DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 5/4/2026. Currently, claims 1, 2, 8-17, 20, 21 and 23 are pending in the application. Claims 3-7, 18, 19, 22 and 24 are cancelled by Applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the drawings and the claims are sufficient to overcome the previous objections to the drawings.
Applicant’s amendment to the abstract is sufficient to overcome the previous objection to the specification.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 2, 8-17 and 20 are sufficient to overcome the previous objection to claims 2, 8-17 and 20. Applicant’s amendment to claim 9 is sufficient to overcome the previous objection to claim 9.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 12 is sufficient to overcome the previous rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer filed 5/4/2026 is sufficient to overcome the previous double patenting rejections.
Applicant’s arguments that Keller et al. does not teach the top layer saturated into the middle layer, and the pre-stretched characteristics of the middle layer have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration and in view of Applicant’s amendment, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fabo (US 2009/0270785 A1) and Delmore et al. (US 5,939,339 A).
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 5/4/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of any patent granted on Application Number 19/413,469 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-10, 13-15, 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al. (US 2011/0208101 A1), in view of Fabo (US 2009/0270785 A1) and further in view of Delmore et al. (US 5,939,339 A).
In regard to claim 1, Keller et al. teaches in Figures 1 and 1A, [0024], [0028], [0032] and [0057]
a middle layer (absorptive reservoir layer 104) formed of a plurality of fibers ([0028] teaches that layer 104 can be made of “synthetic fibers”) comprising a first (bottom side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) and second (top side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A side;
a top layer (elastic fabric layer 102; can be considered a “top” layer, depending on the perspective of the viewer) disposed on (as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) the first side (bottom side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) comprising an elastomeric material ([0024] teaches “elastic fabric layer 102 may be comprised of elastomeric fibers”); and
a bottom layer (moisture transport fabric layer 106 and skin-contacting layer 110; [0032] teaches “the skin-contacting layer 110 may be attached to the moisture fabric transport layer 106” and “layer 110 may be laminated to layer 106 prior to application to a body part;” can be considered a “bottom” layer, depending on the perspective of the viewer) disposed on (as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) the second side (top side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) comprising an adhesive material ([0057] teaches that each of the layers (including moisture transport fabric layer 106 and skin-contacting layer 110) “may be joined by using adhesives”).
Keller et al. does not teach that the plurality of fibers are pre-stretched between 50% and 99% of their maximum stretch causing the reinforced material to have a maximum stretch of up to 10%; and that the top layer is saturated into the first side.
However, Fabo teaches in [0020-0021] and [0030] an analogous device wherein the plurality of fibers ([0030] teaches “spunlace nonwoven materials constructed from synthetic fibres”) are pre-stretched between 50% and 99% of their maximum stretch ([0030] teaches “spunlace nonwoven materials constructed from synthetic fibres;” [0020] teaches “pre-stretching the spunlace nonwoven material in a dressing by 40-50%;” [0021] teaches “the pre-stretching of the nonwoven material must be greater than 30%, and should preferably be 40-50%”) causing the reinforced material to have a maximum stretch of up to 10% ([0020] teaches the dressing being capable of “stretching of less than or equal to 5%,” which is a maximum stretch within the range of up to 10%).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the plurality of fibers of Keller et al. such that the plurality of fibers are pre-stretched between 50% and 99% of their maximum stretch causing the reinforced material to have a maximum stretch of up to 10% as taught by Fabo because this element is known to produce a “dressing that is equally stretchable in all directions with a relatively small force for stretching” and “to ensure that the force required to cause the dressing to stretch in different directions will not differ too much,” as Fabo teaches in [0020-0021].
Keller et al. and Fabo do not teach that the top layer is saturated into the first side.
