DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to communication received on 2/24/26.
The text of those sections of AIA 35 U.S.C. code not present in this action can be found in previous office actions dated 12/31/25.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/24/26. The claims 15-19 are also now cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-14 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in multiple claims is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined in any of the claims it is recited nor does the specification provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no guidance on what degree of a property is considered substantially and what would only be considered partially.
Specifically, claim 1 recites substantially flexible wound contact layer, and the second side being substantially smooth and there are no definitions or discussions in the specification to provide guidance on what would be considered substantially flexible or substantially smooth, and only partially flexible and smooth.
Claim 2 recites wound contact layer in a substantially flat position and substantially evenly applying, and there are no definitions or discussions in the specification to provide guidance on what would be considered substantially flat position and only a partially flat position, and what is a substantially even application and only a partially even application.
Claim 3 recites wound contact layer in a substantially flat position and substantially evenly applying, and there are no definitions or discussions in the specification to provide guidance on what would be considered substantially flat position and only a partially flat position, and what is a substantially even application and only a partially even application.
Claim 8 recites covering the wound contact layer with a substantially non-stretchable coating and there are no definitions or discussions in the specification to provide guidance on what would be considered substantially non-stretchable coating and only a partially non-stretchable coating, and what is a substantially even application and only a partially even application.
Claim 9 recites covering the wound contact layer with a substantially stretchable coating and there are no definitions or discussions in the specification to provide guidance on what would be considered substantially stretchable coating and only a partially stretchable coating, and what is a substantially even application and only a partially even application.
Claim 21 recites a substantially flexible wound contact layer and being substantially smooth, and there are no definitions or discussions in the specification to provide guidance on what would be considered substantially flexible or substantially smooth, and only partially flexible and smooth.
Claims 4-7, 10-14, which depend from claim 1 and contain all the limitations therein, are similarly rejected.
For purpose of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret the term ‘substantially’ to mean having some amount of the stated property.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eddy et al. US PGPub 2012/0035560 hereinafter EDDY in view of Euliano et al. US PGPub 2014/0200538 hereinafter EULIANO and Rochet et al. US PGPub 2015/0266197 hereinafter ROCHET with Bougherara et al. US PGPub 2010/0168633 hereinafter BOUGHERARA.
As for claim 1, EDDY teaches “In wound treatment systems such as the one described above, the wound dressing pad 225 is sized and shaped to fit in and over the wound to be treated” (paragraph 52, lines 1-3) and “The siliconized wound, seared, dual-density dressing pads 225 may be coated with a medicated or non-medicated solution such as polypropylene, glycol and saline, silver, an anti-bacterial solution or the like, that may promote healing and/or reduce adhesion of tissue and fluids” (paragraph 55), i.e. A method of coating a wound dressing… coating the wound contact layer with a coating.
EDDY further teaches “The disposable wound dressing 200 may further include a wound dressing pad 225 between the wound site 250 and drape 222” (paragraph 51, lines 1-3) and further shows in Fig. 5 the wound contact layer including a first side… a second side opposite the first side, the second side being substantially smooth.
EDDY is silent on the wound contact layer including a first side supporting a plurality of electronic components protruding from a surface of the first side.
EDDY does teach electronics that are part of a regulation system that is connected to but separate from the wound dressing (see Fig. 5).
EULIANO teaches “Similar to wetness detection in a diaper, detection of moisture in a wound dressing is also important. In another aspect of the invention, one or more of the wetness sensors 10a,b are embedded into or attached to a wound dressing to indicate the presence of moisture or the amount of moisture present under or in the bandage. The sensor 10a,b may communicate with a transceiver 202 that communicates with a database 216 as described above. In the wound care application, differentiation between different fluid types such as blood, sweat, or pus for example, may provide additional information about the status of the wound (e.g. infected, healthy, actively bleeding).” (paragraph 162, 163 and Fig. 24), i.e. the wound contact layer including a first side supporting a plurality of electronic components protruding from a surface of the first side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the wound contact layer including a first side supporting a plurality of electronic components protruding from a surface of the first side in the process of EDDY because EULIANO teaches that incorporating sensors into a wound dressing can provide valuable information on the liquids within the bandage.
