DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 17-19, 21-22, 24-30, 35, 42-44, 46-47, 49-51, 53, 56-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arizumi et al. (US 2022/0254570).
Figure 1: Fig. 2 of Arizumi ‘570 with cross-sectional area of 1.85 μm × 1.85 μm shown – note area has A=2 and B=6
In regards to claim 1, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
A multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body including a capacitance formation portion including a dielectric layer (2 – fig. 1; [0026]) and an internal electrode (3 – fig. 1; [0028]); and
an external electrode disposed on the body (4 – fig. 1; [0030]),
wherein when secondary phase grains including rare earth element and titanium (Ti) are referred to as first secondary phase grains (18 – fig. 2; [0040]) and secondary phase grains (16 – fig. 2; [0040]) including the rare earth element and silicon (Si) are referred to as second secondary phase grains, and when the number of the first secondary phase grains included in the capacitance formation portion is referred to as A and the number of the second secondary phase grains included in the capacitance formation portion is referred to as B,
the capacitance formation portion satisfies 0 < A/(A+B) ≤ 0.4 (fig. 2 & present office action fig. 1 (POA1) – A=2 & B=6 in the 1.85 by 1.85 cross section; thus A/(A+B)=0.25).
In regards to claim 2, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the capacitance formation portion includes a cross-sectional area of 1.85 μm × 1.85 μm satisfying a condition of 0 < A/(A+B) ≤ 0.4 (POA1 – A=2 & B=6 in the 1.85 by 1.85 cross section; thus A/(A+B)=0.25).
In regards to claim 3, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 2, wherein in the cross-sectional area of 1.85 μm × 1.85 μm satisfying the condition 0 < A/(A+B) ≤ 0.4, A and B satisfy 5 ≤ A+B < 20 (POA1 – A=2 & B=6 in the 1.85 by 1.85 cross section; thus A+B=8).
In regards to claim 4, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the rare earth element is at least one of lanthanum (La), samarium (Sm), dysprosium (Dy), terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), and gadolinium (Gd) ([0039] & table 1).
In regards to claim 5, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the rare earth element does not include at least one of ytterbium (Yb) and yttrium (Y) ([0039] & table 1).
In regards to claim 10, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the first secondary phase grains further include silicon (Si), and an average atomic percentage of silicon (Si) included in the first secondary phase grains is 0.05 at% or more and 1.0 at% or less ([0046]).
In regards to claim 17, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer includes a barium titanate (BaTiO3)-based main component ([0094]).
In regards to claim 18, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 17, wherein the dielectric layer further includes a first subcomponent element,
wherein the first subcomponent element is a variable-valency acceptor element, and the number of mols of the first subcomponent element compared to 100 mol of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer is 0.3 mol or more and 0.5 mol or less (table 1 & [0094]).
In regards to claim 19, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 18, wherein the variable-valency acceptor element is at least one of manganese (Mn), vanadium (V), chromium (Cr), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), and zinc (Zn) (table 1 & [0094]).
In regards to claim 21, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 17, wherein the dielectric layer further includes a second subcomponent element,
wherein the second subcomponent element is magnesium (Mg), and the number of mols of the second subcomponent element compared to 100 mol of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer is 0.3 mol or more and 0.5 mol or less (table 1 & [0094]).
In regards to claim 22, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 17, wherein the dielectric layer further includes a third subcomponent element,
wherein the third subcomponent element is the rare earth element, and the number of mols of the third subcomponent element compared to 100 mol of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer is 3.5 mol or more and 5.5 mol or less (table 1).
In regards to claim 24, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 17, wherein the dielectric layer further includes a fifth subcomponent element,
wherein the fifth subcomponent element is silicon (Si), and the number of mols of the fifth subcomponent element compared to 100 mol of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer is 1.1 mol or more and 3 mol or less (table 1).
