DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to a response filed for No. 18/966,829 on December 8, 2025. Please note Claims 1, 2, 5-8 and 11-15 are pending.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 2, 6-8 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. ( US 2023/0306890 A1 ) in view of Moon et al. ( US 2022/0157263 A1 ). Please note the equivalent WO 2022045676 with a publication date of March 3, 2022 as well.
Cho teaches in Claim 1:
A frequency variable display apparatus ( [0005] discloses a variable frame frequency driving method for a display ) comprising:
a display panel including a plurality of pixels ( Figures 1 and 2, [0033] discloses a display device with a pixel array );
a first controller configured to: in response to the first frame image determine to be the first still image, adjust a frame frequency of the frequency variable display apparatus [from the first target frame frequency to a fixed reference frame frequency] ( Figure 7, [0077] discloses that for a still image, host system can adjust the frequency, from the usual of 40 Hz to 240 Hz, to a lower frequency range (read as a reference frame frequency) ) and implement a real-time sensing and compensation operation in a first vertical blank period of a first fixed frame time that corresponds to the fixed reference frame frequency, while the first still image is displayed by the display panel at the fixed reference frame frequency ( Figure 10, [0079] disclose sensing operations in the vertical blank period as well as compensation aspects. Please note no image data is written during the vertical blank period. As for aspects of the reference frame frequency, please note the combination below ), and
wherein a length of the vertical blank period of the fixed frame time is longer than or equal to a minimum desired time needed for the real-time sensing and compensation operation ( Figures 8-10, [0077]+ disclose the vertical blank period can be adjusted based on the frequency and is designed for a certain number of sensing and compensation periods/processes to be completed (read as longer than or equal to a minimum desired time needed );
Cho does not explicitly teach of “an image analyzer circuit configured to analyze first image data, which is to be written in the plurality of pixels at a first target frame frequency, to determine whether a first frame image that corresponds to the first image data to be displayed by the display panel is a first still image or a first moving image and analyze second image data, which is to be written in the plurality of pixels at a second target frame frequency, to determine whether a second frame image that corresponds to the second image data to be displayed by the display panel is a second still image or a second moving image” and “in response to the second frame image determined to be the second still image, adjust the frame frequency from the second target frame frequency to the fixed reference frame frequency and implement the real-time sensing and compensation operation in a second vertical blank period of a second fixed frame time that corresponds to the fixed reference frame frequency, while the second still image is displayed by the display panel at the fixed reference frame frequency”
Initially, Cho teaches: [0077] discloses a host system can adjust the frame frequency based on the input image. For example, for a still image, the frame frequency can be adjusted accordingly. Respectfully, still/static vs moving images are well known types of image content and Cho clearly teaches being able to distinguish a still image, etc, as is evident from the variable frame rate teachings.
However, in the same field of endeavor, frequency driving in different modes, Moon teaches of a control unit which can determine whether image data is a still image, ( Moon, Figure 5, [0093] ). As a result of the still image, the frame frequency is lowered to a frequency lower/rather than a reference frame frequency (read the lower frequency as a target frame frequency and selected rather than the target frame frequency of Cho). As combined with Cho, aspects of the reference frame frequency can be combined. To clarify, Moon teaches to be able to determine if an image is a still image, to build on Cho’s [0077] teaching. Both Cho and Moon teach of adjusting the frequency from a first (or second) target frame frequency to a fixed reference frame frequency. Cho teaches in [0077] of a range within 1 Hz to 10 Hz, but the range is not limited to and it is clear that one frequency within that range would be selected (read as a fixed reference frame frequency). The claim language is disjointed in the sense that it claims two, a first and second, still image and adjusting first and second target frame frequencies, for each still images. Essentially this is a second, iterative process and the combination teaches for adjusting the frequency of a still image to a lower fixed frequency. As such, it will teach of this for a second image as well.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement aspects of the control unit to analyze image specifics and the reference frame frequency aspect, with the motivation that that by determining still or moving image, the appropriate frequency level can be set, ( Moon, [0093], [0095] ).
