DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4, 8-10, 12, and 22 (Group I and Species B) in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Figures 4 and 5, reference numbers (259a) & (259b).
Figure 8, reference character (W).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Paragraph [0054], fluid source (20).
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 9, the reference number (405) at the opening of aspiration catheter (402) near reference number (407) should be (406), given that (405) is already used in the same Figure and according to Paragraph [0077], which states, “Aspiration catheter 402 may also include a radiopaque ring 429 at or near the distal end 405 of aspiration catheter 402.” Please refer to Paragraph [0077] which states (406) is the lumen, “aspiration catheter 402 includes an aspiration lumen 406 formed by a shaft 411.”
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0015] should be amended to the following, “In any of the described embodiments, the supply lumen can provide the pressurized fluid at a pressure of about 435 psi (3 MPa) to about 1015 psi (7 MPa), from about 400 psi (2.6 MPa) to about 3,000 psi (20.7 MPa), from about 400 psi (2.6 MPa) to about 2,000 psi (13.8 MPa), or from about 500 psi (3.4 MPa) to about 2,000 psi (13.8 MPa), or from about 600 psi (4.1 MPa) to about 1,750 psi (12.1 MPa). Such pressure may be measured at a proximal location as delivered to the proximal end of the supply lumen, or as delivered at a distal end, e.g., at the orifice.”
Paragraph [0073] should be amended to the following, “The supply lumen 314 may be configured to provide a high pressure fluid injection, such as saline, within the aspiration lumen 306 (optionally coextensive with the supply lumen 314) for macerating a thrombus as it is aspirated, such as illustrated in FIG. 8 where the aspiration catheter 302 is disposed within a vessel lumen VL of a vessel V and aspirant A is being drawn into the aspiration lumen 306. The saline injection may occur through orifice 394 near the distal end of the supply lumen 314 if the opening of the supply lumen is plugged with a plug similar to plug 192 (FIG. 2). Aspiration catheter 302 may also include a radiopaque (RO) ring 329 at or near the distal end 305 of aspiration catheter 302 for identifying the location of aspiration. The radiopaque ring 329 optionally encircles the aspiration catheter 302. In the illustrated configuration, the RO ring 329 is disposed between the jacket 317b and outer jacket 317d. The RO ring 329 can be formed of any suitable radiopaque material, such as tantalum, tungsten, platinum/iridium, gold, silver, and combinations or modifications thereof.”
Paragraph [0081] should be amended to the following (similar to recitation in Paragraph [0082]), “As illustrated, the aspiration catheter 402 is formed as a hypotube. To aid with positioning the supply tube mounts 488 within the aspiration lumen 406 of the aspiration catheter 402, the shaft body 417a can be formed of a plurality of shaft body segments 419 that can be joined, coupled, or attached together, such as via welding, laser welding, soldering, thermal bonding, chemical bonding, glues, adhesives, mechanical fasteners, or combinations or modifications, to form the shaft body 417a. Each shaft body segment 419 can include a first end 421, a second end 423, and a shaft body segment inner surface 440 extending from the first end 421 to the second end 423. The shaft body segment inner surface 440 with those inner surface segments of the shaft body segment other shaft body segments form the inner surface 438 of the shaft body 417a. The shaft body segment inner surface 440 also forms an outer periphery of a shaft body segment lumen (e.g., labeled 442a, 442b in FIG. 10). As with the inner surface segments, the segment lumens 442a, 442b with those segment lumens of the other shaft body segments form the aspiration lumen 406 of the shaft body 417a.”
Paragraph [0082] should be amended to the following, “The supply tube mount 488 not only can be used to guide the supply tube 486, the supply tube mount 488 can also be used to align adjacent shaft body segments 419 during manufacture or processing of the shaft body 417a. For instance, and as illustrated in FIGS. 9 and 10, a supply tube mount 488 can be joined, coupled, or attached to a shaft body segment inner surface 440a of the shaft body segment 419a. With the supply tube mount 488 joined, coupled, or attached to the shaft body segment 419a, the supply tube mount 488 extends from the second end 423a in a cantilever fashion or manner, i.e., includes a cantilevered portion 498. The supply tube mount 488 can be received within a first end 421b of a shaft body segment 419b and by placing the supply tube mount 488 in contact with an shaft body segment inner surface 440b, the second end 423a of the shaft body segment 419a is aligned with the first end 421b of the shaft body segment 419b for joining, coupling, or attaching the shaft body segment 419a to the shaft body segment 419b. Therefore, the supply tube mount 488 aligns the second end 423a of the shaft body segment 419a with the first end 421b of the shaft body segment 419b for welding, for instance. By repeating this process for other shaft body segments, any length of aspiration catheter 402 and shaft body 417a can be formed.”