EDDY and EULIANO are silent on applying a vacuum to a substantially flexible wound contact layer to hold the wound contact layer on a perforated plate, wherein the vacuum is applied through one or more perforations in the perforated plate as part of the coating process.
BOUGHERARA teaches “The present invention relates to a method of manufacturing two different patterned adhesive layers simultaneously, and a wound dressing comprising both the adhesive layers” (abstract).
BOUGHERARA further teaches “In order to hold the laminate in place during the coating process, it will be appreciated that any means to hold the substrate may be used, e.g. mechanical grips, mechanical or chemical means of adhesion, and vacuum suction” (paragraph 169), but is silent on the structure used to achieve the vacuum suction.
ROCHET teaches “The present invention relates to a porous support intended to be removably positioned on a top side of a perforated plate of a table of a vacuum hold down device, the perforated plate having a bottom side connected to a vacuum system for producing reduced pressure on the bottom side” (abstract, lines 1-5), i.e. a vacuum hold down device with applying a vacuum to the substrate to hold the substrate to the plate, wherein the vacuum is applied through one or more perforations in the perforated plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include applying a vacuum to a substantially flexible wound contact layer to hold the wound contact layer on a perforated plate, wherein the vacuum is applied through one or more perforations in the perforated plate in the process of EDDY and EULIANO during the coating the wound dressing pad/wound contact layer because BOUGHERARA teaches it was known to use vacuum suction to hold wound dressing laminate still during coating processes and ROCHET teaches that a vacuum suction with a perforation in a place and a vacuum applied thereto were also well known. It is a prima facie case of obviousness to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, a wound dressing held still during a coating process.
As for claim 3, EDDY and EULIANO are silent on the perforated plate.
BOUGHERARA teaches “The present invention relates to a method of manufacturing two different patterned adhesive layers simultaneously, and a wound dressing comprising both the adhesive layers” (abstract).
BOUGHERARA further teaches “In order to hold the laminate in place during the coating process, it will be appreciated that any means to hold the substrate may be used, e.g. mechanical grips, mechanical or chemical means of adhesion, and vacuum suction” (paragraph 169), but is silent on the structure used to achieve the vacuum suction.
ROCHET teaches “The present invention relates to a porous support intended to be removably positioned on a top side of a perforated plate of a table of a vacuum hold down device, the perforated plate having a bottom side connected to a vacuum system for producing reduced pressure on the bottom side” (abstract, lines 1-5), i.e. a vacuum hold down device with applying a vacuum to the substrate to hold the substrate to the plate, wherein the vacuum is applied through one or more perforations in the perforated plate.
ROCHET further teaches Fig. 7 supporting the second side of the wound contact layer in a substantially flat position on the perforated plate; and substantially evenly applying the coating to the first side of the wound contact layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include supporting the second side of the wound contact layer in a substantially flat position on the perforated plate; and substantially evenly applying the coating to the first side of the wound contact layer in the process of EDDY and EULIANO during the coating the wound dressing pad/wound contact layer because BOUGHERARA teaches it was known to use vacuum suction to hold wound dressing laminate still during coating processes and ROCHET teaches that a vacuum suction with a perforation in a place and a vacuum applied thereto were also well known. It is a prima facie case of obviousness to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, a wound dressing held still during a coating process.
As for claim 4, EDDY and EULIANO are silent on the perforated plate.
BOUGHERARA teaches “The present invention relates to a method of manufacturing two different patterned adhesive layers simultaneously, and a wound dressing comprising both the adhesive layers” (abstract).
BOUGHERARA further teaches “In order to hold the laminate in place during the coating process, it will be appreciated that any means to hold the substrate may be used, e.g. mechanical grips, mechanical or chemical means of adhesion, and vacuum suction” (paragraph 169), but is silent on the structure used to achieve the vacuum suction.
ROCHET teaches “The present invention relates to a porous support intended to be removably positioned on a top side of a perforated plate of a table of a vacuum hold down device, the perforated plate having a bottom side connected to a vacuum system for producing reduced pressure on the bottom side” (abstract, lines 1-5), i.e. a vacuum hold down device with applying a vacuum to the substrate to hold the substrate to the plate, wherein the vacuum is applied through one or more perforations in the perforated plate.
