DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2016, 03/30/2021 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below.
Reference US 9,268,999 B2 is a general background reference covering: Provided is a table recognizing method, comprising: parsing and analyzing metadata information in an original fixed-layout document, and extracting basic elements on a page of the document; segmenting the basic elements, extracting segmented text lines on the page, and acquiring fragments; constructing an undirected graph with respect to each of the fragments; extracting an image on the page, detecting intersection points of horizontal lines and vertical lines, detecting an external bounding box of the intersection points, and taking whether the segmented text lines fall within the external bounding box as local relationship features; training a learning model according to the local relationship features, local features of the fragments, and neighborhood relationship features among the fragments, acquiring model parameters, and establishing a table recognizing model; and invoking the table recognizing model to perform table recognizing for the document, and acquiring a recognizing result. (see abstract).
Reference US 10,963,632 B2 is a general background reference covering: The disclosure discloses a method, apparatus, device for table extraction based on a richly formatted document and medium. The method comprises: acquiring page content; performing a table detection process on the page content by use of a preset table detection model to obtain a list of table tags, and to obtain a first table content; performing, by use of a preset through-line drawing model, a through-line drawing process on the first table content to obtain a list of through-line tags, and to obtain a second table content; and performing, by use of a preset table-cell merging model, a table-cell merging process on the second table content to obtain a list of short-line tags, and to obtain an explicit table content. (see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Thompson et al. (Thompson) (US 2022/0318224 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Thompson discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processing device, a document image (e.g., a computer-implemented method for detecting and classifying tables and/or tabular data arrangements within an original image, paragraph 25);
detecting a tabular structure within the document image (e.g., detecting one or more tables and/or one or more tabular data arrangements within the processed image data, paragraph 25);
identifying a plurality of rows of the tabular structure, wherein each row of the plurality of rows comprises plurality of lines (e.g., Table 100 also includes a plurality of row headers 104 that describe the data in each row, e.g., “Cash,” “Common and preferred stocks,” “Mutual Funds,” etc., paragraph 81);
for each row of the plurality of rows, identifying a respective plurality of lines comprised by the row; detecting, in the plurality of lines, a set of fields (e.g., the “row descriptors” 104a “Assets valued at NAV as a practical expedient:” must also be considered in order to provide context to the row headers “Common collective funds”, “Alternative investments” and “Money market funds and other”, and to thereby fully describe the contents of these rows, paragraph 81);
detecting a multi-line field by grouping two or more fields of the set of fields (e.g., Turning now to FIG. 1C, a similar situation exists with regard to row descriptors. Specifically, the row header value “Derivatives” appears in row headers 122a, 122b, 122c, and 122d. However, the value “Derivatives” has several different meanings, corresponding to the respective date, and categorization (assets or liabilities) for each entry, as provided by row descriptors, paragraph 84); and
extracting information from the multi-line field (e.g., accordingly, in this exemplary embodiment, the full qualification for these headers are: “Dec. 31, 2017::Assets::Derivatives”, “Dec. 31, 2017::Liabilities::Derivatives”, “Dec. 25, 2016::Assets::Derivatives”, and “Dec. 25, 2016::Liabilities::Derivatives”, respectively, paragraph 84).
Regarding claim 2, Thompson discloses further comprising: identifying vertical boundaries of the tabular structure (e.g., table 100 includes a plurality of column headers 102 (which are vertical boundaries) that describe the data in each column, e.g., “Description,” “Level 1,” “Level 2,” “Total,” and “Plan Asset Mix.”, paragraph 81).
Regarding claim 3, Thompson discloses wherein identifying the plurality of rows further comprises: identifying a plurality of lines of the tabular structure; and classifying each line of the plurality of lines (e.g., Table 100 also includes a plurality of row headers 104 that describe the data in each row, e.g., “Cash,” “Common and preferred stocks,” “Mutual Funds,” etc, paragraph 81).
