DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the three layer golf ball must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan et al. (10,150,008) in view of Tarao (2013/0046060) and Simonutti et al. (2004/0038752). Claim 1, Sullivan discloses a golf ball comprising at least one intermediate layer formed between a core and a cover, the cover is formed of a resin composition that includes the following components (I) and (II): (I) polyurethane (II) (meth)acrylic block copolymer (col. 3, lines 14-25: col 4, lines 14-18). Sullivan does not disclose the properties of the methacrylate block copolymer. Tarao teaches methacrylate block copolymer such as Kurarity LA 2250 for golf ball covers [0052]. Kurarity LA 2250 is identical to applicant's methacrylate block copolymer (page 13 of instant spec) therefore the cover properties such as condition (1): 0.10 ≤ VRL×VRH ≤ 0.26 (1) [in the above condition, VRL represents a ratio (η1/η0) of a viscosity η1 (dPa·s) at 210°C and a viscosity η0 (dPa·s) at 200°C at a shear rate of 1,216 (1/sec), and VRH represents a ratio (η3/η2) of a viscosity η3 (dPa·s) at 230°C and a viscosity η2 (dPa·s) at 220°C at the shear rate of 1,216 (1/sec)] will also be the same. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the methacrylate block copolymer for the desired performance and resilience. Sullivan does not disclose the specific gravity among the layer. Simonutti teaches in a standard deviation of a specific gravity of each layer of the core, the intermediate layer, and the cover is within 0.07 or the values are the same (abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the specific gravity of the layers for the desired balance. Claim 2, Sullivan discloses the rations of I and II are at least 98:2 to 50:50 (abstract). Claims 3-7, Tarao teaches methacrylate block copolymer such as Kurarity LA 2250 for golf ball covers [0052]. Kurarity LA 2250 is identical to applicant's methacrylate block copolymer II (page 13 of instant spec) therefore the material properties of II will be identical. Claim 9, under USGA rules for a golf ball the maximum mass is 45.93 grams and the minimum diameter is 42.67 mm. Using I = 2/5 mr2, the moment of inertia would be 83.6 g·cm2. Claim 11, Simonutti teaches all the layers of the core, the intermediate layer, and the cover have a specific gravity of from 1.10 to 1.13 g/cm3 [0015, 0019, 0024]. Claim 12, Simonutti teaches a relationship between the specific gravities of the intermediate layer and the cover satisfies the following condition: -0.03 ≤ (specific gravity of intermediate layer - specific gravity of cover) ≤ 0.03) (abstract). Claim 13, Simonutti teaches a material of the intermediate layer contains barium sulfate as a specific gravity adjusting material [0021]. Claim 14, Sullivan discloses a material hardness of the cover is from 40 to 52 on the Shore D hardness scale (col. 8, lines 55-67). Claim 15, Simonutti teaches the golf ball has a deflection under a 200-pound load from 0.085 to 0.105 inch or 2.2 to 2.7 mm [0029]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the methacrylate block copolymer for the desired performance and resilience. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify the specific gravity of the layers for the desired balance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
July 15, 2026