Paragraph [0087] should be amended to the following (missing opening parenthesis at, “e.g., from 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm)”), “It is possible to use laser welding to weld through both the outer surface of the laser cut hypotube and the coil pressed against the interior wall. However alignment can be difficult. By way of example, another way to attach the coil to the interior wall of a laser cut hypotube is to form small holes (e.g., during laser cutting) through the hypotube, with a diameter of less than 1 mm, (e.g., from 0.1 mm to 0.5 mm). Such holes can be used to align the hypotube with the interior coil using magnification (e.g., a microscope or strong magnifying glass). A welding laser may then weld the inner coil to the wall of the hypotube. While a flat wire coil may be preferred, different shape wire may alternatively be used. To decrease friction the wire may be coated before coiling e.g., using a PTFE powder coating. To make sure that the catheter is still flexible the coil should be stretched somewhat to allow for compression. The amount of stretching should be limited to a minimum to minimize or avoid gaps between the coil elements which might interfere with the aspirant flowing through the aspiration lumen. Beside coils which can be welded to the inside diameter of the hypotube it is also possible to laser weld cable tubes to the inside diameter. Such tubes are very flexible and depending on their construction will stretch as well. To minimize wall thickness and allow for stretching, a dual layer cable tube (e.g., HSS tube) may be preferred.”
Paragraph [0088] should be amended to the following, “FIGS. 10A-10B illustrate an example of how a flat wire coil may be welded into the inside of a hypotube 417a. For example, FIG. 10A shows a flat view of such a hypotube, showing the formation of rows of small holes 462 formed through such hypotube (e.g., during laser cutting). Such holes 462 are shown enlarged and not to scale, for illustrative purposes. By way of example, a plurality of holes may be formed in the hypotube circumference, over any desired length within which the wire coil is to be secured within the hypotube. By way of example, the number of holes included in a given circumferential row may be from 2 to 10, such as 3 to 8, or about 4 to 6. Spacing between adjacent rows may vary, e.g., ranging from 5 mm to 50 mm, such as from 10 mm to 30 mm (e.g., about 20 mm). FIG. 10B illustrates a cross-sectional view into such a hypotube 417a, showing the flat wire coil 473, which may be attached to the interior surface of the hypotube 417a through holes 462 (e.g., through laser welding through such holes). In an embodiment, the supply tube mount may simply comprise such a flat wire coil. In another embodiment, such a flat wire coil may “bridge” the space between adjacent supply tube mounts 488, reducing or eliminating any ledge that may otherwise be associated with the tube mounts, as described in conjunction with FIG. 10. A similar plug or slot weld configuration is shown and described in conjunction with FIGS. 16-18. While the flat wire coil 473 may be used to house a supply tube with a supply lumen for delivering pressurized fluid, it could also or alternatively be used to house any other desired structure (e.g., guidewire, or other elongate structures).”
Paragraph [0090] should be amended to the following, “Turning to FIGS. 11-14 illustrated is another an aspiration catheter 502 that limits the possibility of inadvertent aspiration lumen blockage through entanglement between the supply tube and aspirants, including larger pieces of thrombus. The aspiration catheter 502 can be used with the systems 100 or 200 for aspirating thrombus. As such, the discussion relates to the aspiration catheter 102, 202, 302, and 402 are also applicable and related to the aspiration catheter 502. Like reference numerals are used for like structure and/or elements with like functions. For simplicity of description, only a portion of the aspiration catheter 502 is depicted in FIGS. 11-14 with it understood that other portions of the aspiration catheter 502 can have the same or similar structures and functions to any of the aspiration catheters 102, 202, 302, or 402. For instance, the proximal ends, distal ends, and any other structures, etc. of the aspiration catheter, shaft, and supply tube, with associated jackets, etc. of any of the aspiration catheters 102, 202, 302, or can be included in aspiration catheter 502.”
