DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
A NON-TRANSITORY COMPUTER-READABLE STORAGE MEDIUM, PRINT CONTROL METHOD, AND SYSTEM CONFIGURED TO UTILIZE A GENERATIVE AI SERVICE TO SPECIFY AN IMAGE FORMING APPARATUS TO EXECUTE A PRINT REQUEST FROM A USER.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, ll. 1: the phrase “storage medium” is suggested to be changed to -- the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium --. This same issue is present in claims 3-12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US Pub 2021/0165616) in view of Tokuchi (US Pub 2019/0081913).
Re claim 1: Yasuda discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for extending a function of a service, wherein the computer program is for causing a computer of an information processing apparatus to function so as to:
upon accepting a print request via the service, acquire authentication information related to a user (e.g. after the user inputs a print request in the system, the system acquires authentication information related to a user, which is taught in ¶ [55]-[61].);
[0055] In step S802, the print bot service 500 transmits a request for displaying the “Print” button to the message application service 600 in response to the notification from the message application service 600. If the file name of the data registered in the message application service 600 is acquired in step S801, the print bot service 500 may determine whether the extension of the data received by the print bot service 500 is a predetermined extension. Examples of the predetermined extension include extensions indicating image data, such as “.pdf”, “.jpg”, “.png”, and “.bmp”, and extensions indicating printable data, such as a spreadsheet and document. If the extension of the registered data is a predetermined extension, the print bot service 500 may transmit a request for displaying a “Print” button 902 to the message application service 600.
[0056] In step S803, the message application service 600 displays the “Print” button 902 based on the instruction received in step S802. The “Print” button 902 illustrated in FIG. 9A is an example of a print button. In step S804, if the user selects the “Print” button 902, then in step S805, the account of the print bot service 500 on the message application service 600 transmits a notification indicating the selection of the “Print” button 902 to the print bot service 500. In step S805, the message application service 600 may transmit a character string “Print” to the print bot service 500 instead of the notification indicating the selection of the “Print” button 902. If the print bot service 500 determines that “Print” is included in the received character string, the print bot service 500 performs the following processing.
[0057] In step S805, the message application service 600 transmits printing target document or image data to the print bot service 500.
[0058] In step S806, the print bot service 500 temporarily stores the data received in step S805 as a candidate of print data. In step S806, the print bot service 500 stores the received data in the print job storage 510 illustrated in FIG. 5.
[0059] Upon completion of data storage, the print bot service 500 determines whether the access token for accessing the cloud print service 400 is present. If an access token is absent, then in step S807, the print bot service 500 transmits an authentication request to the cloud print service 400. In step S807, the print bot service 500 transmits an authentication request to the cloud print service 400. The cloud print service 400 is a transmission destination of the data when printing the document or image data registered in the message application service 600. If a previously used access token exists in the account information database 550 of the print bot service 500, processing performed in steps S807 to S812 can be omitted. If the account information database 550 does not have an authority for accessing the cloud print service 400 (e.g., access token does not exist), the cloud print service 400 performs the following processing.
[0060] In step S808, the authorization server 440 of the cloud print service 400 notifies the print bot service 500 of the URL for displaying an authentication screen for performing the user authentication.
[0061] In step S809, when the print bot service 500 receives an authority authentication request 806 from the cloud print service 400, the print bot service 500 notifies the message application service 600 of the URL. In step S810, the message application service 600 further notifies the client computer 100 of the URL. In step S811, the client computer 100 accesses the received URL and displays an authentication information input screen for logging into the cloud print service 400. An area 903 illustrated in FIG. 9A is an example of an authentication information input screen. The area 903 is displayed by a web server on the client computer 100. The contents of the authentication information input screen are not limited thereto as long as the information in the screen enables the user authentication for the cloud print service 400.
using the acquired authentication information related to the user, acquire apparatus information related to an available image forming apparatus from a printing server (e.g. after acquiring the authentication information related to the user, the user acquires a token. The print service bot then accesses the printer queue associated with the printer from the cloud print service, which is taught in ¶ [62]-[66].); and
[0062] In step S812, the user inputs authentication information to the cloud print service 400 currently being used by the user through the input screen on the message application service 600 and transmits an authentication request to the cloud print service 400. The authorization server 440 of the cloud print service 400 performs the user authentication based on the information transmitted from the client computer 100. In this case, the authorization server 440 performs only the user authentication. However, the client computer 100 may display, after the user authentication is successfully completed, a screen for making an inquiry to the user about whether to permit the print bot service 500 to access the cloud print service 400. In this case, the processing proceeds to step S813 when the print bot service 500 is permitted to access the cloud print service 400 by the user.
