assembly 56 is non-circular – see Furnish: figures 3, 7).
Regarding claim 19, Furnish discloses an actuation assembly for a medical device (see figures 3, 7), the actuation assembly comprising:
a first gear (see annotated figure 7 above and discussion in the rejection of claim 1 above);
a second gear (54 – see annotated figure 7 above and discussion in the rejection of claim 1); and
a third gear (56 - see annotated figure 7 above and discussion in the rejection of claim 1); wherein, in a first portion of a rotation range of the first gear: teeth of the first gear engage teeth of the second gear to rotate the second gear (see annotated figure 7 above and discussion in the rejection of claim 1); and
wherein, in a second portion of a rotation range of the first gear, teeth of the first gear engage teeth of the third gear (56) to rotate the third gear (lower central gear teeth engage teeth of third gear 56 to rotate gear 56 - see annotated figure 7 above, figure 3, paragraphs 0030, 0032, 0037).
Furnish also discloses an untoothed portion of the first gear and untoothed portion of the third gear (see annotated figure 7 and discussion in claim 1 above).
Furnish does not explicitly disclose untoothed portion of first gear engages an untoothed portion of third gear.
Shimodaira discloses untoothed portion (23, 24) of first gear (wheel 21) engages an untoothed portion (27) of the third gear (26) such that the third gear remains stationary (see include, but are not limited to, figures 4-5, col. 4, lines 3-17 and also discussion in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furnish with the teachings including first untoothed portion of first gear engages untoothed portion of third gear such that the third gear remains stationary as taught by Shimodaira in order to yield predictable result of reducing the wear over an extended life period and consequently increasing the life of the system (col. 4, lines 25-30).
Regarding claim 20, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 19, wherein the second gear (gear assembly 54) is coupled to a first articulation wire (42), and wherein the third gear (gear assembly 56) is coupled to a second articulation wire (44) – see annotated figure 7 above and paragraph 0026).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furnish et al. (US 20220062587) in view of Shimodaira et al. (US 3882735) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Shelton, IV et al. (US 20220346783).
Regarding claim 7, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 2. However, Furnish does not explicitly disclose wherein the second gear and the third gear are coaxial.
Shelton IV discloses second gear and third gear are coaxial (e.g., gear 23500, 23600 are coaxial or 24150 and 24154, 24810 are coaxial– see include, but are not limitation to, figures 83-88, paragraphs 0755).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furnish in view of Shimodaira with the teaching of second gear and third gear are coaxial as taught by Laakso in order yield predictable result of reducing space for different shafts of the gears.
Regarding claim 8, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 2. However, Furnish does not explicitly disclose wherein, in the first portion of a rotational range of the first gear, the first gear interacts with the third gear such that the third gear remains stationary upon rotation of the first gear.
Shelton IV discloses in first portion of a rotation range of first gear (e.g., first portion of a rotation range of gear 23340), the first gear (23340) interacts such that the third gear (23700) remains stationary upon rotation of the first gear (gear 23700 is prevented from rotating based on position of brake 23400 upon rotation of gear 23440 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 82-83, paragraphs 0757-0758).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furnish in view of Shimodaira with the teaching of in the first portion of a rotation range of the first gear, the first gear interacts with the third gear such that the third gear remains stationary upon rotation of the first gear as taught by Shelton IV in order yield predictable result of selectively preventing rotation of a desired gear or which gear can be freely rotated (paragraph 0756).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furnish et al. (US 20220062587) in view of Shimodaira et al. (US 3882735) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Laakso et al. (US 20240298883)
Regarding claim 9, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 2, wherein the first articulation wire has a distal end that is coupled to a first portion of an articulation joint (control wire 42 has a distal end that is coupled to first portion of bending portion of distal tip 38 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 3, 7, paragraphs 0024, 0026), wherein the second articulation wire (control wire 44) has a distal end that is coupled to a second portion of the articulation joint (see include, but are not limited to, figures 3, 7, paragraphs 0024, 0026). Furnish does not explicitly disclose wherein the first portion of the articulation joint is proximal of the second portion of the articulation joint.
Laakso discloses first articulation wire (e.g., upper cable 150c) has a distal end (152c) that is coupled to a first portion (132 or 124) of an articulation joint (articulation assembly 112) (see figures 11-13, paragraphs 0033, 0113), wherein the second articulation wire (upper wire 150a or 150b) has a distal end (152a or 152b) that is coupled to a second portion (122) of the articular joint (articulation assembly 112), and wherein the first portion (132) of the articulation joint (122) is proximal of the second portion (122 or 124) of the articulation joint (122) – see figures 11-13, paragraphs 0033, 0106, 0109-0110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furnish in view of Shimodaira with the teaching of first portion of articulation joint is proximal of second portion of the articulation joint as taught by Laakso in order yield predictable result of accurately manipulate the cable assembly to cause the camera assembly pan up to desired degrees (paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 10, Furnish in view of Shimodaira and Laakso discloses the actuation assembly of claim 9, wherein the first articulation wire and the second articulation wire are coupled to the articulation joint at a same angular position of the articulation joint (first articulation wire 152c and second articulation wire (152b or 152a) are coupled to the articulation assembly 112 at the same angular position/same side of the articulation assembly 112 – see figures 11-13, paragraphs 0109-0113).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furnish et al. (US 20220062587) in view of Shimodaira et al. (US 3882735) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Golden et al. (US 20180049623).
