Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/29/2025 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterman et al (U.S. PATENT 10,871,653 B1) in view of Kroll et al (PGPUB 2014/0055692 A1).
Independent Claims
As to claim 1, Osterman (Figs. 1A, 2-10) teaches, a method of operating an optical system (AR headset or glasses 10)(col. 4 lines 1-19), the method comprising:
identifying a set of angle dependent transmittance levels (i.e. f-stop f/1 at 50% t transmittance, f/7 at 0.78125% transmittance) for world light passing through pixels of a segmented dimmer (VAN liquid crystal dimming matrix display 12) exhibiting viewing angle transmittance variations (Fig. 3: i.e. shows varying f-stops based on viewing angle with a constant voltage of 3.0Volts) for application of a same voltage (i.e. 3.0 Volts) to all pixels of the segmented dimmer (Fig. 3, col. 5 lines 62 - col. 7 lines 28: i.e. descriptions the scenario of constant voltage application, col. 7 lines 44-53: i.e. discusses that Figs. 4-10 shows the relationship between angular viewing range respect to different voltages applied for achieving uniform transmittance);
projecting virtual image light out of an eyepiece (AR headset 10) of the optical system toward a user (¶ 32, Fig. 1A: i.e. OLED array 14);
determining a set of voltages (i.e. voltages shown in Figs. 4-10) to apply to pixels (i.e. pixels in Fig. 2) of the segmented dimmer, wherein determining the set of voltages includes using the set of angle dependent transmittance levels and the eye position (Figs. 4-10, col. 7 lines 44-52: i.e. determined voltages shown in the figures for achieving uniform dimming over the wide angular viewing range for each f-stop); and
applying the set of voltages (Figs. 2, 11: i.e. different voltages V1 and V2 are applied across the liquid crystal based dimming matrix display 12) to the pixels of the segmented dimmer to achieve world light transmittance through the segmented dimmer corresponding to the set of angle dependent transmittance levels (col. 7 lines 4-44: i.e. achieve uniform/same transmittance over all viewing directions based on the voltages shown in Figs. 4-10),
wherein the virtual image light is observed by the user along with the world light transmittance (¶ 29: i.e. observer views image from display 14 via mirror 20 and also views real-world objects 30 and 32 that are external to the dimming matrix display 12).
Osterman does not specifically teach, identifying an eye position of the user for collecting the world light passing through the segmented dimmer.
Kroll (Figs. 20A-23) teaches, identifying an eye position (i.e. position of observer’s eyes) of the user for collecting the world light passing through the segmented dimmer (¶ 98, 195, 198: i.e. position detection system is connected to the light modulator through control means to minimize light intensity peaking and cross talking).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kroll’s display device into Osterman’s display, so as to provide 2D and 3D modes (¶ 108).
As to claim 12, Osterman (Figs. 1A, 2-10) teaches, an optical system (AR headset or glasses 10)(col. 4 lines 1-19) comprising:
a segmented dimmer (VAN liquid crystal dimming matrix display 12) including a plurality of pixels (i.e. pixels in Fig. 2), the segmented dimmer exhibiting viewing angle transmittance variations (Figs. 3-10) for application of a same voltage (3.0 volts) to all pixels of the segmented dimmer (col. 5 lines 62 – col. 7 lines 28: i.e. Fig. 3 shows constant voltage of 3.0 volts yielding uneven light transmittance represented by f-stop numbers. f/1 is 50% transmittance and f/7 is at 0.78125% transmittance);
a voltage controller (dimming controller and matrix drive electronics 34, col. 4 lines 41-45) in electrical communication with the segmented dimmer (i.e. applies V1 and V2 as shown in Figs. 2, 11) and configured to provide a set of voltages to pixels of the segmented dimmer to control transmittance levels for world light passing through the pixels of the segmented dimmer (col. 7 lines 4-44: i.e. achieve uniform/same transmittance over all viewing directions based on the voltages shown in Figs. 4-10);
one or more processors (headset computer 18) programmed with instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including:
projecting virtual image light out of an eyepiece (AR headset 10) of the optical system toward a user of the optical system (¶ 32, Fig. 1A: i.e. OLED array 14);
identifying a set of angle dependent transmittance levels (Figs. 4-10: i.e. f-stops representing transmittances at varying level dependent on viewing angle or voltage applied) for world light passing through pixels of the segmented dimmer (col. 7 lines 44-53: i.e. discusses that Figs. 4-10 shows the relationship between angular viewing range respect to different voltages applied for achieving uniform transmittance);
determining a set of voltages to apply to pixels of the segmented dimmer (Figs. 4-10), wherein determining the set of voltages includes using the set of angle dependent transmittance levels and the receiver position (Figs. 4-10, col. 7 lines 44-52: i.e. determined voltages shown in the figures for achieving uniform dimming over the wide angular viewing range for each f-stop); and
controlling the voltage controller to apply the set of voltages to the pixels of the segmented dimmer of the optical system (Fig. 1, col. 4 lines 37-46).
wherein the virtual image light is observed by the user of the optical system along with the world light transmittance passing through pixels of the segmented dimmer (¶ 29: i.e. observer views image from display 14 via mirror 20 and also views real-world objects 30 and 32 that are external to the dimming matrix display 12).