However, Delmore et al. teaches column 3, lines 6-9 and Figure 1 an analogous device wherein the top layer (self-adhering elastic substrate 14; Figure 1 teaches the self-adhering elastic substrate being positioned on top of the absorbent layer 12) is saturated into (column 3, lines 6-9 teaches “a variety of means are suitable for attaching or fixing the elastic substrate to the absorbent layer such as stitching, needle-tacking, ultrasonic welding or bonding with a suitable adhesive;” ultrasonic welding is a method that is known to unite materials by heating the materials such that they merge together) the first side (of absorbent layer 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the top layer of Keller et al. as modified by Fabo to be saturated into the first side as taught by Delmore et al. because this element is known in the art to be one of “a variety of means…suitable for attaching or fixing the elastic substrate to the absorbent layer,” as Delmore et al. teaches column 3, lines 6-9.
In regard to claim 2, Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Keller et al. teaches in [0028] that the plurality of fibers ([0028] teaches that layer 104 can be made of “synthetic fibers”) comprise any of aramid fibers ([0028] teaches that layer 104 can be made of “synthetic fibers” such as “polyaramid”), high tensile strength fibers, or a versatile, low-weight, high-strength high modulus polyethylene fibers.
In regard to claims 8 and 9, Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Keller et al. teaches in [0025] and [0028] that the plurality of fibers ([0028] teaches that layer 104 can be made of “synthetic fibers”) are arranged in a unidirectional configuration, a multi-directional configuration (inasmuch as it is understood that the synthetic fibers must be arranged in either a unidirectional configuration or a multi-directional configuration), or one or more woven patterns to maximize tensile strength along one or more axis; and wherein the one or more woven patterns comprises warp and weft fibers, each having a thread count or number of fibers per unit area, wherein the thread count or number of fibers per unit area of the weft fiber is less than the thread count or number of fibers per unit area of the warp fibers (Applicant should note that the one or more woven patterns are not required by the claim(s)).
In regard to claim 10, Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Keller et al. teaches in [0028] elastic fibers woven into ([0028] teaches the absorptive reservoir layer 104 having a “woven” “construction,” that layer 104 can be made of “synthetic fibers” and that the synthetic fibers can be “rayon,” which is an elastic material; [0028] also teaches that the absorptive reservoir layer 104 can be made from “natural fibers” like wool and bamboo, which are elastic materials) the middle layer (absorptive reservoir layer 104).
In regard to claims 13 and 14, Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Keller et al. teaches in Figures 1 and 1A that the reinforced material (compression dressing 100) is fabricated in the form of a roll, a roll of strips, a patch (Figures 1 and 1A teach the compression dressing 100 being structured as a patch), or a strip for specific applications; and wherein the strip is at least partially formed in an elongate shape, a winged-shape, an hourglass shape, or an irregular shape (Applicant should note that the strip is not required by the claim(s)).
In regard to claim 15, Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Keller et al. teaches in [0024] that the top layer (elastic fabric layer 102; can be considered a “top” layer, depending on the perspective of the viewer) is treated or configured to be water-resistant or moisture-wicking ([0024] teaches that the elastic fabric layer 102 can be made of “Spandex yarn,” which a material that is known to have a degree of moisture-wicking capability).
In regard to claim 21, Keller et al. teaches in Figures 1 and 1A, [0024], [0028], [0032] and [0057] a middle layer (absorptive reservoir layer 104) formed of a plurality of aramid fibers ([0028] teaches that layer 104 can be made of “synthetic fibers” such as “polyaramid”) comprising a first (bottom side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) and second (top side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) side; a top layer (elastic fabric layer 102; can be considered a “top” layer, depending on the perspective of the viewer) disposed on (as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) the first side (bottom side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) comprising (inasmuch as it is structured as) an elastomeric coating ([0024] teaches “elastic fabric layer 102 may be comprised of elastomeric fibers;” Figures 1 and 1A teach the elastic fabric layer 102 being layered, or coated, on absorptive reservoir layer 104); and a bottom layer (moisture transport fabric layer 106 and skin-contacting layer 110; [0032] teaches “the skin-contacting layer 110 may be attached to the moisture fabric transport layer 106” and “layer 110 may be laminated to layer 106 prior to application to a body part;” can be considered a “bottom” layer, depending on the perspective of the viewer) disposed on (as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) the second side (top side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) comprising (inasmuch as it is structured as) an adhesive coating ([0057] teaches that each of the layers (including moisture transport fabric layer 106 and skin-contacting layer 110) “may be joined by using adhesives;” the adhesive would necessarily need to be positioned, or coated, on moisture transport fabric layer 106 and/or skin-contacting layer 110).