ROCHET further teaches Fig. 7 wherein the perforated plate is positioned within a frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the perforated plate is positioned within a frame in the process of EDDY and EULIANO during the coating the wound dressing pad/wound contact layer because BOUGHERARA teaches it was known to use vacuum suction to hold wound dressing laminate still during coating processes and ROCHET teaches that a vacuum suction with a perforation in a place and a vacuum applied thereto were also well known. It is a prima facie case of obviousness to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, a wound dressing held still during a coating process.
As for claim 5, EDDY and EULIANO are silent on the perforated plate.
BOUGHERARA teaches “The present invention relates to a method of manufacturing two different patterned adhesive layers simultaneously, and a wound dressing comprising both the adhesive layers” (abstract).
BOUGHERARA further teaches “In order to hold the laminate in place during the coating process, it will be appreciated that any means to hold the substrate may be used, e.g. mechanical grips, mechanical or chemical means of adhesion, and vacuum suction” (paragraph 169), but is silent on the structure used to achieve the vacuum suction.
ROCHET teaches “The present invention relates to a porous support intended to be removably positioned on a top side of a perforated plate of a table of a vacuum hold down device, the perforated plate having a bottom side connected to a vacuum system for producing reduced pressure on the bottom side” (abstract, lines 1-5), i.e. a vacuum hold down device with applying a vacuum to the substrate to hold the substrate to the plate, wherein the vacuum is applied through one or more perforations in the perforated plate.
ROCHET further teaches Fig. 7 wherein the frame comprises an inner wall with a lip.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the frame comprises an inner wall with a lip in the process of EDDY and EULIANO during the coating the wound dressing pad/wound contact layer because BOUGHERARA teaches it was known to use vacuum suction to hold wound dressing laminate still during coating processes and ROCHET teaches that a vacuum suction with a perforation in a place and a vacuum applied thereto were also well known. It is a prima facie case of obviousness to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, a wound dressing held still during a coating process.
As for claim 6, EDDY and EULIANO are silent on the perforated plate.
BOUGHERARA teaches “The present invention relates to a method of manufacturing two different patterned adhesive layers simultaneously, and a wound dressing comprising both the adhesive layers” (abstract).
BOUGHERARA further teaches “In order to hold the laminate in place during the coating process, it will be appreciated that any means to hold the substrate may be used, e.g. mechanical grips, mechanical or chemical means of adhesion, and vacuum suction” (paragraph 169), but is silent on the structure used to achieve the vacuum suction.
ROCHET teaches “The present invention relates to a porous support intended to be removably positioned on a top side of a perforated plate of a table of a vacuum hold down device, the perforated plate having a bottom side connected to a vacuum system for producing reduced pressure on the bottom side” (abstract, lines 1-5), i.e. a vacuum hold down device with applying a vacuum to the substrate to hold the substrate to the plate, wherein the vacuum is applied through one or more perforations in the perforated plate.
ROCHET further teaches Fig. 7 wherein the perforated plate is supported within the frame on the lip.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the perforated plate is supported within the frame on the lip in the process of EDDY and EULIANO during the coating the wound dressing pad/wound contact layer because BOUGHERARA teaches it was known to use vacuum suction to hold wound dressing laminate still during coating processes and ROCHET teaches that a vacuum suction with a perforation in a place and a vacuum applied thereto were also well known. It is a prima facie case of obviousness to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, a wound dressing held still during a coating process.
As for claim 7, EDDY teaches “The siliconized wound, seared, dual-density dressing pads 225 may be coated with a medicated or non-medicated solution such as polypropylene, glycol and saline, silver, an anti-bacterial solution or the like, that may promote healing and/or reduce adhesion of tissue and fluids” (paragraph 55), i.e. wherein coating comprises encapsulating the wound contact layer with the coating.
As for claim 8, EDDY teaches “The siliconized wound, seared, dual-density dressing pads 225 may be coated with a medicated or non-medicated solution such as polypropylene, glycol and saline, silver, an anti-bacterial solution or the like, that may promote healing and/or reduce adhesion of tissue and fluids” (paragraph 55), i.e. wherein coating comprises covering the wound contact layer with a substantially non-stretchable coating as saline is not elastic. Examiner takes official notice here that saline solution is non-stretchable.