Osterman does not specifically teach, identifying an eye position of the user for collecting the world light passing through the segmented dimmer.
Kroll (Figs. 20A-23) teaches, identifying a receiver position (i.e. position of observer’s eyes) for collecting the world light passing through pixels of the segmented dimmer, wherein the receiver position corresponds to an eye position of the user of the optical system (¶ 98, 195, 198: i.e. position detection system is connected to the light modulator through control means to minimize light intensity peaking and cross talking).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kroll’s display device into Osterman’s display, so as to provide 2D and 3D modes (¶ 108).
Dependent Claims
As to claims 2 and 13, Osterman (Figs. 2, 11) teaches, wherein determining the set of voltages comprises determining receipt coordinates (i.e. different viewing polar and azimuthal angles resulting from observer’s position) associated with the pixels of the segmented dimmer (col. 4 lines 20-51) and
rendering the set of voltages using one or more lookup tables (look-up table) based on the receipt coordinates, wherein a lookup table is associated with a corresponding angle dependent transmittance level (col. 7 lines 30-43: i.e. look-up table stores all of the information relating to which voltages should be applied to which pixel to achieve certain overall amount of dimming depending on the intensity of the external light, col. 5 line 59 - col.6 line 3: i.e. different voltages are applied to different positions and pixels of the liquid crystal cell 50).
As to claims 3 and 14, Osterman (Fig. 1) teaches, wherein the receipt coordinates include one or more distance coordinates (claim 2: i.e. different electrodes are recognized as nearer and farther) or one or more angular coordinates (polar and azimuthal angles)(col. 4 lines 20-36).
As to claims 5 and 16, Osterman (Figs. 4-10) teaches, wherein determining the set of voltages includes:
identifying angles (polar and azimuthal viewing angle with respect to observer 22) for each pixel of the segmented dimmer based on the eye position of a user (col. 7 lines 13-20), and for each pixel, applying the angles to a lookup table associated with an angle dependent transmittance level for the pixel to determine an output voltage to apply to the pixel (Figs. 4-10: i.e. voltages to achieve uniform dimming over e wide angular viewing range is determined based on the angle and to corresponding transmittance).
As to claims 6 and 17, Osterman (Figs. 4-10) teaches, wherein a set of voltages comprises voltages for each of the pixels of the segmented dimmer (i.e. voltages at various viewing that are applied to the pixels)(col. 7 lines 4-19).
As to claim 7, Osterman (Figs. 4-10) teaches, wherein the set of angle dependent transmittance levels is a same level for all pixels of the segmented dimmer (Fig. 4-10, col. 7 lines 30-43: i.e. uniform dimming and transmittance level over different angles by modifying the voltages output).
As to claim 8, Osterman (Figs. 4-10) teaches, wherein the set of angle dependent transmittance levels includes independent transmittance levels for different pixels of the segmented dimmer (Figs. 4-10: i.e. different f-stop or transmittances can be achieved based on the voltages applied).
As to claims 9 and 19, Osterman teaches the method of claim 1, but does not specifically teach a temperature of the segmented dimmer.
Kroll (Figs. 21A-23) teaches, determining a temperature of the segmented dimmer (temperature sensor)(¶ 102).
Osterman and Kroll combination teach wherein determining the set of voltages includes using the set of angle dependent transmittance levels (i.e. Osterman teaches determining voltages based on angle and transmittance as shown in Figs. 4-10) and the temperature (i.e. Kroll in ¶ 44, 102 teaches compensating deflection angle based on temperature gradient).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kroll’s display device into Osterman’s display, so as to provide 2D and 3D modes (¶ 108).
As to claim 10, Osterman (Figs. 4-10) teaches, for each of a plurality of different angle dependent transmittance levels (f-stops), generating a lookup table (look-up table) providing voltage outputs for different pixels of the segmented dimmer as a function of receipt coordinates (i.e. one-to-one correspondence between the pixel location and its polar and azimuthal viewing angles with respect to observer 22) of light transmitted through the different pixels of the segmented dimmer to achieve the set of angle dependent transmittance levels (col. 7 lines 4-50: i.e. corresponding voltages to achieve uniform dimming is provided based on transmittance and viewing angle).
