Drawings
The drawings are objected to because several figures (e.g., Fig. 1, Fig. 4) contain figure keys which are based on color, but the current figures do not provide any color and therefore the reader cannot correctly interpret the figure keys. Appropriate correction is required such that any reader can clearly visualize and understand the attached figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is
directed to an abstract idea without reciting elements that amount to significant more than
the abstract idea. The rationale for this rejection, under MPEP § 2106, for this finding is
explained below.
Step 1: Under step 1, the claims are analyzed to determine if the claim is directed to a
process, machine, article of manufacture, or composition of matter. For the claims in question,
claims 1-10 and claim 20 are directed towards a method, and claims 11-19 are directed towards a machine.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Under step 2A, prong 1, the claims are evaluated to determine if the
claim recites a judicial exception, which includes the laws of nature, physical phenomena, or an
abstract idea.
For independent claim 1 (and corresponding independent claim 11), the limitations relating to registering a plurality of pairs of images, and consequently receiving an annotation identifying a functional unit on the registered image are directed towards a mental process. Given an anatomical image and a molecular image, an individual can reasonably align (i.e., register) the two images such that they spatially correspond to each other, and furthermore can utilize the aligned images to then annotate (i.e., identify and label either mentally or utilizing paper and pen) the image for a functional unit present on the image (i.e., an individual can label the cell nucleus or cell wall in an image containing cells).
For independent claim 20, the limitation related to segmenting a morphological feature in an anatomical image is directed towards a mental process. Similarly to the reasoning provided for claims 1 and 11, given an anatomical image an individual can produce a segmentation (i.e., generate an outline around a morphological feature) in the image either mentally or by utilizing paper and pencil.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Under step 2A, prong 2, the claims are evaluated to determine
whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application
of the exception (see MPEP 2106.04(d)). The examiner notes that MPEP 2106.05(a)-(c) and (e)
generally concern limitations that are indicative of integration, whereas 2106.05(f)-(h) generally
concern limitations that are not indicative of integration.
In regards to claims 1-19, the limitations as described above are directed towards a mental process. The additional limitations of the independent claims relating to receiving images and producing a dataset to train a model are considered extra-solution activity and/or are broadly recited and generally linked to applying machine learning models to images, and do not constitute integration into a practical application or significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(g), (h)). With regards to the dependent claims, the limitations are broadly recited and either further disclose mental processes (i.e., utilizing a corrective model to generate annotations) and/or are generally linked to applying machine learning models to images and do not constitute integration into a practical application or significantly more.
In regards to claim 20, the limitations as described above are directed towards a mental process. The additional limitations of deploying a model, receiving an image and inputting the image into the model are considered extra-solution activity and/or are broadly recited and generally linked to applying machine learning models to images, and do not constitute integration into a practical application or significantly more.
The examiner emphasizes MPEP 2106.05(a), which states that a limitation is indicative of integration into a practical application if the limitation identifies a manner in which an improvement is explicitly and specifically achieved and recited in the claims. The current claim language all are recited at a high level of generality which do not serve to integrate the limitations in view of MPEP 2106.05(f), and furthermore nothing precludes the current limitations from being interpreted under the mental processes grouping.