[0063] In step S813, the cloud print service 400 issues an access token and attaches the issued access token to the print bot service 500 when the user authentication is successfully completed. In step S813, the cloud print service 400 transmits information used by the print bot service 500 for acquiring an access token, to the client computer 100. The print bot service 500 acquires the information via the message application service 600 and accesses the cloud print service 400 by using the information to acquire the access token. In step S814, the print bot service 500 stores the access token acquired from the cloud print service 400, in the account information database 550.
[0064] In step S815, the print bot service 500 transmits, by using the acquired access token, a request for acquiring information about the printer queue to be stored in the database 450 of the cloud print service 400. In step S816, based on the authority given to the access token received in step S815, the cloud print service 400 transmits the information about the printer queue associated with the access token to be stored in the database 450, to the print bot service 500. In step S816, the print bot service 500 acquires the name of the printer queue and the print settings of the user. The print settings in this case refers to the name of preset settings including a plurality of setting items. The print bot service 500 may acquire default print settings associated with the user instead of information about the preset settings.
[0065] In step S817, the print bot service 500 stores information about the acquired printer queue in the account information database 550. Information stored in the account information database 550 of the print bot service 500 will now be described with reference to FIG. 10. The account information database 550 stores a table 1001 illustrated in FIG. 10. The application identifier (ID) is identification information for identifying the message application service 600. The user ID is identification information for identifying the user using the message application service 600. By referring to the application ID and the user ID, the processing unit 630 can determine which user is accessing the print bot service 500 from which application.
[0066] The present exemplary embodiment registers the identification information for the user and the device information for the printer in association with each other. Alternatively, group identification information for identifying a group to which a plurality of users belongs may be associated with the device information for the printer. In this case, users belonging to the group identified by the group identification information stored in the table 1001 can use the printer having the device information stored in association with the group identification information.
based on the apparatus information, specify an image forming apparatus to execute printing (e.g. the print bot service instructs to display the name of the printer queue associated with the printer, which is taught in ¶ [68]-[70].).
[0068] In step S818, the print bot service 500 transmits a request for displaying the printer queue associated with the identification information for the user stored in the account information database 550, to the message application service 600. In step S819, the message application service 600 instructs the client computer 100 to display the name of the printer queue and the print settings. In step S819, if no printer is registered in the cloud print service 400, the message application service 600 instructs the client computer 100 to indicate on an application that no printer is registered.
[0069] In step S820, if the user has changed the printer queue to be used, the message application service 600 notifies the print bot service 500 of the selected printer queue. In step S821, the print bot service 500 transmits an inquiry to the cloud print service 400 about whether the printer corresponding to the selected printer queue is ready for printing. The print bot service 500 acquires a status of the printer corresponding to the printer queue selected from the cloud print service 400. The print bot service 500 may notify the message application service 600 of the acquired status information to instruct the message application service 600 to display the printer status.
[0070] In step S822, upon completion of the acquisition of the printer status, the print bot service 500 transmits an instruction for displaying the print settings and the “Start Printing” button on an application of the message application service 600, to the message application service 600. A message 904 illustrated in FIGS. 9A and 9B is an example of a screen for selecting the printer to be used. When the user selects a button 907, names of the printer queues stored in the print bot service 500 are displayed in list form, as illustrated in FIG. 9B. The user can select the name of the printer queue to be used for image data printing, from the displayed list of printer names. An area 905 illustrated in FIGS. 9A and 9B is an example of a screen for displaying the print settings. “Default Settings” and “2in1+Two-sided” displayed in the area 905 illustrated in FIG. 9A are names of the preset settings, and are the names set by the user when the user registers the preset settings in the cloud print service 400. In the screen illustrated in FIG. 9A, the area 905 displays a list of preset print settings. However, the area 905 may enable the user to perform any print setting. For example, the area 905 may enable the user to set the number of print copies, color/monochrome printing, paper size, printing direction, layout for printing, such as imposition. In step S823, the message application service 600 instructs the client computer 100 to display the “Start Printing” button 908.
However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features for extending a function of a generative AI service, of upon accepting a print request via the generative AI service.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Tokuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Tokuchi discloses AI control of a chat bot (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Tokuchi discloses for extending a function of a generative AI service, of upon accepting a print request via the generative AI service (e.g. the chatbot service uses AI to generate content in response to the text inputs of the user. The system can make further decisions when a print request is received by the AI chatbot. This is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [165]-[168] and [179].).