Regarding claim 4, Thompson discloses wherein identifying the plurality of rows further comprises: identifying a plurality of lines of the tabular structure; and clustering the plurality of lines into a plurality of clusters (e.g., Table 100 also includes a plurality of row headers 104 that describe the data in each row, e.g., “Cash,” “Common and preferred stocks,” “Mutual Funds,” etc, paragraph 81).
Regarding claim 5, Thompson discloses wherein identifying the set of field types further comprises: determining, for each line of the one or more lines, a corresponding line type derived from a corresponding set of field types of one or more fields comprised by the line (e.g., In the example of table 110, shown in FIG. 1B, column headers 112a, 112b (“Ending Account Value Jun. 30, 2018”) taken alone, do not reflect the full context of the information depicted in the respective columns. These column headers 112a, 112b therefore require additional qualification to fully understand their context and meaning. The fully qualified header values for column headers 112a, 112b must also include the context provided by the column descriptors 114a and 114b, which reside above column headers 112a, 112b, paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 6, Thompson discloses further comprising: training a table detection classifier for detecting one or more tabular structures within a document (e.g., a computer-implemented method for classifying one or more tables and/or one or more tabular data arrangements depicted in image data includes: training at least one machine learning model, using a training dataset representing a plurality of different tables and/or tabular data arrangements, based at least in part on a plurality of recognized textual elements within the training dataset; outputting at least one trained classification model based on the training, wherein the at least one trained classification model is configured to classify one or more tables, paragraph 107).
Regarding claim 7, Thompson discloses further comprising: training a vertical boundary detection classifier for identifying vertical boundaries of the one or more tabular structures (e.g., a computer-implemented method for classifying columns of one or more tables and/or one or more tabular data arrangements depicted in image data includes: training at least one machine learning model, using a training dataset representing a plurality of different types of tables and/or tabular data arrangements, based at least in part on: a plurality of recognized textual elements within the training dataset; and a plurality of recognized regions and/or subregions of the different types of tables and/or tabular data arrangements represented by the training dataset; outputting at least one trained column classification model based on the training, wherein each trained column classification model is configured to classify columns of a particular type of table, paragraph 108).
Regarding claim 8, Thompson discloses further comprising: training a row detection classifier for determining a row layout of the one or more tabular structures (e.g., data may be arranged in different locations with respect to different documents including similar tables (e.g., different columns, rows, etc.). Data may be formatted differently (e.g., using different units, patterns of expression, etc.), and/or tables may have different structures (e.g., different numbers of rows/columns, spacing between rows/columns, presence/absence of some or all graphical lines, etc.), paragraph 137).
Regarding claim 9, Thompson discloses further comprising: training a field detection module for detecting fields of the one or more tabular structures (e.g., in practical applications table and tabular data arrangements are often represented in very diverse ways, particularly with respect to structure (i.e., physical layout of the table/data), arrangement, (i.e., how data are organized within the overall structure, e.g., order of columns/rows) and formatting (i.e., manner in which data (including any headers, footers, title, or other descriptor of the data in the table/arrangement) are represented), paragraphs 136 and further 139, 158).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is a system comprising: a memory; and a processing device operatively coupled to the memory (e.g., FIG. 2B shows a representative hardware environment associated with a user device 216 and/or server 214 of FIG. 2A, in accordance with one approach. Such Figure illustrates a typical hardware configuration of a workstation having a central processing unit 210, such as a microprocessor, and a number of other units interconnected via a system bus 212, paragraph 121), the processing device configured to: The remaining limitations are similar to limitations of claim 1. Therefore, the remaining limitations of claim 10 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is the system claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected as set forth above as claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is the system claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected as set forth above as claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is the system claim with limitations similar of limitations of claims 6-9. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected as set forth above as claim 6-9.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected as set forth above as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected as set forth above as claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 2. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected as set forth above as claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected as set forth above as claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 4. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected as set forth above as claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim with limitations similar of limitations of claim 5. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected as set forth above as claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim with limitations similar of limitations of claims 6-9. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected as set forth above as claims 6-9.
Conclusion
/QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683