Step 2B: Under step 2B, the claims are evaluated as a whole to determine if it amounts to
significantly more than the recited exception (i.e., whether any additional element, or
combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim). The considerations
of step 2A, prong 2 and step 2B overlap, but differ in that 2B also requires considering the claim
as a whole/combination of limitations, and with reference to MPEP 2106.05(d) whether the
claims feature any “specific limitation(s) other than what is well - understood, routine,
conventional activity in the field” (WURC). The examiner asserts that, even when considered in
combination, the additional elements of claims 1-20 represent mere instruction to apply a mental
process (registering and annotating anatomical images with the aide of molecular images) at a high level of generality that is generally linked to the field of applying machine learning techniques for annotating/labeling images, and therefore does not provide a specifically recited inventive concept.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (“Deep Learning of Histopathology Images at the Single Cell Level”, DOI: 10.3389/frai.2021.754641, Publication Year: 2021; hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a method comprising (see “An Overview of Generating Weakly Cell-Level Annotation Using IHC Stained Images”):
receiving a plurality of anatomical images (IHC-Based Cell-Level Annotation, Lee discloses obtaining H&E stained images.);
receiving a plurality of corresponding molecular images, wherein each of a plurality of pairs of corresponding anatomical and molecular images captures a respective biological specimen (IHC-Based Cell-Level Annotation, Lee discloses obtaining adjacent (i.e., respective) immunohistochemistry slides.);
registering each of the plurality of pairs of corresponding anatomical and molecular images (Image Registration and Normalization, Lee discloses performing image registration on the adjacent images.);
for each of the plurality of pairs of corresponding anatomical and molecular images, receiving at least one annotation on an anatomical image that is registered to its corresponding molecular image, wherein the at least one annotation identifies a functional unit of interest within the anatomical image (Cell Boundary Detection and IHC Intensity Level Acquisition, Lee discloses utilizing software to annotate the registered H&E images with the cell boundaries.); and
creating a dataset comprising a plurality of annotated anatomical images, wherein the dataset is used to train a machine learning model, wherein the machine learning model is configured for multi-class functional unit segmentation (Reformatting the Annotation Dataset Into Common Objects in Context challenge Format, Divide Images Into Patches/Train + Test Dataset Generation, Training Machine Learning Classifier, Lee discloses utilizing the labeled images to train a machine learning model to segment objects of various classes.).
Claim 11 is the system claim corresponding to claim 1, and is similarly rejected (the Examiner notes section “Divide Images Into Patches/Train + Test Dataset Generation” which notes the usage of GPUs to perform image processing. The Examiner asserts that the claimed GPUs are utilized in a computing device which includes the claimed processor and memory of the claimed system.).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of anatomical images are histological stained images (IHC-Based Cell-Level Annotation, Lee discloses utilizing H&E stained images.).
Claim 17 is the system claim corresponding to claim 7, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of corresponding molecular images are immunofluorescence (IF) images (IHC-Based Cell-Level Annotation, Lee discloses utilizing immunohistochemistry stained images.).
Claim 18 is the system claim corresponding to claim 8, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is a deep learning model (Training Machine Learning Classifier, Lee discloses training a deep learning model.).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the machine learning model is a convolutional neural network (Training Machine Learning Classifier, Lee discloses training a Mask R-CNN model.).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the machine learning model is a deep learning model or a convolutional neural network (Training Machine Learning Classifier, Lee discloses training a deep learning model, which further includes convolutional neural networks such as a Mask R-CNN model.).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee discloses a method comprising:
deploying a trained machine learning model (Training Machine Learning Classifier, Evaluation of the Results, Lee discloses training a machine learning model and then testing the model on test data.);
receiving an anatomical image (Divide Images Into Patches/Train + Test Dataset Generation, Evaluation of the Results, Lee discloses obtaining a training dataset and a test dataset.);
inputting the anatomical image into the trained deployed machine learning model (Evaluation of the Results, Lee discloses evaluating the trained machine learning model on the test dataset.); and
segmenting, using the trained deployed machine learning model, a subvisual or supervisual morphological feature in the anatomical image (Evaluation of the Results, Visualization and Obtaining Biological Insights, Lee discloses classifying and segmenting cells in an image.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Komura et al. (“Restaining-based annotation for cancer histology segmentation to overcome annotation-related limitations among pathologists”, DOI: 10.1016/j.patter.2023.100688, Publication Year: 2023; hereinafter “Komura”) in view of Della Mea et al. (“Preliminary results from a crowdsourcing experiment in immunohistochemistry, DOI: 10.1186/1746-1596-9-S1-S6, Publication Year: 2014; hereinafter “Della Mea”).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses the method of claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly disclose further comprising annotating, by a layperson, the plurality of anatomical images using the plurality of corresponding molecular images as a guide.
