DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/3/2024 and 6/19/2025 have been received and made of record. Note the acknowledged form PTO-1449 enclosed herewith.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "164" (in Figs. 1 and 15) and "168" (in Figs. 17-20 and 22) have both been used to designate the shaft “tip”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Currently no claims are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the insert-receiving space" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCue (US 5,788,701).
McCue discloses (see Figs. 2 and 7) a system for knee arthroplasty comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 1) A system for a knee arthroplasty (see Abstract), the system comprising: a tibial tray (56, Fig. 7) having a pair of posterior notches (i.e., lip of rim 57 shown engaged at both prongs 55) and an anterior notch (i.e., lip of rim 57 shown engaged at groove 49) (as expressly shown in Fig. 7); and an inserter (11, Fig. 2) having a main body (54, Fig. 7) with a pair of posterior tabs (55, Fig. 7), a moveable anterior tab body (59, Fig. 7) having an anterior tab (49, Fig. 7), and a rotatable shaft (53, Fig. 7) for controlling movement of the anterior tab body (59) (as shown in Fig. 7; col. 4, line 64-col. 5, line 30), wherein the posterior tabs (55) are receivable in the posterior notches (at 57) of the tibial tray (56) and the anterior tab (49) is receivable in the anterior notch (at 49) of the tibial tray (56) when the shaft (53) is rotated (as shown in Fig. 7; col. 4, line 64-col. 5, line 30);
(claim 2) wherein the tibial tray (56) has a kidney-bean shape with an anterior side forming an outer convex side (i.e., adjacent lower groove 49) and a posterior side including an inner concave side separating two lobes (i.e., two lobes shown adjacent the two prongs 55) (as shown in Fig. 7);
(claim 7) An inserter instrument (11, Fig. 2) for implanting a tibial tray (56, Fig. 7), the instrument comprising: a main body (54, Fig. 7) coupled to a handle (11, Fig. 2) (col. 4, line 64-col. 5, line 30), the main body (54) including a pair of posterior tabs (55, Fig. 7); a moveable anterior tab body (59, Fig. 7), the anterior tab body (59) including an anterior tab (49, Fig. 7); and a rotatable shaft (53) for controlling movement of the anterior tab body (59) (as shown in Fig. 7; col. 4, line 64-col. 5, line 30), wherein when the shaft (53) is rotated, the anterior tab body (59) is translated outside the main body (54) into a locked position (as shown in Fig 7; col. 4, line 64-col. 5, line 30; rotation of shaft 53 expressly moves anterior tab body 59 outside of and away from the main body 54 to lock the tibial tray 56);
(claim 8) wherein the main body (54) includes a foot with a neck protruding upwardly and an arm protruding anteriorly (as shown in annotated Fig. 7 below);
(claim 12) wherein the anterior tab body (59) includes a base (i.e., bottom surface) with an upwardly projecting tongue (i.e., frame extending upward from the bottom base surface), and the tongue defines a threaded opening (i.e., for receiving shaft 53) (as expressly shown in annotated Fig. 7 below); and
(claim 14) wherein the anterior tab (49) is positioned along an anterior portion of the base, wherein the anterior tab (49) extends along the entire width of the anterior tab body (59) (as shown in annotated Fig. 7 under claim 12 above).
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zappacosta et al. (US 2022/0061998).
