DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/03/2024 and 04/18/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claim 1-5, 7-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Giallombardo et al. (US 2008/0190131 A1) in view of James (GB 1508363 A,
see attached doc.).
In regards to claim 1, Giallombardo discloses a hybrid heat pump system (a heat pump system 10) for continuous heating in a defrosting mode (refer to par. 22), the hybrid heat pump system (10) comprises: an indoor unit (a unit in interior or inside space 12 with interior coil 20); and a hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit (a unit in outside space 16 with exterior coil 22) with a heat exchanger (exterior coil 22) and a compressor (14) operating under a plurality of modes (a heating mode, a cooling mode and a defrost mode; par. 7); and a bi-directional fan (blower unit 30), and under the defrosting mode (as can be seen in Fig. 3): the of bi-directional fan (30) pushes air in opposite directions (compare Figs. 2 and 3 for airflow in opposite directions), and airflow due to the plurality of bi-directional fans bypasses the compressor in the lower compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit.
Giallombardo fails to explicitly teach the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit comprises: an upper compartment; a lower compartment; and the plurality of bi-directional fans installed at a boundary in between the upper compartment and the lower compartment, the compressor located in the lower compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit; and airflow due to the plurality of bi-directional fans bypasses the compressor in the lower compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit.
James teaches the outdoor unit comprises: an upper compartment; a lower compartment (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5); and the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) installed at a boundary in between the upper compartment and the lower compartment (via at transverse horizontal partition 18; as can be seen in Figs. 4-5), the compressor (corresponding to pump) located in the lower compartment of the outdoor unit; and airflow due to the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) bypasses the compressor in the lower compartment of the outdoor unit (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the outdoor unit comprises: an upper compartment; a lower compartment; and the plurality of bi-directional fans installed at a boundary in between the upper compartment and the lower compartment, the compressor located in the lower compartment of the outdoor unit; and airflow due to the plurality of bi-directional fans bypasses the compressor in the lower compartment of the outdoor unit as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 2, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, James teaches wherein: the upper compartment has a right portion and a left portion, and the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) comprises a first fan (24) installed at the boundary in between (via at transverse horizontal partition 18) the lower compartment and the left portion of the upper compartment (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the upper compartment has a right portion and a left portion, and the plurality of bi-directional fans comprises a first fan installed at the boundary in between the lower compartment and the left portion of the upper compartment as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 3, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, James teaches wherein the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) comprises a second fan (25) installed at the boundary in between (via at transverse horizontal partition 18) the lower compartment and the right portion of the upper compartment (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the plurality of bi-directional fans comprises a second fan installed at the boundary in between the lower compartment and the right portion of the upper compartment as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 4, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, James teaches wherein the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) comprises a first fan (24) and a second fan (25) pushing air upwards in a cooling mode (as can be seen in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the plurality of bi-directional fans comprises a first fan and a second fan pushing air upwards in a cooling mode as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 5, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, James teaches wherein the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) comprises a first fan (24) and a second fan (25) pushing air downwards during a heating mode and a booster heating mode (as can be seen in Figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the plurality of bi-directional fans comprises a first fan and a second fan pushing air downwards during a heating mode and a booster heating mode as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 7, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, James teaches wherein the upper compartment and the lower compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit (10) comprise the same or different heat exchangers (riser heat exchangers shown in numerals 32 and 34). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the upper compartment and the lower compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit comprise the same or different heat exchangers as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 4, lines 40-45 of James).
In regards to claim 8, Giallombardo discloses a hybrid heating method for continuous heating in a defrosting mode (refer to par. 22), the hybrid heating method comprises: providing a bi-directional fan (blower unit 30); and determining a mode (a heating mode, a cooling mode and a defrost mode; par. 7) of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit, wherein, in the defrosting mode (as can be seen in Fig. 3): pushing air downwards and upwards from a first fan (30) and a second fan (30) of the plurality of bi-directional fans, respectively, and bypassing the air from the compressor in the lower compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit (as can be seen in Fig. 3).
Giallombardo fails to explicitly teach a method of dividing a hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit into an upper and a lower compartment; providing a compressor in the lower compartment; providing a plurality of bi-directional fans at a boundary in between the upper compartment and the lower compartment.
James teaches the outdoor unit wherein the method of dividing (via at transverse horizontal partition 18; as can be seen in Figs. 4-5) a hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit into an upper and a lower compartment (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5); providing a compressor (corresponding to pump) in the lower compartment; providing a plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) at a boundary in between the upper compartment and the lower compartment (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that a method of dividing a hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit into an upper and a lower compartment; providing a compressor in the lower compartment; providing a plurality of bi-directional fans at a boundary in between the upper compartment and the lower compartment as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 9, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, James teaches further comprising dividing (via a vertical partition; Fig. 5) the upper compartment into a right portion and a left portion, wherein the first fan (24) of the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) is installed at the boundary in between (via at transverse horizontal partition 18) the lower compartment and the left portion of the upper compartment (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that further comprising dividing the upper compartment into a right portion and a left portion, wherein the first fan of the plurality of bi-directional fans is installed at the boundary in between the lower compartment and the left portion of the upper compartment as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 10, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 8. Further, James teaches wherein the second fan (25) of the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) is installed at the boundary in between (via at transverse horizontal partition 18) the lower compartment and the right portion of the upper compartment (as can be seem om Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the second fan of the plurality of bi-directional fans is installed at the boundary in between the lower compartment and the right portion of the upper compartment as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 11, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 8. Further, James teaches wherein the first fan (24) and the second fan (25) of the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) push air upwards in a cooling mode (as can be seen in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the first fan and the second fan of the plurality of bi-directional fans push air upwards in a cooling mode as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 12, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 8. Further, James teaches wherein the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) comprises a first fan (24) and a second fan (25) pushing air downwards during a heating mode and a booster heating mode (as can be seen in Figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the plurality of bi-directional fans comprises a first fan and a second fan pushing air downwards during a heating mode and a booster heating mode as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 14, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 8. Further, James teaches wherein the upper compartment and the lower compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit (10) comprise the same or different heat exchangers (a riser heat exchanger shown in numerals 32 and 34). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the upper compartment and the lower compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit comprise the same or different heat exchangers as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 4, lines 40-45 of James).
