DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6, 9, and 17 have been canceled.
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-16 and 18-23 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham (US Patent 6,042,523; Herein referred to as “Graham ‘523”) in view of Graham (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0094104; Herein referred to as “Graham ‘104”) and Sandvig (US Patent 8,740,758).
1 and 21-22. Graham ‘523 discloses a portable rehabilitation device comprising:
a support base (12) having a front end, a rear end, and a longitudinal axis (Fig 2), the support base having two longitudinally extending rails (16);
a moving carriage (14) mounted on the support base and engaging the rails for back and forth travel along the longitudinal axis (Fig 2), the moving carriage comprising:
a footplate (38) defining a foot-engaging surface (98) that translates with the moving carriage relative to the support base, wherein the footplate is pivotally mounted on the moving carriage by a footplate axle (102) for adjustment among a plurality of inclines.
at least one tension cord (46) adjustably attached between the moving carriage (@162) and the front end of the support base (@ 30).
However Graham ‘523 does not disclose an ankle support cushion mounted on the moving carriage forward of the footplate, between the footplate and the front end of the support base, the ankle support cushion being separate from the footplate and positioned to support a heel of a patient while a sole of a foot of the patient engages the foot- engaging surface, such that the ankle support cushion translates with the moving carriage.
Sandvig teaches a similar rehabilitation device having a footplate (11) and a heel support (12) mounted on a base/carriage (13), wherein “The foot rest 11 and heel support 12 are oriented so that the sole of the foot rests on the foot rest 11, with the heel and Achilles tendon supported by the heel support 12. The heel support 12 provides a surface for users to apply a force to pull the foot piece 10 back towards the user when bending the knee. The foot rest 11 provides the interface for users to push the foot piece 10 away from the user to extend the knee” (Col 2, Lines 12-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base/carriage (40) of Graham to include a heel support thereon as taught by Sandvig to provide a surface against which the achilles of the user may rest and also provide a surface against which a user’s heel can apply a force.
Further, while Graham ‘523 teaches the therapeutic exercise apparatus being used in concert with a chair (Figs 15-16) or while lying down (Fig 14), Graham ‘523 does not explicitly disclose the apparatus comprising a lumbar bolster configured to be positioned beneath a lumbar region of a patient and connected to the support base via an adjustable strap that extends between the lumbar bolster and a front cap attached to the front end of the support base and a strap anchor carried by and fixed relative to the support base, wherein the adjustable strap secures the support base against the patient so as to resist sliding of the support base along the longitudinal axis during exercise.
Graham ‘104 teaches a similar lower leg exercise device having a foot engagement portion (204) which is tensioned by an adjustable strap (180; adjustable via 188) that extends between a lumbar bolster (110 via strap attachment 170) to a front cap (204) of a support base (200) as a user extends their feet away from their torso under tension for “creating aligned decompression forces between the leg muscles and lower abdominal muscles by pulling the stirruped legs/feet in a direction away from the spine away from the spine to decompress, urge, and align the spinal vertebrae” (Par. 0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Graham ‘523 to include a lumbar bolster connected to the support base via an adjustable strap as taught by Graham ‘104 to impart curvature to the lumbar or sacral spine of a user and for manipulating the spine and intervertebral discs with decompression force while the user applies a force to the support base (Par. 0077).
5. Graham ‘523 discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one tension cord includes a cord holder (50) configured to engage with a cord notch (86) on a front cap (90) attached to the front end of the support base (Fig 11).
7. Graham ‘523 discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the footplate is adjustable at various angular positions via a kickstand (110; Fig 5).
13. Graham ‘523 discloses a method of providing rehabilitation exercise, comprising:
positioning a support base (12) with longitudinal rails (16) adjacent to a patient's extended leg;
positioning a moving carriage (14) mounted on the rails for engagement with the patient's foot (Fig 14); and
allowing the moving carriage to move along the rails against resistance (46) during exercise.
However Graham ‘523 does not disclose an ankle support cushion mounted on the moving carriage forward of the footplate, between the footplate and the front end of the support base, the ankle support cushion being separate from the footplate and positioned to support a heel of a patient while a sole of a foot of the patient engages the foot- engaging surface, such that the ankle support cushion translates with the moving carriage.