Zappacosta discloses (see Figs. 1-3 and 18-19) a system for knee arthroplasty comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 1) A system for a knee arthroplasty (see Abstract), the system comprising: a tibial tray (10, Fig. 1) having a pair of posterior notches (at 24, Fig. 1) and an anterior notch (at convex portion of wall 20 shown adjacent edge 18 and recess 26 in Fig. 1 for mating with mounting insert 1228 of Fig. 18; [0064]) (as shown in annotated Fig. 1 below); and an inserter (1200, Fig. 18) having a main body (1212, Fig. 18) with a pair of posterior tabs (see annotated Fig. 19 below), a moveable anterior tab body (1226/1228, Fig. 19) having an anterior tab (1228, Fig. 19), and a rotatable shaft (1230, Fig. 18) for controlling movement of the anterior tab body (1226/1228) (as shown in Fig. 18; [0064]-[0065]; shaft 1230 expressly rotates about axis of rotation AR which moves the anterior tab body since it is attached to shaft 1230), wherein the posterior tabs are receivable in the posterior notches (24) of the tibial tray (10) and the anterior tab (1228) is receivable in the anterior notch of the tibial tray (10) when the shaft (1230) is rotated (as shown in Figs. 18-19; [0064]-[0065]; mounting inserts 1226/1228 are expressly resiliently biased away from each other to resiliently engage the perimeter wall 20 of the implant 10 at the posterior and anterior notches);
(claim 2) wherein the tibial tray (10) has a kidney-bean shape with an anterior side forming an outer convex side and a posterior side including an inner concave side separating two lobes (i.e., two lobes at two posterior notches 24) (as shown in annotated Fig. 1 below);
(claim 3) wherein the tibial tray (10) includes a keel (28, Fig. 1) attached to a distal surface of the tibial tray (10) (as shown in Figs. 1-3), and the keel (28) includes a pair of coronal fins (30, Figs. 2-3) and at least one sagittal fin (32, Figs. 2-3); and
(claim 4) wherein the main body (1212) of the inserter (1200) includes a foot (1216, Fig. 19) with a neck (1224, Fig. 19) protruding upwardly and an arm (1230, Fig. 19) protruding anteriorly, wherein the foot (1216) is bifurcated by a keyway (i.e., the gap depicted between 1226 and 1228 in Fig. 19), and the anterior tab body (1228) is receivable in the keyway (i.e., the gap depicted between 1226 and 1228 in Fig. 19) ([0064]-[0065]; anterior tab body 1228 and insert 1226 are both resilient and deformable towards each other into the keyway during insertion into the receiving space 22 and recesses 24, and then resiliently biased away from each other out of the keyway to engage the outer wall 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zappacosta et al. (US 2022/0061998).
McCue, as applied above, discloses a system for knee arthroplasty comprising all the limitations of the claim except for the tibial tray including a keel attached to a distal surface of the tibial tray, and the keel includes a pair of coronal fins and at least one sagittal fin.
However, Zappacosta teaches (see Figs. 16-17) a similar system for knee arthroplasty comprising a tibial tray (12) including a keel (128) attached to a distal surface of the tibial tray (12), and the keel (128) includes a pair of coronal fins (130) and at least one sagittal fin (132) (as shown in Figs. 16-17) in order to beneficially improve and facilitate insertion of the tibial implant without any or minimal prior bone preparation ([0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of McCue to have a tibial tray including a keel attached to a distal surface of the tibial tray, and the keel includes a pair of coronal fins and at least one sagittal fin in order to beneficially improve and facilitate insertion of the tibial implant without any or minimal prior bone preparation, as taught by Zappacosta.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCue as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Overes et al. (US 2017/0266015).
McCue, as applied above, discloses a system for knee arthroplasty comprising all the limitations of the claim except for wherein the threaded opening is a triple lead threaded hole, and the shaft includes a triple lead shaft configured to interface with the triple lead threaded hole to increase translation speed of the anterior tab body.
However, Overes teaches (see Figs. 8a-8b) an implant inserter instrument (1) wherein the threaded opening (18) is a triple lead threaded hole ([0104]; [0111]), and the shaft (70) includes a triple lead shaft ([0111]) configured to interface with the triple lead threaded hole (18) to increase translation speed of the anterior tab body 40 ([0104]; [0111]) in order to beneficially provide a more efficient configuration that facilitates a larger translation per turn ([0104]; [0111]; triple lead configuration expressly taught to facilitate a larger translation per turn). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inserter of McCue to incorporate the threaded opening being a triple lead threaded hole, and the shaft includes a triple lead shaft configured to interface with the triple lead threaded hole to increase translation speed of the anterior tab body in order to beneficially provide a more efficient configuration that facilitates a larger translation per turn.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCue as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Maudlin (US 5,732,992).
McCue, as applied above, discloses a system for knee arthroplasty comprising all the limitations of the claim except for wherein the handle includes an elongate body that terminates distally at a threaded end, wherein the threaded end mates with corresponding threads in the main body.
However, Mauldin teaches (see Figs. 3-5) an inserter for a knee prosthesis wherein the handle (60) includes an elongate body that terminates distally at a threaded end (as best seen in Fig. 5), wherein the threaded end mates with corresponding threads in the main body (46) (as shown in Fig. 3) in order to beneficially provide for simplicity of manufacture and assembly wherein a practitioner’s hand never needs to move to effect the grasping and release motions (col. 6, lines 9-29; col. 7, lines 39-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle of the inserter of McCue to incorporate the handle including an elongate body that terminates distally at a threaded end, wherein the threaded end mates with corresponding threads in the main body in order to beneficially provide for simplicity of manufacture and assembly wherein a practitioner’s hand never needs to move to effect the grasping and release motions.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zappacosta as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Metzger et al. (US 2019/0269422) and Ghijselings (US 2010/0241126).