Keller et al. does not teach that the plurality of fibers are pre-stretched between 50% and 99% of their maximum stretch causing the reinforced material to have a maximum stretch of up to 10%; and that the top layer is saturated into the first side.
However, Fabo teaches in [0020-0021] and [0030] an analogous device wherein the plurality of fibers ([0030] teaches “spunlace nonwoven materials constructed from synthetic fibres”) are pre-stretched between 50% and 99% of their maximum stretch ([0030] teaches “spunlace nonwoven materials constructed from synthetic fibres;” [0020] teaches “pre-stretching the spunlace nonwoven material in a dressing by 40-50%;” [0021] teaches “the pre-stretching of the nonwoven material must be greater than 30%, and should preferably be 40-50%”) causing the reinforced material to have a maximum stretch of up to 10% ([0020] teaches the dressing being capable of “stretching of less than or equal to 5%,” which is a maximum stretch within the range of up to 10%).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the plurality of fibers of Keller et al. such that the plurality of fibers are pre-stretched between 50% and 99% of their maximum stretch causing the reinforced material to have a maximum stretch of up to 10% as taught by Fabo because this element is known to produce a “dressing that is equally stretchable in all directions with a relatively small force for stretching” and “to ensure that the force required to cause the dressing to stretch in different directions will not differ too much,” as Fabo teaches in [0020-0021].
Keller et al. and Fabo do not teach that the top layer is saturated into the first side.
However, Delmore et al. teaches column 3, lines 6-9 and Figure 1 an analogous device wherein the top layer (self-adhering elastic substrate 14; Figure 1 teaches the self-adhering elastic substrate being positioned on top of the absorbent layer 12) is saturated into (column 3, lines 6-9 teaches “a variety of means are suitable for attaching or fixing the elastic substrate to the absorbent layer such as stitching, needle-tacking, ultrasonic welding or bonding with a suitable adhesive;” ultrasonic welding is a method that is known to unite materials by heating the materials such that they merge together) the first side (of absorbent layer 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the top layer of Keller et al. as modified by Fabo to be saturated into the first side as taught by Delmore et al. because this element is known in the art to be one of “a variety of means…suitable for attaching or fixing the elastic substrate to the absorbent layer,” as Delmore et al. teaches column 3, lines 6-9.
In regard to claim 23, Keller et al. teaches in Figures 1 and 1A, [0024], [0028], [0032], [0055] and [0057] forming ([0055] teaches “the production process for making the compression dressing of the present invention may include bringing together the various layers of the pad, such as from rolled goods; cutting the layers into the desired shape; and combining the layers together for use, such as by sewing or thermal sealing of the edges, to yield a finished, properly dimensionalized product”) a plurality of high-tensile strength fibers ([0028] teaches that layer 104 can be made of “synthetic fibers;” Applicant should note that what is considered to be “high-tensile strength” is relative to the fiber of comparison) into a middle layer (absorptive reservoir layer 104) having a first side (bottom side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) and a second side (top side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A); applying ([0055] teaches “the production process for making the compression dressing of the present invention may include bringing together the various layers of the pad) an elastomeric layer, material or coating (elastic fabric layer 102; [0024] teaches “elastic fabric layer 102 may be comprised of elastomeric fibers”) to (as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) the first side (bottom side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A); and applying ([0055] teaches “the production process for making the compression dressing of the present invention may include bringing together the various layers of the pad) an adhesive layer, material or coating (moisture transport fabric layer 106 and skin-contacting layer 110; [0032] teaches “the skin-contacting layer 110 may be attached to the moisture fabric transport layer 106” and “layer 110 may be laminated to layer 106 prior to application to a body part;” [0057] teaches that each of the layers (including moisture transport fabric layer 106 and skin-contacting layer 110) “may be joined by using adhesives”) to (as shown in Figures 1 and 1A) the second side (top side of absorptive reservoir layer 104, as shown in Figures 1 and 1A).