Sandvig teaches a similar rehabilitation device having a footplate (11) and a heel support (12) mounted on a base/carriage (13), wherein “The foot rest 11 and heel support 12 are oriented so that the sole of the foot rests on the foot rest 11, with the heel and Achilles tendon supported by the heel support 12. The heel support 12 provides a surface for users to apply a force to pull the foot piece 10 back towards the user when bending the knee. The foot rest 11 provides the interface for users to push the foot piece 10 away from the user to extend the knee” (Col 2, Lines 12-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base/carriage (40) of Graham to include a heel support thereon as taught by Sandvig to provide a surface against which the achilles of the user may rest and also provide a surface against which a user’s heel can apply a force.
Further, while Graham ‘523 teaches the therapeutic exercise apparatus being used in concert with a chair (Figs 15-16) or while lying down (Fig 14), Graham ‘523 does not explicitly disclose the apparatus comprising a lumbar bolster configured to be positioned beneath a lumbar region of a patient and connected to the support base via an adjustable strap that extends between the lumbar bolster and a front cap attached to the front end of the support base and a strap anchor carried by and fixed relative to the support base, wherein the adjustable strap secures the support base against the patient so as to resist sliding of the support base along the longitudinal axis during exercise.
Graham ‘104 teaches a similar lower leg exercise device having a foot engagement portion (204) which is tensioned by a tension cord (210) as a user extends their feet away from their torso under tension (Figs 15-16) and further comprising a lumbar bolster (110) connected to the tension cod via an adjustable strap (180) for “creating aligned decompression forces between the leg muscles and lower abdominal muscles by pulling the stirruped legs/feet in a direction away from the spine away from the spine to decompress, urge, and align the spinal vertebrae” (Par. 0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Graham ‘523 to include a lumbar bolster as taught by Graham ‘104 to impart curvature to the lumbar or sacral spine of a user and for manipulating the spine and intervertebral discs with decompression force (Par. 0077).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham ‘523 and Graham ‘104 and Sandvig as applied to Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, and 21-22 above, and further in view of Endelman et al (US Patent Application Publication 2001/0056011).
2-3. Graham ‘523 and Graham ‘104 disclose the device significantly as claimed, including a plurality of vertical wheels (70,72,76) which include at least two top rail wheels (7) controlling vertical motion of the moving carriage, but do not disclose a plurality of horizontal wheels controlling lateral motion of the moving carriage or wherein the vertical wheels wherein each top rail wheel includes an eccentric spacer nut for adjusting wheel axle placement.
Endelman et al teach a similar exercise device having a mobile carriage (20) which translates along rails (18) of a base member (14) against the force of a resistance member (24) further comprising the mobile carriage having a plurality of vertical wheels (122) as well as horizontal wheels (124) that “roll along the vertical longitudinal rib 92 of the extrusion 88 thus aligning the carriage 20 side to side on the rail members 18. These guide rollers 124 ensure that minimal friction is exerted between the carriage 20 and the rail members 18 for an exceptionally smooth back and forth movement of the carriage 20 on the rail members 16 of the apparatus 10 during use” (Par. 0057). With regards to the use of an eccentric spacer nut, Examiner takes Official Notice that fastening features such as elongated slots and eccentric fasteners, such as spacer nuts, are well known in the art to allow for a directional adjustment of two members to be connected together to remove any play therebetween. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Graham ‘523 and Graham ‘104 to have horizontal wheels as taught by Endelman et al and an eccentric spacer nut as these features allow for an adjustable engagement of the mobile carriage along the rails of the base member to facilitate a smooth movement therebetween.
Claims 4 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham ‘523 and Graham ‘104 and Sandvig as applied to Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, and 21-22 above, and further in view of Lagree et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0191190).
4, 14, and 19. Graham ‘523 and Graham ‘104 disclose the device significantly as claimed, but do not disclose a distance sensor mounted on the support base and configured to detect position of the moving carriage, and a microcontroller unit connected to the distance sensor wherein the microcontroller unit is configured to transmit carriage position data to a mobile device and display interactive exercise feedback based on movement of the moving carriage.
