DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE 10 2023 134 354, filed on 12/07/2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Acknowledgment is made of the preliminary amendment regarding the specifications. This amended specification was used for the purposes of examination.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains figure element numbers. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Acknowledgment is made of the preliminary amendment regarding the claims. These amended claims were used for the purposes of examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 has the claim number “1” twice at the start of the claim.
Claim 7 uses the phrase “with which”. It is suggested to change this phrasing to “wherein” to match standard claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "with rotatable roller (52)". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While claim 8 introduces such a rotatable roller, claim 14 is not dependent on it. Thus, the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 12-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being by anticipated by Ahn et al. (US 20190371647), hereinafter Ahn.
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches
An apparatus (10) for handling articles (11) comprising (Figure 3, system 1; Paragraph 0100, The system 1 for transferring a micro LED according to the first embodiment of the present invention includes: the micro LED transfer head 1000 including a porous member 1100 having pores and serving as a grip surface):
a gripping device (14) (Figure 3, LED transfer head 1000; Paragraph 0100, The system 1 for transferring a micro LED according to the first embodiment of the present invention includes: the micro LED transfer head 1000)
with a suction surface (16) (Figure 3, porous member 1100; Paragraph 0100, the micro LED transfer head 1000 including a porous member 1100 having pores and serving as a grip surface)
that can be subjected to negative pressure (Paragraph 0103, The vacuum chamber 1200 functions to apply a vacuum to the multiple pores of the porous member 1100 or release the vacuum applied to the pores according to the operation of the vacuum port)
wherein the suction surface (16) comprises a layer (24) (Figure 3, see porous member 1100)
that is elastically deformable (Paragraph 0106, The porous member 1100 may be composed of a material containing a large number of pores therein and may be configured as powders, a thin film, a thick film, or a bulk form ... Porous materials of the porous member 1100 are classified according to constituent components thereof: organic, inorganic (ceramic), metal, and hybrid type.; Paragraph 0129, the support 1400 may be embodied by a porous member; Paragraph 0127, the support 1400 made of an elastic material is elastically deformed; It is implied that the porous member may be made out of a variety of materials, such as the elastically deformable porous material of the support)
and is air-permeable, at least in some regions (Paragraph 0107, The porous member 1100 includes an anodic oxide film; Paragraph 0109, The inside of the anodic oxide film forms an air flow path vertically by the vertical pores)
and a drying device (32) that can interact with the layer (24) to remove moisture from the layer (24) (Figure 14, cleaning device 1200; Paragraph 0211, a drying device may be additionally provided inside or outside the cleaning device 1200 to dry the grip surface of the micro LED transfer head 1000).
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the teachings for claim 1 above, Ahn further teaches
wherein the drying device (32) has a blowing device that can be coupled to the suction surface (16) for blowing air out of the layer (24) (Paragraph 0205, The cleaning device 1200 removes a factor interfering with the grip force, such as foreign substances, from the grip surface of the micro LED transfer head 1000 by spraying the purge gas).
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the teachings for claim 1 above, Ahn further teaches
wherein the drying device (32) comprises a support plate (48), against which the layer (24) can be pressed (Figures 13A and 13B, LED Transfer head 1000 and cleaning device 1200; Paragraph 0197, The system 1 for transferring a micro LED according to the fifth embodiment of the present invention includes: the micro LED transfer head 1000 having a grip surface where micro LEDs 100 are gripped and having a sealing portion 1100 configured on the periphery of the micro LED transfer head 1000 in a manner protruding downward beyond the grip surface; and a cleaning device 1200 cleaning the grip surface; It is implied that the figure has incorporated the porous layer gripping surface into the transfer head).
Regarding claim 12, in addition to the teachings for claim 1 above, Ahn further teaches
wherein the layer (24) comprises a plurality of suction and air guide openings (62) (Paragraph 0107, The porous member 1100 may include at least some of micropores, mesopores, and macropores; It is implied that multiple pores are present within the porous member).