Komura discloses further comprising (Fig. 1, Dataset generation workflow, Komura discloses registering anatomical H&E stained images based on the corresponding molecular IHC stained images (i.e., using the IHC stained images as a guide). Additionally, the Examiner notes that the registration process leads to the generation of a segmentation mask.).
Lee and Komura are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of applying deep learning image processing methods to process anatomical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee by incorporating the specific disclosure of Komura which utilizes molecular IHC stained images as a guide for registering and further segmenting. The motivation for this combination being the ability to visualize the general structure of the biological specimen based on the H&E stain while also being able to identify specific target regions in the image through the IHC staining.
Lee in view of Komura does not explicitly disclose annotating, by a lay person, the plurality of anatomical images (italicized for context).
Della Mea discloses annotating, by a lay person, the plurality of anatomical images (italicized for context) (Figs. 1-2, Della Mea discloses utilizing crowdsourcing (i.e., from a lay person) to aide in the annotation of regions in an anatomical image.)
Lee, Komura, and Della Mea are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of analyzing and labeling/annotating anatomical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee in view of Komura such that the image guidance based on anatomical and molecular images, as taught by Lee in view of Komura, is provided as input and then further annotated based on the crowdsourcing techniques disclosed by Della Mea. The motivation for this combination being the ability to reduce the burden on manual annotations performed by experts while also increasing the sample size of annotations which can be obtained (see Background, Della Mea).
Claim 12 is the system claim corresponding to claim 2, and is similarly rejected.
Claims 3-6 and 13-16 are rejected as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Bouteldja et al. (“Deep Learning-Based Segmentation and Quantification in Experimental Kidney Histopathology”, DOI: 10.1681/ASN.2020050597, Publication Year: 2020; hereinafter “Bouteldja”).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses the method of claim 1.
Lee does not explicitly disclose further comprising evaluating the at least one annotation using a corrective machine learning model.
Bouteldja discloses further comprising evaluating the at least one annotation using a corrective machine learning model (Data Quality and Quantity, Bouteldja discloses utilizing an initial segmentation network (i.e., a corrective machine learning model) to help generate pre-annotations.).
Lee and Bouteldja are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of utilizing deep learning methods analyzing and labeling/annotating anatomical images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee such that it incorporates Bouteldja’s initial segmentation network as a corrective machine learning model. The motivation for this combination being the ability to aide manual annotators and consequently help improve accuracy of the annotations being made.
Claim 13 is the system claim corresponding to claim 3, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee in view of Bouteldja teach the method of claim 3, wherein evaluating the at least one annotation using the corrective machine learning model comprises:
providing an unannotated anatomical image into the corrective machine learning model (Data Quality and Quantity, Bouteldja discloses inputting an unannotated image into an initial segmentation network.);
receiving, from the corrective machine learning model, a corrected annotated anatomical image (Data Quality and Quantity, Bouteldja discloses obtaining a prediction from the initial segmentation network as a “preannotation”.); and
comparing the anatomical image including the at least one annotation to the corrected annotated anatomical image (Data Quality and Quantity, Bouteldja discloses utilizing the preannotation to help facilitate the manual annotation effort performed by human annotators.).
Claim 14 is the system claim corresponding to claim 4, and is similarly rejected.
Regarding Claim 5, Lee in view of Bouteldja teach the method of claim 4, further comprising adjusting the at least one annotation on the anatomical image based on a comparison of the anatomical image including the at least one annotation to the corrected annotated anatomical image (Data Quality and Quantity, Bouteldja discloses utilizing the “preannotations” to aide human annotators. The Examiner asserts that if there is a difference (i.e., a comparison) between the annotation made by the human annotator and preannotation, an adjustment is made to the annotation applied to the image.).
Claim 15 is the system claim corresponding to claim 5, and is similarly rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (“Development and operation of a digital platform for sharing pathology image data”, DOI: 10.1186/s12911-021-01466-1, Publication Year: 2021)
Lawson et al. (“Crowdsourcing for translational research: analysis of biomarker expression using cancer microarrays, DOI: 10.1038/bjc.2016.404, Publication Year: 2016)
/PROMOTTO TAJRIAN ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2669 /CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669