Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 10, 13, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ameloot et al. (US 20110187155 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ameloot teaches “A side structure of a vehicle body comprising:
a rear quarter assembly (inner side panel, see paragraph 0006) having a quarter glass opening flange (inner window area and attachment flange, paragraph 0006) formed therein;
a side outer assembly connected to the rear quarter assembly (inner and outer panels connected via a pillar, see paragraph 0031); and
a quarter glass opening bracket directly mounted on the quarter glass opening flange (bracket is connected to flange via window sash, see paragraph 0068) and connected to the side outer assembly (bracket is secured to outer panel, see paragraph 0069).”
Regarding claim 2, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 1, wherein the side outer assembly comprises a quarter glass mount flange (outer panel comprises window sash with flange portion, see paragraph 0055) connected to the quarter glass opening bracket (bracket is connected to flange and sash, see paragraph 0068).”
Regarding claim 4, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 1, wherein the side outer assembly comprises a quarter glassless portion of skin type (optionally removable portions provide windowless outer surface, see paragraph 0037) connected to the quarter glass opening bracket (optionally removable support brackets that span opening, connected to windowless portion via outer panel, see paragraph 0038).”
Regarding claim 6, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 1, wherein the quarter glass opening bracket comprises:
an outer edge connected to the quarter glass opening flange (see Ameloot, Figure 10.1); and
an inner edge extending in a side outward direction through a stepped portion from the outer edge and connected to the side outer assembly (see Ameloot, Figure 10.1).”
Ameloot, Figure 10.1
Regarding claim 10, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 6, wherein the quarter glass opening bracket further comprises a reinforcement portion connecting to at least a portion of the inner edge (see Ameloot, Figure 6.1).”
Ameloot, Figure 6.1
Regarding claim 11, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 10, wherein at least two split opening sections are formed in the reinforcement portion of the quarter glass opening bracket (see Ameloot, Figure 6.2).”
Ameloot, Figure 6.2
Regarding claim 12, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 10, wherein at least one slot is formed in the reinforcement portion (see Ameloot, Figure 6.3).”
Ameloot, Figure 6.3
Regarding claim 13, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 1, wherein the rear quarter assembly is provided by a first assembly process (outer side panels are assembled with the vehicle using conventional means, see paragraph 0054).”
Regarding claim 14, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 13, wherein after the first assembly process, the quarter glass opening bracket mounted on the quarter glass opening flange is provided by a second assembly process performed to connect the quarter glass opening bracket to the quarter glass opening flange (see Ameloot, Figure 10.2).”
Ameloot, Figure 10.2
Regarding claim 18, Ameloot teaches “A side structure of a vehicle body comprising:
a modular rear quarter assembly having a modular quarter glass opening flange formed therein (inner panel includes attachment flange, see paragraph 0045);
a first side outer assembly or a second side outer assembly connected to the modular rear quarter assembly, wherein the first side outer assembly differs from the second side outer assembly (outer panel can have either have a window or not depending on the removal of modular components, see paragraph 0036); and
a first quarter glass opening bracket or a second quarter glass opening bracket directly mounted on the modular quarter glass opening flange, wherein the first quarter glass opening bracket (bracket assembly, see paragraph 0069) differs from the second quarter glass opening bracket (removable support bracket, see paragraph 0038),
wherein if the first side outer assembly is connected to the modular rear quarter assembly, then the first quarter glass opening bracket is mounted on the modular quarter glass opening flange, and the first quarter glass opening bracket is connected to the first side outer assembly (bracket assembly accepts window glass for first configuration, see paragraph 0069), and
wherein if the second side outer assembly is connected to the modular rear quarter assembly, then the second quarter glass opening bracket is mounted on the modular quarter glass opening flange, and the second quarter glass opening bracket is connected to the second side outer assembly (support bracket spans windowless area in second configuration, see paragraph 0045).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 7-9, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ameloot et al. (US 20110187155 A1), in view of Carrillo Fernandez et al. (US 20230063579 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ameloot teaches all the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 2 above, except “the quarter glass opening bracket is connected to the quarter glass opening flange and the quarter glass mount flange by welding.”
However, Carrillo Fernandez teaches that automotive panels and brackets may be fixedly attached with “mechanical fasteners or welding techniques.” (See paragraph 0045)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the fasteners fixedly connecting the quarter glass opening flange and mounting flange as taught by Ameloot, with weldments as taught by Carrillo Fernandez, to more securely connect the components while avoiding the possibility of poor vibration management associated with fasteners, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 4, and wherein the quarter glass opening bracket is connected to the quarter glassless portion by a sealer (structural adhesive rigidly connects support bracket to windowless portion, see paragraph 0059).”
Ameloot does not teach “the quarter glass opening bracket is connected to the quarter glass opening flange by welding.”