Zappacosta, as applied above, discloses a system for knee arthroplasty comprising all the limitations of the claim except for wherein the inserter includes a plurality of plugs press fit into the main body, wherein the plurality of plugs protrude from a bottom of the main body, thereby ensuring the main body does not contact the insert receiving space of the tibial tray.
However, Metzger discloses (see Figs. 47-48B) instrumentation and implants for knee surgery ([0002]) and teaches wherein the inserter (530) includes a plurality of plugs (532) in the main body (534), wherein the plurality of plugs (532) protrude from a bottom of the main body (534), thereby ensuring the main body (534) does not contact the insert receiving space of the tibial tray (as shown in Fig. 47; [0103]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the main body of the inserter of Zappacosta to incorporate the inserter including a plurality of plugs, wherein the plurality of plugs protrude from a bottom of the main body, thereby ensuring the main body does not contact the insert receiving space of the tibial tray, in order for the inserter to only contact the tibial tray at the contact surface of the plugs ([0103]).
Metzger fails to teach wherein the plugs are press-fit to the main body and instead discloses where the plugs and main body are integral (as shown in Fig. 47). While Metzger teaches that the plugs and main body are integral, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to design the plugs as press fit into the main body, since it has been held that designing a feature of an apparatus to be integral or modular is ordinary routine practice (MPEP (2141(I))).
Zappacosta also fails to disclose wherein the inserter includes a plurality of plugs press fit into the anterior tab body. However, Ghijselings discloses (see Figs. 7-8) devices for knee arthroplasty (see Abstract) and teaches wherein the inserter (26) includes a plurality of plugs (23/23’) press fit into the anterior tab body (as shown in Figs. 7-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inserter of Zappacosta to incorporate the inserter including a plurality of plugs press-fit into the anterior tab body, in order to fix the position and orientation of the inserter relative to the tibial plate ([0047]).
Claims 7-10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zappacosta et al. (US 2022/0061998) in view of McCue (US 5,788,701).
Zappacosta discloses (see Figs. 1-3 and 18-19) a system for knee arthroplasty comprising the following claim limitations:
(claim 7) An inserter instrument (1200, Fig. 18) for implanting a tibial tray (1010, Fig. 18), the instrument comprising: a main body (1212, Fig. 18) coupled to a handle (1202, Fig. 18), the main body (1212) including a pair of posterior tabs (see annotated Fig. 19 under claim 1 above); a moveable anterior tab body (1226/1228, Fig. 19), the anterior tab body including an anterior tab (1228, Fig. 19) (as shown in Figs. 18-19; [0064]-[0065]; mounting inserts 1226/1228 are expressly resiliently biased away from each other to resiliently engage the perimeter wall 20 of the implant 10 at the posterior and anterior notches);
(claim 8) wherein the main body (1212) includes a foot (1216, Fig. 19) with a neck (1224, Fig. 19) protruding upwardly and an arm (1230, Fig. 19) protruding anteriorly (inserter 1200 is free to be held with the neck extending upward and the arm extending anteriorly);
(claim 9) wherein the foot (1216) has an outer kidney-bean shape (as shown in Fig. 19);
(claim 10) wherein the foot (1216) is bifurcated by a keyway (i.e., the gap depicted between 1226 and 1228 in Fig. 19), and the anterior tab body (1226/1228) is receivable in the keyway (i.e., the gap depicted between 1226 and 1228 in Fig. 19) ([0064]-[0065]; anterior tab body 1228 and insert 1226 are both resilient and deformable towards each other into the keyway during insertion into the receiving space 22 and recesses 24, and then resiliently biased away from each other out of the keyway to engage the outer wall 20);
(claim 12) wherein the anterior tab body (1226/1228) includes a base with an upwardly projecting tongue (at 1216) (as shown in Fig. 19, portion/tongue 1216 projects upward from the anterior tab body 1226/1228); and
(claim 14) wherein the anterior tab (1228) is positioned along an anterior portion of the base (as expressly shown in Fig. 19), wherein the anterior tab (1228) extends along the entire width of the anterior tab body (1226/1228) (as shown in Fig. 19; [0064]-[0065]; mounting insert 1228 is expressly resiliently biased away from opposed mounting insert 1226 to resiliently engage the perimeter wall 20 of the implant 10).
