Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horii (WO 2015019402, submitted by applicant).
As to claim 1, Horii discloses a rotor structure that supplies an oil to a cooling target part inside a synchronous motor in which a rotor rotates in synchronization with a rotating magnetic field generated by a stator (Fig. 1), characterized by being configured such that: the rotor comprises a plurality of permanent magnets (Fig. 1), which are one of the cooling target parts (Fig. 1), and a cylindrical rotor core in which a plurality of axially extending magnet holes are formed in which the respective permanent magnets are embedded (Fig. 2), and an oil flows axially inside the rotor core through the plurality of magnet holes (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horii and in view of Pydin (CN 110784033).
As to claim 2, Horii discloses the rotor structure according to claim 1, characterized by being configured such that: an annular one-side end plate that is attached concentrically with an axis center of the rotor core to the end on one axial side of the rotor core (Fig. 1), the one-side end plate has a chamber space formed having an annular shape as viewed in the axial direction concentrically with the axis center of the rotor core (Fig. 1), and at the one-side end plate (Fig. 1), an oil is filled into the chamber space from an oil passage in the rotor shaft and the oil is distributed from the chamber space to the plurality of magnet holes (Fig. 1).
Horii fails to disclose a rotor shaft that is inserted into the rotor core so as not to rotate relative to the rotor core.
Pydin discloses a rotor shaft that is inserted into the rotor core so as not to rotate relative to the rotor core (“The shaft body 13 is fixed so that it cannot rotate with respect to the rotor core 20”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the structure of Horii with a rotor shaft that is inserted into the rotor core so as not to rotate relative to the rotor core, to maintain consistent alignment.
As to claim 3, the combination of Horii and Pydin discloses the rotor structure according to claim 2, characterized in that: the one-side end plate has a plurality of radial oil passages formed that extend radially on an other axial side than the chamber space (Fig. 1), whose radially inner end communicates with the chamber space, and whose radially outer end communicates with a plurality of the magnet holes, and in each of the radial oil passages (Fig. 1), a surface that defines the radial oil passage on one axial side and a surface that defines the radial oil passage on the radially outer side are connected in an R-shape when viewed in a circumferential direction (Fig. 1).
As to claim 4, the combination of Horii and Pydin discloses the rotor structure according to claim 2, characterized in that: the one-side end plate has a plurality of radial oil passages formed that extend radially on an other axial side than the chamber space (Fig. 1), whose radially inner end communicates with the chamber space (Fig. 1), and whose radially outer end communicates with a plurality of the magnet holes (Fig. 1), and the radially outer end of each of the radial oil passages is in communication with a radially inner portion of each of the magnet holes (Fig. 1).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horii, Pydin, and in view of Matsuoka (JP 2011083139, submitted by applicant).
As to claim 5, the combination of Horii and Pydin discloses the rotor structure according to claim 2, characterized in that: the one-side end plate is disposed so as to overlap, as viewed in a radial direction, a coil end on one axial side, which is one of the cooling target parts, of a stator coil attached to the stator (Fig. 1), the one-side end plate has a plurality of first diffusion oil passages formed that extend radially on one axial side than the chamber space (24; Fig. 2), whose radially inner end communicates with the chamber space (Fig. 2), and that open on an outer peripheral surface of the one-side end plate (Fig. 2).
Horii fails to disclose each of the first diffusion oil passages is formed so that its cross-sectional area increases toward the radially outer side.
Matsuoka discloses each of the first diffusion oil passages is formed so that its cross-sectional area increases toward the radially outer side (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the structure of Horii with each of the first diffusion oil passages is formed so that its cross-sectional area increases toward the radially outer side, to control the flow of oil.
As to claim 6, the combination of Horii, Pydin, and Matsuoka discloses the rotor structure according to claim 5, characterized in that: the rotor further comprises an annular other-side end plate attached concentric with the axis center of the rotor core to the end on an other axial side of the rotor core (Fig. 1 Horii), the other-side end plate is disposed so as to overlap, as viewed in a radial direction, the coil end on the other axial side (Fig. 1 Horii), which is one of the cooling target parts, of the stator coil, the other-side end plate has a plurality of second diffusion oil passages formed that extend radially (Fig. 2 Horii), whose radially inner end communicates with a plurality of the magnet holes, that open on the outer peripheral surface of the other end plate (Fig. 2 Horii), and whose cross- sectional area increases toward the radially outer side (Fig. 2 Matsuoka).
Horii fails to disclose a number of the second diffusion oil passages is set to be greater than a number of the first diffusion oil passages.
However, those skilled in the art would recognize that the above limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They would merely depend on how many diffusion oil passages one decides to include on the end plate. Furthermore, the instant specification fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that a number of the second diffusion oil passages is set to be greater than a number of the first diffusion oil passages.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the structure of Horii, such that a number of the second diffusion oil passages is set to be greater than a number of the first diffusion oil passages, in promote the directional flow of oil in the cooling structure.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horii and in view of Hazeyama (US 20190036387).
As to claim 7, Horii discloses the rotor structure according to claim 1.
Horii fails to disclose the rotor core has a skew angle of 0 degrees.
Hazeyama discloses the rotor core has a skew angle of 0 degrees.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the structure of Horii with the rotor core has a skew angle of 0 degrees, to maximize torque and starting capabilities.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834