Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/13/2025, 3/25/2025, 5/16/2025, and 10/8/2025 are noted. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20, 22-25, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohhashi et al. (9,138,819).
Ohhashi discloses with respect to claim 17 a drill bit comprising an apical end (end near 24), a coronal end (end of section 26 near shaft 14), and a longitudinal axis 0 extending between the apical end and the coronal end (see fig. 1(a)), a drill bit core (see fig. 1(c), annotated figure below, such that the core is the shaded section) circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis (see annotated fig., fig. 1(c)) and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see fig. 1(c), annotated figure below), wherein the drill bit core comprises a maximum outer dimension that circumferentially shifts about the longitudinal axis as the drill bit core extends towards the apical end (see annotated figure below, see col. 6, ll. 32-49 regarding the shifting of the maximum outer diameter, i.e. the protruding parts, col. 8, ll. 1-2, such that maximum outer diameter is the maximum outer diameter in the area with the relief 44). It is noted that the use of the relative terms “apical” and “coronal” are not limiting the claimed drill bit to be a dental drill bit, as the terms are relative as to how the drill bit would be used or arranged in use. The opposed ends of the drill bit taught by Ohhashi read on the claimed directional terms and therefore, Ohhashi anticipates the claimed drill bit as discussed in detail above.
Ohhashi further discloses with respect to claim 18, the drill bit further comprising a guide thread which extends radially outwards form the drill bit core (see figs. 1(a) and 1(c) and annotated figure below).
Ohhashi further discloses with respect to claim 19, the drill bit further comprising a first cutting edge, wherein the first cutting edge 40 (col. 3, ll. 62-67, col. 7, ll. 64-67) is a first radial distance from the longitudinal axis and the maximum outer dimension of the drill bit core is a second radial distance from the longitudinal axis, the second radial distance being larger than the first radial distance (see annaoted figure below). It is noted that the cutting edge does not extend to the hashed line that indicates a portion of the body being removed, such that it is closer to the center/longitudinal axis than the portion of the body that extends/is the hashed line and has not been removed.
Ohhashi further teaches with respect to claim 20, the drill bit further comprises a guide thread which extends radially outward from the drill bit core (see annotated figure above provided with claim 18 and figs. 1(a) and 1(c)).
Ohhashi further teaches with respect to claim 22, wherein the drill bit core tapers toward the apical end (see fig. 1(a), such that it tapers at end 24 to taper towards apical end).
Ohhashi further teaches with respect to claim 23, wherein the non-round profile is tri-lobed (see fig. 1(c), annotated figure below, such that in the area with the relief 44, it is a tri-lobed with only protruding portions 20b, 20d, and 20f).
Ohhashi further teaches with respect to claim 24, wherein the drill bit core further comprises a second cutting edge 40 (see fig. 1(c)).
Ohhashi further teaches with respect to claim 25, wherein the drill bit core further comprises a cutting flute 42 (such that the edge of the flute is the cutting edge 40).
Ohhashi further teaches with respect to claim 27, wherein the drill bit core has a no-cutting zone defined as the difference between the second radial distance and the first radial distance (such that outer edge of the body extending from the cutting edge 40 to the maximum radial outer diameter (20b, 20d, 20f) is a no-cutting zone and the different between the second radial distance and the first radial distance).
Ohhashi further teaches with respect to claim 28, wherein the no-cutting zone remains constant between the apical and coronal ends of the drill bit (see figs. 1(a), 1(c)). Such that the no-cutting zone is consistent between the ends, in that it does not change. It is noted that the applicant does not require the no-cutting zone to extend entirely from the apical to coronal end and be consist from one end to the other, only that it is consist between the ends, therefore, Ohhashi teaches the limitations as claimed since the no-cutting zone is constant between the ends.
Claim(s) 17, 21-22, 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Turri (2005/0118550).
Turri discloses with respect to claim 17, a drill bit comprising an apical end 7’, a coronal end (end opposite 7’), and a longitudinal axis (see fig. 2b, dashed line) extending between the apical end and the coronal end (see fig. 2B), a drill bit core (see figs. 3-8, such that the cross-sectional views are all drill bit cores, pars. 27-29) circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis (see figs 3-8,such that 1A is the longitudinal axis) and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see figs. 3-8, such that the core has non-round cross sections), wherein the drill bit core comprises a maximum outer dimension that circumferentially shaft about the longitudinal axis as the drill bit core extends towards the apical end (see figs. 3-8, such that the maximum outer dimension is the edges of the non-round core that contact the dashed line, such that extending along the axis, the maximum outer diameter is shifted when moving from one cross section slice to the next as each cross sectional slices includes several maximum outer diameters).
Turri further discloses with respect to claim 21, wherein the drill bit core is oval shaped (see fig. 8, par. 52, 55).
