DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An US 20200402447 in view of Suzuki US 20050024573.
Regarding claim 1, An discloses a device, in at least figs.2A-5, comprising:
a liquid crystal display (DP with MP1 and MP2, para.49);
a first metal plate (DFPC); and
a second metal plate (TFPC), which are arranged in a layer structure (see at least fig.2C),
wherein the liquid crystal display and the first metal plate are connected by a conductive adhesive (CM1, para.64) to ensure GND (SGND, see fig.2C),
the first metal plate and the second metal plate are connected by the conductive adhesive (CM2 same material as CM1, para.82) to ensure the GND (SGND, see fig.2C), and
a fixing adhesive (a transparent adhesive material, para.54) is disposed around the conductive adhesive (see fig.2C).
An does not explicitly disclose the device is an onboard device.
Suzuki discloses an onboard device, in at least figs.1-5, the device is an onboard device (20, fig.5) for the purpose of having an onboard device with a LCD device (para.39).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device is an onboard device as taught by Suzuki in the device of An for the purpose of having an onboard device with a LCD device.
Regarding claim 1, An discloses a device, in at least figs.2A-5, comprising:
a liquid crystal display (DP with TFPC, para.49);
a first metal plate (DFPC); and
a second metal plate (MP2), which are arranged in a layer structure (see at least fig.2C),
wherein the liquid crystal display and the first metal plate are connected by a conductive adhesive (CM2 same material as CM1, para.82 and 64) to ensure GND (SGND, see fig.2C),
the first metal plate and the second metal plate are connected by the conductive adhesive (CM1) to ensure the GND (SGND, see fig.2C), and
a fixing adhesive (a transparent adhesive material, para.54) is disposed around the conductive adhesive (see fig.2C).
An does not explicitly disclose the device is an onboard device.
Suzuki discloses an onboard device, in at least figs.1-5, the device is an onboard device (20, fig.5) for the purpose of having an onboard device with a LCD device (para.39).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device is an onboard device as taught by Suzuki in the device of An for the purpose of having an onboard device with a LCD device.
Regarding claim 4, An discloses the first metal plate (DFPC) has a drawn shape (see fig.2C) in a portion to which the conductive adhesive is applied (see fig.2C).
Regarding claim 5, An discloses a gap is formed between the conductive adhesive and the fixing adhesive and between the liquid crystal display and the first metal plate (DFPC)(see fig.2C).
Regarding claim 7, An discloses a gap is formed between the conductive adhesive and the fixing adhesive and between the first metal plate (DFPC) and the second metal plate (MP2 or TFPC)(see fig.2C).
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim US 20190064615 in view of Suzuki US 20050024573.
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a device, in at least fig.8, comprising:
a liquid crystal display (with element 102,150, 151, 110, 120 and 101);
a first metal plate (190, para.118); and
a second metal plate (130, para.102), which are arranged in a layer structure (see fig.8),
wherein the liquid crystal display and the first metal plate are connected by a conductive adhesive (140’, para.60,70 and 117) to ensure GND (para.119),
the first metal plate and the second metal plate are connected by the conductive adhesive (140’) to ensure the GND, and
a fixing adhesive (180) is disposed around the conductive adhesive (see fig.8).
Lim does not explicitly disclose the device is an onboard device.
Suzuki discloses an onboard device, in at least figs.1-5, the device is an onboard device (20, fig.5) for the purpose of having an onboard device with a LCD device (para.39).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the device is an onboard device as taught by Suzuki in the device of Lim for the purpose of having an onboard device with a LCD device.
Regarding claim 7, Lim discloses a gap (a gap at between 120 and 110) is formed between the conductive adhesive and the fixing adhesive and between the first metal plate and the second metal plate (see fig.8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of the first metal plate has a plurality of through holes in a portion to which the conductive adhesive is applied, and the liquid crystal display and the second metal plate are connected to ensure the GND via the conductive adhesive filling the plurality of through holes, along with other claim limitations. Claim 3 is depended on claim 2 so it is allowable for the same reason.
Lim US 20190064615, An US 20200402447 and Suzuki US 20050024573, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of the first metal plate has a plurality of through holes in a portion to which the conductive adhesive is applied, and the liquid crystal display and the second metal plate are connected to ensure the GND via the conductive adhesive filling the plurality of through holes, along with other claim limitations. Claim 3 is depended on claim 2 so it is allowable for the same reason.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of the gap is defined based on a physical property of thermal contraction of the conductive adhesive and the fixing adhesive, along with other claim limitations.
Lim US 20190064615, An US 20200402447 and Suzuki US 20050024573, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the claim limitations of the gap is defined based on a physical property of thermal contraction of the conductive adhesive and the fixing adhesive, along with other claim limitations.
Contact Information
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871