In regards to claim 15, Giallombardo discloses a hybrid heat pump system (a heat pump system 10) for continuous heating in a defrosting mode (refer to par. 22); position a compressor (14) in a lower compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit; operate a bi-directional fans (blower 30); and determine a mode (a heating mode, a cooling mode and a defrost mode; par. 7) of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit, wherein in the defrosting mode: push air downwards and upwards (compare Figs. 2 and 3 for airflow in opposite directions) from a first fan and a second fan of the plurality of bi-directional fans, respectively, and bypass the air from the compressor in the lower compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit.
Giallombardo fails to explicitly teach the hybrid heat pump system is operable to: divide a hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit into an upper compartment and a lower compartment; a plurality of bi-directional fans at a boundary of an upper compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit above the lower compartment.
James teaches the outdoor unit the hybrid heat pump system is operable to: divide (via at transverse horizontal partition 18; as can be seen in Figs. 4-5) a hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit into an upper compartment and a lower compartment (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5); a plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) at a boundary of an upper compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit above the lower compartment (as can be seen in Figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the hybrid heat pump system is operable to: divide a hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit into an upper compartment and a lower compartment; a plurality of bi-directional fans at a boundary of an upper compartment of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit above the lower compartment as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 16, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 15. Further, James teaches wherein: the upper compartment into a left portion and a right portion (via vertical partition 28), and the first fan (24) of the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) is installed at the boundary in between (via at transverse horizontal partition 18) the lower compartment and the left portion of the upper compartment (as can be seen in Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the upper compartment into a left portion and a right portion, and the first fan of the plurality of bi-directional fans is installed at the boundary in between the lower compartment and the left portion of the upper compartment as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 17, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 15. Further, James teaches wherein the second fan (25) of the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) is installed at the boundary (via at transverse horizontal partition 18) of the lower compartment and the right portion of the upper compartment.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the second fan of the plurality of bi-directional fans is installed at the boundary of the lower compartment and the right portion of the upper compartment as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 18, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 15. Further, James teaches wherein the first fan (24) and the second fan (25) of the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) push the air upwards in a cooling mode.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the first fan and the second fan of the plurality of bi-directional fans push the air upwards in a cooling mode as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
In regards to claim 19, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 15. Further, James teaches wherein the first fan (24) and the second fan (25) of the plurality of bi-directional fans (24/25) push the air downwards during a heating mode and a booster heating mode.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the first fan and the second fan of the plurality of bi-directional fans push the air downwards during a heating mode and a booster heating mode as taught by James in order to cause air drawn in through inlet grill to pass through heat exchanger before entering fan (refer to page 3, lines 31-39 of James).
Claim 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Giallombardo et al. (US 2008/0190131 A1) in view of James (GB 1508363 A,
see attached doc.), further in view of NISHIHARA (JP2005249268A, see attached
translation).
In regards to claim 6, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach comprises a solar panel positioned on the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit to convert light energy into electrical energy.
NISHIHARA teaches an outdoor unit (101) comprises a solar panel (104) positioned on the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit (101) to convert light energy into electrical energy (refer to par. 9, 15 and 38).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that comprises a solar panel positioned on the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit to convert light energy into electrical energy as taught by NISHIHARA in order to generating electricity used in the separate type air conditioner (refer to par. 7 of NISHIHARA).
In regards to claim 13, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 8, but fails to explicitly teach further comprising providing a solar panel positioned on an enclosure of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit to convert light energy into electrical energy.
NISHIHARA teaches an outdoor unit (101) further comprising providing a solar panel (104) positioned on an enclosure of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit (101) to convert light energy into electrical energy (refer to par. 9, 15 and 38).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the method of Giallombardo such that further comprising providing a solar panel positioned on an enclosure of the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit to convert light energy into electrical energy as taught by NISHIHARA in order to generating electricity used in the separate type air conditioner (refer to par. 7 of NISHIHARA).
In regards to claim 20, Giallombardo meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 15, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the hybrid heat pump system is at least partially powered with a solar panel positioned on the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit to convert light energy into electrical energy.
NISHIHARA teaches an outdoor unit (101) wherein the hybrid heat pump system is at least partially powered with a solar panel (104) positioned on the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit (104) to convert light energy into electrical energy (refer to par. 9, 15 and 38).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified the apparatus of Giallombardo such that the hybrid heat pump system is at least partially powered with a solar panel positioned on the hybrid top/side discharge outdoor unit to convert light energy into electrical energy as taught by NISHIHARA in order to generating electricity used in the separate type air conditioner (refer to par. 7 of NISHIHARA).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARTHA TADESSE whose telephone number is (571)272-0590. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30am-5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR)system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/M.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763