Zappacosta, as applied above, discloses a system for knee arthroplasty comprising all the limitations of the claim except for a rotatable shaft for controlling movement of the anterior tab body, wherein when the shaft is rotated, the anterior tab body is translated outside the main body into a locked position.
However, McCue teaches (see Figs. 2 and 7) a similar knee arthroplasty inserter comprising a rotatable shaft (53, Fig. 7) for controlling movement of the anterior tab body (59, Fig. 7), wherein when the shaft (53) is rotated, the anterior tab body (59) is translated outside the main body (54, Fig. 7) into a locked position (as shown in Fig 7; col. 4, line 64-col. 5, line 30; rotation of shaft 53 expressly moves anterior tab body 59 outside of and away from the main body 54 to lock the tibial tray 56). Accordingly, McCue teaches that it is known that translating an anterior tab body to engage the perimeter of a tibial tray via either a resilient tab material having an outward resilient bias or a threaded shaft providing incremental rotational translation are elements that are functional equivalents for providing translation of an anterior tab body to engage the perimeter of a tibial tray. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have substituted the threaded shaft taught by McCue for the resilient tab material of Zappacosta because both elements were known equivalents for providing translation of an anterior tab body to engage the perimeter of a tibial tray within the knee arthroplasty art. The substitution would have resulted in the predictable results of providing translation of an anterior tab body to engage the perimeter of a tibial tray to the device of Zappacosta.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zappacosta as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Overes et al. (US 2017/0266015).
Zappacosta, as applied above, discloses a system for knee arthroplasty comprising all the limitations of the claim except for wherein the threaded opening is a triple lead threaded hole, and the shaft includes a triple lead shaft configured to interface with the triple lead threaded hole to increase translation speed of the anterior tab body.
However, Overes teaches (see Figs. 8a-8b) an implant inserter instrument (1) wherein the threaded opening (18) is a triple lead threaded hole ([0104]; [0111]), and the shaft (70) includes a triple lead shaft ([0111]) configured to interface with the triple lead threaded hole (18) to increase translation speed of the anterior tab body 40 ([0104]; [0111]) in order to beneficially provide a more efficient configuration that facilitates a larger translation per turn ([0104]; [0111]; triple lead configuration expressly taught to facilitate a larger translation per turn). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inserter of Zappacosta to incorporate a threaded opening in the form of a triple lead threaded hole, and the shaft includes a triple lead shaft configured to interface with the triple lead threaded hole to increase translation speed of the anterior tab body in order to beneficially provide a more efficient configuration that facilitates a larger translation per turn.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zappacosta as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Maudlin (US 5,732,992).
Zappacosta, as applied above, discloses a system for knee arthroplasty comprising all the limitations of the claim except for wherein the handle includes an elongate body that terminates distally at a threaded end, wherein the threaded end mates with corresponding threads in the main body.
However, Mauldin teaches (see Figs. 3-5) an inserter for a knee prosthesis wherein the handle (60) includes an elongate body that terminates distally at a threaded end (as best seen in Fig. 5), wherein the threaded end mates with corresponding threads in the main body (46) (as shown in Fig. 3) in order to beneficially provide for simplicity of manufacture and assembly wherein a practitioner’s hand never needs to move to effect the grasping and release motions (col. 6, lines 9-29; col. 7, lines 39-45). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle of the inserter of Zappacosta to incorporate the handle including an elongate body that terminates distally at a threaded end, wherein the threaded end mates with corresponding threads in the main body in order to beneficially provide for simplicity of manufacture and assembly wherein a practitioner’s hand never needs to move to effect the grasping and release motions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,903,845. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are broader variants of the claims of the patent and this anticipate the claims of the patent, as set forth below. See MPEP 2131.02(I).
Present Invention
U.S. Pat. No. 11,903,845
1
1-4
2
2
3
3
4
1-4
5
1-4
6
4
7
5-10
8
5-10
9
6
10
5-10
11
5-10
12
7-9
13
8
14
9
15
10
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. It is noted that claims 5 and 11 remain subject to double patenting rejections, as set forth above, that must be resolved before these claims can be rewritten into independent form for allowance.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771