As for claim 9, EDDY teaches “The siliconized wound, seared, dual-density dressing pads 225 may be coated with a medicated or non-medicated solution such as polypropylene, glycol and saline, silver, an anti-bacterial solution or the like, that may promote healing and/or reduce adhesion of tissue and fluids” (paragraph 55), i.e. wherein coating comprises covering the wound contact layer with a substantially stretchable coating as polypropylene has some amount of elasticity.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eddy et al. US PGPub 2012/0035560 hereinafter EDDY in view of Euliano et al. US PGPub 2014/0200538 hereinafter EULIANO and Rochet et al. US PGPub 2015/0266197 hereinafter ROCHET with Bougherara et al. US PGPub 2010/0168633 hereinafter BOUGHERARA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Toi US Patent Number 5086556 hereinafter TOI.
As for claim 2, EDDY teaches “The siliconized wound, seared, dual-density dressing pads 225 may be coated with a medicated or non-medicated solution such as polypropylene, glycol and saline, silver, an anti-bacterial solution or the like, that may promote healing and/or reduce adhesion of tissue and fluids” (paragraph 55), i.e. substantially evenly applying the coating to the second side of the wound contact layer.
EDDY, EULIANO, ROCHET and BOUGHERARA is silent on supporting the first side of the wound contact layer in a substantially flat position by a mold in the perforated plate, the mold including a plurality of recesses configured to support the plurality of electronic components.
TOI teaches “An electronic component mounting apparatus” (abstract, line 1).
TOI teaches “In employment of such means, however, it is necessary to provide a suction jig 61 which conforms with the substrate K for attaining exact suction of the substrate K in the holder 60” (column 2, lines 65-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the perforated plate used for vacuum holder conform to the substrate within it such that the process of EDDY and EULIANO would include supporting the first side of the wound contact layer in a substantially flat position by a mold in the perforated plate, the mold including a plurality of recesses configured to support the plurality of electronic components because BOUGHERARA teaches it was known to use vacuum suction to hold wound dressing laminate still during coating processes, ROCHET teaches that a vacuum suction with a perforation in a place and a vacuum applied thereto were also well known, and TOI teaches that conformity to the vacuum jig is necessary to produce suction. It is a prima facie case of obviousness to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, in this case, a wound dressing held still during a coating process.
Claim(s) 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eddy et al. US PGPub 2012/0035560 hereinafter EDDY in view of Euliano et al. US PGPub 2014/0200538 hereinafter EULIANO and Rochet et al. US PGPub 2015/0266197 hereinafter ROCHET with Bougherara et al. US PGPub 2010/0168633 hereinafter BOUGHERARA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vitarana et al. US PGPub 20110083246 hereinafter VITARANA.
As for claim 10, EDDY, EULIANO, ROCHET, and BOUGHERARA are silent on the stencil.
VITARANA teaches “A garment comprises a fabric and an elastomeric coating on at least a portion of at least one side of the fabric” (abstract, lines 1-2) and “For example, the present invention may be applied to any type of apparel wear which includes, but is not limited to, sportswear, performance wear, intimate wear, casual wear, and medical wear” (paragraph 46, lines 8-11).
VITARANA teaches “A stencil other than that of a silkscreen configuration may also be used to further enhance the process whereby a stencil with a particular pattern is placed on the garment and the elastomeric coating sprayed through the stencil onto the garment in order to achieve required patterns on the garment” (paragraph 38, lines 6-10), i.e. wherein coating a first portion of a substrate positioned below an opening in a surface of a stencil with the coating, the stencil positioned on the substrate preventing the coating from being applied to a second portion of the substrate not positioned below the opening.
EDDY is silent on the coating method for its wound dressing.
It would have been obvious to include the step of coating a first portion of the wound contact layer positioned below an opening in a surface of a stencil with the coating, the stencil positioned on the wound contact layer; and preventing the coating from being applied to a second portion of the wound contact layer not positioned below the opening in the process of EDDY because VITARANA teaches that such a process produces required patterns on a surface and keeps coating material from being placed on surfaces where it is not desired.
As for claim 11, EDDY, EULIANO, ROCHET, and BOUGHERARA are silent on the stencil.
VITARANA teaches “A garment comprises a fabric and an elastomeric coating on at least a portion of at least one side of the fabric” (abstract, lines 1-2) and “For example, the present invention may be applied to any type of apparel wear which includes, but is not limited to, sportswear, performance wear, intimate wear, casual wear, and medical wear” (paragraph 46, lines 8-11).
