DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed March 11, 2026, claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10 and 15 have been amended, claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 9-19 are currently pending for examination.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on March 11, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No: 12, 207, 263, US Patent No: 10,455, 610 and US Patent No: 11, 019, 653 have been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) applicant’s arguments, see page 8 paragraph 5, filed March 11, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 4 and 7 have been fully considered and are persuasive, in view of the claim amendments. However a new ground of rejection is presented (see sections 6 and 7 below).
Regarding 35 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 9 paragraphs 2 – page 10, filed March 11, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 9-19 have been fully considered and are not persuasive (see sections 6 and 7 below).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 7, the applicant argued that, see page 14 lines 15-22, “…
Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references, and any combination thereof, fail to teach or suggest the above features and, therefore, claim 1 is patentable for at least these reasons. For example, by way of illustration, one or more example embodiments generally relate to the relationship between the timing (a number of time interval unit) for receiving signal for the scheduling grant and the timing (a number of time interval unit) for receiving signal for the DL data, and these two signals are depicted in e.g., Figure 5 or Figure 6A, according to one or more example embodiments. Further, as explained in the Specification, those skilled in the art will appreciate that, according to one or more example embodiments, the number following each "TTI" as shown in the figure indicates the index of that TTI, which is usually an integer (see e.g., Specification, 0071 and 0075 and FIG. 5, FIG. 6A). Thus, claim 1 is patentable for at least these reasons.
In view of the similarity between the recitations of claims 4 and 7 to the features discussed above regarding claim 1, Applicant respectfully submits that claims 4 and 7 are patentable for at least reasons similar to those already discussed above. Therefore, claim 1 is patentable for at least these additional independent reasons.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value) were not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding amend claims 1, 4 and 7, Takeda clearly teaches receiving, in a first time interval unit a downlink scheduling grant corresponding to a downlink data transmission (see Fig.7A-7B, para. 0097-0106, the user equipment receives the downlink data at the (first) TTI of the CC of the long TTIs, a downlink scheduling grant corresponding to the downlink data transmission, see also Fig.15, para. 0189, the transmission signal generating section 302 generates and outputs the downlink data (PDSCH) / to a downlink data transmission, containing the user data to the mapping section 303. The transmission signal generating section 302 also generates a downlink control signal (PDCCH/EPDCCH) containing the DCI (the DL assignment/UL grant / a downlink scheduling grant), and outputs the generated downlink control signal to the mapping section 303, see also Fig.8, para. 0115, 0116, the user equipment receives the downlink control information in the CC (Scheduling CC) (e.g., the CC1) to which the wireless base station transmits the downlink control information); and
receiving, in a second time interval unit
wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value (see Fig.6C, para. 0071-0091, the TTI length of the CC 1/ a first number of the first time interval unit. four times { a first value } the TTI length of the CC 4/ a second number of the second time interval unit, and that downlink data is transmitted in one of the short TTIs corresponding to the long TTI in the CC 1, see also Fig.4, m = n/4th TTI of the CC 1 is scheduled for the n (=4xm, m is a natural number) th TTI of the CC 4, , also para. 0053-0056, Fig.5, para. 0062-0064, FIG. 4 illustrates the example wherein the CC1 and the CC2 use the normal TTI (1 ms); the CC3 uses the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.5 ms) shorter than the normal TTI; and the CC4 employs the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.25 ms) shorter than the TTI of the CC3, para. 0034, the short TTI have a TTI length of, for example, 0.5 ms, 0.25 ms, 0.2 ms, or 0.1 ms the integral multiple of which is 1 ms, and per para. 0034, the TTI (hereinafter referred to as “normal TTI”) has a time length of 1 ms, therefor various ratios is determined based on the short TTI have a TTI length of, 0.5 ms, 0.25 ms, 0.2 ms, or 0.1 ms and the “normal TTI”/long TTI has a time length of 1 ms, per FIG. 4 illustrates the example wherein the CC1 and the CC2 use the normal TTI (1 ms); the CC3 uses the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.5 ms) shorter than the normal TTI); the Examiner further states that Ji disclose wherein a first value is determined based on a first configuration related to a first time interval unit and a second configuration related to a second time interval unit (see Fig.9, para. 0058, 0085, as illustrated in FIG. 9, each time slot, symbol, or unit of the thin control channel 906 corresponds to the duration of a short TTI / a first configuration related to the downlink scheduling grant. That is, in some examples, the short TTI corresponds to the time duration of a single symbol. Some non-limiting examples of a short TTI may have a duration of 10 μs, 20 μs, 100 μs, or any other suitable duration that is shorter than the long TTI / a second configuration related to the downlink data transmission, the long TTI is represent an integer multiple {a value} of short TTIs. In some examples, a common symbol duration may be utilized within both the long TTI and the short TTI, or in other examples, different symbol durations are utilized within the long TTI and the short TTI, as show a second value (16 TTI) is determined based on a first value ( 1TTI) multiplied by a third value (16), see also Fig.10, para. 0086-0088, see para. 0056, 0062, the CC having the different TTI length is to belong to the difference CG, see also para. 0008-0009, 0046, 0059-0061, 0074-0077).