Lagree et al each a similar exercise device having a mobile carriage (203) which translates along rails (201) of a base member (202) against the force of a resistance member (205) further comprising a distance sensor mounted on the support base and configured to detect position of the moving carriage (Abstract: “a sensor that detects a real-time position of the movable element”), and a microcontroller unit connected to the distance sensor wherein the microcontroller unit is configured to transmit carriage position data to a mobile device (Abstract: “a processor in communication with the sensor to receive the real-time position data from the sensor related to a position of the movable element and a feedback device in communication with the processor”) “that provides real-time instructions to the exerciser on how to adjust their workout to achieve a desired result” (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the exercise device of Graham to include the sensor and controller as taught by Lagree et al which provides for instructional information with regards to speed, carriage travel distance, cyclic rate, or workload levels to be communicated to an exerciser with regards to the exercise being performed.
15. Graham ‘523 discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising attaching at least one tension cord (46) between the moving carriage and the support base to provide resistance (Abstract).
16. Graham ‘523 discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising adjusting an angle of a footplate mounted on the moving carriage (via 110; Fig 5).
18.Graham ‘523 discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising securing the patient's foot to the footplate with a foot strap (126).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham ‘523 and Graham ‘104 and Sandvig as applied to Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, and 21-22 above, and further in view of Holman (US Patent 11,904,203).
23. Graham ‘523 and Graham ‘104 disclose the method significantly as claimed, but do not disclose further comprising, before allowing the moving carriage to move along the rails, locking the moving carriage in place on the support base while the heel of the patient's foot is placed on the ankle support cushion, moving the support base under the patient's leg, and then unlocking the moving carriage.
Holman teaches a similar exercise apparatus having a slidable foot platform (106) having a footplate (158) such that a user places their foot on the footplate to manipulate sliding of the platform along a base structure (102) and further comprising a locking member (214; Figs 2-3) to allow the foot platform to be fixed relative to the base (Col 11, Lines 36-51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the carriage to include a locking member as taught by Holman to allow the carriage to be fixed to the base during periods of non-use for safety purposes.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham ‘523 in view of Lagree et al, Graham ‘104, and Sandvig.
8. Graham ‘523 discloses a rehabilitation exercise system comprising:
a support base (12) with longitudinal rails (16);
a moving carriage (14) mounted on the rails (Fig 2); and
an adjustable footplate (38) mounted on the moving carriage.
However Graham ‘523 does not disclose an ankle support cushion mounted on the moving carriage forward of the footplate, between the footplate and the front end of the support base, the ankle support cushion being separate from the footplate and positioned to support a heel of a patient while a sole of a foot of the patient engages the foot- engaging surface, such that the ankle support cushion translates with the moving carriage.
Sandvig teaches a similar rehabilitation device having a footplate (11) and a heel support (12) mounted on a base/carriage (13), wherein “The foot rest 11 and heel support 12 are oriented so that the sole of the foot rests on the foot rest 11, with the heel and Achilles tendon supported by the heel support 12. The heel support 12 provides a surface for users to apply a force to pull the foot piece 10 back towards the user when bending the knee. The foot rest 11 provides the interface for users to push the foot piece 10 away from the user to extend the knee” (Col 2, Lines 12-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base/carriage (40) of Graham to include a heel support thereon as taught by Sandvig to provide a surface against which the achilles of the user may rest and also provide a surface against which a user’s heel can apply a force.
However, Graham ‘523 does not disclose a distance sensor mounted on the support base and configured to detect position of the moving carriage, and a microcontroller unit connected to the distance sensor wherein the microcontroller unit is configured to transmit carriage position data to a mobile device to display interactive exercise feedback.
Lagree et al each a similar exercise device having a mobile carriage (203) which translates along rails (201) of a base member (202) against the force of a resistance member (205) further comprising a distance sensor mounted on the support base and configured to detect position of the moving carriage (Abstract: “a sensor that detects a real-time position of the movable element”), and a microcontroller unit connected to the distance sensor wherein the microcontroller unit is configured to transmit carriage position data to a display (30) on a mobile device (Abstract: “a processor in communication with the sensor to receive the real-time position data from the sensor related to a position of the movable element and a feedback device in communication with the processor”) “that provides real-time instructions to the exerciser on how to adjust their workout to achieve a desired result” (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the exercise device of Graham to include the sensor and controller as taught by Lagree et al which provides for instructional information with regards to speed, carriage travel distance, cyclic rate, or workload levels to be communicated to an exerciser with regards to the exercise being performed.