Keller et al. does not teach pre-stretching the plurality of high-tensile strength fibers between 50% and 95% of their maximum; wherein the pre-stretched plurality of high-tensile strength fibers cause the reinforced material to have a maximum stretch of up to 10%; and wherein the elastomeric layer is saturated int the first side.
However, Fabo teaches in [0020-0021] and [0030] an analogous method that includes pre-stretching the plurality of high-tensile strength fibers ([0030] teaches “spunlace nonwoven materials constructed from synthetic fibres;” [0020] teaches “pre-stretching the spunlace nonwoven material;” Applicant should note that what is considered to be “high-tensile strength” is relative to the fiber of comparison) between 50% and 95% of their maximum ([0030] teaches “spunlace nonwoven materials constructed from synthetic fibres;” [0020] teaches “pre-stretching the spunlace nonwoven material in a dressing by 40-50%;” [0021] teaches “the pre-stretching of the nonwoven material must be greater than 30%, and should preferably be 40-50%”); and wherein the pre-stretched plurality of high-tensile strength fibers cause the reinforced material to have a maximum stretch of up to 10% ([0020] teaches the pre-stretched dressing being capable of “stretching of less than or equal to 5%,” which is a maximum stretch within the range of up to 10%).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the method of Keller et al. to include pre-stretching the plurality of high-tensile strength fibers between 50% and 95% of their maximum; wherein the pre-stretched plurality of high-tensile strength fibers cause the reinforced material to have a maximum stretch of up to 10% as taught by Fabo because this step is known “to ensure that the force required to cause the dressing to stretch in different directions will not differ too much,” as Fabo teaches in [0021].
Keller et al. and Fabo do not teach that the elastomeric layer is saturated into the first side.
However, Delmore et al. teaches column 3, lines 6-9 and Figure 1 an analogous method wherein the elastomeric layer (self-adhering elastic substrate 14) is saturated into (column 3, lines 6-9 teaches “a variety of means are suitable for attaching or fixing the elastic substrate to the absorbent layer such as stitching, needle-tacking, ultrasonic welding or bonding with a suitable adhesive;” ultrasonic welding is a method that is known to unite materials by heating the materials such that they merge together) the first side (of absorbent layer 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the method of Keller et al. as modified by Fabo to include the elastomeric layer being saturated into the first side as taught by Delmore et al. because this element is known in the art to be one of “a variety of means…suitable for attaching or fixing the elastic substrate to the absorbent layer,” as Delmore et al. teaches column 3, lines 6-9.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al. (US 2011/0208101 A1), in view of Fabo (US 2009/0270785 A1), in view of Delmore et al. (US 5,939,339 A) and further in view of Flick (US 6,087,549 A).
In regard to claim 11, Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. do not teach that the reinforced material is configured to be hypoallergenic and suitable for prolonged contact with human skin.
However, Flick teaches in the abstract and column 6, lines 53-56 an analogous device wherein the reinforced material (“multilayer laminate wound dressing,” taught in the abstract) is configured to be hypoallergenic and suitable for prolonged contact with human skin (column 6, lines 53-56 that “the present invention can be designed so that nonallergenic or hypoallergenic materials are used”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the reinforced material of Keller et al. as modified by Fabo and Delmore et al. such that it is configured to be hypoallergenic and suitable for prolonged contact with human skin as taught by Flick because this element is known to accommodate individuals that may have a topical hypersensitivity, as Flick teaches in column 6, lines 53-56.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al. (US 2011/0208101 A1), in view of Fabo (US 2009/0270785 A1), in view of Delmore et al. (US 5,939,339 A) and further in view of Vito et al. (US 2005/0137514 A1).
In regard to claim 12, Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. do not teach that the elastomeric material is configured to provide a textured or high-friction surface to improve grip and handling during application.