[0037] The conversation partner described above is configured with, for example, an automatic response artificial intelligence (AI) implemented by AI. The automatic response AI has a function of analyzing a message content of a user and providing the user with a response such as a reply to the message content. The automatic response AI may be a so-called chatbot (an automatic chatting program using AI). The automatic response AI may have a learning function by AI and have an ability to make a determination similar to a human decision through the learning function. In addition, neural network type deep learning may be used, reinforcement learning or the like for partially reinforcing a learning field may be used, or a genetic algorithm, cluster analysis, a self-organization map, ensemble learning and others may be used. In addition, an AI related technology other than the technologies described above may be used.
[0038] In addition, the automatic response AI may search information by using, for example, the Internet, analyze the search result, and reflect the analysis result on a reply. In addition, the automatic response AI may manage, for example, the history of use of various applications by the user, the history of an operation of the terminal device 10 by the user, and the history of use of the devices 12 and 14 by the user. In addition, the automatic response AI may acquire information from the automatic response AIs stored in the other different devices by communicating with the automatic response AIs. The automatic response AI may reflect the information managed by the own automatic response AI or the acquired information, on the response.
[0165] In response to the message content 64 above, the user inputs information indicating a content of a service or information indicating a resource to be used for the service to the terminal device 10. For example, when the user makes a message of “I want to print,” the message is displayed as a message content 66 in the display area 48b.
[0166] The information included in the message content 66 is information indicating a service requested by the user and belonging to the highest level among the information included in the instruction content of the user. The controller 26 transmits the message content 66 as the instruction content of the user to the automatic response AI. The automatic response AI analyzes the message content 66 of the user and identifies the service requested by the user.
[0167] Next, the user inputs information indicating a resource belonging to the lower level (a resource to be used for the service) than the level to which the service belongs, to the terminal device 10. In the example illustrated in FIG. 15, the information of the multifunction machine B which is a device is input by a message content 68 of the user to the terminal device 10, and subsequent to the message content 68, the information on the image file B which is a file is input by a message content 70 of the user to the terminal device 10. The multifunction machine B and the image file B correspond to an example of resources to be used for the service and are information belonging to the lower level than the level to which the service belongs. The information of the multifunction machine B is identification information for identifying the multifunction machine B and may be, for example, a device image associated with the multifunction machine B or text information or voice information indicating the identification information (e.g., a device name). The controller 26 transmits the message contents 68 and 70 as the instruction content of the user to the automatic response AI.
[0168] The multifunction machine B is a device identified by the specifying unit 28 by using the AR technique described above (the marker AR technique, the markerless AR technique, or the position information AR technique) or another identification technique. In addition, the device image may be an image associated with a type of a device such as a multifunction machine, rather than the image associated with the multifunction machine B itself.
[0179] As described above, when the function is specified as a resource candidate, the controller 26 may display the information on the function in the display area 48a as a message content of the automatic response AI. For example, when plural functions are specified, the controller 26 displays the information on the plural functions in the display area 48a as a message content of the automatic response AI. The controller 26 controls an execution of a function selected by the user from the plural functions. For example, when the user instructs the execution of the function, the controller 26 displays information indicating that the function is to be executed, in the display area 48a as a message content 72 of the automatic response AI.
[0207] As in Specific Example 1, the specifying unit 28 may specify an executable process content and a resource candidate necessary for executing the process content (e.g., a candidate of a linkage function) based on information input by the user within a time limit.
Therefore, in view of Tokuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of for extending a function of a generative AI service, of upon accepting a print request via the generative AI service, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, in order to utilize AI to execute a process based on user inputs within a time frame, which can improve usability of the system (as stated in Tokuchi ¶ [207]).
Re claim 2. Yasuda discloses the storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: query the user based on the apparatus information via the service, and specify an image forming apparatus to execute printing (e.g. the print bot service instructs to query the user based on the identification of the printer queue information and allows the user to specify the printer for output, which is taught in ¶ [62]-[70] above.).
However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features of the generative AI service.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Tokuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Tokuchi discloses AI control of a chat bot (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Tokuchi discloses the generative AI service (e.g. the chatbot service uses AI to generate content in response to the text inputs of the user. The system can make further decisions when a print request is received by the AI chatbot. This is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [165]-[168] and [179] above.).
Therefore, in view of Tokuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the generative AI service, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, in order to utilize AI to execute a process based on user inputs within a time frame, which can improve usability of the system (as stated in Tokuchi ¶ [207]).