While Graham ‘523 teaches the therapeutic exercise apparatus being used in concert with a chair (Figs 15-16) or while lying down (Fig 14), Graham ‘523 does not explicitly disclose the apparatus comprising a lumbar bolster configured to be positioned beneath a lumbar region of a patient and connected to the support base via an adjustable strap that extends between the lumbar bolster and a front cap attached to the front end of the support base and a strap anchor carried by and fixed relative to the support base, wherein the adjustable strap secures the support base against the patient so as to resist sliding of the support base along the longitudinal axis during exercise.
Graham ‘104 teaches a similar lower leg exercise device having a foot engagement portion (204) which is tensioned by an adjustable strap (180; adjustable via 188) that extends between a lumbar bolster (110 via strap attachment 170) to a front cap (204) of a support base (200) as a user extends their feet away from their torso under tension for “creating aligned decompression forces between the leg muscles and lower abdominal muscles by pulling the stirruped legs/feet in a direction away from the spine away from the spine to decompress, urge, and align the spinal vertebrae” (Par. 0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Graham ‘523 to include a lumbar bolster connected to the support base via an adjustable strap as taught by Graham ‘104 to impart curvature to the lumbar or sacral spine of a user and for manipulating the spine and intervertebral discs with decompression force while the user applies a force to the support base (Par. 0077).
10. Graham ‘523 discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the moving carriage further comprises a plurality of bearing wheels (70,72,76) engaging the rails (Fig 7).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham ‘523 in view of Lagree et al, Graham ‘104, and Sandvig as applied to claims 8 and 10 above, and further in view of Yanev et al (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0184634).
11-12. Graham ‘523 in view of Lagree et al and Graham ‘104 disclose a system significantly as claimed, but do not disclose wherein the displayed interactive exercise feedback occurs within a mobile application game environment or wherein the footplate further comprises a load cell configured to measure force applied by a user during exercise.
Yanev et al disclose a similar exercise apparatus (Fig 7) wherein the feet of a user engage a footplate (708) while a user is in a sitting position and wherein the footplate comprises sensors comprising load cells (710; Par. 0038) “configured to measure force exerted by a user via their foot and/or ankle” (Par. 0111). Furthermore, the apparatus of Yanev et al discloses that the forces exerted and measured by the footplate sensors may be incorporated into gameplay based on the exercise in that users may exert forces on one or more physical components of an exercise apparatus to provide control inputs for a corresponding game entity (Par. 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interactive feedback display of Graham ‘523 in view of Lagree et al and Graham ‘104 to incorporate a gaming application as taught by Yanev et al to increase the interaction, fun, and engagement of the user while performing exercises.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham ‘523, Graham ‘104, Lagree et al, and Sandvig as applied to claims 4 and 14-19 above, and further in view of Yanev et al.
20. Graham ‘523, Graham ‘104, Lagree et al, and Sandvig disclose the method significantly as claimed, but do not disclose wherein the displayed interactive exercise feedback occurs within a mobile application game environment.
Yanev et al disclose a similar exercise apparatus (Fig 7) wherein the feet of a user engage a footplate (708) while a user is in a sitting position and wherein the footplate comprises sensors comprising load cells (710; Par. 0038) “configured to measure force exerted by a user via their foot and/or ankle” (Par. 0111). Furthermore, the apparatus of Yanev et al discloses that the forces exerted and measured by the footplate sensors may be incorporated into gameplay based on the exercise in that users may exert forces on one or more physical components of an exercise apparatus to provide control inputs for a corresponding game entity (Par. 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interactive feedback display of Graham ‘523 in view of Lagree et al to incorporate a gaming application as taught by Yanev et al to increase the interaction, fun, and engagement of the user while performing exercises.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA T KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784 10/21/2026