Paragraph [0093] should be amended to the following, “As illustrated in FIGS. 11-14, the supply tube 586 is mounted or disposed towards one side of the aspiration lumen 506, thereby limiting the impact of the supply tube 586 upon flow of aspirant/thrombus along the aspiration lumen 506. The aspiration catheter 502, or the shaft body 517a, is formed of a plurality of shaft body segments 519 and a plurality of supply tube mounts, such as supply tube mount segments 530 that are joined, coupled, or attached together, such as via welding, laser welding, soldering, thermal bonding, chemical bonding, glues, adhesives, mechanical fasteners, or combinations or modifications, to form the shaft body 517a. For instance, each shaft body segment 519 can join, couple or attached to one or two other shaft body segments 519 and/or one or two other supply tube mount segments 530 to form the shaft body 517a. Similarly, each supply tube mount segment 530 can join, couple or be attached to one or two other supply tube mount segments 530 and/or one or two other shaft body segments 519 to form the shaft body 517a. By repeating this process for joining, coupling, or attaching the shaft body segments and supply tube mount segments, any length of aspiration catheter 502 and shaft body 517a can be formed. Additionally, forming the aspiration catheter 502 by joining, coupling, or attaching the shaft body segments and supply tube mount segments can also include positioning through or slidably engaging the supply tube 586 with mount orifices 592 associated with the supply tube mount segments 530. Advancing or positioning the supply tube 586 within the mount orifices 592 can occur during or after formation of the shaft body 517a.”
Paragraph [0108] should be amended to the following, “As illustrated in FIG. 15, the supply tube 686 is mounted or disposed towards one side of the aspiration lumen 606, thereby limiting the impact of the supply tube 686 upon flow of aspirant/thrombus along the aspiration lumen 606. In the illustrated configuration, the supply tube mounts 688 are fixed to the inner surface 638 of the aspiration lumen 606. The supply tube mount 688 includes, as illustrated in FIG. 19, a mount body 690 with a mount orifice 692 extending along a length of the mount body 690. The mount body 690 is joined, coupled or attached to the shaft body 617a as described herein. An inner surface 696 of the mount orifice 692 can be coated with a lubricous material to aid with movement of the supply tube 686 within the supply tube mounts 688 as the aspiration catheter 602 is advanced and moved within the tortuous anatomy of the patient. For instance, as the aspiration catheter 602 is turned or bends, the supply tube 686 can slide within the mount orifice 692. The lubricious material or coating can include silicone coatings, polymeric coatings, hydrophilic coatings, polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), or combinations or modifications thereof. Alternatively, the inner surface 696 of the mount orifice 692 can include a uniform or non-uniform structure that reduces frictional engagement between the supply tube 686 and the inner surface 696. In another configuration, a lubricious tube formed of polytetrafluoroethylene, fluorinated ethylene propylene, etc. can be pressed into the supply tube mount 688.”
Paragraph [0131] should be amended to the following, “While reference is made to using glues or adhesives to attach the elongate supply tube mount 988, a laminate member 993 can also be used together with or as an alternate to the glues or adhesives (or other attachment, coupling or joining techniques or structures). For instance, as illustrated in FIGS. 25 and 28, the laminate member 993, such as a tubular member, can be positioned within the elongate channel or recess 978 before the elongate supply tube mount 988. The pusher 974 can be disposed within a laminate member lumen 995 of the laminate member 993 and when inflated the laminated member 993 is laminated against both the inner surface 938 of the shaft body 917a and also the elongate supply tube mount 988. Glues, adhesives, etc. can be applied to an outer surface of the laminate member 993 before being disposed within the aspiration lumen 906 and cured or allowed to cure as mentioned previously. Alternatively, the pusher 974 can apply heat to the laminate member 993 to aid with joining, coupling, or attaching the laminate member 993 to the shaft body 917a. For instance, the pusher 974 or another heater can be used to heat the laminate member 993, the elongate supply tube mount 988, and/or the shaft body 917a to create the bond between one or more of the laminate member 993, the elongate supply tube mount 988, and/or the shaft body 917a. Since the laminate member 993 is laminated against the inner surface of the shaft body 917a, the laminate member lumen 995 forms the aspiration lumen 906 of the aspiration catheter 902.”