Turri further discloses with respect to claim 22, wherein the drill bit core tapers toward the apical end (par. 41, such that it is conical with the dimension decreasing towards apical end 7/7’, claim 59).
Turri further discloses with respect to claim 25, the drill bit core further comprises a cutting flute (see fig. 6, such the portion cut out 33a/50 is the cutting flute in that it creates cutting edge 51, pars. 47-48).
Turri further discloses with respect to claim 26, wherein the cutting flute wraps circumferentially around the longitudinal axis as the cutting flute extends between the apical end and the coronal end of the drill bit (pars. 48, 63, fig 2b, claim 57, such that the active portion is the cutting edge).
Claim(s) 17-18, 22, 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jörneus et al. (2012/0191103).
Jörneus discloses a drill bit 7 comprising an apical end (see fig. 4d, such that the tip end is the apical end), a coronal end (end near portion 8), and a longitudinal axis extending between the apical end and the coronal end (see fig. 4d, such that the drill inherently has a longitudinal axis), a drill bit core (see annaoted figure below) circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis (see annaoted figure) such that the drill would have the same cross sectional shape throughout) and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see annotated figure below, such that the drill would have the same cross sectional shape throughout), wherein the drill bit core comprises a maximum outer dimension that circumferentially shaft about the longitudinal axis as the drill bit core extends toward the apical end (see annaoted figure below, such that the maximum outer radial dimension is the portion of the core without the cutting groove 138 which is shifted about the axis as each cross section includes more than one maximum outer diameter so that when extending from one cross section to the next, the claimed maximum outer dimension is shifted from one to the another around the axis).
Jörneus further discloses with respect to claim 18, further comprising a guide thread 130 which extends radially outwards form the drill bit core (see annaoted figure).
Jörneus further discloses with respect to claim 22, wherein the drill bit tapers toward the apical end (see fig. 4d, par. 46).
Jörneus further discloses with respect to claim 25, wherein the drill bit core further comprises a cutting flute 138 (see fig. 4, such that you can see the flute is in the body).
Jörneus further discloses with respect to claim 26, wherein the cutting flute wraps circumferentially around the longitudinal axis as the cutting flute extends between the apical end and the coronal end of the drill bit (see fig. 4d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turri (2005/0118550) in view of Schoutens (2013/0274750).
Turri teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including the drill bit being used to create an osseous seat for a dental implant (see par. 3), however, does not specifically teach a kit of parts comprising the drill bit of claim 17 and an implant, specifically a dental implant.
With respect to claim 29, Schoutens teaches a kit of parts comprising a drill bit and an implant (see pars. 39). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the drill bit taught by Turri to include it in a kit with an implant as taught by Schoutens in order to provide the user with everything needed to complete the procedure.
With respect to claim 30, Turri/Schoutens teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including Turri teaching the use of a dental implant (par. 3), therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the kit to include a dental implant to use the drill of Turri for the intended purpose of inserting a dental implant.
Claim(s) 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jörneus et al. (2012/0191103) in view of Schoutens (2013/0274750).
Jörneus teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including a dental implant 101, however, does not specifically teach a kit of parts comprising the drill bit of claim 17 and an implant.
With respect to claim 29, Schoutens teaches a kit of parts comprising a drill bit and an implant (see pars. 39). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the drill bit and the dental implant taught by Jörneus to include it in a kit as taught by Schoutens in order to provide the user with everything needed to complete the procedure.
With respect to claim 30, Jörneus/Schoutens teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including Jörneus further teaching the implant is a dental implant (pars. 36-37).
With respect to claim 31, Jörneus/Schoutens teaches the invention as substantially claimed and discussed above, including Jörneus further teaching when the implant 101 comprises a thread 131, the drill bit comprises a guide thread 130 which extends radially outwards form the drill bit core (see annaoted figure above with respect to claim 18), and the guide thread differs from the thread of the implant in pitch and/or height and/or width (see par. 61, such that they differ from each other in width, i.e. helical dimension).
Double Patenting
Claim 17-20, 23, 25-26 and 29-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 11-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,045,287. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of patent ‘287 are broad and anticipate the claims of the current application.
Claim 1 of the current application is anticipated by claims 1 and 4 of ‘287 as detailed below:
(claim 1) 1. A drill bit comprising: an apical end, a coronal end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the apical end and the coronal end; a drill bit core circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the portion with a non-round profile forming a plurality of lobes, each of the plurality of lobes forming at least one first compression zone, the drill bit core having a maximum radii at each of the plurality of lobes, wherein the drill bit core comprises a no-cutting zone at the maximum radii at each of the plurality of lobes; a plurality of flutes, each of the plurality of flutes corresponding with one of the plurality of lobes, each of the plurality of flutes positioned on a circumference of the drill bit core and at a circumferential distance away from the maximum radii of a corresponding one of the plurality of lobes, wherein each of the plurality of flutes comprises a first cutting edge formed on the drill bit core and positioned inwardly from the maximum radii of the corresponding one of the plurality of lobes of the drill bit core; a cutting zone extending inwardly from at least one of the cutting edges, wherein a position of the at least one cutting edge allows a hard bone to be positioned within the cutting zone and allows a soft bone to be positioned within the no-cutting zone, in use; and a guide thread which extends radially outward from the drill bit core.