In regards to claim 25, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
A multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body including a capacitance formation portion including a dielectric layer (2 – fig. 1; [0026]) and an internal electrode (3 – fig. 1; [0028]); and
an external electrode disposed on the body (4 – fig. 1; [0030]),
wherein when secondary phase grains including rare earth element and titanium (Ti) are referred to as first secondary phase grains (18 – fig. 2; [0040]) and secondary phase grains (16 – fig. 2; [0040]) including the rare earth element and silicon (Si) are referred to as second secondary phase grains, and when the number of the first secondary phase grains included in the capacitance formation portion is referred to as A and the number of the second secondary phase grains included in the capacitance formation portion is referred to as B,
the capacitance formation portion satisfies 0 < A and 0 < B (fig. 2; [0040]).
In regards to claim 26, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 25, wherein the capacitance formation portion satisfies 0 < A < B (fig. 2 & POA1 – A=2 & B=6 in the 1.85 by 1.85 cross section).
In regards to claim 27, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 26, wherein the capacitance formation portion includes a cross-sectional area of 1.85 μm × 1.85 μm satisfying a condition of 0 < A < B (fig. 2 & present office action fig. 1 (POA1) – A=2 & B=6 in the 1.85 by 1.85 cross section).
In regards to claim 28, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 27, wherein in the cross-sectional area of 1.85 μm × 1.85 μm satisfying the condition of 0 < A < B, A and B satisfy 5 ≤ A+B < 20 (fig. 2 & present office action fig. 1 (POA1) – A=2 & B=6 in the 1.85 by 1.85 cross section; thus A+B=8).
In regards to claim 29, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 25, wherein the rare earth element includes at least one of lanthanum (La), samarium (Sm), dysprosium (Dy), terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), and gadolinium (Gd) ([0039] & table 1).
In regards to claim 30, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 25, wherein the rare earth element does not include at least one of ytterbium (Yb) and yttrium (Y) ([0039] & table 1).
In regards to claim 35, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 25, wherein the first secondary phase grains further include silicon (Si), and the average atomic percentage of silicon (Si) included in the first secondary phase grains is 0.05 at% or more and 1.0 at% or less ([0046]).
In regards to claim 42, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 25, wherein the dielectric layer includes a barium titanate (BaTiO3)-based main component ([0094]).
In regards to claim 43, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 42, wherein the dielectric layer further includes a first subcomponent element,
wherein the first subcomponent element is a variable-valency acceptor element, and the number of mols of the first subcomponent element compared to 100 mol of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer is 0.3 mol or more and 0.5 mol or less (table 1 & [0094]).
In regards to claim 44, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 43, wherein the variable-valency acceptor element is at least one of manganese (Mn), vanadium (V), chromium (Cr), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), and zinc (Zn) (table 1 & [0094]).
In regards to claim 46, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 42, wherein the dielectric layer further includes a second subcomponent element,
wherein the second subcomponent element is magnesium (Mg), and the number of mols of the second subcomponent element compared to 100 mol of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer is 0.3 mol or more and 0.5 mol or less (table 1 & [0094]).
In regards to claim 47, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 42, wherein the dielectric layer further includes a third subcomponent element,
wherein the third subcomponent element is the rare earth element, and the number of mols of the third subcomponent element compared to 100 mol of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer is 3.5 mol or more and 5.5 mol or less (table 1).
In regards to claim 49, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 42, wherein the dielectric layer further includes a fifth subcomponent element,
wherein the fifth subcomponent element is silicon (Si), and the number of mols of the fifth subcomponent element compared to 100 mol of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer is 1.1 mol or more and 3 mol or less (table 1).
In regards to claim 50, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
A dielectric material comprising: first secondary phase dielectric grains (18 – fig. 2; [0040]) comprising titanium and a rare earth element, a number of first secondary phase grains in the dielectric material being A; and
second secondary phase dielectric grains (16 – fig. 2; [0040]) comprising silicon and a rare earth element, a number of second secondary phase grains in the dielectric material being B,
wherein 0 < A < B, and 0 < A/(A+B) ≤ 0.4 (fig. 2 & POA1 – A=2 & B=6 in the 1.85 by 1.85 cross section; thus A/(A+B)=0.25).