Cho teaches in Claim 2:
The frequency variable display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the fixed reference frame frequency is selected as a lowest frame frequency within the certain frequency range. ( [0077] discloses a range and this value is fixed, as shown in Figure 8-10 )
Cho teaches in Claim 6:
The frequency variable display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the image analyzer circuit analyzes the first image data which is to be written in the plurality of pixels, with reference to a memory ( [0045]-[0046] discloses storing the image source in a memory DDR for data processing ); but
Cho may not explicitly teach “the memory comprises an input unit configured to simultaneously perform a storage operation on the image data and a bypass operation on the image data.”
However, Cho teaches in [0036] of data rendering such that the memory DDR may included two divided areas A and B such that the data rendering operation and a transmission operation can be simultaneously performed in different areas. Thus, the storage of one frame data and the processing of the subsequent frame data can be done simultaneously. Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret this as a bypass operation. Applicant’s specification defines this as being able to skip a frame delay and Cho teaches of a similar concept with the simultaneous processing. Furthermore, Cho teaches in [0047] that the complexity of the input image can be changed in real time and offers additional methods for processing. The key point is that Cho teaches of different ways to handle data transmission and processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the simultaneous processing with Cho, with the motivation that the processing efficiency can be improved and this can inhibit the tearing phenomenon, ( Cho, [0048] ).
Cho teaches in Claim 7:
A driving method of a frequency variable display apparatus ( [0005] discloses a variable frame frequency driving method for a display ) including a display panel comprising a plurality of pixels ( Figures 1 and 2, [0033] discloses a display device with a pixel array ), the driving method comprising:
In response to the first frame image determine to be the first still image: adjusting a frame reference frame frequency of the variable display apparatus from the first target frame frequency [to a fixed reference frame frequency while the first still image is displayed by the display panel at the fixed reference frame frequency ( Figure 7, [0077] discloses that for a still image, host system can adjust the frequency, from the usual of 40 Hz to 240 Hz, to a lower frequency range (read as a reference frame frequency) ); and
implementing a real-time sensing and compensation operation in a first vertical blank period of a first fixed frame time that corresponds to the fixed reference frame frequency ( Figure 10, [0079] disclose sensing operations in the vertical blank period as well as compensation aspects. Please note no image data is written during the vertical blank period ), and
in response to the second frame image determined to be the second still image, adjust the frame frequency from the second target frame frequency to the fixed reference frame frequency and implementing the real-time sensing and compensation operation in a second vertical blank period of a second fixed frame time that corresponds to the fixed reference frame frequency, while the second still image is displayed by the display panel at the fixed reference frame frequency;
wherein a length of the vertical blank period of the fixed frame time is longer than or equal to a minimum desired time needed for the real-time sensing and compensation operation ( Figures 8-10, [0077]+ disclose the vertical blank period can be adjusted based on the frequency and is designed for a certain number of sensing and compensation periods/processes to be completed (read as longer than or equal to a minimum desired time needed ) but
Cho does not explicitly teach of “analyzing first image data, which is to be written in the plurality of pixels at a first target frame frequency, to output a first image analysis result representing whether a first frame image that corresponds to the image data to be displayed by the display panel is a first still image or a first moving image; analyzing second image data, which is to be written to the plurality of pixels at a second target frame frequency, to output a second image analysis result representing whether a second frame image that corresponds to the second image data to be displayed by the display panel is a second still image or a second moving image” and “in response to the second frame image determined to be the second still image, adjust the frame frequency from the second target frame frequency to the fixed reference frame frequency and implement the real-time sensing and compensation operation in a second vertical blank period of a second fixed frame time that corresponds to the fixed reference frame frequency, while the second still image is displayed by the display panel at the fixed reference frame frequency”.
Initially, Cho teaches: [0077] discloses a host system can adjust the frame frequency based on the input image. For example, for a still image, the frame frequency can be adjusted accordingly. Respectfully, still/static vs moving images are well known types of image content and Cho clearly teaches being able to distinguish a still image, etc, as is evident from the variable frame rate teachings.