However, Carrillo Fernandez teaches that automotive panels and brackets may be fixedly attached with “mechanical fasteners or welding techniques.” (See paragraph 0045)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the fasteners fixedly connecting the quarter glass opening flange and support bracket as taught by Ameloot, with weldments as taught by Carrillo Fernandez, to more securely connect the components while avoiding the possibility of poor vibration management associated with fasteners, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Ameloot teaches all the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 6 above, except “The side structure of claim 6, wherein the outer edge is connected by welding to the quarter glass opening flange.”
However, Carrillo Fernandez teaches that automotive panels and brackets may be fixedly attached with “mechanical fasteners or welding techniques.” (See paragraph 0045)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the fasteners fixedly connecting the quarter glass opening flange and outer edge as taught by Ameloot, with weldments as taught by Carrillo Fernandez, to more securely connect the components while avoiding the possibility of poor vibration management associated with fasteners, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Ameloot, in view of Carrillo Fernandez, teaches all the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 7 above, except “wherein the inner edge is connected to a quarter glass mount flange formed on the side outer assembly by welding”
However, Carrillo Fernandez teaches that automotive panels and brackets may be fixedly attached with “mechanical fasteners or welding techniques.” (See paragraph 0045)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the fasteners fixedly connecting the quarter glass mount flange and inner edge as taught by Ameloot, with weldments as taught by Carrillo Fernandez, to more securely connect the components while avoiding the possibility of poor vibration management associated with fasteners, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, Ameloot, in view of Carrillo Fernandez, teaches “The side structure of claim 7, wherein the inner edge is positioned at a predetermined interval from a quarter glassless portion formed on the side outer assembly, and wherein the inner edge is connected to the quarter glassless portion by a sealer (structural adhesive rigidly connects inner edge to windowless portion, see paragraph 0059).”
Regarding claim 19, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 18, wherein if the first side outer assembly is connected to the modular rear quarter assembly, then the first side outer assembly comprises a quarter glass mount flange connected to the first quarter glass opening bracket (bracket is connected to flange and sash, see paragraph 0068).”
Ameloot does not teach “the first quarter glass opening bracket is connected to the modular quarter glass opening flange and the quarter glass mount flange by welding.”
However, Carrillo Fernandez teaches that automotive panels and brackets may be fixedly attached with “mechanical fasteners or welding techniques.” (See paragraph 0045)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the fasteners fixedly connecting the quarter glass opening flange and mounting flange as taught by Ameloot, with weldments as taught by Carrillo Fernandez, to more securely connect the components while avoiding the possibility of poor vibration management associated with fasteners, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, Ameloot teaches “The side structure of claim 18, wherein if the second side outer assembly is connected to the modular rear quarter assembly, then the second side outer assembly comprises a quarter glassless portion of skin type connected to the second quarter glass opening bracket (optionally removable support brackets that span opening, connected to windowless portion via outer panel, see paragraph 0038), and the second quarter glass opening bracket is connected to the quarter glassless portion by a sealer (structural adhesive rigidly connects support bracket to windowless portion, see paragraph 0059).”
Ameloot does not teach “the second quarter glass opening bracket is connected to the modular quarter glass opening flange by welding.”
However, Carrillo Fernandez teaches that automotive panels and brackets may be fixedly attached with “mechanical fasteners or welding techniques.” (See paragraph 0045)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the fasteners fixedly connecting the quarter glass opening flange and support bracket as taught by Ameloot, with weldments as taught by Carrillo Fernandez, to more securely connect the components while avoiding the possibility of poor vibration management associated with fasteners, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claims 15-17 is the inclusion in the claim of limitations directed to “after the second assembly process, the quarter glass opening bracket connected to the side outer assembly is provided by a third assembly process performed to connect the quarter glass opening bracket and the side outer assembly” Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. Prior art fails to teach an order of assembly in which the glass mounting bracket is fixed to the assembly before the inner and outer panels are joined, rendering claim 15 allowable if rewritten to be independent. Claims 16 and 17 would become allowable by virtue of dependence on claim 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant’s argument that Ameloot fails anticipate the claimed invention because Ameloot does not disclose a configuration by which various vehicle models can be produced depending on the type of quarter glass opening bracket is not persuasive. The specific steps pertaining to how the various vehicle models are produced are not claimed. There are no method claims present in the claim of limitations. Therefore, the process by which different vehicle models may be produced is irrelevant to the product of manufacture claimed. Ameloot must simply anticipate the specific configuration of a quarter glass opening bracket mounted on a rear quarter assembly and side outer assembly, which it does, regardless of how this configuration may be modified to produce differing vehicle bodies.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant’s argument that Ameloot fails anticipate the claimed invention because Ameloot does not disclose a configuration by which various vehicle models can be produced depending on the type of quarter glass opening bracket is not persuasive. The specific steps pertaining to how the various vehicle models are produced are not claimed. There are no method claims present in the claim of limitations. Therefore, the process by which different vehicle models may be produced is irrelevant to the product of manufacture claimed. Ameloot must simply anticipate the specific configuration of a quarter glass opening bracket mounted on a rear quarter assembly and side outer assembly, which it does, regardless of how this configuration may be modified to produce differing vehicle bodies.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JRC/
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
October 1, 2026