Re claim 3: Yasuda discloses the storage medium according to claim 2, wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: in a case where the apparatus information includes information related to a plurality of image forming apparatuses, query the user for selection of an image forming apparatus to execute printing from among the plurality of image forming apparatuses via the service (e.g. the system includes printer queue information that is used by the print bot service to instruct the client device to display the printers for selection. Once the user selects a printer, this device is used to print a document, which is taught in ¶ [62]-[70] above.).
However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features of generative AI service.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Tokuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Tokuchi discloses AI control of a chat bot (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Tokuchi discloses the generative AI service (e.g. the chatbot service uses AI to generate content in response to the text inputs of the user. The system can make further decisions when a print request is received by the AI chatbot. This is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [165]-[168] and [179] above.).
Therefore, in view of Tokuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the generative AI service, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, in order to utilize AI to execute a process based on user inputs within a time frame, which can improve usability of the system (as stated in Tokuchi ¶ [207]).
Re claim 4: Yasuda discloses the storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: generate a print job based on the print request; and present, to the user, information related to the generated print job via the service (e.g. after the print job is generated and completed, the user is shown that the print job is performed. This is taught in ¶ [75].).
[0075] In step S830, the cloud print service 400 transmits a print job reflecting the print settings to the printer corresponding to the specified printer queue. When printing is successfully completed, the printer 200 transmits a notification of successful printing to the cloud print service 400. The print bot service 500 polls the cloud print service 400, detects that printing is successfully completed, and instructs the message application service 600 to display printing completion. A message 906 illustrated in FIGS. 9A and 9B is a notification of printing completion.
However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features of generative AI service.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Tokuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Tokuchi discloses AI control of a chat bot (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Tokuchi discloses the generative AI service (e.g. the chatbot service uses AI to generate content in response to the text inputs of the user. The system can make further decisions when a print request is received by the AI chatbot. This is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [165]-[168] and [179] above.).
Therefore, in view of Tokuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the generative AI service, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, in order to utilize AI to execute a process based on user inputs within a time frame, which can improve usability of the system (as stated in Tokuchi ¶ [207]).
Re claim 7: Yasuda discloses the storage medium according to claim 4, wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: assign unique identification information in a case where generating the print job (e.g. a token is generated for a job, and a user is associated with a username and password. This is taught in ¶ [55]-[66] above.).
Re claim 11: Yasuda discloses the storage medium according to claim 4, wherein upon acceptance of a print instruction by the user via the service for the information related to the print job presented to the user, the print job is inputted to an image forming apparatus from the printing server and the print job is caused to be executed (e.g. the print job is presented in the name form to the user. The user can input this print job into a printer by instructing a printing operation, which will cause printing to be performed. This is taught in ¶ [55]-[66] above and [53].).
However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features of generative AI service.
However, an aspect of this is well known in the art as evidenced by Tokuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Tokuchi discloses AI control of a chat bot (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Tokuchi discloses the generative AI service (e.g. the chatbot service uses AI to generate content in response to the text inputs of the user. The system can make further decisions when a print request is received by the AI chatbot. This is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [165]-[168] and [179] above.).
Therefore, in view of Tokuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the generative AI service, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, in order to utilize AI to execute a process based on user inputs within a time frame, which can improve usability of the system (as stated in Tokuchi ¶ [207]).
Re claim 13: Yasuda discloses a print control method comprising:
upon accepting a print request via a service provided by an information processing apparatus, acquiring authentication information related to a user (e.g. after the user inputs a print request in the system associated with the print bot system, the system acquires authentication information related to a user, which is taught in ¶ [55]-[61] above.);
using the acquired authentication information related to the user, acquiring apparatus information related to an available image forming apparatus from a printing server (e.g. after acquiring the authentication information related to the user, the user acquires a token. The print service bot then accesses the printer queue associated with the printer from the cloud print service, which is taught in ¶ [62]-[66] above.); and
based on the apparatus information, specifying an image forming apparatus to execute printing (e.g. the print bot service instructs to display the name of the printer queue associated with the printer, which is taught in ¶ [68]-[70] above.).
However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features of upon accepting a print request via the generative AI service.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Tokuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Tokuchi discloses AI control of a chat bot (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Tokuchi discloses upon accepting a print request via the generative AI service (e.g. the chatbot service uses AI to generate content in response to the text inputs of the user. The system can make further decisions when a print request is received by the AI chatbot. This is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [165]-[168] and [179] above.).
Therefore, in view of Tokuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of upon accepting a print request via the generative AI service, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, in order to utilize AI to execute a process based on user inputs within a time frame, which can improve usability of the system (as stated in Tokuchi ¶ [207]).