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the combination of the systems as disclosed by Takeda and Ji reads upon the broadly claimed limitations of “receiving, in a first time interval unit a downlink scheduling grant corresponding to a downlink data transmission; and receiving, in a second time interval unit the downlink data transmission, wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value, and wherein the first value is determined based on a first configuration related to the first time interval unit and a second configuration related to the second time interval unit” as recites in the claim.
The applicant further argues, “Claims 3, 6 and 9-19 are patentable at least by virtue of their dependency and by virtue of the additionally recited features therein. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner withdraw all of these rejections..”.
In response to applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above. Per above cited reasons, the listed claim are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, " ... wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, “… wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value”. Paragraphs 0071 and 0075 of instant application disclose, In a SECOND embodiment of the method 300, the base station may transmit, in the DL control region of a short TTI on the first carrier, a DL scheduling grant corresponding to data transmission on the first carrier and also transmit, in the DL control region of a short TTI on the first carrier, a DL scheduling grant corresponding to data transmission on the second carrier. In this embodiment, the DL data transmission on the first carrier may be performed in the short TTI where the corresponding DL scheduling grant is transmitted or in a short TTI immediately following the short TTI where the corresponding DL scheduling grant is transmitted. Correspondingly, the DL data transmission on the second carrier may be performed in a long TTI whose index nlong and the index nshort of the short TTI where the corresponding DL scheduling grant is transmitted have a relationship of nlong =nshort/2, wherein nshort is an even integer. [0075]Those skilled in the art will appreciate that the number following each “TTI” as shown in the figure indicates the index of that TTI, which is usually an integer. Therefore claims 1, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
The subject matter was not described in the specification (see paragraphs 0071-0075) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Claims 4 and 7 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, " ... wherein the first value is determined based on a first configuration related to the first time interval unit and a second configuration related to the second time interval unit”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, “… wherein the first value is determined based on a first configuration related to the first time interval unit and a second configuration related to the second time interval unit”. Paragraphs 0087-0088 of instant application disclose, “[0088] As illustrated in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit the DL scheduling grant corresponding to DL transmission on the first carrier in the DL control region of a long TTI having an index n.sub.long. [0089] Corresponding to the scheduling, the DL data transmission on the first carrier may be performed in a short TTI having an index n.sub.short. Therefore claims 1, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
The subject matter was not described in the specification (see paragraphs 78, 87-88, 104 and 197) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Claims 4 and 7 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claim 13 recites, " ... wherein the first value is determined based on a ratio, and wherein the ratio is determined based on the first configuration and the second configuration”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, “… wherein the first value is determined based on a ratio, and wherein the ratio is determined based on the first configuration and the second configuration”. Paragraphs 0087-0088 of instant application disclose, “[0088] As illustrated in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit the DL scheduling grant corresponding to DL transmission on the first carrier in the DL control region of a long TTI having an index n.sub.long. [0089] Corresponding to the scheduling, the DL data transmission on the first carrier may be performed in a short TTI having an index n.sub.short. A value of the index n.sub.short where the DL data transmission is received, in the FIG. 9 example, is equal to a constant plus a value of the index n.sub.long multiplied by a result of dividing a length of the long TTI by the length of the short TTI (in the example of FIG. 9, the result of dividing is two).