Paragraph [0133] should be amended to the following, “While FIGS. 25 and 28 illustrate the laminate member 993 circumferentially extending along the inner surface 938 of the shaft body 917a and covers or is in contact with a majority of the inner surface 938 excluding those portions of the inner surface 938 of the shaft body 917a in contact with the elongate supply tube mount 988 either directly or through glues, adhesives, thermal bonding, or combinations or modifications thereof. In other configurations, the laminate member 993 circumferentially extends along the inner surface 938 of the shaft body 917a and covers or is in contact with portions of the inner surface 938 sufficient to fix, couple, or mount the elongate supply tube mount 988 to the inner surface 938 of the shaft body 917a, i.e., less than a majority of the inner surface 938 of the shaft body 917a. Stated another way, the laminate member 993 is laminated onto the inner surface 938 of the shaft body 917a and secures the elongate supply tube mount 988 within the shaft 911.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the second to last line of claim 22, the following is recited, “the distal end of the aspiration lumen”. It should be “a distal end of the aspiration lumen” the claim didn’t previously refer to or introduce a distal end of the aspiration lumen, it only mentioned “a distal opening” of the aspiration lumen.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites in relevant parts, “an elongate shaft configured for placement within a blood vessel, the elongate shaft having a distal end with an opening at the distal end; a supply lumen and an aspiration lumen each extending along the elongate shaft… the aspiration lumen having a proximal end and a distal opening… and the aspiration lumen being formed from a shaft… .” The claim first introduces “an elongate shaft” and later refers to “a shaft” from which the aspiration lumen is formed. It is unclear whether the second “shaft” is the same structure as the previously recited “elongate shaft,” a different shaft, a sub-component of the elongate shaft, or some other structure. Additionally, the claim states that the elongate shaft has “a distal end with an opening at the distal end” while separately stating that the aspiration lumen has “a distal opening.” It is unclear whether these openings are the same opening, distinct openings, or whether one is nested within or coextensive with the other.
A person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine the metes and bounds of the claim with reasonable certainty. The dual use of the term “shaft” and the dual recitation of distal openings create ambiguity regarding the structural relationship between the elongate shaft, the aspiration lumen, and the segmented shaft construction. For purposes of examination and in line with the current application’s disclosure, the Examiner is interpreting the claim as follows: The “elongate shaft” and the later-recited “shaft” refer to the same structure (the shaft of the aspiration catheter itself); and the distal opening of the aspiration lumen is the same opening as the opening at the distal end of the elongate shaft.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8-10, 12, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quillin (US 2022/0370084 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Quillin discloses, an aspiration catheter (Figures 4 & 6, aspiration medical device (110); Paragraph [0053]) comprising:
an aspiration lumen (Figures 4 & 6, lumen (129); Paragraph [0053]) configured to aspirate thrombus from a body lumen (Paragraph [0057], describes the flow of thrombogenic material through catheter shaft (112) which defines lumen (129));
a supply tube (Figures 4 & 6, aspiration member (128)) with a supply lumen (Figures 4 & 6, lumen/fluid pathway (132); Paragraph [0054]) configured to provide a high pressure fluid injection (Figures 4 & 6, jet orifices (138)) to the aspiration lumen (lumen (129); Paragraphs [0055]-[0058]); and
a mount (Figures 5-6, collar (240)) associated within the aspiration lumen (lumen (129)) and configured to position the supply lumen (lumen (132)) towards one side of the aspiration lumen (lumen (129)) to prevent blockage of the aspiration lumen (lumen (129)) through entanglement of thrombus with the supply tube (aspiration member (128)) (Paragraphs [0059]-[0060]; Given that collar (240) does secure the aspiration member (128) and its lumen (132) to one side of lumen (129) as seen in Figures 4 and 6, it is then indeed capable of performing the function of preventing blockage of the lumen (129) through entanglement of thrombus material with the aspiration member (128)).