Re claim 14: Yasuda discloses a printing system including an information processing apparatus providing a generative AI service to a user terminal, a printing server, and an image forming apparatus,
the information processing apparatus comprising:
one or more first memory devices that store a computer program for extending a function of the service (the print bot service is used to extend a printing service to the user, which is taught in ¶ [55]-[61] above.); and
one or more first processors (e.g. see ¶ [118] for processors and memory within the devices.) that execute the computer program to:
[0118] Embodiment(s) of the present disclosure can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’) to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits (e.g., application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)) for performing the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s), and by a method performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or controlling the one or more circuits to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s). The computer may comprise one or more processors (e.g., central processing unit (CPU), micro processing unit (MPU)) and may include a network of separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions. The computer executable instructions may be provided to the computer, for example, from a network or the storage medium. The storage medium may include, for example, one or more of a hard disk, a random-access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a storage of distributed computing systems, an optical disk (such as a compact disc (CD), digital versatile disc (DVD), or Blu-ray Disc (BD)™), a flash memory device, a memory card, and the like.
upon accepting a print request via the generative AI service, acquire authentication information related to a user (e.g. after the user inputs a print request in the system associated with the print bot system, the system acquires authentication information related to a user, which is taught in ¶ [55]-[61] above.);
using the acquired authentication information related to the user, acquire apparatus information related to an available image forming apparatus from a printing server (e.g. after acquiring the authentication information related to the user, the user acquires a token. The print service bot then accesses the printer queue associated with the printer from the cloud print service, which is taught in ¶ [62]-[66] above.); and
based on the apparatus information, specify an image forming apparatus to execute printing (e.g. the print bot service instructs to display the name of the printer queue associated with the printer, which is taught in ¶ [68]-[70] above.), and
the printing server comprising:
one or more second memory devices that store a set of instructions; and
one or more second processors (e.g. see ¶ [118] that discloses processors and memory to perform aspects of the servers in the invention.) that execute the set of instructions to:
provide the apparatus information associated with the authentication information related to the user (e.g. the cloud print service is used to provide token information related to the user and authentication to the print bot service, which is taught in ¶ [59], [63] and [64] above.); and
upon being instructed to execute printing via the service, input a print job based on the print request to the specified image forming apparatus (e.g. the system sends a print job to the printer via the cloud print server once the user is authenticated and selects print settings associated with the print job, which is taught in ¶ [71]-[75].).
[0071] In step S824, the user operates the client computer 100 to perform an operation for changing the print settings. In step S825, the message application service 600 notifies the print bot service 500 of the changed print settings. The area 905 is displayed in a state where “Default Settings” is selected, and the default settings are notified to the print bot service 500. Thereafter, the print settings after the change are notified to the print bot service 500, if the user has changed the print settings.
[0072] In step S826, the print bot service 500 stores the changed print settings. The processing in steps S824 and S825 is performed each time the user changes the print settings.
[0073] In step S827, the user operates the client computer 100 to select the “Start Printing” button 908, and the message application service 600 receives the selection of the “Start Printing” button 908. In step S828, the message application service 600 transmits a printing start instruction to the print bot service 500. In step S828, the message application service 600 transmits, for example, a text “Start Printing” to the print bot service 500. The print bot service 500 analyzes the received text and, if the text “Start Printing” is included in the received text, performs processing illustrated in step S829.
[0074] In step S829, the print bot service 500 transmits the document and image data temporarily stored in step S804 and the print settings stored in step S826 to the cloud print service 400, based on the received printing start instruction.
[0075] In step S830, the cloud print service 400 transmits a print job reflecting the print settings to the printer corresponding to the specified printer queue. When printing is successfully completed, the printer 200 transmits a notification of successful printing to the cloud print service 400. The print bot service 500 polls the cloud print service 400, detects that printing is successfully completed, and instructs the message application service 600 to display printing completion. A message 906 illustrated in FIGS. 9A and 9B is a notification of printing completion.
However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features of a computer program for extending a function of the generative AI service; upon accepting a print request via the generative AI service and upon being instructed to execute printing via the generative AI service.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Tokuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Tokuchi discloses AI control of a chat bot (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Tokuchi discloses a computer program for extending a function of the generative AI service; upon accepting a print request via the generative AI service and upon being instructed to execute printing via the generative AI service (e.g. the chatbot service uses AI to generate content in response to the text inputs of the user. The system can make further decisions when a print request is received by the AI chatbot. This is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [165]-[168] and [179] above.).
Therefore, in view of Tokuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of a computer program for extending a function of the generative AI service; upon accepting a print request via the generative AI service and upon being instructed to execute printing via the generative AI service, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, in order to utilize AI to execute a process based on user inputs within a time frame, which can improve usability of the system (as stated in Tokuchi ¶ [207]).