(claim 4) The drill bit of claim 1 wherein the maximum radii of at least one of the plurality of lobes circumferentially shifts about the longitudinal axis as the drill bit core extends toward the apical end.
Claim 2 of the current application is taught by claim 1 of ‘287:
(claim 1) A drill bit comprising: an apical end, a coronal end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the apical end and the coronal end; a drill bit core circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the portion with a non-round profile forming a plurality of lobes, each of the plurality of lobes forming at least one first compression zone, the drill bit core having a maximum radii at each of the plurality of lobes, wherein the drill bit core comprises a no-cutting zone at the maximum radii at each of the plurality of lobes; a plurality of flutes, each of the plurality of flutes corresponding with one of the plurality of lobes, each of the plurality of flutes positioned on a circumference of the drill bit core and at a circumferential distance away from the maximum radii of a corresponding one of the plurality of lobes, wherein each of the plurality of flutes comprises a first cutting edge formed on the drill bit core and positioned inwardly from the maximum radii of the corresponding one of the plurality of lobes of the drill bit core; a cutting zone extending inwardly from at least one of the cutting edges, wherein a position of the at least one cutting edge allows a hard bone to be positioned within the cutting zone and allows a soft bone to be positioned within the no-cutting zone, in use; and a guide thread which extends radially outward from the drill bit core.
Claim 19 of the current application is taught by claim 1 of ‘ 287
(claim 1) A drill bit comprising: an apical end, a coronal end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the apical end and the coronal end; a drill bit core circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the portion with a non-round profile forming a plurality of lobes, each of the plurality of lobes forming at least one first compression zone, the drill bit core having a maximum radii at each of the plurality of lobes, wherein the drill bit core comprises a no-cutting zone at the maximum radii at each of the plurality of lobes; a plurality of flutes, each of the plurality of flutes corresponding with one of the plurality of lobes, each of the plurality of flutes positioned on a circumference of the drill bit core and at a circumferential distance away from the maximum radii of a corresponding one of the plurality of lobes, wherein each of the plurality of flutes comprises a first cutting edge formed on the drill bit core and positioned inwardly from the maximum radii of the corresponding one of the plurality of lobes of the drill bit core; a cutting zone extending inwardly from at least one of the cutting edges, wherein a position of the at least one cutting edge allows a hard bone to be positioned within the cutting zone and allows a soft bone to be positioned within the no-cutting zone, in use; and a guide thread which extends radially outward from the drill bit core.
With respect to the limitations above, while it is noted that different terminology is used, the claimed radial distances are still claimed since the first cutting edge is radially inward relative to the maximum outer diameter.
Claim 20 of the current application is taught by claim 1 of ‘287:
(claim 1) A drill bit comprising: an apical end, a coronal end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the apical end and the coronal end; a drill bit core circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the portion with a non-round profile forming a plurality of lobes, each of the plurality of lobes forming at least one first compression zone, the drill bit core having a maximum radii at each of the plurality of lobes, wherein the drill bit core comprises a no-cutting zone at the maximum radii at each of the plurality of lobes; a plurality of flutes, each of the plurality of flutes corresponding with one of the plurality of lobes, each of the plurality of flutes positioned on a circumference of the drill bit core and at a circumferential distance away from the maximum radii of a corresponding one of the plurality of lobes, wherein each of the plurality of flutes comprises a first cutting edge formed on the drill bit core and positioned inwardly from the maximum radii of the corresponding one of the plurality of lobes of the drill bit core; a cutting zone extending inwardly from at least one of the cutting edges, wherein a position of the at least one cutting edge allows a hard bone to be positioned within the cutting zone and allows a soft bone to be positioned within the no-cutting zone, in use; and a guide thread which extends radially outward from the drill bit core.