Regarding claim 2, Quillin further discloses, wherein the mount (collar (240)) comprises a mount body (Figure 5, body (242); Paragraph [0059]) and a mount orifice (Figures 5-6, Lumen/through hole seen in the body (242) of collar (240) and through which aspiration member (128) passes through), the mount orifice being configured to slidably receive the supply tube (As seen in Figure 6, the lumen/through hole seen in the body (242) of collar (240) is indeed performing the function of slidably receiving the aspiration member (128)).
Regarding claim 4, Quillin further discloses, wherein the aspiration lumen (lumen (129)) is formed in a shaft (Figures 4 and 6, catheter shaft (112); Paragraph [0053]), the shaft comprising a first shaft body segment (Figure 1, proximal end region (14); Paragraph [0048]; Further, Paragraph [0053], states, “The aspiration medical device 110 (e.g., a portion of which is depicted in FIG. 4) may be similar in form and function to other aspiration medical devices disclosed herein.” As such the proximal end region (14) of the Figure 1 embodiment is the equivalent of the proximal end region of catheter shaft (112) (not shown)) and a second shaft body segment (Figures 4 and 6, distal end region (116); Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 8, Quillin further discloses, further wherein the aspiration lumen (lumen (129)) is formed in a shaft (Figures 4 and 6, catheter shaft (112); Paragraph [0053]), the shaft comprising a shaft body segment (Figure 1, proximal end region (14); Paragraph [0048]; Further, Paragraph [0053], states, “The aspiration medical device 110 (e.g., a portion of which is depicted in FIG. 4) may be similar in form and function to other aspiration medical devices disclosed herein.” As such the proximal end region (14) of the Figure 1 embodiment is the equivalent of the proximal end region of catheter shaft (112) (not shown)) and a supply tube mount segment (Figures 4 and 6, distal end region (116); Paragraph [0053]), the supply tube mount segment (distal end region (116)) comprising a mount orifice (Figures 5-6, Lumen/through hole seen in the body (242) of collar (240) and through which aspiration member (128) passes through; Paragraph [0059]; Further, Paragraph [0060], discloses, “The collar 240 may be secured to the aspiration member 128 using a suitable securing technique such as adhesive bonding, thermal bonding, welding, etc.” As such the collar (240) is indeed part of and integral to distal end region (116) of catheter shaft (112)) configured to receive the supply tube (As seen in Figure 6, the lumen/through hole seen in the body (242) of collar (240) is indeed performing the function of slidably receiving the aspiration member (128)).
Regarding claim 9, Quillin further discloses, wherein a lumen of the shaft body segment (proximal end region (14)) and a lumen of the supply tube mount segment (distal end region (116)) form the aspiration lumen (lumen (129) extends over the length of catheter shaft (112), as such it also comprises the lumens of the proximal end region (14) and the distal end region (116) similar to lumen (29) of catheter shaft (12) of the Figures 1-2 embodiment and as stated in Paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 10, Quillin further discloses, wherein the mount orifice (Lumen/through hole seen in the body (242) of collar (240) and through which aspiration member (128) passes through) is disposed within a wall of the supply tube mount segment (Figure 5, body (242); Paragraph [0059]; Further, Paragraph [0060], discloses, “The collar 240 may be secured to the aspiration member 128 using a suitable securing technique such as adhesive bonding, thermal bonding, welding, etc.” As such the collar (240) is indeed part of and integral to distal end region (116) of catheter shaft (112)).