In regards to claim 51, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The dielectric material of claim 50, wherein the rare earth element is at least one selected from the group consisting of lanthanum (La), samarium (Sm), dysprosium (Dy), terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), and gadolinium (Gd), and does not include at least one of ytterbium (Yb) and yttrium (Y) ([0039] & table 1).
In regards to claim 53, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The dielectric material of claim 50, further comprising barium titanate-based main component, and one, two, three, four or five subcomponents, at least one subcomponent comprising at least one variable-valency acceptor element selected from the group consisting of manganese (Mn), vanadium (V), chromium (Cr), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), copper (Cu), and zinc (Zn) (table 1).
In regards to claim 56, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The dielectric material of claim 50, wherein a size of the first secondary phase grains is in a range from 50 nm to 1 µm, and a size of the second secondary phase grains is in a range from 100 nm to 1 µm (fig. 2)
In regards to claim 57, Arizumi ‘570 discloses
The dielectric material of claim 50, having a dielectric constant of greater than 1500 at room temperature and a breakdown voltage of greater than 350 V (table 1-2; When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties (dielectric constant & breakdown voltage) are presumed to be inherent.
Claim(s) 1, 11, 25, 36, 50, 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morigasaki et al. (US 20150274597).
In regards to claim 1, Morigasaki ‘597 discloses
A multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body (10 – fig. 1; [0031]) including a capacitance formation portion including a dielectric layer (2 – fig. 1; [0031]) and an internal electrode (3 – fig. 1; [0031]); and
an external electrode (4 – fig. 1; [0031]) disposed on the body,
wherein when secondary phase grains including rare earth element and titanium (Ti) are referred to as first secondary phase grains (b – fig. 2; [0067]) and secondary phase grains including the rare earth element and silicon (Si) are referred to as second secondary phase grains (b – fig. 2; [0067]), and when the number of the first secondary phase grains included in the capacitance formation portion is referred to as A (A is taken to be 30% of particles b) and the number of the second secondary phase grains included in the capacitance formation portion is referred to as B (B is taken to be 70% of particles b),
the capacitance formation portion satisfies 0 < A/(A+B) ≤ 0.4 (fig. 2; A is taken to be 30% of particles b & B is taken to be 70% of particles b; thus A/(A+B)=0.3).
In regards to claim 11, Morigasaki ‘597 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element to an average atomic percentage of silicon (Si) included in the second secondary phase grains is 0.5 or more and 2.0 or less ([0067]).
In regards to claim 25, Morigasaki ‘597 discloses
A multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body (10 – fig. 1; [0031]) including a capacitance formation portion including a dielectric layer (2 – fig. 1; [0031]) and an internal electrode (3 – fig. 1; [0031]); and
an external electrode (4 – fig. 1; [0031]) disposed on the body,
wherein when secondary phase grains including rare earth element and titanium (Ti) are referred to as first secondary phase grains (b – fig. 2; [0067]) and secondary phase grains including the rare earth element and silicon (Si) are referred to as second secondary phase grains (b – fig. 2; [0067]), and when the number of the first secondary phase grains included in the capacitance formation portion is referred to as A (A is taken to be 30% of particles b) and the number of the second secondary phase grains included in the capacitance formation portion is referred to as B (B is taken to be 70% of particles b),
the capacitance formation portion satisfies 0 < A and 0 < B (both A & B are greater than 0).
In regards to claim 36, Morigasaki ‘597 discloses
The multilayer electronic component according to claim 25, wherein a ratio of an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element to an atomic percentage of silicon (Si) included in the second secondary phase grains is 0.5 or more and 2.0 or less ([0067]).