Re claim 15: Yasuda discloses the printing system according to claim 14, wherein the printing server is a cloud printing server (e.g. the system deploys a cloud print server, which is taught in ¶ [59]-[64] above.).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda, as modified by Tokuchi, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Yamamoto (US Pub 2019/0258431).
Re claim 5: Yasuda discloses the storage medium according to claim 4, wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: acquire, from the printing server, a preview for when the print job is to be executed; and present, as information related to the print job, a print setting for when executing the print job (e.g. when the user inputs a selection for a printer queue associated with a printer, the user is presented with a preview of print settings to select, which is taught in ¶ [70]-[72].).
[0070] In step S822, upon completion of the acquisition of the printer status, the print bot service 500 transmits an instruction for displaying the print settings and the “Start Printing” button on an application of the message application service 600, to the message application service 600. A message 904 illustrated in FIGS. 9A and 9B is an example of a screen for selecting the printer to be used. When the user selects a button 907, names of the printer queues stored in the print bot service 500 are displayed in list form, as illustrated in FIG. 9B. The user can select the name of the printer queue to be used for image data printing, from the displayed list of printer names. An area 905 illustrated in FIGS. 9A and 9B is an example of a screen for displaying the print settings. “Default Settings” and “2in1+Two-sided” displayed in the area 905 illustrated in FIG. 9A are names of the preset settings, and are the names set by the user when the user registers the preset settings in the cloud print service 400. In the screen illustrated in FIG. 9A, the area 905 displays a list of preset print settings. However, the area 905 may enable the user to perform any print setting. For example, the area 905 may enable the user to set the number of print copies, color/monochrome printing, paper size, printing direction, layout for printing, such as imposition. In step S823, the message application service 600 instructs the client computer 100 to display the “Start Printing” button 908.
[0071] In step S824, the user operates the client computer 100 to perform an operation for changing the print settings. In step S825, the message application service 600 notifies the print bot service 500 of the changed print settings. The area 905 is displayed in a state where “Default Settings” is selected, and the default settings are notified to the print bot service 500. Thereafter, the print settings after the change are notified to the print bot service 500, if the user has changed the print settings.
[0072] In step S826, the print bot service 500 stores the changed print settings. The processing in steps S824 and S825 is performed each time the user changes the print settings.
However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features of acquire, from the printing server, a preview image for when the print job is to be executed; and the preview image.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Yamamoto. Similar to the primary reference, Yamamoto discloses printing a job (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Yamamoto discloses acquire, from the printing server, a preview image for when the print job is to be executed; and the preview image (e.g. the bot server can send a preview image of an image file that can be printed to the client device. The client device can show settings that can be applied to the image as well as an image adjustment, which is taught in ¶ [143]-[149].).
[0143] In FIG. 17A, the bot application 310 transmits (S1101) a message 1701 requesting the transmission of an image file (a photograph in this case) which is to be the print target. Upon receiving this message, the user transmits the image file as a message 1702. The bot application 310 then transmits a message 1703 as a response to the message 1702. The message 1703 includes buttons as shown by buttons 1704 and 1705 other than a text indicating the reception of the image file. The user can press these buttons to transmit a fixed message to the conversation partner and to make settings to activate the Web browser and access a specific URL. Note that the text shown in the message 1703 is merely an example and may be another character string. Also, although FIG. 17A shows an example in which buttons are provided in the message, the present invention is not limited to this, and a message formed by another object may be used.
[0144] For example, in a case in which the button 1704 of FIG. 17A is pressed, the client application 110 will transmit a print request instruction message to the messaging service application 220. In addition, in a case in which the button 1705 is pressed, an instruction will be given to open the access URL of the Web page for updating the print settings which is included in the message 1703. In this case, an instruction will be made to activate the Web browser 120 of the client terminal 100 from the client application 110.
[0145] Note that the embodiment described an operation mode in which the Web browser 120 is activated by a specific URL when the button is pressed. However, the same effect can be obtained by an arrangement in which a direct URL link is displayed instead of the button in the message and the Web browser 120 is activated when the user selects the link.
[0146] In a case in which the button 1705 shown in FIG. 17A is pressed, the Web browser 120 transmits a request for the Web page for updating the print settings to the Web application 320 of the bot application server 300. Upon receiving the Web page request, the Web application 320 obtains the print request information corresponding to the requested URL information from the database 330. The Web application 320 generates the Web page for print settings from the initial print setting information of the obtained print request information, and returns the generated Web page as a response to the above-described request to the client terminal 100.