Regarding claim 13, Ahn teaches
A method for regenerating a suction surface (16) (Paragraph 0211, There is no limitation to the cleaning device 1200 as long as the cleaning device 1200 is capable of removing a factor by cleaning, which interferes with the gripping of the grip surface of the micro LED transfer head 1000. Here, when the cleaning agent is sprayed, a drying device may be additionally provided inside or outside the cleaning device 1200 to dry the grip surface of the micro LED transfer head 1000)
of a gripping device (14) (Figure 3, LED transfer head 1000; Paragraph 0100, The system 1 for transferring a micro LED according to the first embodiment of the present invention includes: the micro LED transfer head 1000),
which can be subjected to negative pressure, in order to suck in and grasp a plurality of articles (11) on a lower side (Figure 3, porous member 1100; Paragraph 0100, the micro LED transfer head 1000 including a porous member 1100 having pores and serving as a grip surface; Paragraph 0103, The vacuum chamber 1200 functions to apply a vacuum to the multiple pores of the porous member 1100 or release the vacuum applied to the pores according to the operation of the vacuum port),
in that the plurality of articles (11) are sucked into an elastically deformable and air-permeable layer (24) when negative pressure is applied (Paragraph 0106, The porous member 1100 may be composed of a material containing a large number of pores therein and may be configured as powders, a thin film, a thick film, or a bulk form ... Porous materials of the porous member 1100 are classified according to constituent components thereof: organic, inorganic (ceramic), metal, and hybrid type; Paragraph 0129, the support 1400 may be embodied by a porous member; Paragraph 0127, the support 1400 made of an elastic material is elastically deformed; It is implied that the porous member may be made out of a variety of materials, such as the elastically deformable porous material of the support; Paragraph 0107, The porous member 1100 includes an anodic oxide film; Paragraph 0109, The inside of the anodic oxide film forms an air flow path vertically by the vertical pores),
the method comprises removing moisture from the layer (24) with a drying device (32) (Figure 14, cleaning device 1200; Paragraph 0211, a drying device may be additionally provided inside or outside the cleaning device 1200 to dry the grip surface of the micro LED transfer head 1000).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue identified above, in addition to the teachings above for claim 13, Ahn further teaches
wherein the removing moisture step comprises compressing the layer (24) against a support plate (48) (Figures 13A and 13B, LED Transfer head 1000 and cleaning device 1200; Paragraph 0197, The system 1 for transferring a micro LED according to the fifth embodiment of the present invention includes: the micro LED transfer head 1000 having a grip surface where micro LEDs 100 are gripped and having a sealing portion 1100 configured on the periphery of the micro LED transfer head 1000 in a manner protruding downward beyond the grip surface; and a cleaning device 1200 cleaning the grip surface; It is implied that the figure has incorporated the porous layer gripping surface into the transfer head).
While Ahn does not teach wherein the removing moisture step comprises compressing the layer (24) with rotatable roller (52), this limitation is recited with an “or” and thus Ahn still anticipates the limitation.
Regarding claim 20, in addition to the teachings for claim 12 above, Ahn further teaches
wherein the plurality of suction and air guide openings (62) are arranged in a regular grid on the layer (24) (Paragraph 0107, The porous member 1100 includes an anodic oxide film in which pores are formed in a predetermined arrangement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 20190371647) in view of Joulin (US 20210354314).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn teaches fully for claim 1, on which claim 9 is dependent, as seen above in the section “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102”.
Ahn fails to fully teach wherein the drying device (32) comprises an exchange station (54) capable of detaching the layer (24), loaded with moisture, from the carrier plate (20) and exchanging it for a dry layer (24).
However, Joulin teaches wherein the apparatus is capable of detaching the layer (24), loaded with moisture, from the carrier plate (20) and exchanging it for a dry layer (24) (Figure 3, foam layer 40; Paragraph 0012, the foam layer being secured magnetically allows removal of one foam layer at a particular thickness T0 to be removed and replaced with a foam layer at a variable thickness T1).
Joulin fails to fully teach wherein the drying device (32) comprises an exchange station (54). However, because neither the claim nor the specifications provide information as to how the exchange station is capable of detaching and exchanging the layer, this limitation provides no further structure to the claim and thus any system capable of replacing such a layer teaches on the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the porous member of Ahn replaceable and exchangeable, as taught by Joulin. One would be motivated to do this to make the system easier to service (Joulin paragraph 0010 Therefore as the foam layer is attached to the bottom surface by magnetic attraction, the foam layer is easier to remove. Thus, the invention is easier to service, with parts that are more easily accessible. Moreover, the invention does not require excessive repair and replacement time).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to combine these systems and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Furthermore, each element in the combined context would perform the same function they did separately.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Joulin to Ahn because they are in the same field of endeavor directed to the same technology (article manipulators), which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, Ahn teaches fully for claim 13, on which claim 19 is dependent, as seen above in the section “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102”.
Ahn fails to fully teach wherein the moisture removing step comprises detaching a moisture-loaded layer (24) with a dry layer (24).