Therefore claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
The subject matter was not described in the specification (see paragraphs 78, 87-88, 104 and 197) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Claim 14 recites, " ... wherein the first configuration is for receiving the downlink scheduling grant, and wherein the second configuration is for receiving the downlink data transmission”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, “… wherein the first configuration is for receiving the downlink scheduling grant, and wherein the second configuration is for receiving the downlink data transmission”. Paragraphs 0087-0088 of instant application disclose, “[0088] As illustrated in FIG. 9, the base station may transmit the DL scheduling grant corresponding to DL transmission on the first carrier in the DL control region of a long TTI having an index n.sub.long. [0089] Corresponding to the scheduling, the DL data transmission on the first carrier may be performed in a short TTI having an index n.sub.short. A value of the index n.sub.short where the DL data transmission is received, in the FIG. 9 example, is equal to a constant plus a value of the index n.sub.long multiplied by a result of dividing a length of the long TTI by the length of the short TTI (in the example of FIG. 9, the result of dividing is two). Therefore claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The subject matter was not described in the specification (see paragraphs 78, 87-88, 104 and 197) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Examiner Note: The specification recites the term “floor” in relation to various formulas (paragraphs 0079, 0082, 0085, 0090, 0129, 0132…of US published application), it is recommended to define the term “floor” .
Claims 3, 6, 9-14 and 15-19 are also rejected, since they are dependent on the rejected base independent claim 1, claim 4 and 7, respectfully, as set forth above.
Claims 1, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, in lines 9-11, “wherein the first value is determined based on a first configuration related to the first time interval unit and a second configuration related to the second time interval unit”, It is unclear as to what is meant by “a first configuration” and “a second configuration”. The respective terms are not recited in the specification.
The specification fails to provide antecedent for “a first configuration” and “a second configuration”.
It is unclear whether a first configuration related to the first time interval unit or whether a first configuration is the first time interval unit (within the meaning of the specification/as describe/interpreted in the instant specification).
It is unclear whether a second configuration related to the second time interval unit or whether a second configuration is a second time interval unit (within the meaning of the specification/as describe/interpreted in the instant specification).
Claims 4 and 7 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claims 3, 6, 9-14 and 15-19 are also rejected, since they are dependent on the rejected base independent claim 1, claim 4 and 7, respectfully, as set forth above.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7 and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0242316), and further in view of Ji et al. (US Pub. No.: 2015/0334685).
As per claim 1, Takeda disclose A method performed by a user equipment (see Fig.7a-7B, Fig. 16, UE 20) comprising:
receiving, in a first time interval unit a downlink scheduling grant corresponding to a downlink data transmission (see Fig.7A-7B, para. 0097-0106, the user equipment receives the downlink data at the (first) TTI of the CC of the long TTIs, a downlink scheduling grant corresponding to the downlink data transmission, see also Fig.15, para. 0189, the transmission signal generating section 302 generates and outputs the downlink data (PDSCH) / to a downlink data transmission, containing the user data to the mapping section 303. The transmission signal generating section 302 also generates a downlink control signal (PDCCH/EPDCCH) containing the DCI (the DL assignment/UL grant / a downlink scheduling grant), and outputs the generated downlink control signal to the mapping section 303, see also Fig.8, para. 0115, 0116, the user equipment receives the downlink control information in the CC (Scheduling CC) (e.g., the CC1) to which the wireless base station transmits the downlink control information); and
receiving, in a second time interval unit
wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value (see Fig.6C, para. 0071-0091, the TTI length of the CC 1/ a first number of the first time interval unit. four times { a first value } the TTI length of the CC 4/ a second number of the second time interval unit, and that downlink data is transmitted in one of the short TTIs corresponding to the long TTI in the CC 1, see also Fig.4, m = n/4th TTI of the CC 1 is scheduled for the n (=4xm, m is a natural number) th TTI of the CC 4, , also para. 0053-0056, Fig.5, para. 0062-0064, FIG. 4 illustrates the example wherein the CC1 and the CC2 use the normal TTI (1 ms); the CC3 uses the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.5 ms) shorter than the normal TTI; and the CC4 employs the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.25 ms) shorter than the TTI of the CC3, para. 0034, the short TTI have a TTI length of, for example, 0.5 ms, 0.25 ms, 0.2 ms, or 0.1 ms the integral multiple of which is 1 ms, and per para. 0034, the TTI (hereinafter referred to as “normal TTI”) has a time length of 1 ms, therefor various ratios is determined based on the short TTI have a TTI length of, 0.5 ms, 0.25 ms, 0.2 ms, or 0.1 ms and the “normal TTI”/long TTI has a time length of 1 ms, per FIG. 4 illustrates the example wherein the CC1 and the CC2 use the normal TTI (1 ms); the CC3 uses the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.5 ms) shorter than the normal TTI).