Regarding claim 11, Furnish in view of Shimodaira discloses the actuation assembly of claim 2, further comprising a lever (actuator/lever 52), wherein rotation of the lever is configured to control movement of both the first articulation wire and the second articulation wire (see figures 7-10, paragraphs 0026, 0028, 0032).
Furnish does not explicitly disclose the actuator/lever comprises a knob.
Golden discloses actuation assembly comprises a knob (62,64), wherein rotation of the knob is configured to control movement of both first articulation wire and second articulation wire (steering wires 44 – see include, but are not limited to, paragraphs 0033-0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furnish in view of Shimodaira with the teaching of a knob in order to accurately manipulate the deflective movement of the distal end (see paragraphs 0050, 0052).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furnish et al. (US 20220062587) in view of Golden et al. (US 20180049623).
Note: all documents that are directly or indirectly incorporated by references in their entireties in Golden (see paragraphs 0004-0005, 0028) are treated as part of the specification of Golden reference (see for example, MPEP 2163.07b).
Regarding claim 16, Furnish discloses an actuation assembly for a medical device, the actuation assembly comprising:
an actuator (e.g., lever 52 – figures 3, 6, paragraphs 0025, 0028);
a first member (gear assembly 54) coupled to a first articulation wire (42)– see annotated figure 7, and discussion in claim 1 above, paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0030); and
a second member (gear assembly 56) coupled to a second articulation wire (44) – see annotated figure 7, and discussion in claim 1 above, paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0030);
wherein, in a first portion of a rotational range of the actuator, rotation of the actuator causes movement of the first articulation wire while the second articulation wire remain stationary, and wherein, in a second portion of the rotational range of the actuator, rotation of the actuator causes movement of the second articulation wire (in first portion of range of the actuator of rotating the actuator to one direction cause the moving of wire 42 while wire 44 remains stationary, and in second portion of rotational range by rotation of the actuator in opposite direction, causes movement of second articulation wire 44 – see discussion in the rejection of claim 1 above and include, but are not limited to, figures 7-10, paragraphs 0026, 0032-0033).
Furnish does not explicitly disclose actuator comprises a knob and first member is coupled to a pair of first wires and second member is coupled to a pair of second wires.
Additionally and/or alternatively, Golden discloses an actuation assembly comprising:
a knob (knobs 62,64 – figure 5, paragraph 0033);
a first member and second member respectively coupled to first pair and second pair of wires (first driving member 66 coupled to first pair of steering wires 44 and second driving member 68 coupled to second pair of steering wires 44 – see paragraph 0035);
wherein, in a first portion of rotational range of the knob, rotation of the knob causes movement of the first pair of articulation wire while the second pair of articulation wires remain stationary (rotation of knobs 62,64 when lock lever 90 in locked position cause movement of first pair of steering wires 44 coupled to first driving member while the second pair of steering wires 44 coupled to second driving member remain stationary/locked), and wherein, in a second portion of the rotational range of the knob (62,64), rotation of the knob causes movement of the second pair of articulation wires (rotation of the knob 62, 64 causes movement of the second pair of steering wires coupled to second pair of steering wires 44 coupled to the second driving member – see include, but are not limited to, figures, paragraphs 0033, 0035, 0038, 0047, 0050, 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Furnish with the teaching of a knob and first member is coupled to a pair of first wires and second member is coupled to a pair of second wires as taught by Golden in order to yield predictable result of independently moving the distal end up or down directions or left and right directions easily (paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 17, Furnish in view of Golden discloses the actuation assembly of claim 16. Furnish in view of Golden further discloses wherein the knob (the lever described in Furnish with modify knob in Golden as discussed in claim 16 above) is coupled to a first gear (rotatable disk 64), wherein the first member is a second gear (gear assemble 54), and wherein the second member is a third gear (gear assembly 56) – see figures 3, 7, paragraphs 0027, 0030, discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and Golden: figures 1, 5, paragraphs 0033-0034).
Regarding claim 18, Furnish in view of Golden discloses the actuation assembly of claim 17, wherein the first gear includes a toothed region and an untoothed region (see annotated figure 7 above and discussion in the rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Golden et al. (US 20180049623).
Regarding claim 16, Golden discloses an actuation assembly (figures 1, 4-5) for a medical device, the actuation assembly comprising:
a knob (62, 64 – figures 1, 5, paragraph 0033);
a first member (first driving member 66) coupled to a first pair of articulation wires (first pair of steering wires 44 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 3-4, paragraphs 0035, 0037); and
a second member (second driving member 68) coupled to a second pair of articulation wires (44) – see annotated figures 3-4, paragraphs 0035, 0037);
wherein, in a first portion of rotational range of the knob, rotation of the knob causes movement of the first pair of articulation wire while the second pair of articulation wires remain stationary (rotation of knobs 62,64 when lock lever 90 in locked position cause movement of first pair of steering wires 44 coupled to first driving member while the second pair of steering wires 44 coupled to second driving member remain stationary/locked), and wherein, in a second portion of the rotational range of the knob (62,64), rotation of the knob causes movement of the second pair of articulation wires (rotation of the knob 62, 64 causes movement of the second pair of steering wires coupled to second pair of steering wires 44 coupled to the second driving member – see include, but are not limited to, figures, paragraphs 0033, 0035, 0038, 0047, 0050, 0052).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goodhouse et al. (US 3783769) discloses actuation assembly comprises multiple gears, each gear has toothed region and untoothed region (see figure 2).
Kliiting (US4225177) discloses assembly comprises multiple gears and each gear has toothed region and untoothed region (see figure 4).
/AN SON P HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795
August 15, 2026