VITARANA teaches “A stencil other than that of a silkscreen configuration may also be used to further enhance the process whereby a stencil with a particular pattern is placed on the garment and the elastomeric coating sprayed through the stencil onto the garment in order to achieve required patterns on the garment” (paragraph 38, lines 6-10), i.e. wherein the stencil is placed on top of the substrate such that when combined with EDDY, EULIANO, ROCHET and BOUGHERARA, is configured to be removably coupled to a jig.
EDDY is silent on the coating method for its wound dressing.
It would have been obvious to include the stencil coating of VITARANA in the process of EDDY, EULIANO, ROCHET and BOUGHERARA such that it includes wherein the stencil is configured to be removably coupled to a jig because VITARANA teaches that such a process produces required patterns on a surface and keeps coating material from being placed on surfaces where it is not desired.
As for claim 12, EDDY, EULIANO, ROCHET, and BOUGHERARA are silent on the stencil.
VITARANA teaches “A garment comprises a fabric and an elastomeric coating on at least a portion of at least one side of the fabric” (abstract, lines 1-2) and “For example, the present invention may be applied to any type of apparel wear which includes, but is not limited to, sportswear, performance wear, intimate wear, casual wear, and medical wear” (paragraph 46, lines 8-11).
VITARANA teaches “A stencil other than that of a silkscreen configuration may also be used to further enhance the process whereby a stencil with a particular pattern is placed on the garment and the elastomeric coating sprayed through the stencil onto the garment in order to achieve required patterns on the garment” (paragraph 38, lines 6-10), i.e. wherein the stencil is placed on top of the substrate such that when combined with EDDY, EULIANO, ROCHET and BOUGHERARA, is configured to be attached to the jig or the perforated plate.
EDDY is silent on the coating method for its wound dressing.
It would have been obvious to include the stencil coating of VITARANA in the process of EDDY, EULIANO, ROCHET and BOUGHERARA such that it includes wherein the stencil is configured to be attached to the jig or the perforated plate because VITARANA teaches that such a process produces required patterns on a surface and keeps coating material from being placed on surfaces where it is not desired.
As for claim 13, EDDY, EULIANO, ROCHET, and BOUGHERARA are silent on the stencil.
VITARANA teaches “A garment comprises a fabric and an elastomeric coating on at least a portion of at least one side of the fabric” (abstract, lines 1-2) and “For example, the present invention may be applied to any type of apparel wear which includes, but is not limited to, sportswear, performance wear, intimate wear, casual wear, and medical wear” (paragraph 46, lines 8-11).
VITARANA teaches “A stencil other than that of a silkscreen configuration may also be used to further enhance the process whereby a stencil with a particular pattern is placed on the garment and the elastomeric coating sprayed through the stencil onto the garment in order to achieve required patterns on the garment” (paragraph 38, lines 6-10), i.e. wherein the stencil is positioned over a portion of the wound contact layer.
EDDY is silent on the coating method for its wound dressing.
It would have been obvious to include the . wherein the stencil is positioned over a portion of the wound contact layer in the process of EDDY because VITARANA teaches that such a process produces required patterns on a surface and keeps coating material from being placed on surfaces where it is not desired.
As for claim 14, EDDY, EULIANO, ROCHET, and BOUGHERARA are silent on the stencil.
VITARANA teaches “A garment comprises a fabric and an elastomeric coating on at least a portion of at least one side of the fabric” (abstract, lines 1-2) and “For example, the present invention may be applied to any type of apparel wear which includes, but is not limited to, sportswear, performance wear, intimate wear, casual wear, and medical wear” (paragraph 46, lines 8-11).
VITARANA teaches “A stencil other than that of a silkscreen configuration may also be used to further enhance the process whereby a stencil with a particular pattern is placed on the garment and the elastomeric coating sprayed through the stencil onto the garment in order to achieve required patterns on the garment” (paragraph 38, lines 6-10), i.e. wherein the stencil is positioned over the entire surface of the wound contact layer.
EDDY is silent on the coating method for its wound dressing.