Although Takeda disclose wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value;
Takeda however does not explicitly disclose wherein the first value is determined based on a first configuration related to the first time interval unit
Ji however disclose wherein a first value is determined based on a first configuration related to a first time interval unit and a second configuration related to a second time interval unit (see Fig.9, para. 0058, 0085, as illustrated in FIG. 9, each time slot, symbol, or unit of the thin control channel 906 corresponds to the duration of a short TTI / a first configuration related to the downlink scheduling grant. That is, in some examples, the short TTI corresponds to the time duration of a single symbol. Some non-limiting examples of a short TTI may have a duration of 10 μs, 20 μs, 100 μs, or any other suitable duration that is shorter than the long TTI / a second configuration related to the downlink data transmission, the long TTI is represent an integer multiple {a value} of short TTIs. In some examples, a common symbol duration may be utilized within both the long TTI and the short TTI, or in other examples, different symbol durations are utilized within the long TTI and the short TTI, as show a second value (16 TTI) is determined based on a first value ( 1TTI) multiplied by a third value (16), see also Fig.10, para. 0086-0088, see para. 0056, 0062, the CC having the different TTI length is to belong to the difference CG, see also para. 0008-0009, 0046, 0059-0061, 0074-0077).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a first value is determined based on a first configuration related to a first time interval unit and a second configuration related to a second time interval unit, as taught by Ji, in the system of Takeda, so that to enable a subordinate entity to receive a resource assignment on a downlink assignment channel, the resource assignment including a grant of time-frequency resources for receiving first user data on a downlink data channel utilizing a first TTI. The subordinate entity further receive the first user data on the downlink data channel utilizing the first TTI, and receive control information on a downlink control channel utilizing a second TTI shorter in duration than the first TTI during the receiving of the first user data, see Ji, paragraphs 7-10.
As per claim 4, claim 4 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 7, claim 7 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 10, the combination of Takeda and Ji disclose the method according to claim 1.
Takeda further disclose , wherein the second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on the first number of the first time interval unit multiplied by the first value (see Fig.7B, para. 0097-0106, the TTI length of the CC1 is four times the TTI length of the CC4, the first index multiplied by the first value, see also para. 0051-0052).
As per claim 11, the combination of Takeda and Ji disclose the method according to claim 1.
Takeda further disclose wherein the first time interval unit includes a first subframe, and wherein the second time interval unit includes a second subframe (see Fig.4, para. 0052, 0053, the first time interval unit includes a first subframe as shown CC1 = Normal TTI (1 ms (one subframe) as the TTI) and the second time interval unit includes a second subframe as shown CC3 = shorten TTI (0.5 ms (0.5 subframe) and 0.25 ms (0.25 subframe) as the shortened TTIs)).
As per claim 12, the combination of Takeda and Ji disclose the method according to claim 1.
Takeda further disclose wherein the first time interval unit is a first subframe (see Fig.4, para. 0052, 0053, as shown CC1 = Normal TTI (1 ms (one subframe) as the TTI)), and wherein the second time interval unit is a second subframe (see Fig.4, para. 0052, 0053, as shown CC3 = shorten TTI (0.5 ms (0.5 subframe) and 0.25 ms (0.25 subframe) as the shortened TTIs)).
As per claim 13, the combination of Takeda and Ji disclose the method according to claim 1.
Takeda further disclose wherein the first value is determined based on a ratio, and wherein the ratio is determined based on the first configuration and the second configuration (see Fig.6C, para. 0071-0091, the TTI length of the CC 1 four times the TTI length of the CC 4, and that downlink data is transmitted in one of the short TTIs corresponding to the long TTI in the CC 1, ratio 1:4 see also Fig.4, para. 0053).
As per claim 14, the combination of Takeda and Ji disclose the method according to claim 1.