In regards to claim 50, Morigasaki ‘597 discloses
A dielectric material comprising: first secondary phase dielectric grains (b – fig. 2; [0067])comprising titanium and a rare earth element, a number of first secondary phase grains in the dielectric material being A (A is taken to be 30% of particles b); and
second secondary phase dielectric grains (b – fig. 2; [0067])comprising silicon and a rare earth element, a number of second secondary phase grains in the dielectric material being B (B is taken to be 70% of particles b),
wherein 0 < A < B, and 0 < A/(A+B) ≤ 0.4 (fig. 2; A is taken to be 30% of particles b & B is taken to be 70% of particles b; thus A/(A+B)=0.3).
In regards to claim 56, Morigasaki ‘597 discloses
The dielectric material of claim 50, wherein a size of the first secondary phase grains is in a range from 50 nm to 1 µm, and a size of the second secondary phase grains is in a range from 100 nm to 1 µm (table 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(a) 6-9, 12-16, 20, 23, 31-34, 37-41, 45, 48, 52, & 54-55 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein a ratio of an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element to an average atomic percentage of titanium (Ti) included in the first secondary phase grains is 0.4 or more and 1.5 or less (claim 6s & 31), wherein an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element included in the first secondary phase grains is 10 at% or more and 25 at% or less (claims 7 & 32), wherein an average atomic percentage of titanium (Ti) included in the first secondary phase grains is more than 15 at% and 20 at% or less (claims 8 & 33), wherein the first secondary phase grains further include barium (Ba), and an average atomic percentage of barium (Ba) included in the first secondary phase grains is 0.01 at% or more and 6 at% or less (claims 9 & 34), wherein an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element included in the second secondary phase grains is 20 at% or more and 25 at% or less (claims 12 & 37), wherein an average atomic percentage of silicon (Si) included in the second secondary phase grains is 10 at% or more and 15 at% or less (claims 13 & 38), wherein the second secondary phase grains further include barium (Ba), and an average atomic percentage of barium (Ba) included in the second secondary phase grains is 1 at% or more and 5 at% or less (claims 14 & 39), wherein the second secondary phase grains further include titanium (Ti), and an average atomic percentage of titanium (Ti) included in the second secondary phase grains is 0.1 at% or more and 1.0 at% or less (claims 15 & 40), wherein the dielectric layer includes dielectric grains of a core-shell structure including a rare earth element, an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element in the core is more than 0 at% and less than 0.5 at%, and an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element in the shell is 0.5 at% or more and less than 2.0 at% (claims 16 & 41), wherein the dielectric layer further includes a first subcomponent element, wherein the first subcomponent element is a valence variable acceptor element, the valence variable acceptor element is manganese (Mn) and vanadium (V), and the number of mols of the first subcomponent element compared to 100 mol of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer is 0.3 mol or more and 0.5 mol or less (claims 20 & 45), wherein the dielectric layer further includes a fourth subcomponent element, wherein the fourth subcomponent element is at least one of barium (Ba) and calcium (Ca), and the number of mols of the fourth subcomponent element compared to 100 mol of titanium (Ti) included in the dielectric layer is 1 mol or more and 1.5 mol or less (claims 23 & 48), further comprising dielectric grains having a core-shell structure and including a rare earth element, wherein an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element in the core is more than 0 at% and less than 0.5 at%, and an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element in the shell is 0.5 at% or more and less than 2.0 at% (claim 52), wherein a ratio of an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element to an average atomic percentage of silicon (Si) included in the second secondary phase grains is 0.5 or more and 2.0 or less, an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element included in the second secondary phase grains is 20 at% or more and 25 at% or less, and an average atomic percentage of silicon (Si) included in the second secondary phase grains is 10 at% or more and 15 at% or less (claim 54), wherein a ratio of an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element to an average atomic percentage of titanium (Ti) included in the first secondary phase grains is 0.4 or more and 1.5 or less, an average atomic percentage of the rare earth element included in the first secondary phase grains is 10 at% or more and 25 at% or less, and an average atomic percentage of titanium (Ti) included in the first secondary phase grains is more than 15 at% and 20 at% or less (claim 55).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0254569 – fig. 2-3 US 2022/0254567 – fig. 2
US 2022/0384112 – fig. 2 US 7,323,428 – fig. 2
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847