It would have been obvious to include the wherein the stencil is positioned over the entire surface of the wound contact layer in the process of EDDY because VITARANA teaches that such a process produces required patterns on a surface and keeps coating material from being placed on surfaces where it is not desired.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eddy et al. US PGPub 2012/0035560 hereinafter EDDY in view of Euliano et al. US PGPub 2014/0200538 hereinafter EULIANO and Cina US Patent Number 5,042,709 hereinafter CINA and Bougherara et al. US PGPub 2010/0168633 hereinafter BOUGHERARA.
As for claim 21, EDDY teaches “In wound treatment systems such as the one described above, the wound dressing pad 225 is sized and shaped to fit in and over the wound to be treated” (paragraph 52, lines 1-3) and “The siliconized wound, seared, dual-density dressing pads 225 may be coated with a medicated or non-medicated solution such as polypropylene, glycol and saline, silver, an anti-bacterial solution or the like, that may promote healing and/or reduce adhesion of tissue and fluids” (paragraph 55), i.e. A method of coating a wound dressing… coating the wound contact layer with a coating.
EDDY further teaches “The disposable wound dressing 200 may further include a wound dressing pad 225 between the wound site 250 and drape 222” (paragraph 51, lines 1-3) and further shows in Fig. 5 the wound contact layer including a first side… a second side opposite the first side, the second side being substantially smooth.
EDDY is silent on the wound contact layer including a first side supporting a plurality of electronic components protruding from a surface of the first side.
EDDY does teach electronics that are part of a regulation system that is connected to but separate from the wound dressing (see Fig. 5).
EULIANO teaches “Similar to wetness detection in a diaper, detection of moisture in a wound dressing is also important. In another aspect of the invention, one or more of the wetness sensors 10a,b are embedded into or attached to a wound dressing to indicate the presence of moisture or the amount of moisture present under or in the bandage. The sensor 10a,b may communicate with a transceiver 202 that communicates with a database 216 as described above. In the wound care application, differentiation between different fluid types such as blood, sweat, or pus for example, may provide additional information about the status of the wound (e.g. infected, healthy, actively bleeding).” (paragraph 162, 163 and Fig. 24), i.e. the wound contact layer including a first side supporting a plurality of electronic components protruding from a surface of the first side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the wound contact layer including a first side supporting a plurality of electronic components protruding from a surface of the first side in the process of EDDY because EULIANO teaches that incorporating sensors into a wound dressing can provide valuable information on the liquids within the bandage.
EDDY is silent on how the coating is performed.
BOUGHERARA teaches “The present invention relates to a method of manufacturing two different patterned adhesive layers simultaneously, and a wound dressing comprising both the adhesive layers” (abstract).
BOUGHERARA further teaches “In order to hold the laminate in place during the coating process, it will be appreciated that any means to hold the substrate may be used, e.g. mechanical grips, mechanical or chemical means of adhesion, and vacuum suction” (paragraph 169), but is silent on the structure used to achieve the vacuum suction.
ROCHET teaches “The present invention relates to a porous support intended to be removably positioned on a top side of a perforated plate of a table of a vacuum hold down device, the perforated plate having a bottom side connected to a vacuum system for producing reduced pressure on the bottom side” (abstract, lines 1-5).
CINA teaches “Methods and apparatus are set forth for passively and precisely aligning pairs of objects, in particular, microelectronic components such as semiconductor lasers and fibers, utilizing fiducial marks” (abstract, lines 1-4).
CINA teaches “the apparatus comprises (a) an alignment plate of transparent material having at least one alignment location, wherein the alignment location has marks for the object positions (e .g., marks for the laser and marks for the fiber positions); (b) means for aligning the plate marks to 10 corresponding marks on the objects; (c) means for temporarily holding the objects (e .g., via a vacuum) in position to provide precise alignment between the objects” (column 4, lines 5-13), i.e. the substrate including a first registration mark, the positioning comprising aligning the first registration mark of the substrate with a corresponding second registration mark on the jig.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include including a first registration mark, the positioning comprising aligning the first registration mark of the wound contact layer with a corresponding second registration mark on the jig in the process of EDDY and EULIANO during the coating the wound dressing pad/wound contact layer because BOUGHERARA teaches it was known to use vacuum suction to hold wound dressing laminate still during coating processes and CINA teaches that using registration marks allows for precise alignment between objects and plates onto which they are held.
Conclusion
/KRISTEN A DAGENAIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1717