Takeda further disclose wherein the first configuration is for receiving the downlink scheduling grant (see Fig.7A-7B, para. 0097-0106, the user equipment receives the downlink data at the (first) TTI of the CC of the long TTIs, which is overlapped with the TTI at which to receive the downlink control information in the CC of the short TTIs), and wherein the second configuration is for receiving the downlink data transmission (see Fig.7B, para. 0097-0106, the TTI length of the CC1 is four times the TTI length of the CC4, and cross scheduling of the CC1 is performed at the leading symbol of TTI of the CC4, see also para. 0085-0092, in Fig. 6C, the TTI length of the CC 1 is four times the TTI length of the CC 4, and that downlink data is transmitted in one of the short TTis corresponding to the long TTI in the CC 1, clearly based on the downlink scheduling grant).
As per claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same way as claim 10.
As per claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same way as claim 11.
As per claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same way as claim 12.
As per claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same way as claim 13.
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 14.
Claims 3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0242316), Ji et al. (US Pub. No.: 2015/0334685) and further in view of Takeda et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0255543, herein under Takeda543).
As per claim 3, the combination of Takeda and Ji disclose the method performed by a user equipment.
The combination of Takeda and Ji however does not explicitly disclose transmitting, a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback corresponding to the downlink data transmission, in the second time interval unit.
Takeda543 however disclose transmitting, a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback corresponding to a downlink data transmission, in a second time interval unit (see Fig.2, 4A-4C, Fig.9, para. 0100-0102, the user terminal feeds back an ACK/NACK (ACKnowledgement/Negative ACKnowledgement) signal in response to a DL transmission signal by using an UL transmission short TTI after a lapse of a certain time period from the reception of the DL signal, clearly the HARQ feedback corresponds to the downlink data transmission in the same TTI, in this case the short TTI, also per Fig.9, para. 0101, ACK/NACK signals in response to DL signals received in short TTIs contained in a subframe (n) are transmitted in short TTIs contained in a subframe (n+2) after a certain period (e.g. 2 ms) later {a second index}, see also para. 0150, the number of the DL transmission short TTIs and the number of the UL transmission short TTIs contained in one subframe of the existing systems are set equal. The control section 401 can control the feedback of the delivery confirmation signals using a different number of HARQ processes from the existing systems);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of transmitting, a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback corresponding to a downlink data transmission, in a second time interval unit, as taught by Takeda543, in the system of Takeda, so as to enables the communications to be properly performed even in the coexistence of the shortened TTI and the normal TTI, see Takeda543, paragraphs 5-9.
As per claim 6, claim 6 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection
Claims 1, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0242316), and further in view of 3GPP (Overview of short TTI, R1-156458).
As per claim 1, Takeda disclose A method performed by a user equipment (see Fig.7a-7B, Fig. 16, UE 20) comprising:
receiving, in a first time interval unit a downlink scheduling grant corresponding to a downlink data transmission (see Fig.7A-7B, para. 0097-0106, the user equipment receives the downlink data at the (first) TTI of the CC of the long TTIs, a downlink scheduling grant corresponding to the downlink data transmission, see also Fig.15, para. 0189, the transmission signal generating section 302 generates and outputs the downlink data (PDSCH) / to a downlink data transmission, containing the user data to the mapping section 303. The transmission signal generating section 302 also generates a downlink control signal (PDCCH/EPDCCH) containing the DCI (the DL assignment/UL grant / a downlink scheduling grant), and outputs the generated downlink control signal to the mapping section 303, see also Fig.8, para. 0115, 0116, the user equipment receives the downlink control information in the CC (Scheduling CC) (e.g., the CC1) to which the wireless base station transmits the downlink control information); and
receiving, in a second time interval unit
wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value (see Fig.6C, para. 0071-0091, the TTI length of the CC 1/ a first number of the first time interval unit. four times { a first value } the TTI length of the CC 4/ a second number of the second time interval unit, and that downlink data is transmitted in one of the short TTIs corresponding to the long TTI in the CC 1, see also Fig.4, m = n/4th TTI of the CC 1 is scheduled for the n (=4xm, m is a natural number) th TTI of the CC 4, , also para. 0053-0056, Fig.5, para. 0062-0064, FIG. 4 illustrates the example wherein the CC1 and the CC2 use the normal TTI (1 ms); the CC3 uses the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.5 ms) shorter than the normal TTI; and the CC4 employs the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.25 ms) shorter than the TTI of the CC3, para. 0034, the short TTI have a TTI length of, for example, 0.5 ms, 0.25 ms, 0.2 ms, or 0.1 ms the integral multiple of which is 1 ms, and per para. 0034, the TTI (hereinafter referred to as “normal TTI”) has a time length of 1 ms, therefor various ratios is determined based on the short TTI have a TTI length of, 0.5 ms, 0.25 ms, 0.2 ms, or 0.1 ms and the “normal TTI”/long TTI has a time length of 1 ms, per FIG. 4 illustrates the example wherein the CC1 and the CC2 use the normal TTI (1 ms); the CC3 uses the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.5 ms) shorter than the normal TTI).