However, in the same field of endeavor, frequency driving in different modes, Moon teaches of a control unit which can determine whether image data is a still image, ( Moon, Figure 5, [0093] ). As a result of the still image, the frame frequency is lowered to a frequency lower/rather than a reference frame frequency (read the lower frequency as a target frame frequency and selected rather than the target frame frequency of Cho). As combined with Cho, aspects of the reference frame frequency can be combined.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement aspects of the control unit to analyze image specifics and the reference frame frequency aspect, with the motivation that that by determining still or moving image, the appropriate frequency level can be set, ( Moon, [0093], [0095] ).
Cho teaches in Claim 8:
The driving method of claim 7, wherein the fixed reference frame frequency is selected as a lowest frame frequency within the certain frequency range. ( [0077] discloses a range and this value is fixed, as shown in Figure 8-10 )
Cho teaches in Claim 12:
The driving method of claim 7, further comprising: converting the first still image into a screen protection image before implementing the real-time sensing and compensation operation in the first vertical blank period of the first fixed frame time. time ( Figure 14, [0094] discloses a black image (read as a screen protection image) is inserted during the sensing period which is during the vertical blanking period )
Cho teaches in Claim 13:
The driving method of claim 12, wherein the screen protection image is a black image. ( [0094] discloses details on the black image )
Cho teaches in Claim 14:
The frequency variable display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first controller converts the first still image into a screen protection image before implementing the real-time sensing and compensation operation in the first vertical blank period of the first fixed frame time. ( Figure 14, [0094] discloses a black image (read as a screen protection image) is inserted during the sensing period which is during the vertical blanking period )
Cho teaches in Claim 15:
The frequency variable display apparatus of claim 14, wherein the screen protection image is a black image. ( [0094] discloses details on the black image )
6. Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al.
( US 2023/0306890 A1 ) and Moon et al. ( US 2022/0157263 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Chappalli et al. ( US 2022/0084477 A1 ).
As per Claim 5:
Cho does not explicitly teach of “a second controller configured to, while the first moving image is being implemented in the display panel, operate based on a variable frame frequency to execute a prediction-based data-temperature compensation algorithm.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, variable refresh rate displays, Chappalli teaches of compensating for temperature variations at the LEDs, ( Chappalli, [0072] ). Notably, the weights that are determined for compensation can be dependent on the actual frame time in the case that the LCD refresh rate is variable. To clarify, for different refresh rates, such as higher refresh rates for moving content, this will result in a different temperature reading and a need for different weighting/adjustment. As combined with Cho, who teaches of variable refresh rate, the temperature compensation aspects can be incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the temperature compensation, as taught by Chappalli, with the motivation that based on the display content/refresh rate, accurate temperature compensation can be achieved, ( Chappalli, [0072] ).
As per Claim 11:
Cho does not explicitly teach “while the first moving image is being implemented in the display panel, operating based on a variable frame frequency to execute a prediction-based data-temperature compensation algorithm.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, variable refresh rate displays, Chappalli teaches of compensating for temperature variations at the LEDs, ( Chappalli, [0072] ). Notably, the weights that are determined for compensation can be dependent on the actual frame time in the case that the LCD refresh rate is variable. To clarify, for different refresh rates, such as higher refresh rates for moving content, this will result in a different temperature reading and a need for different weighting/adjustment. As combined with Cho, who teaches of variable refresh rate, the temperature compensation aspects can be incorporated.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the temperature compensation, as taught by Chappalli, with the motivation that based on the display content/refresh rate, accurate temperature compensation can be achieved, ( Chappalli, [0072] ).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments.
Respectfully, the claim amendments focus on a first and second still image and adjusting a first and second target frame frequency (corresponding to each image) to a fixed frame frequency. However, these amendments appear disjointed and separate from each other. As the rejection notes, the combination teaches of adjusting the frequency for a still image, to a lower frequency. As for it being fixed, both Cho and Moon teach of a range, but it is clear to one of ordinary skill that the exact frequency for each instance is or can be a singular value, depending on the image content. The range is presented as a possibility of values, but only one such value is implemented for an image. It would not be particularly reasonable to adjust the frequency within the same image as to cause discomfort, flicker, etc.
Applicant is advised to better defined and relate the first and second still images together, in order to overcome the current rejection.
Conclusion
8. All claims are either identical to or patentably indistinct from the claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621