However, Vito et al. teaches in [0120] and [0143] an analogous device wherein the elastomeric material is configured to provide a textured or high-friction surface to improve grip and handling during application ([0143] teaches “the elastomer layers may have different degrees of hardness, coefficient of friction and dampening of vibration;” [0120] teaches “the main characteristic of the outer elastomer layer is its tackiness to provide a suitable gripping surface”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the elastomeric material of Keller et al. as modified by Fabo and Delmore et al. to be configured to provide a textured or high-friction surface to improve grip and handling during application as taught by Vito et al. because this element is known “to provide a suitable gripping surface that would resist the tendency for the user's hand to slide off,” as Vito et al. teaches in [0120].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al. (US 2011/0208101 A1), in view of Fabo (US 2009/0270785 A1), in view of Delmore et al. (US 5,939,339 A) and further in view of SCHAAR (US 3,183,116 A).
In regard to claim 16, Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. do not teach that the reinforced material is perforated to allow for ventilation during use, or has one or more cutout regions configured as reliefs.
However, SCHAAR teaches in Figures 1-3 and column 3, line 57 an analogous device wherein the reinforced material (perforated film 10, film 11) is perforated (column 3, line 57 teaches “the film 11 is perforated with holes or openings 12”) to allow for ventilation during use (holes or openings 12 permit the passage of air therethrough, which provides ventilation), or has one or more cutout regions configured as reliefs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the reinforced material of Keller et al. as modified by Fabo and Delmore et al. to be perforated to allow for ventilation during use as taught by SCHAAR because this element is known “to ventilate at least contiguous areas underneath said tape,” as SCHAAR teaches in column 3, lines 14-18.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al. (US 2011/0208101 A1), in view of Fabo (US 2009/0270785 A1), in view of Delmore et al. (US 5,939,339 A) and further in view of Hoggarth (US 2024/0245556 A1).
In regard to claim 17, Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. do not teach that the adhesive material comprises an antimicrobial agent.
However, Hoggarth teaches in [0046] an analogous device wherein the adhesive material comprises an antimicrobial agent ([0046] teaches “the antimicrobial agent is mixed with the adhesive”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the adhesive material of Keller et al. as modified by Fabo and Delmore et al. to comprise an antimicrobial agent as taught by Hoggarth because “beneficially, mixing the antimicrobial agent with an adhesive provides an improved method of incorporating an antimicrobial into a wound dressing, since mixing an antimicrobial agent with an adhesive is not subject to the same manufacturing constraints as incorporating an antimicrobial agent into an absorbent layer” and “when an antimicrobial agent is mixed with an adhesive, the adhesive helps secure the antimicrobial agent in the dressing during manufacture,” which “reduces the loss of antimicrobial agent from the dressing during manufacture” and “reduces waste and cost,” as Hoggarth teaches in [0047].
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller et al. (US 2011/0208101 A1), in view of Fabo (US 2009/0270785 A1), in view of Delmore et al. (US 5,939,339 A) and further in view of Andrews (US 5,154,928 A).
In regard to claim 20, Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Keller et al., Fabo and Delmore et al. do not teach that the reinforced material is configured to be waterproof, moisture-proof, and sweat-proof.
However, Andrews teaches in column 3, lines 52-57 an analogous device wherein the reinforced material is configured to be waterproof, moisture-proof, and sweat-proof (column 3, lines 52-57 teaches “the wound dressing illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2 is highly conformable to different parts of the body, even to difficult parts such as elbow joints or knee joints, is waterproof;” since the dressing is waterproof, it is necessary moisture-proof and sweat-proof).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the reinforced material of Keller et al. as modified by Fabo and Delmore et al. to be configured to be waterproof, moisture-proof, and sweat-proof as taught by Andrews because this element is known to enable “a patient wearing the dressing can bathe or shower without danger of wetting or contaminating a wound,” as Andrews teaches in column 3, lines 52-57.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA HICKS FISHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 8/3/2026