DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 3, 2024 and July 8, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 6-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2 and 7-8 include the limitation “the shoulder main groove”, but claim 1 on which they depend defines two shoulder main grooves, thus this is a singular/plural mismatch. Claims 3, 6-9 and 11-12 are also rejected as depending upon claim 2 and claims 8-9 are rejected as depending upon claim 7.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 includes the limitation “the middle block comprises a first middle block arranged on each side of the center block in the tire axial direction and a second middle block arranged on each side of the center block in the tire circumferential direction”, but a middle block is only a single block, not a plurality of blocks, thus this is a singular/plural mismatch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (JP2003-054222; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches a pneumatic tire with a tread, wherein the tread comprises a pair of shoulder regions being delimited by shoulder main grooves 1 and ground contact edges 4 and 5, and a center region between the pair of shoulder regions, wherein a plurality of blocks are arranged in the center and shoulder regions, and a ratio α between a maximum surface area of a block in a row and a minimum surface area block in a row is 1.3 or less (machine translation at pages 3-4; figure 1), and a specific embodiment has a block with a maximum surface area of 18.69 cm2 and a minimum surface area of 13.37 cm2 (machine translation at page 6), resulting in ratio of 1.398, falling within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura teaches a rectangular center block 3c2 arranged at a distance from the shoulder main groove, and a middle block 3m2 is arranged around the center block (figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura teaches that none of the blocks has a sipe or slit (figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura teaches that the largest block is shoulder block 3s1 having a surface area Ss1 of 18.69 cm2 (machine translation at page 6).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura teaches an annular groove formed in a rectangular shape bordering the center block 3c2, a center longitudinal groove 1 connecting circumferentially adjacent annular grooves, and a plurality of center lateral grooves 2 connecting the annular grooves to the shoulder main groove (figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura teaches that the annular groove has a groove width greater than or equal to 80% of a groove width of the shoulder main groove (figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura teaches first middle blocks 3m2 and an unnumbered middle block on each side of the center block 3c2 in the axial direction and second middle blocks 3c1 and 3c3 on each side of the center block in the circumferential direction (figure 1).
Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishimoto (US Pat. No. 6,000,450).
Regarding claim 1, Kishimoto teaches a pneumatic tire with a tread, wherein the tread comprises a pair of shoulder regions being delimited by shoulder main grooves and ground contact edges, and a center region between the pair of shoulder regions, wherein a plurality of blocks are arranged in the center and shoulder regions, and an area of a largest block having a maximum surface area is less than or equal to 1.4 times of an area of a minimum surface area block (column 2, lines 8-10; figures 8 and 10).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 6, Kishimoto teaches a hexagonal center block arranged at a distance from the shoulder main groove, a middle block is arranged around the center block, and the blocks have a surface area ratio of 1 (figure 10).
Regarding claim 7, Kishimoto teaches an annular groove formed in a rectangular or hexagonal shape bordering the center block, a center longitudinal groove connecting circumferentially adjacent annular grooves, and a plurality of center lateral grooves connecting the annular grooves to the shoulder main groove (figures 8 and 10).
Regarding claim 8, Kishimoto teaches that the annular groove has a groove width greater than or equal to 80% of a groove width of the shoulder main groove (figures 8 and 10).
Regarding claim 12, Kishimoto teaches first middle blocks on each side of the center block in the axial direction and second middle blocks on each side of the center block in the circumferential direction (figures 8 and 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (JP2003-054222; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claims 6 and 11, the specific embodiment has a center block with a surface area of 14.28 cm2 and a largest block surface area of 18.69 cm2 (machine translation at page 6), resulting in ratio of 0.76, below the claimed ranges. However, the teaching of using a ratio α between a maximum surface area of a block in a row and a minimum surface area block in a row is 1.3 or less (machine translation at pages 3-4; figure 1) allows for other embodiments. For example, a modified embodiment where the shoulder block ratio was 1, using the surface area Ss3 = 14.56 cm2 for the three shoulder blocks and otherwise identical to the inventive embodiment, would have a greatest block area Sm1 = 15.68 cm2, resulting in a ratio of 0.91 (14.28/15.68), falling within the claimed ranges.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujikawa (JP02-182505).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura does not specifically disclose that all of the blocks have rounded corners. Fujikawa teaches rounding all of the tread blocks with a radius of curvature of 2 to 5 mm in cross section parallel to the surface (abstract; figure 1), overlapping the claimed range. It would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art to round the tread block corners with a radius as taught by Fujikawa in the tire of Nakamura in order to increase steering safety and/or make the rigidity of the blocks more uniform (see Fujikawa at abstract).
Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki (US Pub. No. 2021/0039440) in view of Nakamura (JP2003-054222; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki teaches a pneumatic tire with a tread, wherein the tread comprises a pair of shoulder regions being delimited by shoulder main grooves 2c and ground contact edges, and a center region between the pair of shoulder regions, wherein a plurality of blocks are arranged in the center and shoulder regions (paragraphs [0050]-[0064]; figures 2 and 5). Miyazaki does not specifically teach the ratio of an area of a largest block to the area of a smallest block. Nakamura teaches using a ratio α between a maximum surface area of a block in a row and a minimum surface area block in a row is 1.3 or less (machine translation at pages 3-4; figure 1), and a specific embodiment has a block with a maximum surface area of 18.69 cm2 and a minimum surface area of 13.37 cm2 (machine translation at page 6), resulting in ratio of 1.398, falling within the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a block area ratio as taught by Nakamura in the tire of Miyazaki in order to reduce the difference in rigidity between blocks and/or make the sound pressure generated by the blocks more uniform and reduce the peak level of pattern noise (see Nakamura machine translation at page 4).
Regarding claims 2-3, Miyazaki teaches a hexagonal center block arranged at a distance from the shoulder main groove, and a middle block is arranged around the center block (figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Miyazaki teaches that none of the blocks has a sipe or slit (figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Miyazaki teaches an annular groove 3 formed in a hexagonal shape bordering the center block, a center longitudinal groove 5 connecting circumferentially adjacent annular grooves, and a plurality of center lateral grooves 4 connecting the annular grooves to the shoulder main groove (paragraphs [0050]-[0064]; figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Miyazaki teaches that central lateral grooves circumferentially adjacent to each other are inclined in opposite directions axially (figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Miyazaki teaches first middle blocks on each side of the center block in the axial direction and second middle blocks on each side of the center block in the circumferential direction (figure 2).
Conclusion
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 February 11, 2026
/JUSTIN R FISCHER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749 February 18, 2026