Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4– 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forutanpour et al. (US Pub. No. 20230259910), hereinafter referred to as Forutanpour.
As to claim 1, Forutanpour discloses a smartphone inspection device comprising: a main body (housing structure, 100, Fig. 2A) extending along a height direction (vertical kiosk configuration, para. [0040]), wherein the main body comprises a first inclined surface formed at an end of the main body (slanted access opening ramp, 224, Fig. 2A); and
an inspection space (inspection region, 210/212, Fig. 2A) formed inside the main body and communicated with the first inclined surface (device receiving inspection area, para. [0046]), wherein the inspection space comprises a second inclined surface (device support surface, 210, Fig. 3A) formed adjacent to the first inclined surface for optionally being in contact with a first surface of a smartphone (device positioned on tray for inspection, para. [0052]); and
a third inclined surface (opposing support surface, 212, Fig. 3A) formed corresponding to the first inclined surface and formed adjacent to the second inclined surface for optionally being in contact with a second surface of the smartphone (device turnover support for opposite side inspection, para. [0055]);
a lid deposited (door panel, 104, Fig. 2A) on the first inclined surface for optionally shielding the inspection space (inspection door closes to isolate imaging area, para. [0047]);
a push bar movably deposited inside the main body (pusher member, 232b, Fig. 3A; Fig. 3B) and deposited corresponding to the second inclined surface for optionally pushing the smartphone from a first position to a second position (pusher translates device across tray, para. [0053]),
wherein when the smartphone is at the first position (initial placement for first side capture, para. [0052]), the first surface of the smartphone is in contact with the second inclined surface (phone resting on tray during inspection, para. [0052]);
when the smartphone is at the second position (turned orientation after turnover, para. [0055]), the second surface of the smartphone is in contact with the third inclined surface (phone supported after flipping, para. [0055]); and
a camera assembly (camera device, 348, Fig. 3B) deposited in the inspection space (camera positioned in inspection region, para. [0048]) and deposited corresponding to the lid for optionally taking an image (camera captures device images, para. [0048]) of the first surface of the smartphone (first side imaging for evaluation, para. [0052]) and another image of the second surface of the smartphone upon the lid shielding the inspection space (second side imaging after turnover, para. [0055]).
As to claim 2, Forutanpour discloses the smartphone inspection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inspection space comprises: a fourth inclined surface (device turnover support surface, 212, Fig. 3A) formed adjacent to the first inclined surface and the third inclined surface (turnover adjacency between supports, para. [0055]) and formed corresponding to the second inclined surface (guiding turnover relationship, para. [0053]); and the camera assembly comprises: a first camera deposited (mounted, 348, Fig. 3C) at a side of the fourth inclined surface (camera oriented toward device support, para. [0048]) facing the inspection space for optionally taking the image of the second surface of the smartphone upon the smartphone placed on the second inclined surface (second side image capture after turnover, para. [0055]); and a second camera deposited (mounted, 348, Fig. 2A) on a side of the lid facing the inspection space for optionally taking the image of the first surface (first side imaging prior to turnover, para. [0052]) of the smartphone upon the smartphone placed on the third inclined surface (device positioned for imaging, para. [0052]).
As to claim 4, Forutanpour discloses the smartphone inspection device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a lighting device (illumination source, 210 region, Fig. 3B) deposited in the inspection space for optionally illuminating the smartphone (lighting used for image capture, para. [0048]).
As to claim 5, Forutanpour discloses the smartphone inspection device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: an arc portion rotatably deposited (rotatable turnover member, 212, Fig. 3B) at a boundary between the second inclined surface (support tray surface, 210, Fig. 3A) and the third inclined surface so that an end of the smartphone (device edge positioned at turnover point, para. [0054]) is optionally placed in the arc portion; wherein when the push bar pushes the smartphone (pusher member, 232b, Fig. 3B), the smartphone is rotated to push the arc portion (rotation of device during turnover, para. [0055]) so that the arc portion is rotated at the boundary between the second inclined surface and the third inclined surface (turnover operation, para. [0055]).
As to claim 6, Forutanpour discloses the smartphone inspection device as claimed in claim 5, further comprising: a modem connector deposited (electronic interface port, Fig. 4A) on the arc portion for optionally being connected to the smartphone (diagnostic electrical coupling, para. [0065]) and for optionally driving the smartphone to execute at least one application and to record a body data (device identification information, para. [0067]) of the smartphone and a body load of the smartphone (performance measurement data, para. [0068]) upon the application executed; and a processor deposited inside (controller within housing, Fig. 2A) the main body and to be connected to the modem connector and the camera assembly for optionally: receiving the body data to convert into a depreciation factor (valuation parameter generation, para. [0069]); receiving the body load to be compared with a standard value (comparison against stored criteria, para. [0070]) and then to obtain a first efficacy index based on difference according to the comparison (efficacy determination, para. [0070]); receiving the images to mark a defect portion of the smartphone (image defect identification, para. [0060]) on the images and then to obtain a second efficacy index (image based scoring, para. [0069]) based on evaluating an damage extent (damage evaluation routine, para. [0069]) of the marked defect portion on the images (image analysis, para. [0060]); performing a weighted calculation (weighted valuation computation, para. [0071]) on the depreciation factor, the first efficacy index, and the second efficacy index to obtain an appraisal index (appraisal determination, para. [0071]); and multiplying the appraisal index (valuation output calculation, para. [0071]) and an original purchase price of the smartphone to obtain a recycle price of the smartphone (price offer generation, para. [0071]).
As to claim 7, Forutanpour discloses the smartphone inspection device as claimed in claim 6, further comprising: a display panel deposited (user interface screen, 106, Fig. 2A) on the first inclined surface for optionally showing the depreciation factor, the first efficacy index, the second efficacy index, and the recycle price (display of offer to user, para. [0072]).
As to claim 8, Forutanpour discloses the smartphone inspection device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a cushion pad deposited (protective padding layer, 210, Fig. 3A) on a side of the second inclined surface facing the inspection space or deposited on a side of the third inclined surface facing the inspection space (device supported without damage, para. [0052]).
As to claim 9, Forutanpour discloses the smartphone inspection device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a storage space (internal storage compartment, Fig. 2A) arranged with spacing between the inspection space inside the main body and communicated with the inspection space for optionally receiving the smartphone (device transferred to storage area, para. [0075]); a cushion blocking plate deposited in the storage space for optionally reducing vertical percussion force on the smartphone upon the smartphone falling (impact absorption structure, para. [0075]); and a cushion patch deposited at a side of the storage space facing the main body for optionally reducing horizontal percussion force on the smartphone upon the smartphone falling (protective interior lining, para. [0075]).
As to claim 10, Forutanpour discloses the smartphone inspection device as claimed in claim 9, further comprising: an aperture (drop opening, Fig. 2A) formed at a boundary between the second inclined surface (support tray boundary, 210, Fig. 3A) and the third inclined surface and communicated with the storage space and the inspection space (device passage to storage, para. [0074]); and a door sheet movably deposited on the second inclined surface (movable gate panel, Fig. 2A) for opening or closing the aperture to allow sliding of the smartphone from the inspection space into the storage space (controlled transfer gate, para. [0074]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi (US Pub. No. 20170206532) The system and method of the present invention to provide at least one unique identification code (UID) registration center comprises of plural authorized parties' account.
Contact Information
/J.C.B/ Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184