DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 of U.S. Application No. 18/966949 filed on 12/03/2024 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nithiyanantham et al. [US 20200242924 A1], hereinafter referred to as Nithiyanantham.
As to Claim 1, Nithiyanantham discloses a park assist system that is configured to store, as a registered travel path, a travel path of a vehicle when causing the vehicle to enter a predetermined parking space or a travel path of the vehicle when causing the vehicle to exit the parking space, and perform automatic park control when causing the vehicle to enter or exit the parking space from next time onwards ([see at least 00072, 0073, 0075, 0097and 0099]) the automatic park control being control in which the vehicle is caused to travel autonomously based on the registered travel path ([see at least 0081, 0082, 0092, 0097 and 0099]), the park assist system comprising a determination unit configured to determine whether to store the registered travel path as an entry path or an exit path, based on a state of the vehicle when a registration request to store the registered travel path is made, and determine whether to store a travel path of the vehicle immediately before or a travel path of the vehicle immediately after when the registration request is made ([see at least 0081, 0082, 0092, 0097 and 0099]).
As to Claim 2, Nithiyanantham discloses a park assist system, further comprising a display processing unit configured to perform a display process of displaying a confirmation screen of a registration mode according to a determination result from the determination unit on a display device installed in a driver’s cabin of the vehicle ([see at least 0081, 0084, 0097 and 0099]).
As to Claim 3, Nithiyanantham discloses a park assist system, wherein the determination unit is configured to, in a case where, when the registration request is made, a shift position of the vehicle is a parking position and there is the travel path immediately before, determine that the registered travel path is the entry path and determine to store the travel path immediately before ([see at least 00072, 0073, 0075, 0081, 0097and 0099])
As to Claim 4 Nithiyanantham discloses a park assist system, wherein the determination unit is configured to, in a case where, when the registration request is made, a shift position of the vehicle is a parking position and there is not the travel path immediately before, determine that the registered travel path is the exit path and determine to store the travel path immediately after ([see at least 0081, 0084, 0097 and 0099]).
As to Claim 5, Nithiyanantham discloses a park assist system, wherein the determination unit is configured to, in a case where, when the registration request is made, a shift position of the vehicle is a position other than a parking position and a distance traveled by the vehicle after switching of the shift position from the parking position is a predetermined threshold distance or less, determine that the registered travel path is the exit path and determine to store the travel path immediately before([see at least 0071, 0081, 0084, 0092 0097 and 0099]).
As to Claim 6, Nithiyanantham discloses a park assist system, wherein the determination unit is configured to, in a case where, when the registration request is made, a shift position of the vehicle is a position other than a parking position and a distance traveled by the vehicle after switching of the shift position from the parking position is greater than a predetermined threshold distance, determine that the registered travel path is the entry path and determine to store the travel path immediately after([see at least 0087, 0096 and 0097]).
Conclusion
/YAZAN A SOOFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668