DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an Application No. 18/967,111 filed on 12/03/2024 in which claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 12/03/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 12/03/2024 and 05/11/2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10-11, and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “A terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory…” in line 1. For clarity and formality, it is suggested to insert the colon ":" after the word -- comprising: -- in order to properly demarcate the preamble and the body of the claim.
Claims 1 and 20 recite a contingent limitation not required to be performed by the recitation of “if” conditional statement. The term “if” raises ambiguity in the limitation as “if” is a supposition that an event may or may not happen. In view of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, MPEP 2111, these limitations may be interpreted in the sense that the limitation occurs when the conditional statement occurs, but also introduces the possibility that the conditional statement may not occur. If the condition for performing the conditional statement is not satisfied, the functionality recited by the statement need not be carried out in order for the claimed functionality to be performed. Since the claim fails to recite any specific limitations regarding the possibility that the conditional statement may not occur, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim allows for the possibility wherein no functionality is achieved when the condition statement is not achieved. Thus, the limitation(s) may be optional.
Claims 10 and 19 recites a pronoun “its” in line 3 respectively. For clarity, it is suggested to change a pronoun word “its” to a positively recited non-pronoun word.
Claim 11 recites “A network device, comprising a processor and a memory…” in line 1. For clarity and formality, it is suggested to insert the colon ":" after the word -- comprising: -- in order to properly demarcate the preamble and the body of the claim.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kneckt et al. (US 2019/0075521 A1) hereinafter “Kneckt”.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Kneckt discloses Claim 1 of a terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform (see FIG. 5 and 14; see ¶ [0121] [0131], an electronic/terminal device includes processor and memory): and Claim 20 of a wireless communication method, comprising:
determining first information if a first receiver of the terminal device receives a wake-up signal, wherein the first information is used to wake up a second receiver of the terminal device (see FIG. 4 and 5; see ¶ [0074-75] [0079], after receiving wake-up frame, WUR may extract and analyze information and a wake-up signal that transitions main radio from lower-power mode to a higher-power mode).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kneckt discloses wherein the first information comprises second information, and the second information indicates a wake-up time of the second receiver (see ¶ [0053] [0075], a frame that indicates a TWT schedule for electronic device, and a wake-up frame may be used (e.g., by access point) to wake up electronic device between TWT SPs in the TWT schedule).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Kneckt discloses wherein the second information is determined based on an indication of the wake-up signal (see ¶ [0053] [0075], a frame that indicates a TWT schedule for electronic device, and a wake-up frame may be used (e.g., by access point) to wake up electronic device between TWT SPs in the TWT schedule).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Kneckt discloses wherein the wake-up time comprises one or more of a wake-up start time, a wake-up duration period, or a wake-up end time (see ¶ [0075], there may be a TWT schedule for electronic device, based at least in part on the TWT schedule, WUR may transition to a higher-power mode in order to receive a schedule wake-up frame during a TWT SP).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Kneckt discloses wherein the first information comprises third information, and the third information indicates an operating frequency domain after the second receiver is waked up (see ¶ [0139], the wake-up frame may be communicated in the same or a different band of frequencies that the band(s) of frequencies used by the main radio).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Kneckt discloses wherein the third information is determined based on one or more of following: information about an operating frequency domain of the second receiver in a last awake period; pre-defined information; pre-configured information; or an indication of the wake-up signal (see ¶ [0139], the wake-up frame may be communicated in the same or a different band of frequencies that the band(s) of frequencies used by the main radio).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Kneckt discloses wherein the operating frequency domain after the second receiver is waked up comprises an activated bandwidth part (BWP) in which the second receiver operates after it is waked up (see ¶ [0139], the wake-up frame may be communicated in the same or a different band of frequencies that the band(s) of frequencies used by the main radio).
Regarding claim 11, Kneckt discloses a network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the network device to perform (see FIG. 5, Access point; and see FIG. 14; see ¶ [0121] [0131], an electronic device/AP includes processor and memory):
determining first information, wherein the first information is used to wake up a second receiver of a terminal device (see FIG. 4 and 5; see ¶ [0073-74] [0079], determine to provide wake-up frame for electronic device and a wake-up signal that transitions main radio from lower-power mode to a higher-power mode of electronic device); and
wherein the second receiver is waked up by a first receiver of the terminal device based on a wake-up signal transmitted by the network device (see FIG. 4 and 5; see ¶ [0074-75] [0079], a wake-up signal that transitions main radio from lower-power mode to a higher-power mode of electronic device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneckt in view of YANG (US 2023/0232327 A1) hereinafter “Yang”.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kneckt does not explicitly disclose a first time offset.
However, Yang discloses wherein the second information is determined based on a first time offset, and the first time offset is a time offset between a reception time of the wake-up signal and the wake-up time of the second receiver (see ¶ [0073] [0160], The transmission configuration is used to indicate a time offset of transmission starting time of the SL wake-up signal with respect to a starting time of a DRX cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a first time offset as taught by Yang, in the system of Kneckt, so that it would provide to enable the UE to learn whether to stay in sleep in the corresponding DRX cycle, so as to avoid the second UE from being waken up in every DRX cycle, thereby improving the success rate of receiving the second type of SL wake-up signal and reducing the energy consumption of receiving the second SL wake-up signal (Yang: see ¶ [0093]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the combined system of Kneckt and Yang discloses wherein the first time offset is determined based on one or more of following: a terminal device capability; a time domain resource of a target channel corresponding to the wake-up signal; a time domain resource of a paging frame (PF) or a paging occasion (PO) corresponding to the wake-up signal; or discontinuous reception (DRX) on duration corresponding to the wake-up signal (Yang: see ¶ [0072], the time offset may also be a predetermined number of units in time domain).
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of Kneckt and Yang discloses wherein the first time offset comprises a second time offset and a third time offset, the second time offset is a preset time offset that uses a reception time of the wake-up signal as a start time, and the third time offset is a time offset from an end time of the second time offset to a wake-up start time of the second receiver (Yang: see ¶ [0073] [0160], The transmission configuration is used to indicate a time offset of transmission starting time of the SL wake-up signal with respect to a starting time of a DRX cycle).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Suh et al. (US 2018/0103431 A1) teaches methods and systems for waking up a wireless receiving device having a wake-up radio (WUR) circuit. A low-power wake-up signal is transmitted, comprising a wake-up frame (WUF) including having a portion that is subjected to spectrum spreading and transmitted using a single carrier (see Abstract).
Li et al. (US 2019/0075520 A1) teaches a recipient electronic device may include a main radio and a wake-up radio (WUR) that at least selectively transitions the main radio from a lower-power mode to a higher-power mode in response to a wake-up frame. During operation, the WUR receives a wake-up frame associated with an electronic device, e.g., a second or a sending device (see Abstract).
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462