DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 06/11/2026 has been considered and entered. The response overcomes the rejections based on indefiniteness of claims as applicant’s specification clearly explains the difference between Fd and Fv. The terminal disclaimers filed on 12/11/2025 were approved and thus overcome the rejections based on obviousness double patenting over 18/948,703 and 18/948,730. The response is also found to be persuasive over the rejections in view of Smith et al. (US 2020/0032158) for failing to particularly recite the air to fuel ratio and BMEP of the hydrogen engine. Therefore, the previous rejections are withdrawn.
A new rejection under obviousness double patenting is made in view of the copending application 19/078,850 for teaching a similar invention.
Claim 26 still depends on the previously cancelled claim 24 and remains indefinite.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 depends from canceled claim 24 which is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 14, 16 – 23, 26 – 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2020/0032158)
In regards to claim 1, Smith teaches lubricating oil composition for engines such as passenger vehicle engine and commercial vehicle engine oils or other mechanical components (abstract). The composition is anti-low speed pre-ignition, and thus reduces or prevents abnormal combustion events in an engine that can be fueled with gasoline, hydrogen, etc., or mixtures [0047]. While Smith does not recite the BMEP, or air-to-fuel ratio (AFR) of the hydrogen engine as claimed, applicant’s admitted prior art (AAPA) recites in the backgrounds of applicant’s specification that hydrogen engines have AFR of typically between 2 and 2.5, and 1 (i.e., 1:1) for gasoline engines [Applicant’s specification, 0009]. Also, Yan et al. (CN 116201630A) which recites hydrogen internal combustion engines (i.e., 100% hydrogen fuel) can have BMEP of from 5 to 12 bars, under light and medium load, and greater than 12 bar under large load condition [0031, 0035].
Thus, in view of AAPA and Yan, persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claim was filed would have found it obvious to have used the lubricating oil composition of Smith in the gasoline engines having AFR of 1 or hydrogen engines having AFR of 2 to 2.5 and BMEP of 12 bar or higher, as AAPL and Yan acknowledges that such engines run under those conditions. Also, since the engine can comprise a blend of gasoline and hydrogen engines, AFR can be within the claimed range.
Smith teaches the lubricant composition comprises a Group I to V base oil [0051]. The oil can be PAO having kinematic viscosity at 100℃ (Kv100) of up to 150 cSt, such as from 1.5 to 12 cSt [0055]. GTL oil and/or hydrocarbyl aromatic oil each can have Kv100 of from 3 to 50 cSt [0058, 0059]. Preferably the base oil is useful in spark-ignited or compression-ignited engines with Kv100 of from about 2.5 to 12 cSt and is present from about 50 to about 99% of the lubricant composition [0073, 0074]. Thus, in the absence of viscosity improvers, since the base oil can be present in amounts of 50 to 99%, the composition would have similar viscosities (of i.e., 3 to 50 cSt) similar to that of the base oil and which overlaps the limitation of the SAE groups of the claim which is equivalent to about 4 cSt to about 22 cSt (i.e., from 0W-8 to 25W-60).
The composition comprises detergents such as calcium or magnesium phenate, sulfonate, salicylate and mixtures thereof [0119]. The detergent has total base number (TBN) of from 0 to 600 and having a metal ratio of from 1 to 5 [0120]. The detergent is present in the oil at amounts of from 0.5 to 6% in the composition [0127]. Generally, useful range of the detergent is from 0.1 to 20% in the composition [0157, Table 1]. Thus, the detergent would provide the amounts of metal and soap of the claim.
Thus, Smith provides a method of reducing abnormal combustion events in a hydrogen fueled engine during operation by providing the lubricating oil in the engine containing fuel and combusting the fuel in the engine.
In regards to claims 2 – 4, Smith, AAPL and Yan provide the method and engine, running under the claimed conditions and which comprises lubricants and the claimed additives and thus would provide similar pre-ignition properties (i.e. LSPI) as claimed. Smith teaches the composition is anti-LSPI [0047].
In regards to claims 5 – 7, Smith, AAPL and Yan provide the engine. Smith provides the method and composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regards to claims 8 – 10, Smith, AAPL and Yan provide the engine. Smith provides the method and the composition for engines which can run on hydrogen fuel alone (i.e., up to 100%) and comprises the claimed additives as previously stated. The additive can be dispersant in amounts of from 0.1 to 20% [0157, Table 1]. The dispersant comprises an imide such as succinimide and can have a hydrocarbon group having from 50 to 400 carbon atoms such as a polyolefin group (i.e., polyisobutylene or C4 olefin) having a polydispersity (MWD) of from 1.5 to 2.2 and have a preferred molecular weight of from 500 to 5000 and which may be functionalized with an ester and have a functionality index of 1.3 to 1.7 [0093, 0103 – 0110].
While the preferred molecular weight of the polyolefin is outside of the claimed range, Smith teaches the dispersants are conventional dispersants such as those recited by Galic et al. (US 5,084,197) which comprise hydrocarbon groups having high molecular weights with up to 5000 carbon atoms, or up to 20,000 carbon atoms, but preferably from 50 to 400 carbon atoms [0102]; (also see Galic; column 8 lines 1 – 23). Galic teaches the dispersant can comprise one or more polar groups such as nitrogen, oxygen and phosphorus and thus provides average functionality of 3 or more as claimed (column 5 lines 60 – 68). And thus, the claimed molecular weights are obvious.
In regards to claim 11, Smith, AAPL and Yan provide the engine. Smith provides the method and teaches the composition having additives such as inhibitors such as corrosion inhibitors/antirust additives in amounts of from 0.01 to 5% [0148, 0149]. Conventional corrosion inhibitors include azole compounds such as benzotriazole, thiadiazole etc., which are obvious. Other additives of the claims are also taught [Table 1].
In regards to claim 12, Smith, AAPL and Yan provide the engine. Smith provides the method and teaches the composition comprising zinc dialkyl dithiophosphate having C1 to 18 alkyl groups which is zinc dihydrocarbyl dithiophosphate (Zddp) which is present at from about 0.4 to 1.2% by weight [0088 – 0090].
In regards to claim 13, Smith, AAPL and Yan provide the engine. Smith provides the method and teaches the composition having the claimed additives [0157, Table 1].
In regards to claim 14, Smith, AAPL and Yan provide the engine. Smith provides the method and teaches the composition for engines which can run on hydrogen fuel alone (i.e., up to 100%) and comprises the claimed additives as previously stated.
In regards to claim 16, Smith, AAPL and Yan provide the engine. Smith provides the method and teaches the composition and the engine which can be commercial gasoline or diesel engines as previously stated. Commercial diesel engines typically heavy-duty diesel engines.
In regards to claims 17 – 23, 26 – 29, Smith teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts and useful in similar engines and would be expected to provide similar properties of the claims. Smith teaches the composition comprises dispersants having 1.3 to 1.7 functional groups per polyalkylene moiety, and would comprise at least two polyalkylene moieties in a bis-succinimide thus providing 2.6 to 3.4 functional groups or Fv [0103, 0105]. Since the number of functional groups can range from 1.3 to about 3.4, it appears that the functionality distribution, Fd, would be within the claimed range.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 14, 16 – 23, 26 – 29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 13, 15 – 17, 19 – 34 of copending Application No. 19/078,850. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application teaches engine oils for engines fueled by hydrogen and having similar ingredients which would be expected to provide similar performance.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771