However, Joulin teaches wherein the moisture removing step comprises detaching a moisture-loaded layer (24) with a dry layer (24) (Figure 3, foam layer 40; Paragraph 0012, the foam layer being secured magnetically allows removal of one foam layer at a particular thickness T0 to be removed and replaced with a foam layer at a variable thickness T1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the porous member of Ahn replaceable and exchangeable, as taught by Joulin. One would be motivated to do this to make the system easier to service (Joulin paragraph 0010 Therefore as the foam layer is attached to the bottom surface by magnetic attraction, the foam layer is easier to remove. Thus, the invention is easier to service, with parts that are more easily accessible. Moreover, the invention does not require excessive repair and replacement time).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to combine these systems and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Furthermore, each element in the combined context would perform the same function they did separately.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Joulin to Ahn because they are in the same field of endeavor directed to the same technology (article manipulators), which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one having ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 10-11, and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, while prior art teaches the use of a drying device with a suction apparatus, it fails to fully teach specifics regarding the operation of such a device. The recited limitation of integrating the drying device directly into the porous suction layer is not fully anticipated by the prior art. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to implement the limitation as the prior art in the same field of endeavor does not sufficiently teach such an integration of drying device and porous layer for article manipulators nor does prior art teach the integration of a drying device into a porous layer for the purpose of regenerating a suction surface. Thus, this limitation is considered to distinguish over the prior art.
Regarding claim 4, since it is dependent on claim 3 and further limits the apparatus, it likewise distinguishes over the prior art.
Regarding claim 5, the recited limitation of using a heatable carrier plate as the drying device directly fastened to the porous suction layer is not fully anticipated by the prior art. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to implement the limitation as the prior art in the same field of endeavor does not sufficiently teach a heatable carrier plate for article manipulators nor does prior art sufficiently teach the use of a heatable carrier plate being used for the purpose of drying a porous layer to regenerate a suction surface. Thus, this limitation is considered to distinguish over the prior art.
Regarding claim 7, while Ahn teaches the use of a support plate on which the layer can be pressed, it does not fully teach that this support can be temperature adjusted. The recited limitation is not fully anticipated by other prior art. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to implement the limitation as the prior art in the same field of endeavor does not sufficiently teach such a temperature adjustable support plate for article manipulators nor does prior art sufficiently teach using a temperature adjustable support plate for the purpose of drying a porous layer to regenerate a suction surface. Thus, this limitation is considered to distinguish over the prior art.
Regarding claim 8, the recited limitation of using a rotatable roller that rolls against the porous layer is not fully anticipated by the prior art. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to implement the limitation as the prior art in the same field of endeavor does not sufficiently teach a rotatable roller for article manipulators nor does prior art teach the use of a rotatable roller for the purpose of drying a porous surface to regenerate a suction surface. Thus, this limitation is considered to distinguish over the prior art.
Regarding claim 10, the recited limitation of having a collecting device for collecting and discharging water from the porous layer is not fully anticipated by the prior art. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to implement the limitation as the prior art in the same field of endeavor does not sufficiently teach a water collecting device for porous surfaces for article manipulators nor does prior art teach the use of a water collecting device for the purpose of drying a porous surface to regenerate a suction surface. Thus, this limitation is considered to distinguish over the prior art.
Regarding claim 11, the recited limitation of having a sensor which communicates with a control device to control operation of the drying device is not fully anticipated by the prior art. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to implement the limitation as the prior art in the same field of endeavor does not sufficiently teach using a sensor to activate a device separate from the suction device for article manipulators nor does prior art teach the use of a sensor to detect moisture and activate a drying device for the purpose of drying a porous surface to regenerate a suction surface. Thus, this limitation is considered to distinguish over the prior art.
Regarding claim 16, the recited limitation of applying heat through electric heating wires is not anticipated by the prior art. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to implement the limitation as the prior art in the same field of endeavor does not sufficiently teach the use of electric heating wires for article manipulators nor does the prior art teach the use of electric heating wires for the purpose of drying a porous layer for regenerating a suction surface. Thus, this limitation is considered to distinguish over the prior art.
Regarding claim 17, since it is dependent on claim 16 and further limits the method, it is considered to likewise distinguish over the prior art.
Regarding claim 18, the recited limitation of applying heat through a heatable carrier plate is not anticipated by the prior art. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to implement the limitation as the prior art in the same field of endeavor does not sufficiently teach the use of heatable carrier plates for article manipulators nor does prior art teach the use of heatable carrier plates for the purpose of drying a porous layer for regenerating a suction surface. Thus, this limitation is considered to distinguish over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure [See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited] because the prior art references contain subject matter that related to one or more the of the Applicant’s claim limitations.
/J.T.K./ Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655