[0147] FIG. 17B shows an example of a print setting screen 1710 as the Web page for print settings that has been returned from the Web application 320 of the bot application server 300. In the print setting screen 1710, the setting values of the respective print setting items such as the print sheet size, the sheet type, the layout, and the like can be changed by fields arranged as setting items 1711. Note that each print setting included in the setting items 1711 is merely an example, and for example, other print settings may be included in accordance with the function of the printer 500. When a button 1712 arranged in a lower portion of the print setting screen 1710 is pressed, the setting values of the respective print setting items selected at this point and the settings made on an image print region adjustment screen 1720 shown in FIG. 17C (to be described later) are confirmed, and the print setting screen 1710 will be closed. When a button 1713 is pressed, the screen shifts to the image print region adjustment screen 1720 shown in FIG. 17C. When the button 1714 is pressed, the print setting contents that have been changed up to that point are discarded. In accordance with this, the Web browser 120 is ended and closed.
[0148] In the image print region adjustment screen 1720 shown in FIG. 17C, a preview image of the image file to be the print target is displayed as an image region 1722. Furthermore, a rectangular region 1725 (a range indicated by broken lines in this case) whose aspect ratio is equal to that of the sheet size set in the setting items 1711 of the print setting screen 1710 shown in FIG. 17B is overlapped and displayed on the image region 1722. The print region can be adjusted by translating and scaling the image region 1722 by a user operation. When a rotate button 1721 is pressed, the image displayed in the image region 1722 can be rotated with respect to the sheet-size rectangular region. When a button 1723 is pressed, the screen returns to the print setting screen 1710 shown in FIG. 17B in a state in which the changes in the position, magnification, and image position information such as the rotation information, and the like are saved. When a cancel button 1724 is pressed, the operation performed in FIG. 17C is discarded, and the screen returns to the print setting screen 1710 shown in FIG. 17B. Note that although a return operation to the print setting screen 1710 shown in FIG. 17B has been described as the operation performed when the buttons 1723 and 1724 are pressed in the image print region adjustment screen 1720 shown in FIG. 17C, the present invention is not limited to this. For example, an arrangement in which the print setting information will be updated directly on the image print region adjustment screen 1720 may be provided as the operation of each of the buttons 1723 and 1724.
[0149] The user changes the print settings on a Web page for print settings such as is shown in each of FIGS. 17B and 17C and presses the button 1712 to instruct the print setting update. In accordance with this, the Web browser 120 of the client terminal 100 transmits a print setting change request to the Web application 320 of the bot application server 300. The print setting change request transmitted here includes the identification information for uniquely identifying the print request information which is to be the print setting change target and the various kinds of print setting information designated by the user on the Web page for print settings. The Web application 320 of the bot application server 300 which receives the print setting change request updates the print setting information of the print request information stored in the database 330. Note that the transmission processing of the message 1703 and the operation using FIGS. 17B and 17C may be performed between S1104 and S1106 of FIG. 11.
Therefore, in view of Yamamoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of acquire, from the printing server, a preview image for when the print job is to be executed; and the preview image, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, as modified by Tokuchi, in order to preview an image that is to be executed, which can provide a more convenient printing messaging process (as stated in Yamamoto ¶ [11]).
Re claim 6: Yasuda discloses the storage medium according to claim 5, wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: upon accepting a request to change a setting of the print job presented to the user via the service, update the print job according to change content (e.g. the settings of the jobs are presented to a user that are able to be changed. Once the user changes the presented settings, the system reflects these settings onto the print job, which is taught in ¶ [70]-[72] above.).
However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features of generative AI service.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Tokuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Tokuchi discloses AI control of a chat bot (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Tokuchi discloses the generative AI service (e.g. the chatbot service uses AI to generate content in response to the text inputs of the user. The system can make further decisions when a print request is received by the AI chatbot. This is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [165]-[168] and [179] above.).
Therefore, in view of Tokuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the generative AI service, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, in order to utilize AI to execute a process based on user inputs within a time frame, which can improve usability of the system (as stated in Tokuchi ¶ [207]).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda, as modified by Tokuchi, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Common Knowledge of print data conversions (Official Notice).
Re claim 8: However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features of the storage medium according to claim 7, wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: convert text data included in the print request accepted via the generative AI service into a format that can be accepted by the printing server, and generate print data.