Although Takeda disclose wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value;
Takeda however does not explicitly disclose wherein the first value is determined based on a first configuration related to the first time interval unit
3GPP however disclose wherein a first value is determined based on a first configuration related to a first time interval unit and a second configuration related to a second time interval unit (see para. 2, packet data with short TTI and packet data with 1 ms TTI (a first value) dynamically share all subframes and bandwidths. Packet data with short TTI occupies small resources temporarily which have been allocated to the packet data with 1 ms TTI. Also, CA environment is also one important scenario to apply short TTI, the TTI length is different on different carriers to meet different service requirements. For example, the primary carrier keeps 1 ms TTT length, and the secondary carrier uses a short TTI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a first value is determined based on a first configuration related to a first time interval unit and a second configuration related to a second time interval unit, as taught by 3GPP, in the system of Takeda, so as to shorten TTI operation to reduce latency and improve TCP throughput, see 3GPP, paragraphs 21-22.
As per claim 4, claim 4 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 7, claim 7 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Third Rejection:
Claims 1, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US Pub. No.: 2018/0242316), and further in view of Zhang et al. (US Pub. No.: 2017/0164363).
As per claim 1, Takeda disclose A method performed by a user equipment (see Fig.7a-7B, Fig. 16, UE 20) comprising:
receiving, in a first time interval unit a downlink scheduling grant corresponding to a downlink data transmission (see Fig.7A-7B, para. 0097-0106, the user equipment receives the downlink data at the (first) TTI of the CC of the long TTIs, a downlink scheduling grant corresponding to the downlink data transmission, see also Fig.15, para. 0189, the transmission signal generating section 302 generates and outputs the downlink data (PDSCH) / to a downlink data transmission, containing the user data to the mapping section 303. The transmission signal generating section 302 also generates a downlink control signal (PDCCH/EPDCCH) containing the DCI (the DL assignment/UL grant / a downlink scheduling grant), and outputs the generated downlink control signal to the mapping section 303, see also Fig.8, para. 0115, 0116, the user equipment receives the downlink control information in the CC (Scheduling CC) (e.g., the CC1) to which the wireless base station transmits the downlink control information); and
receiving, in a second time interval unit
wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value (see Fig.6C, para. 0071-0091, the TTI length of the CC 1/ a first number of the first time interval unit. four times { a first value } the TTI length of the CC 4/ a second number of the second time interval unit, and that downlink data is transmitted in one of the short TTIs corresponding to the long TTI in the CC 1, see also Fig.4, m = n/4th TTI of the CC 1 is scheduled for the n (=4xm, m is a natural number) th TTI of the CC 4, , also para. 0053-0056, Fig.5, para. 0062-0064, FIG. 4 illustrates the example wherein the CC1 and the CC2 use the normal TTI (1 ms); the CC3 uses the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.5 ms) shorter than the normal TTI; and the CC4 employs the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.25 ms) shorter than the TTI of the CC3, para. 0034, the short TTI have a TTI length of, for example, 0.5 ms, 0.25 ms, 0.2 ms, or 0.1 ms the integral multiple of which is 1 ms, and per para. 0034, the TTI (hereinafter referred to as “normal TTI”) has a time length of 1 ms, therefor various ratios is determined based on the short TTI have a TTI length of, 0.5 ms, 0.25 ms, 0.2 ms, or 0.1 ms and the “normal TTI”/long TTI has a time length of 1 ms, per FIG. 4 illustrates the example wherein the CC1 and the CC2 use the normal TTI (1 ms); the CC3 uses the shortened TTI (e.g., 0.5 ms) shorter than the normal TTI).
