DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 1, there are two element numbers “12b”, which show different parts. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bao-tong Yao et al. (CN 211980527 U).
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses a device comprising:
a first stationary contact (12 left) and a second stationary contact (12 right) disposed in a spaced apart arrangement;
a movable contact (31) located adjacent the first stationary contact (12 left) and the second stationary contact (12 right),
the movable contact (31) disposed on a first end of a movable shaft (22) that extends through a core (7) and is connected at a second end to an armature (6);
an electromagnet coil (9) surrounding the core (7);
a first magnetic latching element (32) disposed on the movable shaft (22) adjacent the movable contact (31); and
a second magnetic latching element (13) disposed adjacent the first stationary contact (12 left) and the second stationary contact (12 right);
wherein, when the electromagnetic coil (9) is energized, the electromagnetic coil (9) generates a magnetic field around the core (7) to produce an electromagnetic force that attracts the armature (6), thereby moving the movable shaft (22) and bringing the movable contact (31) into engagement with the first stationary contact (12 left) and the second stationary contact (12 right) to establish an electrical pathway therebetween; and wherein, when electrical current flows through the movable contact (31) between the first stationary contact (12 left) and the second stationary contact (12 right), the electrical current induces a magnetic flux in the first magnetic latching element (32) and the second magnetic latching element (13),
whereby the first magnetic latching element (32) and the second magnetic latching element (13) are magnetized and are attracted to one another.
Since Yao’s device is similar with the applicant’s invention, it would produce the same function.
Regarding claim 2, Yao discloses:
the first magnetic latching element (32) is U-shaped, having a floor (321) located below the movable contact (31) and having first and second sidewalls (322) extending from the floor (321) on opposite sides of the movable contact (31).
Regarding claim 3, Yao discloses:
a housing (see the drawing below) formed of an electrically insulating material,
the housing (see the drawing below) comprising:
a base (see the drawing below) that houses the core (7),
the armature (6), and
the electromagnet coil (9); and
a cap (1) removably affixed to a top of the base (see the drawing below),
wherein the cap (1) houses the first magnetic latching element (32), the movable contact (31), the first stationary contact (12 left), and the second stationary contact (12 right).
[AltContent: textbox (Cavity )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Retaining flange)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st & 2ndTerminal)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Base )][AltContent: textbox (Housing )][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 4, Yao discloses:
a first terminal (see the drawing above) electrically connected to the first stationary contact (12 left) and a second terminal (see the drawing above) electrically connected to the second stationary contact (12 right),
wherein the first terminal (see the drawing above) and the second terminal (see the drawing above) extend through respective apertures in the cap (1).
Regarding claim 5, Yao discloses:
the second magnetic latching element (13) is disposed within a cavity in the cap (1).
Regarding claim 6, Yao discloses:
a restoring spring (8) located between the core (7) and the armature (6) that biases the armature (6) away from the core (7).
Regarding claim 7, Yao discloses:
the restoring spring (8) is a coil spring that surrounds the movable shaft (22).
Since Yao’s device is similar with the applicant’s invention, it would have the same structure.
Regarding claim 8, Yao discloses:
when the electromagnetic coil (9) is deenergized, the restoring spring (8) pushes the armature (6) away from the core (7), thereby moving the movable shaft (22) and moving the movable contact (31) out of engagement with the first stationary contact (12 left) and the second stationary contact (12 right).
Regarding claim 9, Yao discloses:
a retaining flange (see the drawing above) extending radially from the movable shaft (22); a spring support washer (211) disposed atop the retaining flange; and
a retaining spring (5) disposed atop the spring support washer (211);
wherein the first magnetic latching element (32) is disposed atop the retaining spring (5).
Regarding claim 10, Yao discloses:
the retaining spring (5) is a coil spring that surrounds the movable shaft (22).
Since Yao’s device is similar with the applicant’s invention, it would have the same structure.
Regarding claim 11, Yao discloses:
an electrically insulating housing (see the drawing below/above) comprising:
a base (see the drawing below/above); and
a cap (1) removably affixed to a top of the base (see the drawing below/above);
a first stationary contact (12 left) and a second stationary contact (12 right) disposed in a spaced apart arrangement within the cap (1);
a first terminal (see the drawing below/above) electrically connected to the first stationary contact (12 left) and a second terminal (see the drawing below/above) electrically connected to the second stationary contact (see the drawing below/above),
wherein the first terminal (see the drawing below/above) and the second terminal (see the drawing below/above) extend through respective apertures in the cap (1);
a movable contact (31) disposed within the cap (1) and located adjacent the first stationary contact (12 left) and the second stationary contact (12 right),
the movable contact (31) disposed on a first end of a movable shaft (22) that extends through a core (7) and is connected at a second end to an armature (6),
wherein the core (7) and the armature (6) are disposed within the base (see the drawing below/above);
an electromagnet coil (9) disposed within the base (see the drawing below/above) and surrounding the core (7);
a first magnetic latching element (32) disposed on the movable shaft (22) adjacent the movable contact (31); and a
second magnetic latching element (13) disposed within the cap (1) adjacent the first stationary contact (12 left) and the second stationary contact (12 right);
wherein, when the electromagnetic coil (6) is energized, the electromagnetic coil (6) generates a magnetic field around the core to produce an electromagnetic force that attracts the armature (6), thereby moving the movable shaft (22) and bringing the movable contact (31) into engagement with the first stationary contact (12 left) and the second stationary contact (12 right) to establish an electrical pathway therebetween; and wherein, when electrical current flows through the movable contact (31) between the first stationary contact (12 left) and the second stationary contact (12 right), the electrical current induces a magnetic flux in the first magnetic latching element (32) and the second magnetic latching element (13),
whereby the first magnetic latching element (32) and the second magnetic latching element (13) are magnetized and are attracted to one another.
Since Yao’s device is similar with the applicant’s invention, it would produce the same function.
Regarding claim 12, Yao discloses:
the first magnetic latching element (32) is U-shaped, having a floor (321) located below the movable contact (31) and having first and second sidewalls (322) extending from the floor (321) on opposite sides of the movable contact (31).
Regarding claim 13, Yao discloses:
the second magnetic latching element (13) is disposed within a cavity (see the drawing above) formed in a top of the cap (1).
Regarding claim 14, Yao discloses:
a restoring spring (8) located between the core (7) and the armature (6) that biases the armature (6) away from the core (7).
Regarding claim 15, Yao discloses:
the restoring spring (8) is a coil spring that surrounds the movable shaft (22).
Since Yao’s device is similar with the applicant’s invention, it would have the same structure.
Regarding claim 16, Yao discloses:
when the electromagnetic coil (9) is deenergized, the restoring spring (8) pushes the armature (6) away from the core (7), thereby moving the movable shaft (22) and moving the movable contact (31) out of engagement with the first stationary contact (12 left) and the second stationary contact (12 right).
Regarding claim 17, Yao discloses:
a retaining flange (see the drawing above) extending radially from the movable shaft (22);
a spring support washer (211) disposed atop the retaining flange (see the drawing above); and
a retaining spring (5) disposed atop the spring support washer (211);
wherein the first magnetic latching element (32) is disposed atop the retaining spring (5).
Regarding claim 18, Yao discloses:
the retaining spring (5) is a coil spring that surrounds the movable shaft (22).
Since Yao’s device is similar with the applicant’s invention, it would have the same structure.
Conclusion
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
June 26, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837