Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The three claims make comparisons of the adhesive of claim 1 with another adhesive. The claims do not further limit claim 1, i.e. a comparison is not a limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-12, 15-19, 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,307,941 (SITTI ET AL) in view of WO 2021/025790 (OMENETTO ET AL).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 24: SITTI discloses a dry adhesive formed of a polyurethane polymer gecko mimicking pattern formed on a substrate. It is recognized that the reference does not disclose that the dry adhesive is formed of a polydopamine-substituted silk fibroin. However, the OMENETTO reference discloses that polydopamine-substituted silk fibroin adhesives are known as substitutes for synthetic adhesives. See Background. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute OMENETTO adhesive material for the polyurethane adhesive in the SITTI reference. One would be motivated by the reasoned expectation of obtaining an atoxic, biodegradable substitute as disclosed in the OMENETTO reference.
Regarding claims 3-4: The SITTI reference discloses the method of molding the pattern (stems/fibers) onto the substrate. See col. 11.
Regarding claims 10-12: See SITTI col. 21 and 25 for the various sizing and shaped of the stems and tips of the pattern.
Regarding claims 13-14: The combined references disclose the adhesive of claim 1 as detailed above.
Regarding claim 15: See OMENETTO [0010].
Regarding claims 16-20: See OMENETTO Examples (aqueous solution) and [0054] (% polydopamine).
Regarding claim 21: See OMENETTO [0044] for dopamine hydrochloride.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/ELIZABETH E MULVANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785