Although Takeda disclose wherein a second number of the second time interval unit is determined based on a first number of the first time interval unit and a first value;
Takeda however does not explicitly disclose wherein the first value is determined based on a first configuration related to the first time interval unit
Zhang however wherein a first value is determined based on a first configuration related to a first time interval unit and a second configuration related to a second time interval unit (see Fig. 8-Fig.11, para. 0412, 0468, there are two types of TTI lengths, which are a first TTI and a second TTI respectively, where a length of the first TTI is greater than { a first value is determined } a length of the second TTI. In actual disclosure, a configuration parameter of the first TTI may have been configured in the user equipment or specified in a protocol, and therefore the TTI configuration parameter received by the user equipment in this embodiment of the present disclosure may particularly refer to a configuration parameter of the second TTI. Optionally, if a configuration parameter of the first TTI has not been configured, the TTI configuration parameter received by the user equipment in this embodiment of the present disclosure may include configuration parameters of the first TTI {a first configuration related to the downlink scheduling grant } and the second TTI {a second configuration related to the downlink data transmission}, see also para. 0428, 0504, 0547, 0767, if descrambling on the DCI performed by using the first RNTI (that is, a descrambling manner corresponding to a long TTI) succeeds, a data sending and receiving rule corresponding to the first TTI is used; or if descrambling on the DCI performed by using the second RNTI (that is, a descrambling manner corresponding to a short TTI) succeeds, a data sending and receiving rule corresponding to the second TTI is used, see also para. 0492-0498, 0781, 0785);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality wherein a first value is determined based on a first configuration related to a first time interval unit and a second configuration related to a second time interval unit, as taught by Zhang, in the system of Takeda, so as to reduce processing delay of transmitting data between a network and a terminal when using TTs of different intervals and provide a communications mechanism for distinguishing two types of RTT lengths or TTI lengths, see Zhang, paragraphs 5-6.
As per claim 4, claim 4 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 7, claim 7 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andou et al (US Pub. No.:2018/0213489) – see para. 0134-0135, “The user device includes a transmitter that transmits an uplink signal to a base station by using a first component carrier and a second component carrier having a TTI length shorter than a TTI length of the first component carrier, and a calculator that calculates a lower limit and an upper limit of a maximum transmission power of the uplink signal according to predetermined formulas using one of a subframe of the first component carrier and a subframe of the second component carrier as a reference subframe. This user device UE provides a technology that makes it possible to properly calculate the lower limit and the upper limit of the maximum transmission power for communications where CA is performed using CCs with different TTI lengths”.
Vajapeyam et al (US Pub. No.:2016/0255594) – see para. 0006, “The apparatus include means for receiving a carrier aggregation configuration comprising a first carrier with a first TTI length, a second carrier with a second TTI length different from the first TTI length, and a power control configuration, means for selecting a first transmission power level for the first carrier during a first TTI of the first TTI length, means for selecting a second transmission power level for the second carrier during a second TTI of the second TTI length, wherein the first TTI overlaps the second TTI and the second transmission power level is based at least in part on the power control configuration and the first transmission power level, means for transmitting on the first carrier based at least in part on the first transmission power level and means for transmitting on the second carrier based at least in part on the second transmission power level”.
Stern-Berkowitz (US Pub. No.:2022/0311560) – see para. 0014, “a WTRU receive first UL-DL configuration information indicating a first UL-DL configuration. The WTRU may also receive second UL-DL configuration information indicating a second UL-DL configuration. In addition, the WTRU may receive a PDSCH transmission in a DL direction of one or more first symbols in a first subframe. Further, the DL direction of the one or more first symbols may be based on the first UL-DL configuration and the second UL-DL configuration. Additionally, the WTRU may transmit first ACK/NACK information in a UL direction of one or more second symbols in the first subframe. Also, the first ACK/NACK information may be based on the PDSCH transmission. Moreover, the UL direction of the one or more second symbols may be based on the first UL-DL configuration and the second UL-DL configuration.” The transmission may be based on configuring a buffer to be shared by a plurality of HARQ processes corresponding to at least a normal transmission time interval (nTTI) having an nTTI length and a short TTI (sTTI) having an sTTI length that is shorter than the nTTI length..
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469