Regarding claim 12, Quillin further discloses, wherein a shaft (Figures 4 and 6, catheter shaft (112); Paragraph [0053]) forming the aspiration lumen (lumen (129)) is a coil (Paragraph [0070], discloses, “Additionally… coils may also be incorporated into the design of the catheter shaft 12…” Where, as stated in Paragraph [0053], “The aspiration medical device 110 (e.g., a portion of which is depicted in FIG. 4) may be similar in form and function to other aspiration medical devices disclosed herein.” As such catheter shaft (12) of the Figure embodiment is equivalent to the catheter shaft (112) of the Figures 4 & 6 embodiment) laminated by a polymer (Paragraph [0068]).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood in view of the 112(b) rejection above, Quillin discloses, an aspiration catheter (Figure 1, aspiration medical device (10); Paragraph [0048]) comprising:
an elongate shaft (Figure 1, tubular member/catheter shaft (12); Paragraph [0048]) configured for placement within a blood vessel (Paragraph [0050]), the elongate shaft having a distal end (Figure 1, distal end region (16); Paragraph [0048]) with an opening at the distal end (Figures 1-2, first or inflow orifice (22); Paragraph [0049]);
a supply lumen (Figure 2, lumen (32); Paragraph [0050]) and an aspiration lumen (Figure 2, lumen (29); Paragraph [0050]) each extending along the elongate shaft (Figure 2; Paragraph [0050]), the supply lumen (lumen (32)) having a proximal end (Figure 1, proximal end at hub/manifold (18)) and a distal end (Figure 2, distal end at fluid jet (34)), and the aspiration lumen (lumen (29)) having a proximal end (Figure 1, proximal end region (14); Paragraph [0048]) and a distal opening (Figures 1-2, first or inflow orifice (22)/second or outflow orifice (24); Paragraph [0049]), the supply lumen (lumen (32)) being disposed within a supply tube (Figure 2, inner tube (30); Paragraph [0050]) and the aspiration lumen (lumen (29)) being formed from a shaft (tubular member/catheter shaft (12)) comprising a plurality of shaft body segments (Figure 1, proximal end region (14) and portions of distal end region (16)) and a plurality of supply tube mount segments (Figure 7, regions of distal end region (116) (equivalent of distal region (16)) comprising collars (240); Paragraph [0062] and Paragraph [0059], stating, “FIG. 5 illustrates an example collar 240 that may be used with any of the aspiration medical devices disclosed herein.”), each supply tube mount segment (Figure 7) comprising a mount orifice (Figures 5 & 7, Lumen/through holes seen in the body (242) of collars (240) and through which aspiration member (128)/shaft (130) (equivalent to inner tube (30)) passes through) configured to slidably receive the supply tube (As seen in Figure 7, the lumen/through holes seen in the body (242) of collars (240) is indeed performing the function of slidably receiving the aspiration member (128) shaft (130) (equivalent to inner tube (30))); and
an orifice (Figure 2, jet orifices (36); Paragraph [0051]) near the distal end of the supply lumen (lumen (32)), the orifice (jet orifices (36)) being configured to allow injection of pressurized fluid (Figure 2, fluid jet (34)) into the aspiration lumen (lumen (29)) at or near the distal end of the aspiration lumen (lumen (29)) when the pressurized fluid is delivered through the supply lumen (lumen (32)) (Paragraphs [0050]-[0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quillin, in view of Wang (US 6,458,867 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Quillin teaches, the mount orifice (Figures 5-6, Lumen/through hole seen in the body (242) of collar (240) and through which aspiration member (128) passes through).
Quillin fails to teach, wherein the mount orifice is coated with a lubricious coating.
Wang discloses, a water soluble lubricious coating for a medical device such as a catheter assembly. Wang teaches, a lubricious coating (Figure 3, water soluble lubricious coating (11)) disposed on the inner surface of a tubular member (Col. 5, line 29-34; Further, Col. 12, line 61-65, discloses, “While it is preferable to the present invention that the inner surface of a tubular member be coated, the present invention is useful on any surface for which it is desired to reduce friction between that surface and another, second surface.”; Even Further, Col. 13, line 61-Col. 14, line 49, disclose different methods of applying the lubricious coating).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the mount orifice of Quillin such that it is coated with a lubricious coating, as taught by Wang, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to catheter assemblies with nested tubular members. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make this modification, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, the coating reduces the coefficient of friction between the tubular member/mount orifice and any surface with which it comes into contact, and which are in a moving or sliding relationship with one another (Col. 5, line 30-34 of Wang).
Conclusion
/O.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3771 /TAN-UYEN T HO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771