However, an aspect of this is well known in the art as evidenced by Tokuchi. Similar to the primary reference, Tokuchi discloses AI control of a chat bot (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Tokuchi discloses the generative AI service (e.g. the chatbot service uses AI to generate content in response to the text inputs of the user. The system can make further decisions when a print request is received by the AI chatbot. This is taught in ¶ [37], [38], [165]-[168] and [179] above.).
Therefore, in view of Tokuchi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the generative AI service, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, in order to utilize AI to execute a process based on user inputs within a time frame, which can improve usability of the system (as stated in Tokuchi ¶ [207]).
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Common Knowledge of print data conversions (Official Notice). Similar to the primary reference, Common Knowledge of print data conversions discloses printing data of a certain format (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Common Knowledge of print data conversions discloses wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: convert text data included in the print request accepted via the service into a format that can be accepted by the printing server, and generate print data (e.g. it is well known to convert image data into a particular format, such as PDF, postscript or PNG, for a server or printing device to either display or print. The system takes the converted data and combines this converted information with instructions to generate a print job for output.).
Therefore, in view of Common Knowledge of print data conversions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: convert text data included in the print request accepted via the service into a format that can be accepted by the printing server, and generate print data, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, as modified by Tokuchi and Yamamoto, in order to convert data into a displayable or printable format before combining this data into a print job for output, which increases the ease of use of the data.
Re claim 9: Yasuda discloses the storage medium according to claim 8, wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: set a preset print setting for the generated print job (e.g. preset print settings can be set for a job to be generated, which is taught in ¶ [91].).
[0091] In step S215, the processing unit 530 instructs the message application service 600 to display the print settings stored in association with the authenticated user. The processing unit 530 acquires the print settings associated with the user using the message application service 600, from the table 1001 stored in the account information database 550. The processing unit 530 then instructs the message application service 600 to display the print settings. According to the present exemplary embodiment, the processing unit 530 acquires name information of the preset settings preregistered in the cloud print service 400 as a piece of the set with the print settings, and instructs the message application service 600 to display the name information.
Re claim 10: Yasuda discloses the storage medium according to claim 8, wherein the computer program is further for causing the computer of the information processing apparatus to function so as to: set a print setting for the generated print job based on the text data included in the print request (e.g. the user can set the color mode, printing direction or layout of the printing, which is considered as based on the text data in the print request. This is taught in ¶ [70] above.).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda, as modified by Tokuchi, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Knas (USP 10769560).
Re claim 12: However, Yasuda fails to specifically teach the features of the storage medium according to claim 4, wherein the computer program is implemented in the information processing apparatus as a plug-in of the generative AI service.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Knas. Similar to the primary reference, Knas discloses a chatbot that is able to handle print requests (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Knas discloses wherein the computer program is implemented in the information processing apparatus as a plug-in of the generative AI service (e.g. the system discloses a chatbot application that can be included as a plug-in and a machine learning model to implement the chatbot application. This is taught in col. 6, ll. 10-26 and col. 10, ll. 37-52.).
(17) The PIM application 128 includes a calendar component 130, a messaging component 132, and a component N 134. The chatbot application 120 can read the PIM application 128, such as the component 130, the component 132, or the component 134. For example, such reading can include reading messages, entries, files, settings, or others in or associated with the PIM application 128, inclusive of or associated with the component 130, the component 132, and the component 134. In some embodiments, the PIM application 128 includes the chatbot application 120 or the instruction sets 122, whether natively or as a plug-in or extension. In some embodiments, the client 106 hosts the chatbot application 128 or the instruction sets 122 external to the PIM application 128, such as a part of the OS 126 or other logic, whether hardware or software on the client 106. For example, the chatbot application 120 can run on the OS 126.
(35) In the block 206, the chatbot application 120 interprets the calendar entries and the messages, as read in the component 130 and the component 132. This interpretation can include an NLP technique, a machine learning technique, an optical character recognition technique, or any other AI technique. For example, the machine learning technique can include a decision tree learning technique, an association rule learning technique, an artificial neural network technique, a deep learning technique, an inductive logic programming technique, a support vector machine technique, a clustering technique, a Bayesian network technique, a reinforcement learning technique, a representation learning technique, a similarity and metric learning technique, a sparse dictionary learning technique, a genetic algorithm technique, a rule-based machine learning technique, a learning classifier system technique, or any others.
Therefore, in view of Knas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the computer program is implemented in the information processing apparatus as a plug-in of the generative AI service, incorporated in the device of Yasuda, in order to have the chatbot machine learning model implemented as a plug-in, which can be used to reduce the stress level of the user by determining the stress level of the user (as stated in Knas col. 13, ll. 12-32).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugimoto discloses a chatting server and printing.
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683