As to claim 11, Osterman (Figs. 4-10) teaches, for each of a plurality of different angle dependent transmittance levels (f-stops), generating a lookup table (look-up table) providing voltage outputs for different pixels of the segmented dimmer as a function of receipt coordinates (i.e. one-to-one correspondence between the pixel location and its polar and azimuthal viewing angles with respect to observer 22) of light transmitted through the different pixels of the segmented dimmer to achieve the set of angle dependent transmittance levels (col. 7 lines 4-50: i.e. corresponding voltages to achieve uniform dimming is provided based on transmittance and viewing angle).
Osterman teaches providing lookup table for residing all information regarding transmittance, voltage but does not specifically teach temperature.
Kroll (Figs. 21A-23) teaches, voltage outputs for different pixels of the segmented dimmer as a function of receipt coordinates of light transmitted through the different pixels of segmented dimmer and temperature to achieve the set of angle dependent transmittance levels (¶ 44, 102: i.e. temperature compensation for liquid crystal response).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kroll’s display device into Osterman’s display, so as to provide 2D and 3D modes (¶ 108).
As to claim 20, Osterman (Figs. 2, 11) teaches, wherein determining the set of voltages comprises determining receipt coordinates (i.e. different viewing polar and azimuthal angles resulting from observer’s position) associated with the pixels of the segmented dimmer (col. 4 lines 20-51) and
rendering the set of voltages using one or more lookup tables (look-up table) based on the receipt coordinates, wherein a lookup table is associated with a corresponding angle dependent transmittance level (col. 7 lines 30-43: i.e. look-up table stores all of the information relating to which voltages should be applied to which pixel to achieve certain overall amount of dimming depending on the intensity of the external light, col. 5 line 59 - col.6 line 3: i.e. different voltages are applied to different positions and pixels of the liquid crystal cell 50).
Osterman does not specifically teach at the temperature.
Osterman and Kroll (Figs. 21A-23) combination teaches compensating the temperature gradient to reduce deflection angle (i.e. Kroll in ¶ 44, 102 teaches compensating deflection angle based on temperature gradient, which can be part of consideration in Osterman’s look-up table. The liquid crystal material is known to show different response depending on the environment and liquid temperature. Typically, no mention of specific temperature is considered as “at room temperature” in the field of art).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kroll’s display device into Osterman’s display, so as to provide 2D and 3D modes (¶ 108).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterman and Kroll as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kasahara (PGPUB 2015/0172631 A1).
As to claim 18, Osterman (Figs. 4-10) teaches, wherein identifying the set of angle dependent transmittance levels comprises identifying a bias level (i.e. voltages on Figs. 4-10), offset level (i.e. voltages on Figs. 4-10) for pairing the set of angle dependent transmittance levels to transmittance levels associated with a different segmented dimmer of a different optical system (Figs. 4-10).
Osterman and Kroll do not specifically teach normalization factor for reducing dichoptic luminance errors or for pairing the set of angle dependent transmittance levels.
Kasahara (Fig. 3) teaches, normalization factor (normalization) for reducing dichoptic luminance errors (i.e. brightness difference between left and right images)(¶ 143).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kasahara’s method of block matching stereoscopic image into Osterman’s display device as modified with the teaching of Kroll, so as to brightness difference based on the polarization ratio of the reflected light is cancelled (¶ 143).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended claims 1 and 12 to recite the new limitations, “projecting virtual image light out of an eyepiece of the optical system toward a user; identifying an eye position of the user for collecting the world light passing through the segmented dimmer; and … wherein the virtual image light is observed by the user along with world light transmittance” in claims 1 and 12. Applicant further argues that Osterman and Kroll combination do not teach the new limitations and claims 1 and 12. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Osterman prior art specifically teaches viewing the image from the display 14 and real-world objects 30 and 32 as shown in Figs. 1A-1C. While Osterman does not specifically teach detecting the position of the eye, the invention already teaches achieving uniform grayscale using the angle and light transmittance charts shown in Figs. 4-10. This particular teaching is cured by Kroll prior art, which introduces eye position tracking to prevent light-peaking due to crosstalk as described in ¶ 98. In other words, both inventions try to achieve constant grayscale level by controlling the operation of the light segment dimmers. Further, introduction of eye position detection system from Kroll into Osterman’s augmented reality display device would not necessarily hinder the operation of Osterman’s dimmer segments. Please, refer to the discussion above for the full office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/SANGHYUK PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623