DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 12/03/2024 in which claims 1-11 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/092305 A1 (hereinafter WO305) in view of Sun et al (hereinafter Sun) (US 2024/0405562 A1).
As to claim 1, WO305 discloses a power converter (Fig 1, 101) configured to supply power from one of an AC power grid (Fig 1, 115) or an energy storage device (Fig 1, 113) to an load, the power converter comprising:
a positive DC line and a negative DC line (Fig 1, 103a, 103b);
a first leg extending between the positive DC line and the negative DC line, the first leg including a first switch (Fig 1, 111a) and a second switch (Fig 1, 112a);
a second leg extending between the positive DC line and the negative DC line, the second leg including a third switch (Fig 1, 111b) and a fourth switch (Fig 1, 112b);
a third leg extending between the positive DC line and the negative DC line, the third leg including a fifth switch (Fig 1, 111c) and a sixth switch (Fig 1, 112c);
wherein the first leg, second and third leg are part of a three-phase inverter package (Fig 1, 102, page 7, lines 24-26);
the AC power grid connected to a junction (Fig 1, connection point between 111a and 112a) between the first switch and the second switch;
the AC power grid connected to a junction (Fig 1, connection point between 111b and 112b) between the third switch and the fourth switch;
a controller (Fig 1, 106) configured to control one or more of the first switch, the second switch, the third switch, the fourth switch, the fifth switch and the sixth switch;
wherein the controller is configured to operate the power converter in a DC-AC mode in which power from the energy storage device is supplied to the AC power grid (see page 9, lines 1-13).
WO305 does not disclose wherein the controller is configured to operate the power converter in an AC-DC mode in which power from the AC power grid is used to charge the energy storage device. However, Sun discloses the controller is configured to operate the power converter (Fig 2, energy route 3) in an AC-DC mode in which power from the AC power grid (Fig 2, power grid) is used to charge the energy storage device (see Fig 2, energy storage device). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the converter of WO305 to include the teachings as taught by Sun in order to effectively charge the energy storage device with the power from the grid.
As to claim 2, the combination of WO305 and Sun discloses the power converter of claim 1, wherein: the AC power grid is connected to the junction between the first switch and the second switch through a reactor (WO305, see Fig 1, 105).
As to claim 3, the combination of WO305 and Sun discloses the power converter of claim 1, wherein: a positive terminal (WO305, Fig 2, 207a) of the energy storage device is connected to a junction (WO305, see Fig 2, connection between 211c and 212c) between the fifth switch and the sixth switch; and
a negative terminal (WO305, Fig 2, 207b) of the energy storage device is connected to the negative DC line.
As to claim 4, the combination of WO305 and Sun discloses the power converter of claim 3, wherein the positive terminal of the energy storage device is connected to the junction between the fifth switch and the sixth switch through an inductor (WO305, see Fig 2, 209c).
As to claim 7, the combination of WO305 and Sun discloses the power converter of claim 1, wherein: a positive terminal of the energy storage device is connected to the positive DC line; and a negative terminal of the energy storage device is connected to the negative DC line (WO305, Fig 1, 103a, 103b).
As to claim 8, WO305 discloses a power converter (Fig 1, 101) configured to supply power from one of an AC power grid (Fig 1, 115) or an energy storage device (Fig 1, 113) to an load, the power converter comprising:
a positive DC line and a negative DC line (Fig 1, 103a, 103b);
a first leg extending between the positive DC line and the negative DC line, the first leg including a first switch (Fig 1, 111a) and a second switch (Fig 1, 112a);
a second leg extending between the positive DC line and the negative DC line, the second leg including a third switch (Fig 1, 111b) and a fourth switch (Fig 1, 112b);
a third leg extending between the positive DC line and the negative DC line, the third leg including a fifth switch (Fig 1, 111c) and a sixth switch (Fig 1, 112c);
wherein the first leg, second and third leg are part of a three-phase inverter package (Fig 1, 102, page 7, lines 24-26);
a controller (Fig 1, 106) configured to control one or more of the first switch, the second switch, the third switch, the fourth switch, the fifth switch and the sixth switch.
WO305 does not disclose:
an air conditioning load connected to the junction between the third switch and the fourth switch and the air conditioning load connected to a junction between the fifth switch and the sixth switch; a controller configured to supply power from one of the AC power grid or the energy storage device the air conditioning system; wherein the controller is configured to operate the power converter in an AC-AC mode in which power from the AC power grid is used to power the air conditioning load wherein the controller is configured to operate the power converter in a DC-AC mode in which power from the energy storage device is supplied to the air conditioning load. However, Sun discloses an air conditioning load (Fig 2, air conditioners, A1-An, B1-Bn, C1-Cn) connected to the junction between the third switch and the fourth switch and the air conditioning load connected to a junction between the fifth switch and the sixth switch (see parags [0067-0068]); a controller configured to supply power from one of the AC power grid (Fig 2, power grid) or the energy storage device (Fig 2, energy storage device) the air conditioning system; wherein the controller is configured to operate the power converter in an AC-AC mode (Fig 2, router 1) in which power from the AC power grid (Fig 2, power grid) is used to power the air conditioning load (Fig 2, air conditioners) wherein the controller is configured to operate the power converter in a DC-AC mode (Fig 2, router 3) in which power from the energy storage device (Fig 2, energy storage device) is supplied to the air conditioning load (see parags [0067-0068]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the converter of WO305 to include the teachings as taught by Sun in order to provide power to the air conditioning loads from both grid power and energy storage power.
As to claim 9, the combination of WO305 and Sun discloses the power converter of claim 8, wherein the air conditioning load is connected through a low pass filter (WO305, see Fig 1, 205).
As to claim 12, the combination of WO305 and Sun discloses the power converter of claim 8, wherein the second leg comprises a shared leg used for both the AC-AC mode and the DC-AC mode (see Fig 1, abstract, the inverter 102 can work in AC-AC and DC-AC modes).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 01/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WO305 and Sun et al.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUC M PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 May 23, 2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836