Claims 21-40 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US Pub. 2020/0335091 A1) in view of Shah et al. (US Pub, 2021/0390948 A1).
Regarding Claims 21 and 31, Chang teaches a computer-implemented method (see Fig.1, Fig.8 and paragraph [0037]), comprising
receiving input audio data representing a first user utterance (see Fig.1 (120,125) and paragraph [0038]);
processing a first portion of the input audio data to detect human voice activity (see Fig.1 (125,130), paragraph [0039] and paragraph [0054], extracting features from audio data and voice activity detection);
based at least in part on detection of the human voice activity, causing at least partial speech processing to be performed using at least a portion of the input audio data (see Fig.1 (165), Fig.8 (804) and paragraph [0048], partial speech recognition while the user is speaking or until the end of utterance is detected);
and based at least in part on the second portion of the input audio data, causing speech processing to cease (see Fig.8 (806,808), paragraph [0046] and paragraph [0088], endpoint detection and stopping the processing of further speech or listening for additional speech).
Chang fail to teach determining that a second portion of the input audio data lacks a user command intended to cause a system response.
Shah, however, teaches determining that a user utterance lacks a command following detection of a hotword or wakeword (see paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to include to Chang’s method the step for determining that a second portion of the input audio data lacks a user command intended to cause a system response. The motivation would be to determine a false acceptance or unintentional wake-up of a device from the user’s utterance.
Regarding Claims 22 and 32, Chang further teaches wherein processing the input audio data comprises processing, by a wakeword engine, the first portion of the input audio data to detect a first portion of a trigger expression (see Fig.1 (140), paragraph [0039] and paragraph [0046], detecting a wakeword or hotword with a joint ASR processing model).
Regarding Claims 23 and 33, Chang teaches causing speech processing to cease based at least in part on the second portion of the input audio data (see Fig.8 (806,808), paragraph [0046] and paragraph [0088], endpoint detection and stopping the processing of further speech or listening for additional speech), but fails to teach wherein determining that the second portion of the input audio data lacks the user command to cause the system response comprises failing to detect a second portion of the trigger expression using the input audio data.
Shah, however, teaches determining that a user utterance lacks a command following detection of a hotword or wakeword (see paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to include to Chang’s method the step for determining that the second portion of the input audio data lacks the user command to cause the system response that includes failing to detect a second portion of the trigger expression using the input audio data. The motivation would be to determine a false acceptance or unintentional wake-up of a device from the user’s utterance by failing to detect a user command or query following the detection of a wakeword or hotword.
Regarding Claims 24 and 34, Chang teaches causing speech processing to cease based at least in part on the second portion of the input audio data (see Fig.8 (806,808), paragraph [0046] and paragraph [0088], endpoint detection and stopping the processing of further speech or listening for additional speech), but fails to teach failing to detect a second portion of the trigger expression using further input audio data received after the input audio data.
Shah, however, teaches determining that a user utterance lacks a command following detection of a hotword or wakeword (see paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to include to Chang’s method the step for failing to detect a second portion of the trigger expression using further input audio data received after the input audio data The motivation would be to end further speech processing when it is determined that the user’s utterance lacks a command or query following the detection of a wakeword or hotword.
Regarding Claims 25 and 35, Chang teaches processing the input audio data comprises processing the input audio data to detect a first word of a multi-word phrase (see Fig.1 (165) and paragraph [0048], partial speech recognition before the end of utterance or while the user is speaking), but fails to teach determining that the second portion of the input audio data lacks the user command to cause the system response comprises failing to detect a second word of the multi-word phrase.
Shah, however, teaches determining that a user utterance lacks a command following detection of a hotword or wakeword (see paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to include to Chang’s method the step for determining that the second portion of the input audio data lacks the user command to cause the system response comprises failing to detect a second word of the multi-word phrase. The motivation would be to determine a false acceptance or unintentional wake-up of a device from the user’s utterance.
Regarding Claims 26 and 36, Chang teaches causing first data representing the first user utterance to be generated as a result of the least partial speech processing (see Fig.1 (165) and paragraphs [0047-0048], partial speech recognition and transcription), but fails to teach wherein determining that the second portion of the input audio data lacks the user command comprises determining the user command is absent from the first data.
Shah, however, teaches determining that a user utterance lacks a command following detection of a hotword or wakeword (see paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to include to Chang’s method the step for determining a user command is absent from the first data. The motivation would be to determine a false acceptance or unintentional wake-up of a device from the user’s utterance.
Regarding Claims 27 and 37, Chang further teaches processing, by a first device, first audio captured by at least one microphone to determine the input audio data (see Fig.1 (110) and paragraph [0039]), wherein processing the input audio data to detect human voice activity is performed by the first device (see Fig.1 (125,130), paragraph [0039] and paragraph [0054], feature extraction and voice activity detection).
Regarding Claims 28 and 38, Chang further teaches wherein causing the speech processing to cease comprises sending, from the first device to a second device, a request to cause the speech processing to cease (see Fig.1 (110,140) and paragraph [0046], stopping the provision of the audio data to a remote server after the detection of the endpoint of utterance).
Regarding Claims 29 and 39, Chang further teaches causing at least partial speech processing to be performed comprises performing speech processing, by the first device, using the input audio data (see Fig.1 (110,125,165) and paragraph [0048]); and causing the speech processing to cease comprises ceasing, by the first device, the at least partial speech processing (see Fig.8 (806,808), paragraph [0046] and paragraph [0088], end of speech detection, and stopping further speech processing).
Regarding Claims 30 and 40, Chang teaches processing the input audio data to detect the human voice activity uses a first component (see Fig.1 (110,130), paragraph [0039] and paragraph [0054], feature extraction and voice activity detection); and determining that the second portion of the input audio data uses a second component different from the first component (see Fig.1 (140), paragraph [0046] and paragraph [0088], endpoint detection using an endpoint model).
Chang fails to teach determining that the second portion of the input audio data lacks a user command intended to cause the system response.
Shah, however, teaches determining that a user utterance lacks a command following detection of a hotword or wakeword (see paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to include to Chang’s method the step for determining that a second portion of the input audio data lacks a user command intended to cause a system response. The motivation would be to determine a false acceptance or unintentional wake-up of a device from the user’s utterance.
Conclusion
/VU B HANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654