Claim 17 of the current application is taught by claim 11 of ‘287:
(claim 11) A drill bit comprising: an apical end, a coronal end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the apical end and the coronal end; a drill bit core circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the portion with a non-round profile forming at least one compression zone; a cutting edge disposed within the at least one compression zone of the drill bit core, wherein the cutting edge is a first radial distance from the longitudinal axis and a maximum outer dimension of the drill bit core is a second radial distance from the longitudinal axis, the second radial distance being larger than the first radial distance, wherein the drill bit core comprises a no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension, and wherein the no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension spirally wraps circumferentially around the longitudinal axis as the no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension extends between the apical portion and the coronal portion of the drill bit such that the maximum outer dimension shifts circumferentially along the length of the drill bit; a cutting zone extending inwardly from the cutting edge, wherein a position of the cutting edge allows a hard bone to be positioned within the cutting zone and allows a soft bone to be positioned within the no-cutting zone, in use; and a guide thread which extends radially outward from the drill bit core.
Claim 18 of the current application is taught by claim 11 of ‘287:
(claim 11) A drill bit comprising: an apical end, a coronal end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the apical end and the coronal end; a drill bit core circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the portion with a non-round profile forming at least one compression zone; a cutting edge disposed within the at least one compression zone of the drill bit core, wherein the cutting edge is a first radial distance from the longitudinal axis and a maximum outer dimension of the drill bit core is a second radial distance from the longitudinal axis, the second radial distance being larger than the first radial distance, wherein the drill bit core comprises a no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension, and wherein the no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension spirally wraps circumferentially around the longitudinal axis as the no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension extends between the apical portion and the coronal portion of the drill bit such that the maximum outer dimension shifts circumferentially along the length of the drill bit; a cutting zone extending inwardly from the cutting edge, wherein a position of the cutting edge allows a hard bone to be positioned within the cutting zone and allows a soft bone to be positioned within the no-cutting zone, in use; and a guide thread which extends radially outward from the drill bit core.
Claim 19 of the current application is taught by claim 11 of ‘287:
(claim 11) A drill bit comprising: an apical end, a coronal end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the apical end and the coronal end; a drill bit core circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the portion with a non-round profile forming at least one compression zone; a cutting edge disposed within the at least one compression zone of the drill bit core, wherein the cutting edge is a first radial distance from the longitudinal axis and a maximum outer dimension of the drill bit core is a second radial distance from the longitudinal axis, the second radial distance being larger than the first radial distance, wherein the drill bit core comprises a no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension, and wherein the no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension spirally wraps circumferentially around the longitudinal axis as the no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension extends between the apical portion and the coronal portion of the drill bit such that the maximum outer dimension shifts circumferentially along the length of the drill bit; a cutting zone extending inwardly from the cutting edge, wherein a position of the cutting edge allows a hard bone to be positioned within the cutting zone and allows a soft bone to be positioned within the no-cutting zone, in use; and a guide thread which extends radially outward from the drill bit core.
Claim 20 of the current application is taught by claim 11 of ‘287:
(claim 11) A drill bit comprising: an apical end, a coronal end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the apical end and the coronal end; a drill bit core circumferentially surrounding the longitudinal axis and having at least a portion with a non-round profile when viewed in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the portion with a non-round profile forming at least one compression zone; a cutting edge disposed within the at least one compression zone of the drill bit core, wherein the cutting edge is a first radial distance from the longitudinal axis and a maximum outer dimension of the drill bit core is a second radial distance from the longitudinal axis, the second radial distance being larger than the first radial distance, wherein the drill bit core comprises a no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension, and wherein the no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension spirally wraps circumferentially around the longitudinal axis as the no-cutting zone at the maximum outer dimension extends between the apical portion and the coronal portion of the drill bit such that the maximum outer dimension shifts circumferentially along the length of the drill bit; a cutting zone extending inwardly from the cutting edge, wherein a position of the cutting edge allows a hard bone to be positioned within the cutting zone and allows a soft bone to be positioned within the no-cutting zone, in use; and a guide thread which extends radially outward from the drill bit core.
Claim 23 of the current application is taught by claim 16 of ‘287:
(claim 16) The drill bit of claim 11 wherein the non-round profile forming the plurality of lobes is tri-lobed.
Claim 25 of the current application is taught by claim 12 of ‘287:
(claim 12) The drill bit of claim 11, wherein the drill bit core further comprises a cutting flute, wherein the cutting flute comprises the cutting edge.
Claim 26 of the current application is taught by claim 13 of ‘287:
The drill bit of claim 12 wherein the cutting flute wraps circumferentially around the longitudinal axis as the cutting flute extends between the apical portion and the coronal portion of the drill bit.
Claims 29-30 of the current application are taught by claim 14 of ‘287:
(claim 14) A kit of parts comprising a drill bit of claim 11 and a dental implant.
Claim 31 of the current application is taught by claim 15 of ‘287:
(claim 15) The kit of parts of claim 14 wherein the dental implant comprises a thread, the guide thread of the drill bit differs from the thread of the dental implant in pitch and/or height and/or width.
Conclusion
/HEIDI M EIDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772 4/8/2026