DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruiter (US 2010/0086151).
Regarding claim 1, Ruiter discloses an electroacoustic transducer (piezoelectric speaker of Figs. 1-6) comprising: a vibration plate (vibration plate 22, Figs. 2A, 2B); and a vibrator group consisting of a plurality of piezoelectric vibrators arranged on one surface of the vibration plate (vibrator group formed of piezo element 24, unstructured electrode 28, a plurality of segments 30 of the segmented electrode 36 on one surface of vibration plate 22, Figs. 2A, 2B), wherein the plurality of piezoelectric vibrators each belong to any one of a first group to an n-th group (group a to group c of piezoelectric vibrators, Figs. 2A, 2B, 4, [0037], [0038]), an upper limit frequency of a frequency band of an input signal input to the piezoelectric vibrator is different for each group, and in a case where upper limit frequencies for each group are denoted by f1 to fn, the upper limit frequencies gradually decrease from the upper limit frequency f1 in the first group to the upper limit frequency fn in the n-th group (low frequencies (<4.5 kHz) transmitted to electrode segments 30a+30b+30c, resulting in actuation of parts 32a+32b+32c of piezoelectric element, mid frequencies (4.5-8kHz) transmitted only to segments 30a+30b, resulting in actuation of parts 32a+32b and high frequencies (>8 kHz) transmitted only to segment 30a, resulting in actuation of part 32a, Fig. 4, [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Ruiter discloses wherein, in a case where the number of the piezoelectric vibrators belonging to each group is denoted by N1 to Nn, the number of the piezoelectric vibrators in each group from the number N1 of the piezoelectric vibrators in the first group to the number Nn of the piezoelectric vibrators in the n-th group satisfies N1 ≤ N2 ≤ N3 ≤ ... ≤ Nn (number of piezoelectric vibrators in each group from group a to group c is one, therefore as each group increases in N, so does N number of piezoelectric vibrators, Figs. 2A-4).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Ruiter discloses wherein the upper limit frequency f1 in the first group is 15 kHz or more (seeing how group a is made to emit high frequencies (>8 kHz) an upper limit >8 kHz would reach a range of 15 kHz or more, Fig. 4, [0038]).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Ruiter discloses wherein the piezoelectric vibrator has a piezoelectric film which includes a piezoelectric layer and electrode layers provided on both surfaces of the piezoelectric layer (piezoelectric element 24 with electrode layer 28 and segmented electrode 26 provided on both surfaces of piezoelectric element layer 24, Fig. 2a, [0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiter (US 2010/0086151) in view of Fujise et al. (US 2012/0140969) herein Fujise.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, while Ruiter does not specifically teach wherein the electroacoustic transducer has two vibrator groups, and the two vibrator groups are arranged symmetrically with respect to a center line of the vibration plate in a left-right direction, it is well known in the art to have a speaker array utilizing two vibrator groups wherein the two vibrator groups are arranged symmetrically with respect to a center line of the vibration plate in a left-right direction as demonstrated by Fujise (piezoelectric speakers 202a and 202c which are disposed symmetrically with respect to a center line of the vibration plate in a left-right direction, Fujise: Figs. 4, 9, [0115]-[0118], [0138]-[0143]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electroacoustic transducer of Ruiter to incorporate two vibrator groups wherein the two vibrator groups are arranged symmetrically with respect to a center line of the vibration plate in a left-right direction as demonstrated by Fujise in order to reduce turbulence of acoustic waves while improving the effective directivity of the acoustic waves (Fujise: [0135).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiter (US 2010/0086151) in view of Fujise et al. (US 2012/0140969) herein Fujise and Miyoshi (US 2021/0400395).
Regarding claim 6 and 15, while the combination of Ruiter and Fujise do not specifically teach werein the piezoelectric layer consists of a polymer-based piezoelectric composite material containing piezoelectric particles in a matrix containing a polymer material, it is well known in the art to have a piezoelectric layer consist of a polymer-based piezoelectric composite material containing piezoelectric particles in a matrix containing a polymer material as demonstrated by Miyoshi (polymer-based piezoelectric composite material containing piezoelectric particles in a matrix, Miyoshi: [0020], [0066], [0109], Figs. 2, 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piezoelectric layer of Ruiter and Fujise to consist of a polymer-based piezoelectric composite material containing piezoelectric particles in a matrix containing a polymer material as demonstrated by Miyoshi in order to allow an electroacoustic transducer have flexibility high enough to cope with various usages and situations (Miyoshi: [0012]).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, while the combination of Ruiter and Fujise does not specifically teach wherein, in the piezoelectric vibrator, a plurality of layers of the piezoelectric film are laminated by folding the piezoelectric film one or more times, it is well known in the art to have wherein, in the piezoelectric vibrator, a plurality of layers of the piezoelectric film are laminated by folding the piezoelectric film one or more times as demonstrated by Miyoshi (piezoelectric films are laminated and folded one or more times, Miyoshi: [0023], [0025], [0065], [0067], [0107], Figs. 8, 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the piezoelectric vibrator of Ruiter and Fujise to have wherein, in the piezoelectric vibrator, a plurality of layers of the piezoelectric film are laminated by folding the piezoelectric film one or more times as demonstrated by Miyoshi in order to allow an electroacoustic transducer have flexibility high enough to cope with various usages and situations (Miyoshi: [0012]).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiter (US 2010/0086151)
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Ruiter discloses wherein outer peripheral edges of two adjacent piezoelectric vibrators are in a parallel relationship (outer peripheral edges of two adjacent piezoelectric vibrators are in a parallel relationship, Figs. 6b-6f), but lacks wherein an interval between the outer peripheral edges is 40 mm or less.
Nevertheless, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have wherein an interval between the outer peripheral edges is 40 mm or less, since applicant has not disclosed that having such an arrangement solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with dimension of Ruiter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interval between the outer peripheral edges of Ruiter to be 40mm or less in order to make a more compact vibratory package to fit smaller electronic devices.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruiter (US 2010/0086151) in view of Sato et al. (JP 2016-140060) herein Sato.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, while Ruiter does not specifically teach wherein the vibration plate is curved in an arrangement direction of the plurality of piezoelectric vibrators of the vibrator group. It is well known in the art to have a vibration plate be curved in an arrangement direction of the plurality of piezoelectric vibrators of the vibrator group as demonstrated by Sato (curved vibration plate, Sato: [0177], [0178], Figs. 26-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vibration plate to be curved in an arrangement direction of the plurality of piezoelectric vibrators of the vibrator group as demonstrated by Sato in order to make an even thinner more compact actuator to fit smaller electronic devices (Sato: [0013]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SEAN H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691